Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 71

Thread: Poor performance with GTX 480

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    332

    Poor performance with GTX 480

    my specs:
    Q6600 C0 @ 3.2Ghz
    Asus Striker Extreme
    4GB Ram
    MSI GTX 480 @ 800Mhz
    OCZ Vertex SSD
    Corsair HX620 power supply
    Win 7 64bit
    Forceware 197.41

    Battlefield Bad Company 2 (Online)
    I get 28-48 FPS in most maps


    Settings:

    [WindowSettings]
    Width=1920
    Height=1200
    Fullscreen=true
    RefreshRate=59.950001
    VSync=false
    [Sound]
    Quality=medium
    VoipEnable=true
    SpeakerCount=0
    [Graphics]
    Effects=high
    Soldiers=high
    Vehicles=high
    Overgrowth=high
    Undergrowth=high
    StaticObjects=high
    Terrain=high
    Shadows=low
    Bloom=false
    HSAO=false
    MSAA=2
    Water=high
    MainQuality=custom
    Texture=high
    DxVersion=auto
    Aniso=2
    Detail=high
    RenderAheadLimit=0
    Fov=65


    GTA 4
    so much lag spike its unplayable
    I already beat the game, so I didnt dig too much into the problem


    Starcraft 2 beta

    Ultra @ 1920x1200
    40-50FPS normal game play
    30FPS during battle

    I get X9910 3Dmark Vantage

    please help me out, I was expecting 60fps on BFBC2 with GTX480 and 3.2Ghz Quad core. What is holding me back?
    crappy ram?bad PSU?
    btw I plan to skip i7 920 and wait for a sub $500 Intel hexacore before I do a complete upgrade

    Last edited by PkG.1337; 05-11-2010 at 01:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    964
    Hmm, seems strange. Is it a new build, or has it run well before with another GPU? The PSU IS pushing the low end of the 480 power requirement, but it's a good brand. The old Intel quads are fairly power hungry though, esp when OCed. Make sure you have adequate cooling too in your case. Have you been monitoring temps? Other than that I suppose it's possible since you didn't mention the RAM specifics that it's too fast in speed and tight in timing for the CPU, a case some run into. It's usually only in cases where very expensive, high speed RAM is paired with a lower model CPU that can't keep up with the timings at the given speed though.

    BTW, resizing your pic would make responding to and reading this thread a lot easier without all the sideways scrolling.
    Last edited by Frag Maniac; 05-12-2010 at 03:18 PM.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    U.S of freakin' A
    Posts
    1,931
    Yeah, the PSU is really pushing it I think.. It's possible the card might be downclocking itself during gameplay to avoid a system reboot due to excessive power draw, which might account for the bad lag you see in GTA IV......especially since the video card is overclocked.

    I have two GTX 470s in SLI myself, and overclocking them REALLY increases the power draw. Try playing the game at stock clocks and see whether things improve, then you'd know for sure.

    If it's not that, the CPU @ 3.2ghz itself is quite weak to be paired with such a powerful video card.. If I were you, I'd overclock it as much as possible, but then again, you will definitely need to upgrade your PSU.
    Intel Core i7 6900K
    Noctua NH-D15
    Asus X99A II
    32 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3400 CL15 CR1
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Creative Sound Blaster Zx
    Sennheiser HD-598
    Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Western Digital Raptor 600GB
    Asus 12x Blu-Ray Burner
    Sony Optiarc 24x DVD Burner with NEC chipset
    Antec HCP-1200w Power Supply
    Viewsonic XG2703-GS
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
    Logitech G502 gaming mouse w/Razer Exact Mat
    Logitech G910 mechanical gaming keyboard
    Windows 8 x64 Pro

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Italia
    Posts
    1,018
    cpu bottleneck....

    try your 480 with an 920 @ 4ghz.....

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    834
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrea deluxe View Post
    cpu bottleneck....

    try your 480 with an 920 @ 4ghz.....
    +1
    cpu is choking that poor gtx480
    Maximus 5 Gene | i7-3770K @ 5GHz | ADATA 2x2GB @ 2.6GHz 9-12-10-28-1T | HD7970 @ 1200/6400
    Rampage 4 Extreme | i7-3930K @ 5GHz ||| X58-A OC Orange | i7-980X @ 4.6GHz

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    105
    Wow, I am surprised that it could be the processor!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Killadelphia
    Posts
    596
    same with mine Q6600 is really a bottleneck!
    CPU: INTEL Q9550 E0 @ 3600 1.28V + CORSAIR H50
    GPU: EVGA GTX 480 @ 725/1450/3800
    PPU: EVGA 9800GTX @ 738/1836/2250
    MB: ASUS P5E X38
    RAM: MUSHKIN 2X2GB
    SOUND: X-FI TITANIUM FATAL1TY | LOGITECH Z-5500 | LOGITECH G35
    HDD: WD 76GB X 2 RAPTORS RAID 0 10KRPM | WD 1TB CAVIAR BLACK 32MB STORAGE
    PSU: CORSAIR HX1000W PSU
    OS: WINDOWS 7 PRO X64 OS
    MON: HANNSPREE 28" 1920X1200 RESOLUTION


  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    332
    thanks for the input, now i know my cpu is slow
    Thinking it's future proof, I brought my Q6600 B3 in Q1 2007 upon launch to replace my Yonah while skipping C2D
    3 years of life isn't too bad

    so the next logical step is to get a hexacore and skip i7 9XX

    I am now determining if 980X is more cost effective then 920 in terms of dollar-per-month for its lifespan
    I hope 980X will last about 3 years for a gamer
    Last edited by PkG.1337; 05-11-2010 at 10:07 PM.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    356
    Quote Originally Posted by PkG.1337 View Post
    thanks for the input, now i know my cpu is slow
    Thinking it's future proof, I brought my Q6600 B3 in Q1 2007 upon launch to replace my Yonah while skipping C2D
    3 years of life isn't too bad

    so the next logical step is to get a hexacore and skip i7 9XX
    i just hope Intel will make a sub $500 hexacore soon

    I am now determining if 980X is more cost effective then 920 in terms of dollar-per-month for its lifespan
    I hope 980X will last about 3 years for a gamer
    You could get a q9650 and OC it it to 3.6ghz easy and you will beat a i920 no doubt. You could robably get your hand on one at $350 usd give or take. That would allow you to skip the whole i7 generation.

    Regards

  10. #10
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559
    Not so sure about that I have a P5Q Deluxe with a Q9650 Oced To 4.3 ghz and am still getting y performances with my GTX 480 and I have a Gougar 1000CM so I know is not the PSU I think is the CPU I would recommend a Core i7 deff.... I get like 24000+ on 3d Mark 06 and I only get like 1000 point more than with my 275 GTX and in some cases worse scores than on the 2 first benchmarks I'll show you on some pics...



    ill add some pics with the 480 GTX later on when I run 3d mark 06...
    Last edited by davidkozat; 05-11-2010 at 10:51 PM.
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

  11. #11
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559
    Quote Originally Posted by davidkozat View Post
    Not so sure about that I have a P5Q Deluxe with a Q9650 Oced To 4.3 ghz and am still getting y performances with my GTX 480 and I have a Gougar 1000CM so I know is not the PSU I think is the CPU I would recommend a Core i7 deff.... I get like 24000+ on 3d Mark 06 and I only get like 1000 point more than with my 275 GTX and in some cases worse scores than on the 2 first benchmarks I'll show you on some pics...



    ill add some pics with the 480 GTX later on when I run 3d mark 06...
    Right guys this are the scores with the GTX 480 on 3d Mark 06

    sorry for the image size but I want to capture all the features...



    as you can see dissapointing to say the least...
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

  12. #12
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    how about other benches?

    tpu got 23.5 for a 480 and that was with a 920@3.8 only...
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...80_SLI/23.html

    your getting 22.5 with higher cpu clocks... somethings def not right...
    your missing 1-2K points id say...

    they used win7 64bit... are you on 32bit maybe?
    id be surprised if that would explain the difference though hmmm...

    check with gpuz if your card is running in pciE 1.1 compatibility mode...
    thats a common bug on nvidia cards these days... most people dont even notice it, unless they are on a 295.
    Last edited by saaya; 05-12-2010 at 03:35 AM.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    834
    Quote Originally Posted by Sn@ke:~ View Post
    You could get a q9650 and OC it it to 3.6ghz easy and you will beat a i920 no doubt. You could robably get your hand on one at $350 usd give or take. That would allow you to skip the whole i7 generation.

    Regards
    You are joking, right?
    Maximus 5 Gene | i7-3770K @ 5GHz | ADATA 2x2GB @ 2.6GHz 9-12-10-28-1T | HD7970 @ 1200/6400
    Rampage 4 Extreme | i7-3930K @ 5GHz ||| X58-A OC Orange | i7-980X @ 4.6GHz

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,023
    Quote Originally Posted by donmarkoni View Post
    You are joking, right?
    agreed,

    put physics on anything more than 3 cores (which you need to do if you use any nuke mod for crysis or Fallout 3) and the Q9650 will fail
    i7 920 @ 4GHz 1.25v
    GTX 470 @ 859MHz 1062mv

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    356
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...85-gtx295.html

    http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2....0.5,1403.html

    Here is a link comparing q9650 vs 17 920 in game with gtx285 and gts295 you can see the benchamark a q9650 Oced beats a 17 920 at stock and you don't have to change component. s

    I'm not joking

    Regards

    P.S. There is no difference between q9650 and the qx9650 other than the locked multiplier and its higher Oced capability and $$$$$$
    Last edited by Sn@ke:~; 05-12-2010 at 10:31 AM.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    122
    a 920 do 3.5+ ghz on stock cooler :P

  17. #17
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    how about other benches?

    tpu got 23.5 for a 480 and that was with a 920@3.8 only...
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...80_SLI/23.html

    your getting 22.5 with higher cpu clocks... somethings def not right...
    your missing 1-2K points id say...

    they used win7 64bit... are you on 32bit maybe?
    id be surprised if that would explain the difference though hmmm...

    check with gpuz if your card is running in pciE 1.1 compatibility mode...
    thats a common bug on nvidia cards these days... most people dont even notice it, unless they are on a 295.


    Right now am using another card on my system to set up the EK-480 waterblock on the card so while am attaching it am also running CPU benchys so I can compare it with a Core i7 am also using Windows 7 64 bit havent used 32 now in a while so.... am gonna try and report temps and oc with the 480 when I add a new loop on my system right now am concern about using the same watercooling set up to cool my CPU and and now the new 480 so ill report later on...



    I also made a discovery before when I was running 3d mark 06 I had it running on my main screen while running MSI afterburner on my second one, so I could monitor the temps, and I notice that only on the 3rd GPU test, the graph showed me the highest GPU load of all the test, which is were I notice the differences on graphic score peaking between 80 to 99 % the rest of the test showed me only between 20 and 60 at best which is what exentialy explain the dramatic low score... right?? just a theory ...
    Last edited by davidkozat; 05-12-2010 at 01:42 PM.
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    122
    920 3.7 - gtx 480 870 2150 3dmark 06 256xx points, no bothered take shot ehhehe

    gpu never reached 2/3 load

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    964
    The CPU I'm looking at is the i7 960. With the multiplier bumped to it's max 25, all you need do is increase the BLCK a mere 8% to 144 to get a very cool, stable, no over-volt 3.6GHz OC, and it's a LOT cheaper than a 980X. I'd wait until the i9s release though, there will probably be a price drop. Drop the stock cooler on the 960 though, they aren't good enough for even moderate OCs. You can get a decent air cooler pretty cheap for moderate OCing though.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Killadelphia
    Posts
    596
    Quote Originally Posted by Sn@ke:~ View Post
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/vid...85-gtx295.html

    http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/2....0.5,1403.html

    Here is a link comparing q9650 vs 17 920 in game with gtx285 and gts295 you can see the benchamark a q9650 Oced beats a 17 920 at stock and you don't have to change component. s

    I'm not joking

    Regards

    P.S. There is no difference between q9650 and the qx9650 other than the locked multiplier and its higher Oced capability and $$$$$$
    You got me thinking man !
    CPU: INTEL Q9550 E0 @ 3600 1.28V + CORSAIR H50
    GPU: EVGA GTX 480 @ 725/1450/3800
    PPU: EVGA 9800GTX @ 738/1836/2250
    MB: ASUS P5E X38
    RAM: MUSHKIN 2X2GB
    SOUND: X-FI TITANIUM FATAL1TY | LOGITECH Z-5500 | LOGITECH G35
    HDD: WD 76GB X 2 RAPTORS RAID 0 10KRPM | WD 1TB CAVIAR BLACK 32MB STORAGE
    PSU: CORSAIR HX1000W PSU
    OS: WINDOWS 7 PRO X64 OS
    MON: HANNSPREE 28" 1920X1200 RESOLUTION


  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    356
    I'm not thinking anymore, i was thinking of i7 cuz i got an e8400 and i didn't and don't want to go through such an amount of money to get better FPS in game. I'm selling my 2 8800gts(g92) and my e8400 and 4 gig of ram to pay off my q9650 and i rather want to spend another $400 of another 470gtx instead of i7 set up.

    I found away to have more memory addressing on windows 32 so i can get rid of 4gig and stay on 32bit OS. 64bit OS driver is a pain in the butt for gaming.

    Regards
    Last edited by Sn@ke:~; 05-12-2010 at 08:16 PM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2,838
    It's not your PSU, you have plenty of power. A Q6600 @ 3.2GHz is a huge bottleneck for that card.

    For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.

    ..

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    241
    I7 920 @ 4200mhz , stock 480.
    .:. Obsidian 750D .:. i7 5960X .:. EVGA Titan .:. G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR4 32GB .:. CORSAIR HX850i .:. Asus X99-DELUXE .:. Crucial M4 SSD 512GB .:.

  24. #24
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559
    Right guys I sussesfully install the waterblock on my 480 and temp on idle are 34 so am gonna do some more tests and see how high I can get this card on water...
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

  25. #25
    Hackintosh Lover
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Between London & Eastbourne, United Kingdom
    Posts
    559
    You Guys since I placed the watercooling block on the GPU it now makes a funny noise when I use the Kombustor on the MSI afterburner and even though the temps are low, it actually makes a burning sound??!! so am scare on the long run it could damage the card after playing games for a long time....??

    what you guys think?
    Why Not Try a Hackintosh for A Change?? Steps HERE!!
    Want to installing Mountain/Lion from a DVD or USB on you Apple PC?? Steps Here!


    Super Stable aKa 24/7




    Winners of EURO 08 | World Cup 10 | EURO 12
    Quote: Killin' Tube Kinks One Coil At A Time
    Hackintosh Lover
    "Dumb people" shouldn't use "Smart Phones"


    New Personal Wallpapers Selection

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •