Thread: Custom RGB USB LED Controller

Lightbulb Custom RGB USB LED Controller

Hi,

I'm new to this forum, so this may not be the right place for this post, but hopefully somebody can help!

I'm in the process of kitting out my case with 5 custom RGB LED 'zones', and would like to be able to control them via software, a little like the AlienFX stuff. Trouble is - I'm not an electrician. I can solder a board with bits if needs be, but wouldn't have the faintest idea where to start when it comes to components, etc. I've done some googling and came across the schematics for some boards which can do this - but, I can't print PCBs, so I'm a little shafted!

Does anybody have any ideas where I could buy an off-the-shelve solution? Or would anybody be willing to knock up a kit for me via eBay perhaps?

Any advice would be great!

Xtreme Member
    If u have a schematic, then u have the lay out, you dont need a PCB. Use a proto board and use wires or proto traces to connect the parts.

Example of a proto board with traces
    http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...8nO%2ftkG06yKx

what about finding one of the alienFX cases on ebay and havesting the lights?
    Intel Q6600 L727A 3.2GHz (8*400 @ 1.35v)
    Asus Maximus Formula
    2X2gb Gskill DDRII-1000
    XFX 5870
    WD 150Gb Raptor and Maxtor 250Gb DiamondMax10
    2X Samsung DVD-RW DL SATA
    Silverstone OP850
    Thermalright Ultra 120 Xtreme (lapped)
    Thermaltake Armor
    thats it, and proud of it.
    Heatware: pby5cat

Ah, hadn't thought of using a prototype board, I guess it's a possibility - although the board would no doubt end up being quite large compared to its PCB equivalent?
    I've looked for some Alienware cases - and the only ones I can find have the passive Alien-FX module - i.e. not software controlled, and even these cases sell at extortionate prices!

Thanks for your input anyway, it's appreciated - and I may look in to prototype boards.