MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Need a new 775 CPU? Maybe?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46

    Need a new 775 CPU? Maybe?

    Ok. Here is the deal. I've been running my E6600 for 3 years ish. Over clocked to 3.1 ghz. All of a sudden it wont boot, I was getting some intermittant reboots in games etc. very infrequent, but now I can't get the system to boot unless I have the BIOS set to it's default settings which throws my CPU and Memory setting back to factory default with the AUTO settings...

    With the default settings I can get into windows and run ok, however I was in a game yesterday and it rebooted even at the default settings...

    So is it time for a new CPU?

    Is the MB going bad?

    If I need a new CPU what is the biggest bang for the buck gaming 775 CPU now?

    Thoughts?
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  2. #2
    Xtremely Hot Sauce
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    Start testing components. If you have another DDR2 rig, check the RAM. If you have another LGA775 rig, try swapping CPU's and mobo's. If you have a spare PSU, try swapping those. Et cetera.

    And if you need a new LGA775 CPU, perhaps a Pentium E6300? Stock is 2.8GHz and has VT-x support, just throw the FSB up to 333 and you should have an easy 3.5GHz. I've got to 4GHz on mine on air.

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Yeah prolly time to pop out the components, its just wierd that it is doing this now after all this time. This system has been a rock star for a long time.

    I've been thinking of going with a Quad Core, maybe it's time to go there, the E6300 looks like a gem of an overclocker though, would the performance be better than my current E6600 with the E6300?

    What about a Q9550?

    Damn, I didn't really want to go upgrading right now...
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    196
    Probably the motherboard. It's pretty hard to kill an Intel CPU.
    i5 750 @ 4.2ghz
    EVGA P55 FTW
    8gig G.Skill Ripjaw @ 1055mhz
    Gigabyte 6950 modded
    Seasonic X-650
    Antec P180 modded and watercooled
    Thermochill PA160
    Apogee XT
    MCP350

  5. #5
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    odds are its the board or even memory
    for sure not the cpu

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    No really!! Is there any way to test the MB without switching out he CPU and or RAM?

    That would be super crappy. I would then have to upgrade the MB and probably go with new CPU etc. etc.

    Good god, why would the MB go bad after only 2 years or so?
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  7. #7
    Xtremely Hot Sauce
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    3,586
    Quote Originally Posted by SurlyPlatypus View Post
    Yeah prolly time to pop out the components, its just wierd that it is doing this now after all this time. This system has been a rock star for a long time.

    I've been thinking of going with a Quad Core, maybe it's time to go there, the E6300 looks like a gem of an overclocker though, would the performance be better than my current E6600 with the E6300?

    What about a Q9550?

    Damn, I didn't really want to go upgrading right now...
    Almost across the board, the E6300-Wolfdale will beat your older E6600-Conroe. Except for in a few applications where L2 cache matters (2MB vs. 4MB), the revised Core 2 uArch in Wolfdale will give a 1-2% boost in addition to the clock speed differences. I don't know if your board will support it fully; my Abit IP35-E actually doesn't (Abit folded before they released for newer, lower-cost Wolfdales), but there's a beta BIOS that does support it, and is the BIOS that I'm using now.

    A Q9550 should do a good bit better, too, but is ofc more expensive. As I said with my E6300 and a rather shoddy OCing board (FSB ~400 was the limit I found on both my E2140 and now the E6300) and decent cooling (Scythe Mugen-1), I got 4GHz and 50C idle temperatures at 1.44vcore.

    Perhaps it's your best choice, perhaps it's not. It's $79 so it's hard to go TOO wrong for the price. Heck, maybe you can even RMA that E6600 with Intel and get another or perhaps a newer chip.

    You can try Memtest86, but everything may check out if something is only unstable at an overclock. Either way, swapping components is the only sure-fire way to test, isolating one potential problem at a time.

    My toys:
    Asus Sabertooth X58 | Core i7-950 (D0) | CM Hyper 212+ | G.Skill Sniper LV 12GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | GeForce GTX 670-2048MB | OCZ Agility 4 512GB, WD Raptor 150GB x 3 (RAID0), WD Black 1TB x 2 (RAID0) | XFX 650W CAH9 | Lian-Li PC-9F | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | Core i7-920 (D0) | Stock HSF | G.Skill Sniper LV 4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 | Radeon HD 2600 Pro 512MB | WD Caviar 80GB IDE, 4TB x 2 (RAID5) | Corsair TX750 | XClio 188AF | Win 7 Pro x86-64
    Dell Dimension 8400 | Pentium 4 530 HT (E0) | Stock HSF | 1.5GB DDR2-400 CL3 | GeForce 8800 GT 256MB | WD Caviar 160GB SATA | Stock PSU | (Broken) Stock Case | Win Vista HP x86
    Little Dot DAC_I | Little Dot MK IV | Beyerdynamic DT-880 Premium (600 Ω) | TEAC AG-H300 MkIII | Polk Audio Monitor 5 Series 2's

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,052
    Quote Originally Posted by SurlyPlatypus View Post
    No really!! Is there any way to test the MB without switching out he CPU and or RAM?

    That would be super crappy. I would then have to upgrade the MB and probably go with new CPU etc. etc.

    Good god, why would the MB go bad after only 2 years or so?
    Because QA is near non existent these days, I've had numerous mobo's die in less than a year though most of those were NV chipsets..............NEVER again
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

  9. #9
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,456
    X58 board, i7-980x, 6 gig of DDR3-1600, done..
    Damn it's easy to spend other peoples money!
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  10. #10
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman View Post
    X58 board, i7-980x, 6 gig of DDR3-1600, done..
    Damn it's easy to spend other peoples money!
    its gonna be easier when you donate them to me

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  11. #11
    V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,456
    Quote Originally Posted by zsamz_ View Post
    its gonna be easier when you donate them to me
    I will probably never have a 980x..
    BUT I do have a W5677..

    and what's your name again?
    Do I know you?
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  12. #12
    Dave's Mentor!
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    montreal
    Posts
    5,217
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman View Post
    I will probably never have a 980x..
    BUT I do have a W5677..

    and what's your name again?
    Do I know you?
    just gimme your adress i'll be there in 24 hours

    maximus IV extreme gtx580
    gigabut p67-ud7
    p67 sabertooth
    2500k+2600k
    antec 1200watt
    EVGA classified 760
    920 Batch# 3849B018 4.985ghz@1.52v gtx285 ftw sli
    OCZ3RPR1866LV6GK hypers
    dfi ut p35 rampage extreme
    gigabut p35c-ds3r bios suks
    gigabut x38-d6q dead thank god
    ballistix 8500 1240mhz@2.02v

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ft Bragg NC
    Posts
    244
    i know this might sound redundant, but whens the last time you cleaned out your computer? cleaned the heatsink and applied thermal paste? could potentially be a thermal issue as well. if not, i would start testing the ram
    Main System: Core i7 860-Kingston LoVo DDR3 1866-eVGA P55FTW--2x Gigabyte GTX460's in SLI-Intel X25-M 80GB-WD Caviar Black 1TB 32MB Cache HDD-Razer Barracuda AC-1-Corsair TX750-Samsung Dual Layer DVD Burner-Pioneer Dual Layer DVD Burner-Cooler Master CM690-II Advanced-Thermaltake Frio
    Secondary System: Core i3 530-eVGA H55-2x2GB Crucial DDR3 D9KPT -BFG GTX260-500GB Seagate 7200.12 HDD-Corsair HX620-NEC Dual Layer DVD Burner-Antec 300-Cooler Master Hyper 212+

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Reno, Nevada
    Posts
    46
    Well I ran Memtest 86.

    On the first run it started running the test then rebooted.

    It passed after rebooting.

    I have no idea what that means.

    The CPU Cooler and case is clean and I did take the side off my case just in case it was a heat issue, I don't think thats the issue.

    I can consistantly get it to reboot by running Bad Company 2 and War Hammer which both start using the CPU and Graphics card heavily...

    It could be the MB I suppose, the ASUS P5K was top of the line when I bought it...

    Arggg... I'm now stuck deciding what to do next, just get a new CPU, then MB, then Memory in that order but staying on the 755 platform to save on costs or just decide it's time to upgrade wholesale and go with an i7 platform, the i7 route would be way more expensive...
    Motherboard:ASUS P5K - Wi/Fi Deluxe
    Processor: Intel Core2Duo E6600 (L702C582) - 3150MHz, 1.41v
    Bios Revision: 0603
    Memory: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ (In Yellow Slots)
    PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 700w
    Cooling: Tuniq T120 Tower CPU, 80mm Fan on NB
    Case: Antec P160W Anodized Aluminum Super Mid Tower
    Audio: Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional
    Video: BFG GeForce 8800GTS 640MB

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    196
    Seriously, it's not the CPU. You can literally take the heatsink off while it's running and it'll just throttle and shutdown.
    i5 750 @ 4.2ghz
    EVGA P55 FTW
    8gig G.Skill Ripjaw @ 1055mhz
    Gigabyte 6950 modded
    Seasonic X-650
    Antec P180 modded and watercooled
    Thermochill PA160
    Apogee XT
    MCP350

  16. #16
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1,260
    If you have a multimeter it's easy to see if the PSU voltages are off, at least.
    --->TeamPURE<---

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ft Bragg NC
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by RVWinkle View Post
    Seriously, it's not the CPU. You can literally take the heatsink off while it's running and it'll just throttle and shutdown.
    yup, thats why i think its a heat issue thats causing the shutdowns. if the thermal paste thats on there is the original stuff from 3-ish years ago, theres a good chance that it has dried up hence why i would put new TIM on if its been a while

    are you monitoring temps right before shutdowns?
    Main System: Core i7 860-Kingston LoVo DDR3 1866-eVGA P55FTW--2x Gigabyte GTX460's in SLI-Intel X25-M 80GB-WD Caviar Black 1TB 32MB Cache HDD-Razer Barracuda AC-1-Corsair TX750-Samsung Dual Layer DVD Burner-Pioneer Dual Layer DVD Burner-Cooler Master CM690-II Advanced-Thermaltake Frio
    Secondary System: Core i3 530-eVGA H55-2x2GB Crucial DDR3 D9KPT -BFG GTX260-500GB Seagate 7200.12 HDD-Corsair HX620-NEC Dual Layer DVD Burner-Antec 300-Cooler Master Hyper 212+

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    OZtralia
    Posts
    2,052
    Quote Originally Posted by alpha0ne View Post
    Because QA is near non existent these days, I've had numerous mobo's die in less than a year though most of those were NV chipsets..............NEVER again
    And regardng my comment re no QA these days....

    I bought another LGA775 board (Intel chipset) earlier this week to replace an NV chipset board that had died and guess what..............DOA

    ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    lots and lots of cores and lots and lots of tuners,HTPC's boards,cases,HDD's,vga's,DDR1&2&3 etc etc all powered by Corsair PSU's

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •