X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Page 73 of 239 FirstFirst ... 23637071727374757683123173 ... LastLast
Results 1,801 to 1,825 of 5952

Thread: ***Asus Rampage III Extreme Owners Thread***

  1. #1801
    Wpprriimmee crrraaazzzyyy
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    1,802
    Great triple SLI 480s result Boadar!
    Heatware



    Custom SS unit by Gray Mole, Sdumper Cascade, K|ngp|n F1 Gemnni, TEK9 Fatboy, TEK9 Slim, NB-1, H2O stuff...
    Celeron 347, Celeron 356, Celeron 420, 2x P4 631, P4 670, P4 640, P4 651, P4 524, PD 915, P4 540J, 2x P4 530J, P4 520J Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB DDR2-8500 2x Asus REX X48, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P rev 1.0, Asus Commando P965,
    Stuff I used to have:
    Asus RIIIE X58, Evga Classified P55, Gigabyte EP45T-UD3LR, i5 670, E8600, Q9650, Q9550, , 3x2GB Mushkin Redline 2000C8,, G.Skill 2x2GB PC9600(Silver), Evga Evbot
    XFX 4770 modded, XFX 7950GT, XFX 6600GT, Evga 8600GTS 512MB, 3850 OC, 4x 3870s, and X600

    "In this world, Elwood, you must be oh so smart or oh so pleasant. Well, for years I was smart. I recommend pleasant." - James Stewart

  2. #1802
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    36
    Congrats on the gold cup 3DM03 Bodar, well done man !!

    Are those TEK9 FAT GPU pots you used there?
    CPU's : i7-2600k
    Bench Boards : Maximus IV Extreme
    RAM : 2 x 2 G.Skill DDR3-2133 : 7-9-7-20
    GPU's : Asus CUII GTX 580 SLI


  3. #1803
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    134
    Thanks so much Nick and Linuxfan!! I did a test once with 4 gtx 480's on air and a 5700mhz cpu clock.. It was also decent.. about 176k.. Maybe there is a 4-way sli gpu frequency combined with a 6200mhz+ that may be good as well.. Or just bump the cpu up to 6400mhz and use 3 of these on ln2 at below 1100mhz.. Maybe 1050 might be good.. I dont think anyone is going to beat Nicks 217k score though. that's really awesome!!

  4. #1804
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    134
    Thanks Brolloks for all the help on the IOH stuff!! Yeah! tek 9 slim.. There's alot of insulation tape around them.. Makes it look bigger I guess.

  5. #1805
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    i think the base clocks of the 480s are 33mhz i'm not sure..when we were benching 3 480s...we got weird results.... congrats with results...what bios was used for 3d?

    nichshih is back!!! nick hows the new kp pot?


  6. #1806
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    134
    The bios I used was 704.. I think it's improved with the newer 3d bios.. Maybe I'll try that soon!! Thanks Hondacity!!

  7. #1807
    Quote Originally Posted by brolloks View Post
    The 1st ones were rev 1.0G and the later ones rev 2.0G, this is my 2nd board...the 1st one I had was a rev 1.0 and sucked badly, and could not get pass 210 bclck with a variety of CPU's...my current one is a rev 1.0 as well and is great and does 255 blclk on the 980X. From what I can gather the rev 2.0 fixed a lot of issues the 1st one had especially with low bclck walls.
    Thank you for your reply!!

    In Japan, Ist delivery lot are rev2, 2nd delivery are rev1.
    So I guess rev2 has any problem, now change there rev to rev1.
    But as your info, rev 2 is beter than rev1.

    I checked some HWBot ranking, SF3D's REX3 is rev1., other top ranker used rev2.
    So rev1 & rev2 does not have many changes・・・・・?

  8. #1808
    Awesome score Bodar!!
    Last edited by kurumi_Japan; 07-26-2010 at 09:23 PM.

  9. #1809
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    504
    Quote Originally Posted by brolloks View Post
    It shows up in CPUZ as Rev 1.xx or 2.xx under the motherboard tab...it is also noted on the board or box
    for me, is rev 2.0 shows up in CPU-Z but the motherboard is rev 1.04g

    there are R3E where indicated rev 2.0 on the board?
    Sorry for my english

    LL A77F - Asus Rampage V Extreme - 5930K - Corsair Platinum 4x4Go 3000 C15 - Zotac 770 - SSD Samsung 850 Pro & 830
    Pump D5 with mod Bitspower - EK Supremacy - Koolance GTX680 - HW Labs SR1 280 & EK XTX 360

  10. #1810
    Guys please dont trust cpu-z with these boards it isnt configured to read them properly, incorrect vcore and display.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    "realy magic isnt card tricks, big cribs and cars b1tch
    its 6 gig vantage full pass without 2v sh1t" Young Pro

  11. #1811
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    i think the base clocks of the 480s are 33mhz i'm not sure..when we were benching 3 480s...we got weird results.... congrats with results...what bios was used for 3d?

    nichshih is back!!! nick hows the new kp pot?

    TEK6.66 ? they are so good ... easy to put LN2 & control the temp

    and i'm always here ,,, just busy in my work ...
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  12. #1812
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by kurumi_Japan View Post
    Thank you for your reply!!

    In Japan, Ist delivery lot are rev2, 2nd delivery are rev1.
    So I guess rev2 has any problem, now change there rev to rev1.
    But as your info, rev 2 is beter than rev1.

    I checked some HWBot ranking, SF3D's REX3 is rev1., other top ranker used rev2.
    So rev1 & rev2 does not have many changes・・・・・?


    i think it depands on ur chill controller ....

    some early chill controllers have cold bug issue

    but i think retail version already solved the problems .
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  13. #1813
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    Quote Originally Posted by nickshih View Post
    i think it depands on ur chill controller ....

    some early chill controllers have cold bug issue

    but i think retail version already solved the problems .
    yeah i heard something bout the chil controller...i still got bad cb on a 980x

    i'll try another config..and bios...thanks for mentioning the "chil" its been buggin me for awhile now...


  14. #1814
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    yeah i heard something bout the chil controller...i still got bad cb on a 980x

    i'll try another config..and bios...thanks for mentioning the "chil" its been buggin me for awhile now...


    config and BIOS will not solve the problem .

    i was using a heating mos to heat the chill before . it works

    but i think that changing a mobo is the fast way .
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  15. #1815
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    nick

    is this what you have?



    Last edited by Hondacity; 07-26-2010 at 11:27 PM.


  16. #1816
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Austin
    Posts
    134
    Are you talking about cb with the mobo.. If so, I tested an i7 980x yesterday and the mobo shut off at -110c Put my favorite chip in and I'm rockin for a few hours straight at -185c
    I'm pretty sure I have one of the first retails as well.. Hey Nick.. Does the NB pot really help alot on the SR-2? Max clocks on vantage without it have been about 5400mhz so far with two x5680's..

  17. #1817
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Athens - Hellas
    Posts
    739
    Quote Originally Posted by uncle fester View Post
    Guys please dont trust cpu-z with these boards it isnt configured to read them properly, incorrect vcore and display.
    I think that 1.55 version of cpu-z has solved this problem . I will check it again though

  18. #1818
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    nick

    is this what you have?


    ya , my good R3E all 1.04G

    Chill Coldbug always make the offset voltage having some problem

    Something like u set 1.7v in BIOS , but u only get 1.5~1.6v

    and Some Chill Coldbug will make ur CPU coldbug moving .....

    U can replace the mobo with ASUS , if u have such mobo with defective chill chip
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  19. #1819
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    536
    Quote Originally Posted by Bodar View Post
    Are you talking about cb with the mobo.. If so, I tested an i7 980x yesterday and the mobo shut off at -110c Put my favorite chip in and I'm rockin for a few hours straight at -185c
    I'm pretty sure I have one of the first retails as well.. Hey Nick.. Does the NB pot really help alot on the SR-2? Max clocks on vantage without it have been about 5400mhz so far with two x5680's..


    NB pot really help the stability of the BCLK and QPI LINK

    Espeacially the FPS of 3Dmark benching . make the FPS higher and more stable

    but NB also have Cold boot issue . So u have to spend lots of time to taste SR-2
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  20. #1820
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    If i use only one VGA Card and CPU Water Cooling

    which board give me high BCLK

    Gigabyte X58A-UD7 or Asus Rampage III Extreme ?
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  21. #1821
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    Quote Originally Posted by nickshih View Post
    ya , my good R3E all 1.04G

    Chill Coldbug always make the offset voltage having some problem

    Something like u set 1.7v in BIOS , but u only get 1.5~1.6v

    and Some Chill Coldbug will make ur CPU coldbug moving .....

    U can replace the mobo with ASUS , if u have such mobo with defective chill chip
    wow!

    you've shown the light

    thanks nick and bodar

    .i'll try to insulate like bodar..it does help then...


  22. #1822
    I checkd my rev1 REX3(retail products ver) BCLK limit on air.
    The mobo PCB rev is 1.04G, production month is 2010/06.

    http://psycho999.blog38.fc2.com/blog-entry-310.html

    BCLK=243.8MHz, QPI≒4400MHz
    mobo cooling is only stock cooler.
    I think rev1 is not so bad.
    Last edited by kurumi_Japan; 07-27-2010 at 08:34 AM.

  23. #1823
    Quote Originally Posted by brolloks View Post
    It shows up in CPUZ as Rev 1.xx or 2.xx under the motherboard tab...it is also noted on the board or box
    I think its not noted on box & PCB.
    rev2 mobo is also PCB marking is 1.04G.
    Box has not any rev #.

  24. #1824
    Champion
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Athens , Hellas
    Posts
    556
    That's some nice BCLK with high QPI .

    Did you test highest spi32m BCLK ???

  25. #1825
    Quote Originally Posted by Stelios View Post
    That's some nice BCLK with high QPI .

    Did you test highest spi32m BCLK ???
    I am very sorry, it just tested only high QPI BCLK limit.
    For your reference, my 980X SuperPI 32m result.

    http://hwbot.org/community/submissio...in_21sec_641ms

    QPI≒4000MHz, BCLK≒180MHz.
    It's not my ACE chip, just test new chip internal clock.
    Last edited by kurumi_Japan; 07-27-2010 at 08:34 AM.

Page 73 of 239 FirstFirst ... 23637071727374757683123173 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •