X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: after talking to sapphire support what i learn, ATI 5970 cards

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    143

    Exclamation after talking to sapphire support what i learn, ATI 5970 cards

    SAPPHIRE 100280SR Radeon HD 5970 (Hemlock) 2GB 512 (256 x 2)-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
    I have been reading a lot about this and its performance THE 5970 AMD VIDEO CARDS, one thing, it gets very hot at times" NOT GPU's guys", The GPU TEMPS GO AS HIGHEST 63C at full load, clock at 850/1040 1.1v and the fan running at 100%.
    it's the memory " GDDR5" that hits about a good 80c at full load, and the back plate is very hot. I know it sound crazy, but I did some test on this card.
    I put temp senor on the memory and senor on the GPU the reading I got was " GPU top 64c full load" and the memory temps was read 75c to 88c on both side of the card.
    what I think it's the memory that coursing the cold boot or overheating, I ran a benchmark on this card, when temp on the memory got to 82c the card shutdown the system and reboot it sift.
    but the GPU temp was holding at 60c to 63c. it sound funny. right? / other user are reporting the same problem with all the ATI-5970 cards...
    Even if you install a water block, the problem will still be the back plate, someone need to make a "WATERBLOCK BACK PLATE".
    I did a temp test on the memory with a waterblock install. this is what I got with the block install.
    at full load temp reading on GPU's was 63c and the on the GPU's side the memory also reading 40c. but the memory on back plate was reading higher them memory on the GPU's side, it was reading temp at 68c to 81c and still right after the benchmark fished, the card did cold boot, guys it not cold boot..THE MEMORY ARE OVER HEATING, THE BIOS IS PROGRAM COUSING THE SHUTDOWN, WHEN THE MEMORY TEMP GET TO HIGHER THEN 80c IT WILL SHUTDOWN OR MAKE YOUR SYSTEM REBOOT.
    Last edited by framesX2X; 04-13-2010 at 02:45 PM. Reason: correction
    Rampage III Extreme
    Corsair 800D Case mod w/Boreas chiller
    i7-980x 4.5ghz 145x31 1.36v/mem GT 2023mhz@8.8.8.22.98 T1 1.63v
    SSD 2x40GB raid 0/ raptor 150GB-10RPM/750GB data drive
    SAPPHIRE ATI HD5970 Hemlock 2GB OC@850/1200/1.100v
    Boreas Chiller, WaterCooling . PSU ABS 1100w
    CPU Block /EK-Supreme HF High Flow - Highest Performance CPU Water Block - Nickel
    Chipset Block Koolance xtreme both
    GPU EK-FC5970 copper
    my video on my mod when i first started=>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8O41h2QM-PQ


    --------------------------------------------------
    my 3Dmark06 34215

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,781
    i would bet that if u send gabe a pm he may get a swiftech fined unisink out for the back. dose it get those temps if u dont oc the ram.
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    143
    overclock or not, you still get these temp, at 725 the memory still gets very hot 74c to 79c, but it wouldn't reboot the card...
    Rampage III Extreme
    Corsair 800D Case mod w/Boreas chiller
    i7-980x 4.5ghz 145x31 1.36v/mem GT 2023mhz@8.8.8.22.98 T1 1.63v
    SSD 2x40GB raid 0/ raptor 150GB-10RPM/750GB data drive
    SAPPHIRE ATI HD5970 Hemlock 2GB OC@850/1200/1.100v
    Boreas Chiller, WaterCooling . PSU ABS 1100w
    CPU Block /EK-Supreme HF High Flow - Highest Performance CPU Water Block - Nickel
    Chipset Block Koolance xtreme both
    GPU EK-FC5970 copper
    my video on my mod when i first started=>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8O41h2QM-PQ


    --------------------------------------------------
    my 3Dmark06 34215

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    143
    hi

    I found a problem with ATI-5970 hemlock video card. the cold boot is not cause by the GPU's benign overclock, but by memory of graphics card the "GDDR5", It does not matter if you overclock the memory or not. When I apply Cold air from the bottom of the card,
    the memory on that side cool down to 36c. if no air gets to top of the back plate the temp on that side is 44c. if overclock the memory, Let's say 1200mhz then the temp jump up to 67c to 78 on the back plate. So in this test I put a AC duck to the card, blowing cold air to the intake of fan.

    I think that manufacture are aware of this problem, another words if you try to RMA your 5970 card because of a cold boot, they will decline you RMA. And they will tell you that the problem is not the card, but PSU or Drivers .


    This benchmark results.... Now remember I did over clock when I ran the benchmark.
    890mhz @ 1.16v @ 1200mhz mem and Synchronize both GPU's.
    3Dmark06 / 25117 score
    http://i955.photobucket.com/albums/a.../test2pics.jpg
    some pics on what I did to cool down the memory.



    Last edited by framesX2X; 04-15-2010 at 05:58 PM.
    Rampage III Extreme
    Corsair 800D Case mod w/Boreas chiller
    i7-980x 4.5ghz 145x31 1.36v/mem GT 2023mhz@8.8.8.22.98 T1 1.63v
    SSD 2x40GB raid 0/ raptor 150GB-10RPM/750GB data drive
    SAPPHIRE ATI HD5970 Hemlock 2GB OC@850/1200/1.100v
    Boreas Chiller, WaterCooling . PSU ABS 1100w
    CPU Block /EK-Supreme HF High Flow - Highest Performance CPU Water Block - Nickel
    Chipset Block Koolance xtreme both
    GPU EK-FC5970 copper
    my video on my mod when i first started=>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8O41h2QM-PQ


    --------------------------------------------------
    my 3Dmark06 34215

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Aland Islands, Finland
    Posts
    1,139
    Well, having good air flow for the card is a must, and nothing new. Pretty much a no-brainer on such a powerful card. Especially if you got water on all other components.
    Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
    AMD FX-8350
    AMD ref. HD 6950 2Gb x 2
    4x4Gb HyperX T1
    Corsair AX1200
    3 x Alphacool triple, 2 x Alphacool ATXP 6970/50, EK D5 dual top, EK Supreme HF

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6
    Did you read the post? He says the card is too cold to boot. Not too hot, meaning you need more airflow.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Aland Islands, Finland
    Posts
    1,139
    Quote Originally Posted by Levell0rd View Post
    Did you read the post? He says the card is too cold to boot. Not too hot, meaning you need more airflow.
    Hmm?

    I'm aware that some users are experiencing cold bug issues. But I see nothing mentioned in this thread that would bring more light to that issue. All I see is he saying the ram is getting overheated.

    THE MEMORY ARE OVER HEATING, THE BIOS IS PROGRAM COUSING THE SHUTDOWN, WHEN THE MEMORY TEMP GET TO HIGHER THEN 80c IT WILL SHUTDOWN OR MAKE YOUR SYSTEM REBOOT
    So, perhaps try reading it yourself? And sorry, I do not understand your last sentence, Levell0rd.

    Or am I missing something here, that you are aware of?
    Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
    AMD FX-8350
    AMD ref. HD 6950 2Gb x 2
    4x4Gb HyperX T1
    Corsair AX1200
    3 x Alphacool triple, 2 x Alphacool ATXP 6970/50, EK D5 dual top, EK Supreme HF

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    693
    Quote Originally Posted by Levell0rd View Post
    Did you read the post? He says the card is too cold to boot. Not too hot, meaning you need more airflow.
    Congratulations, most confusing sentence ever.

    The cold/warm bug seems to be dependant on core temp, I'm sure memory temp could have something to do with it. It doesn't matter imo, it's too hard to try and keep 1 component above the cold/warm bug temp. Memory/vrm/core whatever, other than on running on air or turning off pump, not much can be done.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    143
    hi guys

    I'm sorry for miss type., i correct the post.
    Rampage III Extreme
    Corsair 800D Case mod w/Boreas chiller
    i7-980x 4.5ghz 145x31 1.36v/mem GT 2023mhz@8.8.8.22.98 T1 1.63v
    SSD 2x40GB raid 0/ raptor 150GB-10RPM/750GB data drive
    SAPPHIRE ATI HD5970 Hemlock 2GB OC@850/1200/1.100v
    Boreas Chiller, WaterCooling . PSU ABS 1100w
    CPU Block /EK-Supreme HF High Flow - Highest Performance CPU Water Block - Nickel
    Chipset Block Koolance xtreme both
    GPU EK-FC5970 copper
    my video on my mod when i first started=>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8O41h2QM-PQ


    --------------------------------------------------
    my 3Dmark06 34215

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •