MMM
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 28

Thread: 6600GT @ 834MHz > 03/05/06@WR

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Team MXS - GA,Atlanta
    Posts
    459

    Talking 6600GT @ 930MHz

    Old school overclock and fun benching with 6600GT
    First i was going to bench it on my new i3 530 + GA-P55-UD3L but it didnt go as planed and 6600GT refused to clock over 750MHz with new board thus why i had to use my old eVGA 680i @ C2D 6850 , m/b wasnt prepared for subzero and cpu power was low thats why no good numbers for 3d01
    2.0ns Hynix on that card didnt scale with more volts and core is below average ~ 590MHz with watercooling , theres lots of room for improvement with a better clocking card and higher cpu clocks

    6600GT @ Hwbot


    C2D 6850 @ 3800 ~ 4025 MHz
    Tt Big Typhoon
    eVGA 680i
    2x512Mb Corsair 8000UL
    SilverStone OP1000
    6600GT Gigabyte GV-NX66T128D , 128Mb DDR3 Hynix 2.0ns
    1.79 VGPU ( ~1.83v load ) , 2.17 Vmem













    Last edited by Gorod; 04-15-2010 at 09:05 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,689
    Wow Gorod back in action! What's up man, haven't since you in the game since late 2007 when you had that mighty QX6850!
    Great job on that 6600GT, especially considering CPU power!

  3. #3
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Woah, 834MHz!

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,829
    Love the looks of your pot!
    Congrats, these are sweet clocks!
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  5. #5
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    1,092
    Nice clock on that 6600GT!!
    Go sub-zero all the way!

  6. #6
    KiSUS
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Russia / Moscow
    Posts
    569
    Yeah, Gorod, nice to you back in action
    Lights, Music, Camera, Action !


  7. #7
    .
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    2,603
    wow 6600gt@ 845MHz that's awsome
    Quote Originally Posted by LardArse View Post
    i think you are asking the wrong person about safety limits, but

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    591
    I like your reservoir

    Congrats!

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Europe/Slovenia/Ljubljana
    Posts
    1,540
    Get a Gainward GeForce 8400GS (passive). This thing is crap in general, but it clocks like insane. I got like over 250MHz extra on core using air cooling and over 400MHz (DDR) on memory.
    With your pot, it should go far higher.
    Intel Core i7 920 4 GHz | 18 GB DDR3 1600 MHz | ASUS Rampage II Gene | GIGABYTE HD7950 3GB WindForce 3X | WD Caviar Black 2TB | Creative Sound Blaster Z | Altec Lansing MX5021 | Corsair HX750 | Lian Li PC-V354
    Super silent cooling powered by (((Noiseblocker)))

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    291
    love this overclocking , all looks like its back in 07

  11. #11
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    didnt clock well on the other board? hmmm not enough power through the pciE slot i guess?
    try modding it and feeding it power externally, or connect the pciE power pins directly to the psu... maybe youll be able to reach 900, who knows

    850mhz is way impressive... on that old 6600gt! congrats

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    214
    That's crazy

    Any special mods for those clocks? Mine refuses to go above 720 Mhz.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    didnt clock well on the other board? hmmm not enough power through the pciE slot i guess?
    Don't know why that happens either Sascha
    I lost approximately 20MHz (both core and memory) on my 8800GTS 320MB going from P35/X38 motherboards (which I initially used in order to test the VGA) to ASUS Maximus III Formula...

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Team MXS - GA,Atlanta
    Posts
    459
    Quote Originally Posted by saaya View Post
    didnt clock well on the other board? hmmm not enough power through the pciE slot i guess?
    try modding it and feeding it power externally, or connect the pciE power pins directly to the psu... maybe youll be able to reach 900, who knows
    Looks like that 6600GT likes hight PCI-E clocks for some reason , i almost gave up on it when it refused to go over 750MHz on GA-P55-UD3L after trying every setting possible , and knowing that same card did 800MHz back in 2007 made me think that maybe new board can't pump as much power through pci-e like old board so i decided to try it on my old trusted eVGA 680i and see what happens :

    First boot PCI-E @ default 100MHz , 780MHz gpu - 3dm03 froze instantly

    Not hoping for much i go and up PCI-E @ 125MHz to see if it helps any and

    PCI-E @ 125MHz , 1.78 vgpu - 780MHz passes 1st try
    PCI-E @ 125MHz , 1.78vgpu - 804MHz 1st try
    PCI-E @ 125MHz , 1.78vgpu - 819MHz froze
    PCI-E @ 125MHz , 1.85vgpu - 819MHz froze
    PCI-E @ 133MHz , back to 1.78v - 819MHz pass
    PCI-E @ 133MHz , 1.78vgpu - 834MHz froze and my xp got corrupted , had to load with install cd and fix MBR and overwrite boot sector
    PCI-E @ 133MHz , 1.78vgpu - 828MHz pass
    PCI-E @ 133MHz , from 1.78v up to 1.90vgpu - 834MHz still keeps crashing
    PCI-E @ 140MHz , xp gets corrupted had to load from install cd and fix it again
    PCI-E @ 140MHz , 1.78v - 834MHz very unstable but passes 3d05
    PCI-E @ 140MHz , with 1.80vgpu or more - 834MHz crashes

    Didnt try any higher than 140MHz and my P55-UD3L @ i3 530 wont even post 110MHz PCI-E . Il try with power connector mod , just need to find one first , hopefully with extra juice it will go higher

    Quote Originally Posted by DonNiger View Post
    That's crazy

    Any special mods for those clocks? Mine refuses to go above 720 Mhz.
    Just volt mods for gpu and mem for now and disabled temp monitor in bios so it wont throttle to low power 3d with subzero , but i will try power connector mod if i find one

    Quote Originally Posted by Harshal View Post
    Nice clock on that 6600GT!!
    Go sub-zero all the way!
    Unfortunately i can't with this m/b , i was stupid enough to leave my eVGA 680i with pot mounted sitting in the closet for months and it deformed PCB from the pressure over time and it wont post with any pressure to the socket area now , the only way i can make that board post is to leave heat sink or empty pot on top of cpu without tightening the screws .

    Quote Originally Posted by George_o/c View Post
    Wow Gorod back in action! What's up man, haven't since you in the game since late 2007 when you had that mighty QX6850!
    Great job on that 6600GT, especially considering CPU power!
    Hey George , havent had much time for benching since then until now but with more time on my hands now il be playing with more often for sure , just need to get some new hardware now
    Last edited by Gorod; 04-02-2010 at 03:00 PM.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,689
    Quote Originally Posted by Gorod View Post
    1) and my P55-UD3L @ i3 530 wont even post 110MHz PCI-E

    2) Hey George , havent had much time for benching since then until now but with more time on my hands now il be playing with more often for sure , just need to get some new hardware now
    1) From what I've come across with so far using a Maximus III Formula P55, increasing the PCIe more than 103MHz in bios leads to black screen - board won't even post! In windows I can only raise it up to 106-107MHz then system freezes.

    dread77 (another Hellas Overclocking Team Member) can't boot with his ASUS P55 motherboard at more than 103MHz PCIe either. I've heard a couple more guys complaining regarding PCIe frequency as well... Taking all factors into consideration, it seems like P55 boards just don't like high PCIe freqs, which is pretty bad because especially 2k1 and 2k3 benefit from them.

    2) That's cool mate I hope to see you back in LN2 action soon

  16. #16
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by George_o/c View Post
    Don't know why that happens either Sascha
    I lost approximately 20MHz (both core and memory) on my 8800GTS 320MB going from P35/X38 motherboards (which I initially used in order to test the VGA) to ASUS Maximus III Formula...
    hmmmm wait, doesnt nvidia use the pciE clock to generate the gpu clocks? mmhh no, they only did that with G80 right? hmmmm weird...

    maybe the clock signal of the older boards are cleaner... the nehalem platforms def have weird pciE clock related issues...

    actually it makes sense that you need higher pciE clocks to run the gpu stable...
    theres only a limited buffer between the gpus pciE interface and the rest of the gpu... if the clock difference is too high, the buffer will be full before the next block of data can be moved to the gpu or to the pciE bus, so it becomes unstable and crashes...

    btw, i remember kp and shamino talking about this in athens a couple of years back, and they both found on amd platforms the ideal setting for the pciE clock is half the ref clock setting, ie 250htt and 125pciE
    no idea what its like on intel nvidia platforms tho... maybe this helps you somehow to get pciE clocks higher?
    Last edited by saaya; 04-03-2010 at 08:06 AM.

  17. #17
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,549
    Quote Originally Posted by George_o/c View Post
    1) From what I've come across with so far using a Maximus III Formula P55, increasing the PCIe more than 103MHz in bios leads to black screen - board won't even post! In windows I can only raise it up to 106-107MHz then system freezes.

    dread77 (another Hellas Overclocking Team Member) can't boot with his ASUS P55 motherboard at more than 103MHz PCIe either. I've heard a couple more guys complaining regarding PCIe frequency as well... Taking all factors into consideration, it seems like P55 boards just don't like high PCIe freqs, which is pretty bad because especially 2k1 and 2k3 benefit from them.

    2) That's cool mate I hope to see you back in LN2 action soon
    doesnt evgas p55 board clock pciE to 130 or so though?
    i remember that shamino used a seperate pll for the pciE clock and feeds it directly instead of through the p55 chipset, thats why pciE can be clocked higher... or maybe i misunderstood something.. but give it a try!

    i remember that he was dissapointed cause it didnt give him higher bclocks, but if higher pciE clocks help you to push your 6600 higher, then this is perfect for you

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    Quote Originally Posted by George_o/c View Post
    Taking all factors into consideration, it seems like P55 boards just don't like high PCIe freqs
    I was running the P55-UD6 at 150MHz rockstable months ago (~release date)

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    1,689
    Turns out I was wrong then. Thanks for the valuable information Sascha, I'll for sure try harder
    Pieter, did you do something special in order to achieve such frequency?

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,714
    No, but Gigabyte did.

    Saaya pretty much explained how to manufacturers have to tune their board to get high clocks.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    214
    but i will try power connector mod if i find one
    I have been lookind for the same one

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Team MXS - GA,Atlanta
    Posts
    459
    Update - this time with LN2

    Didn't want to waste a lot of LN2 , just a few quick runs to see how it likes it compared to DI , will rebench it with X6 @LN2 after Apr27


    930MHz




    Last edited by Gorod; 04-15-2010 at 09:22 PM.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    France - Bx
    Posts
    2,594
    Great work Gorod ! Congratz

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Bologna,Italy
    Posts
    414
    congrats
    sorry for my bad english
    Gigabyte Battlefield Pi 1M #3

  25. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ukraine | Team MXS
    Posts
    37
    Crazy old-school system! Gorod
    MOA2009 EU №9, Gigabyte TweaKing "№3" (4,7), First Ukrainian Overclocking Championship 2010 - "№1"


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •