Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 69

Thread: Six-Core Thuban Benchmark leaked

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    11

    Six-Core Thuban Benchmark leaked


  2. #2
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hungary (EU)
    Posts
    1,373
    I've made a bench on Win 7 64bit (with 32bit cinebench.exe):





    Cinebench

    Thuban: 12642
    Deneb: 9023

    (approx. +40%)

    Vantage CPU (perf.)

    Thuban: 14533
    Deneb: 9570

    (approx. +50%)
    -

  3. #3
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,798
    These had to be the most predictable benchmarks in history

    Can someone please run Superpi on this to see if there's a (very slight) performance hit for the added cores?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,663
    I am tempted to buy a 1090T on day one now, but I know I should wait for chips manufactured at a later date. Heck, anything is better than my PII 940 now LOL.
    Core i7 2600K@4.6Ghz| 16GB G.Skill@2133Mhz 9-11-10-28-38 1.65v| ASUS P8Z77-V PRO | Corsair 750i PSU | ASUS GTX 980 OC | Xonar DSX | Samsung 840 Pro 128GB |A bunch of HDDs and terabytes | Oculus Rift w/ touch | ASUS 24" 144Hz G-sync monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by phelan1777 View Post
    Hail fellow warrior albeit a surat Mercenary. I Hail to you from the Clans, Ghost Bear that is (Yes freebirth we still do and shall always view mercenaries with great disdain!) I have long been an honorable warrior of the mighty Warden Clan Ghost Bear the honorable Bekker surname. I salute your tenacity to show your freebirth sibkin their ignorance!

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    645
    The synthethic benchmarks aren't very impressive, they are what are expected. Basically, you got 50% more Cores, and have 50% more performance in applications that scales well with as many Threads you can add. The only thing that remains to be seen is the impact of still use 6 MB Cache L3 instead of 9 as you have less Cache L3 per Core should you be using all six on Full Load.
    Overclocking results should also be interesing as with 50% more Cores, you are also going to consume 50% more power at same Voltage and Frequency. This means that you are seriously going to push the Motherboard and Power Supply.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,477
    whats with the corespeed?
    i3 2100, MSI H61M-E33. 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws.
    MSI GTX 460 Twin Frozr II. 1TB Caviar Blue.
    Corsair HX 620, CM 690, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hungary (EU)
    Posts
    1,373
    Quote Originally Posted by zir_blazer View Post
    The synthethic benchmarks aren't very impressive, they are what are expected. Basically, you got 50% more Cores, and have 50% more performance in applications that scales well with as many Threads you can add. The only thing that remains to be seen is the impact of still use 6 MB Cache L3 instead of 9 as you have less Cache L3 per Core should you be using all six on Full Load.
    Overclocking results should also be interesing as with 50% more Cores, you are also going to consume 50% more power at same Voltage and Frequency. This means that you are seriously going to push the Motherboard and Power Supply.
    The fact that it's still use 6 MB Cache L3 is not a big deal on desktop. Just take a look at the Phenom II X4 8xx which uses 4MB L3. Actually you can only see max. 1-2% performance drop in the worst cases.

    Phenom X4 - 0.5MB L3 / core
    Phenom II X4 800 - 1MB L3 / core
    Phenom II X4 900 - 1.5MB L3 / core
    Phenom II X6 1000 - 1MB L3 / core


    Quote Originally Posted by Glow9 View Post
    whats with the corespeed?
    What kind of corespeed? It's 2.8 as you can see on the CPU-Z shot.
    -

  8. #8
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    cleveland ohio
    Posts
    2,813
    Quote Originally Posted by zir_blazer View Post
    The synthethic benchmarks aren't very impressive, they are what are expected. Basically, you got 50% more Cores, and have 50% more performance in applications that scales well with as many Threads you can add. The only thing that remains to be seen is the impact of still use 6 MB Cache L3 instead of 9 as you have less Cache L3 per Core should you be using all six on Full Load.
    Overclocking results should also be interesing as with 50% more Cores, you are also going to consume 50% more power at same Voltage and Frequency. This means that you are seriously going to push the Motherboard and Power Supply.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...he,2416-5.html

    the cache doesn't need to be any bigger. it's only help marginally in gaming.

    we just OC (NB/L3) anyways leading to much higher performance lol

    people always tend think phenom II is cache hungry when it is not at all.
    HAVE NO FEAR!
    "AMD fallen angel"
    "Behold the gaseous stench of Skeletor's breakfast burrito!"
    Quote Originally Posted by Gamekiller View Post
    You didn't get the memo? 1 hour 'Fugger time' is equal to 12 hours of regular time.

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliverda View Post
    What kind of corespeed? It's 2.8 as you can see on the CPU-Z shot.
    the 798.2
    i3 2100, MSI H61M-E33. 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws.
    MSI GTX 460 Twin Frozr II. 1TB Caviar Blue.
    Corsair HX 620, CM 690, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Urmia City - Iran
    Posts
    38
    Waiting for them
    Overclocking this 6-cores under ln2 should have more fun



    MOA EMEA 2011 #10

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    Black Only haha
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  12. #12
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,798
    Quote Originally Posted by Glow9 View Post
    the 798.2
    Cool 'n Quiet
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,619
    Quote Originally Posted by Glow9 View Post
    whats with the corespeed?
    Cool N Quiet
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,477
    ahhhhh Thx guys. Makes sense now.
    i3 2100, MSI H61M-E33. 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws.
    MSI GTX 460 Twin Frozr II. 1TB Caviar Blue.
    Corsair HX 620, CM 690, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,746
    u know u o/c too much when u dunno what cnq is haha
    mobo: msi 970 g46
    gpu: amd 6870 core 1ghz/ mem 1140 arctic twin turbo (6850 coming soon for franken-fire)
    cpu: 955be @ 3.8ghz @ 1.375v's 2.6ghz n/b 1.275 scythe scrt-1000
    ram: 2x2gb samsung hyko @ 800mhz @ 6-8-8-24
    psu: corsair 650hx
    hdd's: 500gb + 1tb ( 16 and 32mb cache ) samsung

    mobo: biostar r690a-m2t
    gpu: E4690 @ 725core/750mem
    cpu: 4200+ @ 3ghz 1.43 hyper 212 evo
    ram: (random) 2x512mb 2x1gb @ 375 5-5-5-15
    psu: blue storm II 500w
    hdd's: 850gb total

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    milwaukee
    Posts
    1,683
    thanks for the compare Oliverda
    LEO!!!!
    amd phenom II x6 1100T | gigabyte 990fxa-ud3 . .
    2x2gb g.skill 2133c8 | 128gb g.skill falcon ssd
    sapphire ati 5850 | x-fi xtrememusic. . .
    samsung f4 2tb | samsung dvdrw . .
    corsair tx850w | windows 7 64-bit.
    ddc3.25 xspc restop | ek ltx | mc-tdx | BIP . .
    lycosa-g9-z2300 | 26" 1920x1200 lcd .

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    1,070
    Can't wait to see overclocked 6 core results.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,477
    Quote Originally Posted by i found nemo View Post
    u know u o/c too much when u dunno what cnq is haha
    I've always disabled it, especially when I had my first 650i it kinda made OCing flakey so I just scrapped it. Is it better now?
    i3 2100, MSI H61M-E33. 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws.
    MSI GTX 460 Twin Frozr II. 1TB Caviar Blue.
    Corsair HX 620, CM 690, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,146
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliverda View Post
    What kind of corespeed? It's 2.8 as you can see on the CPU-Z shot.
    and what is with the "turbo-mode"?

  20. #20
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    waukegan
    Posts
    3,746
    Quote Originally Posted by Glow9 View Post
    I've always disabled it, especially when I had my first 650i it kinda made OCing flakey so I just scrapped it. Is it better now?
    only if u mess with k10stat but that's still alot of messin' around. personally i never use it.
    mobo: msi 970 g46
    gpu: amd 6870 core 1ghz/ mem 1140 arctic twin turbo (6850 coming soon for franken-fire)
    cpu: 955be @ 3.8ghz @ 1.375v's 2.6ghz n/b 1.275 scythe scrt-1000
    ram: 2x2gb samsung hyko @ 800mhz @ 6-8-8-24
    psu: corsair 650hx
    hdd's: 500gb + 1tb ( 16 and 32mb cache ) samsung

    mobo: biostar r690a-m2t
    gpu: E4690 @ 725core/750mem
    cpu: 4200+ @ 3ghz 1.43 hyper 212 evo
    ram: (random) 2x512mb 2x1gb @ 375 5-5-5-15
    psu: blue storm II 500w
    hdd's: 850gb total

  21. #21
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    milwaukee
    Posts
    1,683
    Quote Originally Posted by Chri$ch View Post
    and what is with the "turbo-mode"?

    turbo mode is for single threaded apps where it will (on the 1055t) overclock 1 core 500mhz to 3.3ghz instead of stock 2.8ghz ...
    LEO!!!!
    amd phenom II x6 1100T | gigabyte 990fxa-ud3 . .
    2x2gb g.skill 2133c8 | 128gb g.skill falcon ssd
    sapphire ati 5850 | x-fi xtrememusic. . .
    samsung f4 2tb | samsung dvdrw . .
    corsair tx850w | windows 7 64-bit.
    ddc3.25 xspc restop | ek ltx | mc-tdx | BIP . .
    lycosa-g9-z2300 | 26" 1920x1200 lcd .

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,146
    are you sure? if yes its a "turbo-flop"!

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hungary (EU)
    Posts
    1,373
    Quote Originally Posted by crazydiamond View Post
    turbo mode is for single threaded apps where it will (on the 1055t) overclock 1 core 500mhz to 3.3ghz instead of stock 2.8ghz ...
    Maybe it will be applicable for the dual-threaded applications as well. There are many dual-threaded applications.
    -

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    milwaukee
    Posts
    1,683
    Quote Originally Posted by Oliverda View Post
    Maybe it will be applicable for the dual-threaded applications as well. There are many dual-threaded applications.
    true after i wrote it i realized it could have been worded much better to still get the concept across lol
    LEO!!!!
    amd phenom II x6 1100T | gigabyte 990fxa-ud3 . .
    2x2gb g.skill 2133c8 | 128gb g.skill falcon ssd
    sapphire ati 5850 | x-fi xtrememusic. . .
    samsung f4 2tb | samsung dvdrw . .
    corsair tx850w | windows 7 64-bit.
    ddc3.25 xspc restop | ek ltx | mc-tdx | BIP . .
    lycosa-g9-z2300 | 26" 1920x1200 lcd .

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    315
    I wonder if the extra turbo multiplier will be available to use under some MB workaround...
    STRIX X470-F | R5 2600X, PBO OC + TRUE Bk Rev.A, 2xGT AP-15 | 2x8GB Flare X 3200C14 @3200MHz/CL14-14-14-34-1T| RX480 Gaming X 8G @1316/2025 | SB Z | M500 240GB, DT01ACA200, AD-7243S | Lian-Li PC-B70: FC5V2 + 2xNB PK-2, 2xNB PL-2 | RM750

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •