Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fixed my 5850 Double Monitor Flicker Issue, thanks RBE

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5

    Smile Fixed my 5850 Double Monitor Flicker Issue, thanks RBE

    Was pulling my hair out today after receiving my Sapphire 5850 in the mail. At stock with a clean install I was getting the annoying flicker issue. I run 2 HP LP2475w monitors, and it's I now see well known with this flicker issue.

    I figured I would just attach the bios I edited to make this all go away. And anyone can just edit my unlocked Asus bios in RBE themselves if they want to over/underclock the card and immediately get rid of the flicker issue without messing around with CCC Profiles or MSI Afterburner.

    So it's basically in 2d mode 400/1200 at 1.0875 volts and in 3D it's set at 850/1200 at 1.0875 volts. I think the key to the flicker is the voltage in the x18 register in the GPU voltage editor.

    Please ask any questions. But if you know how to use RBE this is pretty simple to figure out what settings I used.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    IRC Operative
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Tampa, Florida
    Posts
    818
    I had this same issue with my 5750, i used RBE with Rivatuner installed, RBE configures Riva to see the graphics drivers/bios and now runs at stock 3d level while in 2d mode.

    I didn't need to edit the bios at all luckily.

    CPU:
    Intel i5 750 @ 4200mhz 200x21 1.344v
    Cooling:
    Corsair H50
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte P55-US3L
    Memory:
    4GB Corsair XMS3 9-9-9-24
    GFX:
    ASUS HD5850 850/1200 1GB

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    My goal was to edit the bios to make this whole thing work without any external software. I hate how Win7 beeps me when I restart to verify that I am using MSI Afterburner in Admin mode. So I wanted the cleanest fix.

    BTW the fix for this issue is pretty hard to find when searching google.

    Yes the problem is fixable with changing the CCC profile to force a 400mhz clock on the 2d mode, but this doesn't quite work right to overclock with the stock Sapphire card. So then I started on the path of editing the bios, and then is all went down the drain until I edited the bios in RBE to this configuration.

    And in the end I was hoping to attach a bios that wouldn't brick others who have a Sapphire card or similar with the same problem. I spent about 7 hours today figuring out 1 by 1 what was going on.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    233
    Would this bios be ok on XFX 5850s?

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    I am using the asus unlocked bios everyone says to use for flashing the reference video cards, on my sapphire card. Also I flashed my card 7 times to get this final bios correct.

    I think if you are flashing your card for the first time with a different manufacturer you need to use the command of atiflash -p 0 -f bios.rom. The -f is to force the flash.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1,825
    Quote Originally Posted by demowhc View Post
    Would this bios be ok on XFX 5850s?
    just have a PCI video card handy just in case. You can't kill a video card by flashing it.
    Desktop:
    Antec 300
    Foxcon A7AD-S 790GX
    8GB Gskill PC-1066@5/5/5/12
    PII X940 BE @3.6GHZ
    Sunbeam Core Contact
    2x 640GB in Raid 0+1
    4870 512MB@800/1000
    Vista Business 64bit W/ SP1

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5
    So this can try to be in one place. I am probably going to update this on the main RBE forum.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=117230
    Q9450 3.2ghz 1.25v, Gigabyte EP45-UD3P rev 1.1, 8GB, Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1200@1.085v, 2xHP LP2475w
    Civil Development Group Blog

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,812
    If only neither of my XFX 4830s initiating the display when their BIOS OCd was as easy to fix

    "Prowler"
    X470 Gaming Pro Carbon | R7 2700 @ 4GHz | 2x8GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 3466MHz CL16 | RX580 8GB @ 1.43GH\8.6GHz w\ my own custom timings | Xonar DX 7.1 | 2TB Barracuda | 256GB & 512GB Asgard NVMe drives | 2x DVD & Blu-Ray opticals | EVGA Supernova 1000w G2

    Cooling:

    4x 120mm LED fans, 2x 140mm LED fans, 1x 200mm LED fan | Modified CoolerMaster Masterliquid 240

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •