Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 69

Thread: GIGABTE 890GPA-UD3H OC testing

  1. #1
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938

    GIGABTE 890GPA-UD3H OC testing

    So I just got this board today lets see what mischevious things we can do to err I mean with it.



    Now the first thing to slap you in the face, well maybe not you but me was this picture boasting 3300+ 06 on the HD 4290 IGP.

    Where's that O realllly owl when you need him.



    Figured this was likely somthing that would require Cold to acchieve but hey what the heck lets give it a try on air.

    AMD phenom II x2 550
    GIGABYTE 890GPA-UD3H
    OCZ BE 1600 c7
    HD4290 IGP
    pc p&c 1200 turbocool
    Stock cpu cooler and misc fans on board.


    Second 06 run = 3333 but we don't need that screenshot



    Ok 3d looks strong lets rip through the whole 3d bench regime.







    I guess GIGABYTE can start claiming 3400+ 06 on the boxes now.



    Not sure if this was more painfull for the IGP or me....






    Anyway enjoy, more benches to come but I need a nap and some tylenol, got like 3 hours of sleep last night.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-09-2010 at 06:23 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  2. #2
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,468
    Good stuff man. I like the 3400 3DMARK06...very nice
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  3. #3
    Xtreme News & Reviews
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    1,039
    Any way to force unlocking on this board like the ASUS models?
    Desktop
    AMD Phenom II X2 550 (Quad Unlocked @ 3.4Ghz / 2200Mhz NB)
    Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P (F9 Bios)
    8GB (4x2GB) @ DDR2-800
    ASUS GeForce GTX 560 Ti DirectCUII (920/1840/2200)
    Corsair Force GT 120GB
    LSI MegaRAID 8408E (3x750 R5)
    Windows 7 x64 SP1


    Cisco E2000 with DD-WRT kernel 2.6

  4. #4
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by BrokenWall View Post
    Any way to force unlocking on this board like the ASUS models?
    Not to my knowledge as of yet.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    IRAN
    Posts
    550
    Good Work
    Can U Show Me Graphic Tab In CPUZ
    Asus Crosshair IV Formula
    AMD FX-8120
    ATI HD5750 Silent+ATI HD5770
    Kingston 1333 2*2GB
    GP1035B
    Zalman CNPS 10X Extreme

    Sorry For My Great English

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,477
    Did you have a 790 based board before? How do the OC's compare?

    Also what is that thing in your pci slot?
    i3 2100, MSI H61M-E33. 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws.
    MSI GTX 460 Twin Frozr II. 1TB Caviar Blue.
    Corsair HX 620, CM 690, Win 7 Ultimate 64bit.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    653
    debug or diagnostic card whichever term you refer I guess...
    My Heat
    gd-70\955\2x1gbhz1600
    ext-58\920\3x2gb998691
    Expert\170\2x1gbhz

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1
    wow nice board...hummmm
    and great 4290 graphic

  9. #9
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by ViViD View Post
    Good Work
    Can U Show Me Graphic Tab In CPUZ
    If your suggesting im using hybrid kinda hard to stuff a card where that fan is.

    Last edited by chew*; 03-10-2010 at 08:31 AM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  10. #10
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,744
    have u some old graphic card for comparsion? Maybe x1600pro or x1600xt?
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Go go Chew !!
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  12. #12
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    have u some old graphic card for comparsion? Maybe x1600pro or x1600xt?
    preety sure it beat my 2400 XT with a cpu at 6gig on ln2 LOL, that would likely be the type of card tossed in a mediacenter.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865
    ln2 party soon chew? huh
    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  14. #14
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Nah no need for ln2 on this, phase on cpu/di on gpu likely max it all the way out, tbh anymore than that is a waste of resources.

    The 2400XT was run by hicookie for a gag in 06 at 6+, think it hit 1500 points in 06.
    Last edited by chew*; 03-10-2010 at 12:22 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865
    I was talking about cpu
    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  16. #16
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatalbert View Post
    I was talking about cpu
    Ahh yah I have 2 chips here that have a eventual date with ln2, 550,555 and I believe msimax may also come up and beat on a TWKR.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865
    nice to hear it

    if you know something more about it, could you pm with details if this will be live ?

    I may do update on schedule for other users
    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  18. #18
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatalbert View Post
    nice to hear it

    if you know something more about it, could you pm with details if this will be live ?

    I may do update on schedule for other users
    Sure but usually i'm a fly by the seat of my pants type guy, but when msimax comes up it's usually something with at least a days notice.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865
    no problem with that

    also you can write short post in schedule thread

    if I will able to watch I will do it

    eot sorry chew
    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  20. #20
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Np man.

    Ok moving on.

    Prime stable, seem to have neither lost nor gained anything clockwise from data I have collected on this chip.

    Swapped to my tru 120, also might note that ram clearance is fine in the back slots for ram with tall spreaders.





    4.5 is easy

    Last edited by chew*; 03-10-2010 at 03:50 PM.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,744
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    preety sure it beat my 2400 XT with a cpu at 6gig on ln2 LOL, that would likely be the type of card tossed in a mediacenter.

    maybe for old nice games as Quake3, CS, Starcraft
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  22. #22
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    So I was doing some air comparisons when i stumbled onto some serious 3d03 performance. Looks like this is one of the boards strong points.

    I tossed the system on phase and grabbed a quick #6 2x 4850 spot on the bot with 2 4850's on air in 03.

    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  23. #23
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Anything in particular anyone wants to see tested feel free to ask, i'm just sifting and running stuff no rhyme or reason, mainly searching for bug's issues etc etc.

    Atm it appears that NB/ram clocking needs a little work but other than that no major issues yet.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  24. #24
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Poland / Rypin
    Posts
    865
    how about high htt ? let's say 400mhz + ?
    Schedule of Live Extreme Overclocking - info Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by K404 View Post
    "My Backup is bigger than Your Backup"

  25. #25
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    10,938
    Quote Originally Posted by Fatalbert View Post
    how about high htt ? let's say 400mhz + ?
    Will give it a shot but most ddr 3 boards have issues with that, plus it's tied into ram compatibility and this board needs a little work in that department.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •