Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 67

Thread: [Project] Saifu

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497

    [Project] Saifu



    Well it's about time I make another build, I got bored with my current setup.

    Hardware wise, this project will consist of the following:

    EVGA 4 way Classified
    i7 920 D0 (will get a 980 X retail when released)
    Corsair Dominator GT 6GB 1866MHz
    2 x 480 GTX SLI
    2 x 60GB Corsair Force SSDs
    Fractal Designs R2 1Kw PSU

    Cooling (single loop) will consist of:

    EK Supreme HF CPU Block
    EK 480 Waterblocks
    EK full board classified block
    Thermochill PA120.4
    SR360
    2 x DDC 18w in series
    Unsure of whether to go for a Bayres or a cylinder res until I get the case and can figure placements out

    Thats it for now, thanks for looking

    Update 5/3/2010

    The classified turned up today, and I think I've made a mistake ! I knew the board was WIDER, but I didn't know it was also LONGER !! Need to see if it will fit in the case



    In all it's glory:









    And just how big it is compared to a normal ATX board:





    And how its all currently sitting, until my case arrives:



    Last edited by Olly_K; 10-21-2010 at 11:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Tokyo, Seattle
    Posts
    341
    I'll just make the observation that Saifu = wallet in Japanese. So does this mean you're breaking the bank to build this? Heh.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497


    Right, I can now start this build again. A bit of background:

    I wanted a case that fits the EVGA 4way Classified, but only a handful do, and none of them are to my liking. None of them are very good for watercooling either (for my needs, anyway).

    So, after talking with 4 custom case builders, mainly in the USA, it seems that getting a truely custom case was going to prove too expensive....around 1000. Cheaper to buy an ATX motherboard....right ?

    Well, I then had a chat with Debbi from DangerDen, about a double wide cube case. This again was proving to be expensive, so I ended up buying the Tower 29.....a single tower case, which is very tall, and can house a 120.3 and 120.4 radiator..perfect for mmy 480s and 980x.

    So, I got the case delivered today, and I've learnt a couple of things:

    1) American Companies are not good at communication !!!!! I've ordered 2 cases from Mountain Mods and now this one from DangerDen, all 3 orders have been wrong. I asked for non-branding and got a DD branded front panel

    2) Acrylic shows fingerprints, and reflects light....A LOT !!

    3) I'm gonna have a hard time photographing this build !!!

    So, without further ado, some very quick and dirty pictures, as I've only just finished putting it together:











    I might actually change the front panel for a double 5.25" bay rather than a single

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    Right, been busy today !

    Thanks to psmawson for the loan of an M4 tap, I thought I'd do all my rads:





    Then, break down my current setup, and start to transfer it over to the new case, so I can start to think about placement of pumps, res', tubing, etc:

    Motherboard is in, looks small !!







    480's in:





    RAM, PSU in:





    Fans in, test wiring and lighting:








  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    soooooooooooo, I've been testing some configs, single loop vs dual.:



    For those that can't follow the loop, it goes:

    Res > dual ddc pumps > CPU > Mobo > 360rad > 480gfx > 120.4

    Temps seem totally fine, same as a dual loop I'll go as far to say. Just looping vantage on max res extreme settings

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    I went for the sickleflows in the end !!

    UPDATE:

    So here they are, I think they pull it all together. They're not too "in your face", they look quite stealthy:




  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    very minor update !!

    The Aqua Computer aquabox came on friday:



    got my red pre braid today. Probably not the best quality but at least its red !!!



    Should look good when its all in too:


  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    little bit more of an update:

    Finally got my 2.5" to 3.5" HDD bay adapters so I can mount my SSDs....I love the way these go together:



    And fitted into the 3.5" drive cage with my HDD:



    And fitted into the case: (you can mount another one next to it too)



    Got my new front panel so had a quick trial fit:



    Might paint the bay res black, not sure.

    Also sprayed the clear plastic black as it showed through the front panel too much:


  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    right, another update for you all:

    Bitspower fittings came....had to remortgage to afford it all !!



    Can you see what it says ?

    First bit of tube in !! Still need to put some thought into the routing of the rest of them though:



    Painted the aquabox black.....I kinda like the silver screws....I'm guessing you'll all say spray them black too !!



    And a quick shot of the front slam panel sprayed black too:


  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    463
    I like it , good choice of case =D , got to love it !

    More !

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    thanks !!!!! I did think about a double wide like yours but thought i'd try a single loop and a single tower this time, as I've had a MM cube before.

    Got some longer m4 bolts coming tomorrow so I can fix the rad to the inside panel and fit the front of the case

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,632
    Where's the third RAM stick?
    Signatures make my posts look huge... but I'm not humble enough to completely remove my signature, so I kept this note explaining it.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    hahah well spotted, I've lent it to a friend while his RAM is being RMA'd......im not using it so I though why not

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,632
    Quote Originally Posted by Olly_K View Post
    hahah well spotted, I've lent it to a friend while his RAM is being RMA'd......im not using it so I though why not
    Ah, I was thinking "I really hope he doesn't try booting with that missing..."
    Signatures make my posts look huge... but I'm not humble enough to completely remove my signature, so I kept this note explaining it.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Utah, USA
    Posts
    301
    Another Danger Den build, nice! They are great cases, albeit the tower 26 is a lot smaller and harder to get stuff into. I am beginning to think that I should have just gone for the big one...

    Maybe for the next build...

    (Runs and hides from wife)
    EVGA Classified 759|Lian Li A20B|i7 920 at 4.0GHz 1.29V|HIS 5970 2GB|12GB Mushkin PC12800 |6 Raid 6 WD RE-3 250's, Adaptec 5805 SAS Controller| Megahelms + Panaflow Low speed

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne (UK)
    Posts
    189
    Looking damn nice. The coolermaster fans look really good in there, much better than the xiggys. Really love the case also, may very well get that once i get back into watercooling.

    All in all its looking mighty fine and cant wait to see it completed.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    (oooops, missed 2 more pics that should go here first)

    Fans in:



    And front panel on:



    Need to paint most of the screws black so they don't stand out
    Last edited by Olly_K; 10-27-2010 at 09:26 AM.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    thanks for all the replies guys !!

    here are a few more for you, plus my novel idea which you will all hate !!!!!

    Painting the black screws for the front was easy, I only needed the heads doing, so a quick spray with black and a bit of laquer. Here's the rig I used:



    And here's the front with the screws all painted:



    I still need to do the bottom rad screws, and I'll need to paint the whole screw:




    So, my little idea, was to find a monitoring solution, and I was eyeing up the Kaze Server controller. It monitors 2 fan RPM speeds and also 2 temp inputs....but the beauty is that it's all displayed on the screen at once. So, the RPM sensors will be used for my 2 pumps, and I'll have a in/out inline temp barbs on the rads to monitor the temps on the Kaze:



    And the reason I chose a 3.5" bay:







    Which will be viewable through the clear perspex side panel. Need Tom @ Chilled PC to make a clean front panel for it, will rip out the rheobus's so it's all flush.

    Hope you all like

  19. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Phillyburbs, NJ
    Posts
    59
    No problem with the heavy OC and two 480's with that 1000W PSU? I'm putting together a build and worried about my total power draw...480's SLI, i7 920, 3x D5 pumps 20+ fans, etc...

    I have a corsair HX1000

  20. #20
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,829
    These fans look sick!
    Quote Originally Posted by closetredneck View Post
    No problem with the heavy OC and two 480's with that 1000W PSU? I'm putting together a build and worried about my total power draw...480's SLI, i7 920, 3x D5 pumps 20+ fans, etc...

    I have a corsair HX1000
    I'd get something more powerful.
    Donate to XS forums
    Quote Originally Posted by jayhall0315 View Post
    If you are really extreme, you never let informed facts or the scientific method hold you back from your journey to the wrong answer.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sydney Oz
    Posts
    549
    love the fans, and that controller, very clean look.

    hx1000 would handle that load no problem, fans dont draw enough to make a dent, even 20!
    BUT, i would run the fans and pumps off a 2nd psu to avoid interference from all those motors on your mobo.
    X2k
    The comments above are in no way endorsed by the management, the poster or any sane, rational, intelligent entity. Any complaints or offence arising from said comments can please refer to Avatar <

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    thanks for the comments guys, I've ran my 980x and 2 480s off my 1kw PSU with absolutely no problems at all, even heavily overclocked

  23. #23
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Latvia, Riga
    Posts
    3,959
    Maybe you can buy instead of painting black screws for that rad? I see rather wide selection here including black ones 30-60mm length.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    England, UK
    Posts
    497
    thanks for the link, I'll check it out

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Newcastle upon Tyne (UK)
    Posts
    189
    Your making me love this case more and more now, does look rather nice!!!

    Neat idea with the scythe controller location also

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •