Thread: How often to refresh tubing?

Xtreme Member

How often to refresh tubing?

Hello,

I've been running a water loop to cool my system for about 4 months now. However, I'm looking at re-plumbing it so that I can reduce the tube length, and move the radiator to a better position.

Problem is, I'm not sure whether to replace the tubing or not. Is 4 months heavy usage enough to warrant this? Something I've noticed aswell is that the tubing appears to have gone cloudy inside (Tygon R3603 7/16"). I'm using Primochill PURE Clear Non-UV coolant.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

V3 Xeons coming soon!
    Quote Originally Posted by Odai View Post
    Hello,

I've been running a water loop to cool my system for about 4 months now. However, I'm looking at re-plumbing it so that I can reduce the tube length, and move the radiator to a better position.

Problem is, I'm not sure whether to replace the tubing or not. Is 4 months heavy usage enough to warrant this? Something I've noticed aswell is that the tubing appears to have gone cloudy inside (Tygon R3603 7/16"). I'm using Primochill PURE Clear Non-UV coolant.

Thanks in advance for any advice!
    Mine's been in since August 2007 I think..
    Added 2-3 ounces of liquid last March and bingo..
    Of course I only look at cooling numbers not at "pretty"
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

L-l-look at you, hacker.
    I'm not at all surprised your Tygon tubing is clouding. This is a known problem, it's as a result of plasticizer leaching out of the tube walls and forming a nasty deposit. These days, the tubing of choice is the Primochill Pro-LRT. Great stuff. Just as flexible as 3603, doesn't kink as easily, and doesn't cloud.