MMM
Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 3456789 ... LastLast
Results 126 to 150 of 242

Thread: Metro 2033™ - PC Specs Revealed

  1. #126
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    San Antonio TX
    Posts
    30
    Quote Originally Posted by FlawleZ View Post
    Exactly.



    Its happened before. Nvidia FX series comes to mind. In fact, the last time we had a major architecture change AND serious delay of product release, we had an HD2900XT vs 8800 GTX mismatch. Funny how on paper even back then 2900XT looked much faster than G80, yet even 8800 GTS G80 outperformed 2900XT. How ironic would it be if 5850 outperforms GTX 480?
    nVidia Fanboy suicide rate will go up

  2. #127
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,804
    Quote Originally Posted by ajaidev View Post
    I am shocked at the performance :O it gives to ATi hardware i was thinking ATi cards will be crippled not only in things like AA, etc but also in general FPS, etc....

    After all its TWIMTBP and i am surprised how well 5870 handled it. But i do think that even a GTX 470 may out perform 5870 not to mention the GTX 480.



    So does every other multi gpu tech outthere also. There is a reason why its called micro stuttering and not stuttering because it stutters for a fraction of a time its not like the game is unplayable. ATi and Nvida will have top end gpu's that some how utilize dual gpu tech "5970/Fermi x2"
    Guys, do you know what TWIMTBP is? It doesn't mean that NV told them how to hurt competitors' performance, but rather worked on enhancing the game for NV hardware. Think about it realistically. If NV were to get a developer to make a game run on NV hardware only, ATI guys wouldn't but the game. Why would a developer hurt their sales to such an extent unless NV were to pay for every POTENTIAL sale lost, costing NV a fortune? TWIMTBP doesn't affect ATI performance in the slightest, and unless ATI gets in there with the developer to tweak performance on their own hardware the developer is left to their own devices. I'm sure you can see the logic in this when a TWIMTBP game runs better on other hardware, no?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  3. #128
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,195
    yeah thats why batman doesn't have aa for ati users lol come back to earth
    Quote Originally Posted by LesGrossman View Post
    So for the last 3 months Nvidia talked about Uniengine and then Uniengine and more Uniengine and finally Uniengine. And then takes the best 5 seconds from all the benchmark run, makes a graph and then proudly shows it everywhere.

  4. #129
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    U.S of freakin' A
    Posts
    1,931
    Quote Originally Posted by NaMcO View Post
    On my PC 1.7GB are used when playing.
    Thats a lot of memory, but nowhere near the recommended 8GB+ in the optimal specs..
    Intel Core i7 6900K
    Noctua NH-D15
    Asus X99A II
    32 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3400 CL15 CR1
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    Sennheiser HD-598
    Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Western Digital Raptor 600GB
    Asus 12x Blu-Ray Burner
    Sony Optiarc 24x DVD Burner with NEC chipset
    Antec HCP-1200w Power Supply
    Viewsonic XG2703-GS
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
    Logitech G502 gaming mouse w/Razer Exact Mat
    Logitech G910 mechanical gaming keyboard
    Windows 8 x64 Pro

  5. #130
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,804
    Quote Originally Posted by eric66 View Post
    yeah thats why batman doesn't have aa for ati users lol come back to earth
    Please show me where ATI worked with the developers?
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  6. #131
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    Quote Originally Posted by Oj101 View Post
    Please show me where ATI worked with the developers?
    They usually don't
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3· nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX · Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz · Corsair TX850W · Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 · OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB · Corsair 650D · DELL U2711 27"

  7. #132
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,804
    Quote Originally Posted by NaMcO View Post
    They usually don't
    There we go. eric66, a few seconds on Google will show you that the Unreal Engine 3 simply does not support AA. NVAPI is what allows AA in B:AA and had ATI worked with Eidos to implement something similar we could've had AA on both platforms.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  8. #133
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    584
    Why do you even bother with him,it's quite obvious that he is a ATi fanboy.
    As for the 8GB of memory,it's not even hitting 2gigs on my PC with everything except DX11 features on.
    Before you complain about lag, think about Jesus. He lagged three days before respawning.

  9. #134
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    246
    if optimal RAM is 8Gb, shouldnt x64 be part of the specs too?

    i also havent been playing games for a while, but i remember anandtech did an article way back when, when with 32bit Vista, games would BSOD if it reached over 2.0Gb even with 3-4Gb on the system.

    actually i played cod mw2 a few months back on windows 7 with 2gb and it never crossed 1.5-1.8Gb. so could be an issue still?

  10. #135
    NooB MOD
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    5,804
    Quote Originally Posted by XS2K View Post
    Why do you even bother with him,it's quite obvious that he is a ATi fanboy.
    As for the 8GB of memory,it's not even hitting 2gigs on my PC with everything except DX11 features on.
    Because many, many people browse these forums. I'm not arguing with him as much as allowing Joe Average to see it for what it really is.
    Xtreme SUPERCOMPUTER
    Nov 1 - Nov 8 Join Now!


    Quote Originally Posted by Jowy Atreides View Post
    Intel is about to get athlon'd
    Athlon64 3700+ KACAE 0605APAW @ 3455MHz 314x11 1.92v/Vapochill || Core 2 Duo E8500 Q807 @ 6060MHz 638x9.5 1.95v LN2 @ -120'c || Athlon64 FX-55 CABCE 0516WPMW @ 3916MHz 261x15 1.802v/LN2 @ -40c || DFI LP UT CFX3200-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 SLI-DR || DFI LP UT NF4 Ultra D || Sapphire X1950XT || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 290MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v || 2x256MB G.Skill TCCD @ 350MHz 3-4-4-8 3.1v || 2x256MB Kingston HyperX BH-5 @ 294MHz 2-2-2-5 3.94v

  11. #136
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    I don't know why they listed the specs so damn high. They even say an SSD is "optimal" when the game loads so fine and fast from an HDD.
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3· nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX · Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz · Corsair TX850W · Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 · OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB · Corsair 650D · DELL U2711 27"

  12. #137
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,263
    Please do remember that recommended system requirements are just that. They can list them how ever they please. What anyone should take home from these is, " The more the better." Simple as that. The game is demanding and will appreciate a fast system all around.

    As far as the 8GB mention, it is somewhat bizzare. I could see a potential 4GB recommendation but the benifits of excess of 4GBs of ram for running a x86 program is pratically nill. They may as well had recommended 24GBs of ram... but again they can pull whatever they what out of their arses where a recommendation goes. By the way I recommend a i7 980 to run Windows...
    Feedanator 7.0
    CASE:R5|PSU:850G2|CPU:i7 6850K|MB:x99 Ultra|RAM:8x4 2666|GPU:980TI|SSD:BPX256/Evo500|SOUND:2i4/HS8
    LCD:XB271HU|OS:Win10|INPUT:G900/K70 |HS/F:H115i

  13. #138
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    832
    Quote Originally Posted by NaMcO View Post
    I don't know why they listed the specs so damn high. They even say an SSD is "optimal" when the game loads so fine and fast from an HDD.
    NaMcO, what kind of avg FPS are you seeing with the 5970 in DX11/DX10? Also, would you mind disabling 1 GPU to simulate ~58xx performance? Very interested in how this game would run on my 4890.

    Phenom II 980 BE @ 4.4Ghz
    MSI 790FX-GD70
    4GB OCZ Reaper 1333Mhz @ 1500Mhz 6-7-6-18
    Sapphire HD 7950 Boost 3GB
    OCZ Vertex 3 120GB
    OCZ Vertex 60GB
    WD VelociRaptor 150GB
    OCZ Gold 850W ZX Series
    Thermaltake Shark

  14. #139
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    209
    Game loads in a few secs with 4 gigs of ram.

    @eric66: So you suggest we play with 20fps less in DX11 mode, when there is visually no noticeable difference to DX10? WTH?

    I have played the game. Specs in my sig. No matter what setting you choose, the game looks stunning. The best visual/performance mode for 5800 series is DX10/NORMAL or HIGH/ AAA / AF4/ (thats my opinion). With NORMAL mode i get around 100 average fps.
    Last edited by BuBBle.D; 03-16-2010 at 01:27 PM.
    |ASUS Sabertooth Z77|Intel Core I7-2700K|32GB G.Skill TridentX F3-2400C10Q-32GTX|Corsair AX1200W|
    |ASUS GTX TITAN + Zotac GTX680 for PhysX|Samsung S27A950D|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair Hydro Series H100|

    |ASUS Crosshair IV Formula|AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE|16GB G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL7D-8GBXH|
    |2X AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire|TT Kandalf - MOD|Corsair HX1000W|Corsair Hydro Series H70|

  15. #140
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,263
    In the future when mentioning subjective performance figures, please make a point of mentioning the resolution as not to be misleading. The more details the better
    Feedanator 7.0
    CASE:R5|PSU:850G2|CPU:i7 6850K|MB:x99 Ultra|RAM:8x4 2666|GPU:980TI|SSD:BPX256/Evo500|SOUND:2i4/HS8
    LCD:XB271HU|OS:Win10|INPUT:G900/K70 |HS/F:H115i

  16. #141
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    So, not much of a difference between DX10 and DX11?
    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

  17. #142
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC USA
    Posts
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by Oj101 View Post
    It's the 16th, when does it hit retail?
    Its avaliable on Steam now.
    Xeon w3520 oc'd to 4.2ghz w/ htt enabled
    Foxconn Bloodrage (G32 Bios)
    2 x Nvidia 285 gtx's (overclock varies. Most recent core: 700/ shaders: 1550/ ram: 1230)
    6gbs G-skill Trident ddr3 2000mhz ram @ 1604mhz (timings: 6 7 6 20 T1)
    Silverstone ST1000 1000W PSU
    WD RaptorX 150gb, WD 1tb, Seagate Perpendicular 320gb (non raid config)
    2 x LG Sata 22x DVD Burner
    Swiftech Apogee XT Extreme Water-block, Feser X-Changer 360mm Xtreme Performance Radiator, Alphacool Cape Coolplex Pro 10 External Reservior, Swiftech MCP655™ 12 VDC Pump, 3x Scythe 120mm fans, 1/2in tubing
    Creative X-Fi Titanium Sound Card
    Lian Li X-500 Case
    And a partridge in a peared tree

  18. #143
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn, NYC USA
    Posts
    278
    Quote Originally Posted by NaMcO View Post
    On my PC 1.7GB are used when playing.

    And then there's this taken with my 5970...


    DX11:




    DX10:



    DX10 has about 18-20fps more than DX11 mode both in Very High settings.
    Whats the settings u used, and hows the frame rate?
    Xeon w3520 oc'd to 4.2ghz w/ htt enabled
    Foxconn Bloodrage (G32 Bios)
    2 x Nvidia 285 gtx's (overclock varies. Most recent core: 700/ shaders: 1550/ ram: 1230)
    6gbs G-skill Trident ddr3 2000mhz ram @ 1604mhz (timings: 6 7 6 20 T1)
    Silverstone ST1000 1000W PSU
    WD RaptorX 150gb, WD 1tb, Seagate Perpendicular 320gb (non raid config)
    2 x LG Sata 22x DVD Burner
    Swiftech Apogee XT Extreme Water-block, Feser X-Changer 360mm Xtreme Performance Radiator, Alphacool Cape Coolplex Pro 10 External Reservior, Swiftech MCP655™ 12 VDC Pump, 3x Scythe 120mm fans, 1/2in tubing
    Creative X-Fi Titanium Sound Card
    Lian Li X-500 Case
    And a partridge in a peared tree

  19. #144
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,195
    Quote Originally Posted by Oj101 View Post
    There we go. eric66, a few seconds on Google will show you that the Unreal Engine 3 simply does not support AA. NVAPI is what allows AA in B:AA and had ATI worked with Eidos to implement something similar we could've had AA on both platforms.
    wow ignorancy ftw that aa thing worked on ati cards too at least in demo version so how about allowing ati users to enjoy aa also since they value there ati customers according to you
    Quote Originally Posted by LesGrossman View Post
    So for the last 3 months Nvidia talked about Uniengine and then Uniengine and more Uniengine and finally Uniengine. And then takes the best 5 seconds from all the benchmark run, makes a graph and then proudly shows it everywhere.

  20. #145
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,195
    Quote Originally Posted by BuBBle.D View Post
    Game loads in a few secs with 4 gigs of ram.

    @eric66: So you suggest we play with 20fps less in DX11 mode, when there is visually no noticeable difference to DX10? WTH?

    I have played the game. Specs in my sig. No matter what setting you choose, the game looks stunning. The best visual/performance mode for 5800 series is DX10/NORMAL or HIGH/ AAA / AF4/ (thats my opinion). With NORMAL mode i get around 100 average fps.
    my bad edited that one it would be dx 10 obviously no need to be einstein to figure that one out
    Quote Originally Posted by LesGrossman View Post
    So for the last 3 months Nvidia talked about Uniengine and then Uniengine and more Uniengine and finally Uniengine. And then takes the best 5 seconds from all the benchmark run, makes a graph and then proudly shows it everywhere.

  21. #146
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,195
    Quote Originally Posted by XS2K View Post
    Why do you even bother with him,it's quite obvious that he is a ATi fanboy.
    As for the 8GB of memory,it's not even hitting 2gigs on my PC with everything except DX11 features on.
    seems somebodies green tail got hurted sowwy
    Quote Originally Posted by LesGrossman View Post
    So for the last 3 months Nvidia talked about Uniengine and then Uniengine and more Uniengine and finally Uniengine. And then takes the best 5 seconds from all the benchmark run, makes a graph and then proudly shows it everywhere.

  22. #147
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    209
    Quote Originally Posted by Chickenfeed View Post
    In the future when mentioning subjective performance figures, please make a point of mentioning the resolution as not to be misleading. The more details the better
    Sorry bro, forgot: resolution was 1920x1080

    To sum it all up. On these settings the game runs smooth. With "smooth" i dont mean 30-50fps like some people do. Its around 100fps with NORMAL mode and around 80fps in HIGH mode. DirectX 10 render was used. With DirectX 9 mode i did not notice any lacking features but a performance improvement of around 20%.

    Agerage FPS: 100 (give or take)
    GPU: 5870@ 1000/1300
    CPU: E8400@4000mhz
    RAM 4GB@11x0mhz
    res: 1920x1080
    render: DX10
    mode: NORMAL
    AA: AAA
    AF: AF4X

    Agerage FPS: 80 (give or take)
    GPU: 5870@ 1000/1300
    CPU: E8400@4000mhz
    RAM 4GB@11x0mhz
    res: 1920x1080
    render: DX10
    mode: HIGH
    AA: AAA
    AF: AF4X


    DX11 takes quite a performance hit so anything above NORMAL mode in DX11 is unplayable FOR ME.


    Those are numbers based on the early levels which are in tunnels and medium-large open areas.

    Hope it helped.
    |ASUS Sabertooth Z77|Intel Core I7-2700K|32GB G.Skill TridentX F3-2400C10Q-32GTX|Corsair AX1200W|
    |ASUS GTX TITAN + Zotac GTX680 for PhysX|Samsung S27A950D|Corsair Obsidian 800D|Corsair Hydro Series H100|

    |ASUS Crosshair IV Formula|AMD Phenom II X6 1090T BE|16GB G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL7D-8GBXH|
    |2X AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire|TT Kandalf - MOD|Corsair HX1000W|Corsair Hydro Series H70|

  23. #148
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    U.S of freakin' A
    Posts
    1,931
    What kind of CPU activity are we seeing? Is there activity on 4 threads? And if so, how much?
    Intel Core i7 6900K
    Noctua NH-D15
    Asus X99A II
    32 GB G.Skill TridentZ @ 3400 CL15 CR1
    NVidia Titan Xp
    Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5
    Sennheiser HD-598
    Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Western Digital Raptor 600GB
    Asus 12x Blu-Ray Burner
    Sony Optiarc 24x DVD Burner with NEC chipset
    Antec HCP-1200w Power Supply
    Viewsonic XG2703-GS
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
    Logitech G502 gaming mouse w/Razer Exact Mat
    Logitech G910 mechanical gaming keyboard
    Windows 8 x64 Pro

  24. #149
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bloomfield
    Posts
    1,968
    Quote Originally Posted by eric66 View Post
    wow ignorancy ftw that aa thing worked on ati cards too at least in demo version so how about allowing ati users to enjoy aa also since they value there ati customers according to you
    if its running in dx9 mode then its impossible for a deferred renderer it to have d3d msaa. you can turn it on but either cap bits or incorrect results will stop it from working.

  25. #150
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    My settings were (just for a test) everything maxed out (DX10 and DX11) but AA set to AAA. Getting ~42fps in DX11 mode and ~47fps in DX10 mode with 1920x1200 resolution. If i drop the settings to HIGH the framerate climbs to the 60's and makes the game playable either in DX10 or DX11 mode. Always with AA set to AAA.

    A few youtube links with videos running at maximum settings at 1920x1200 which i made:

    Video 1 (small)

    Video 2

    Video 3

    Keep in mind that framerate took a big hit because of FRAPs.
    Last edited by NaMcO; 03-16-2010 at 02:23 PM.
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3· nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX · Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz · Corsair TX850W · Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 · OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB · Corsair 650D · DELL U2711 27"

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 3456789 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •