Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 59

Thread: Sleeving Problem. What to do with the Capacitor?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lansing,MI
    Posts
    272

    Sleeving Problem. What to do with the Capacitor?

    Okay, So I am trying to start sleeving today and when I cut my first PCI-E cable open, there is this big capacitor attached to it. What am I suppose to do with it? I suppose they are by pass capacitors to help the system stable. What should I do with it? Take them out and cut a hole on the sleeve and put the back in after (That can't look nice). Anyway, help please.



    I even cut my finger when I see the thing...


  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,622
    What PSU has caps in the wire???? WFT????? Never seen that, looks like they forgot something in the PSU.

    Odd............
    All stock for now, no need for more, but it's gonna be soon methinks.
    Giga Xtreme 58 mobo i7 965 ES D0 step Corsair 1600 6 gig
    SLI GTX470 EVGA
    EK HF nickle blue top CPU block (free from Eddie)
    Koolance 470 waterblocks
    One big loop, two 120x3 rads. Pa 120.3 and XSPC RX 120x3. Swiftech 35x pump with V2 restop. GT AP15 fans.
    Banchetto Tech Station
    120 GB SSD, and a few other drives.
    1000W UltraX3 PSU, 900 watt (1500VA UPS
    23.999" Acer GD235hz and 24" Acer H243H

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lansing,MI
    Posts
    272
    It is Silverstone strider plus... There new PSU
    Last edited by Kanzy; 01-25-2010 at 03:21 PM.

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,584
    its made by enhance...to make their power supplies short..they put the caps on the cables..

    antec tp1200 - enhance
    silverstone strider plus series - enhance too


  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    184
    What about using heatshrinks of correct dimensions for the cables (black heatshrinks on both sides of that capasitor)- and a suitable heatshrink for the capasitor ? And after you have shrunk the heatshrink over the capasitor slide the two on the cables over both ends for the capasitor heatshrink and shrink them ? Might be that you will have to solder off the capasitor ?

    One other guy gave me a excellent tip - wrap the cables with electrical tape of the same color as the sleeving before you do the sleevingjob. This will hide the color of the cables shining through the sleeving.
    Worklog - xtreeme Please comment and give me your input | Testware |

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Lansing,MI
    Posts
    272
    Right now I am thinking about return the PSU since it's bought within the week if there is not good solution.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    405
    If you want a really clean sleeving job, you probably won't be able to use that PSU. Will the part of the wire with the cap be visible?

    heat
    TJ07-Ultra 1200W-E8400-Rampage Formula-4870-4gb G.skill-74gb Raptor-500gb Seagate-Windows 7

    Apogee GTZ-XSPC Razor-DDC3.2 w/ XSPC top-PA120.3-MCR220-EK 250 res

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,233
    +1, dont remove these caps, jopnnyguru showed taht its BAD.
    BTTB - Gigabyte Z87X-OC - WCed I7 4770k - 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz - Zotac GTX 780
    Asus Xonar Pheobus - OS -> Toshiba Q 256gb - Games -> 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0
    Corsair HX850 - Tecnofront HWD BenchTable - Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

    Serveur - Asus Z77m PRO - 2500K - NH-C12P - 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
    Agility 4 128gb - Corsair CX430M - 1TB Black - 2TB green - 2TB Red

    KatPat - Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 - FX-8320 - PH-TC14CS - 2x4gb Viper 1600mhz - GTS 450
    Samsung Evo 120gb - Corsair HX750 - Bitfenix Survivor White - Asus VE247H

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    184
    uhh well of course he will have to solder it back on again, tought it were so obvious I didn't mention it...
    Worklog - xtreeme Please comment and give me your input | Testware |

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    1,212
    For the best look (cable sleeve>heatshrink around the capacitor>cable sleeve)
    _______________
    Q66@3.8ghz
    Rampage/Maximus SE hybrid W/C. 4 gigs OCZ reapers.
    4890,s CF Dual loop rocketfish case.
    ^^^^^All shaken, (from the earthquake) not stirred^^^^^


    Quote Originally Posted by Vapor View Post
    There's a lot less voodoo in watercooling than is assumed
    The only thing future proof in electronics, is the electricity itself.

    Any one who relies on only one source of information is a fool.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    108
    Another TJ-07 Builder
    Worklog Pending

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    319
    My corsair hx850 has something similar to that at the end of the cabling of the pci-e cables.
    MM H2gO - Win 7 Pro
    2 PA120.2 Thermochill
    MCP355 w/XSPC res top
    i5-2500k @ 5.0ghz w/Heatkiller 3.0
    Corsair HX850 - M IV Gene-z
    GTX 480 w/DD 480 ni/cu

  13. #13
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Imperial Palace, UDE of Pitatopia
    Posts
    8,392
    Does the cap need to be in that precise location?. . .perhaps relocate it to somewhere else in the sleeve where it will be hidden (like behind the MoBo or under a mid panel)?
    Circles SucQ!

    If your annoyed by sigs telling you to put things in your sig, then put this in your sig

    Bribery won't work on me...just say NO to AT!!!

  14. #14
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    565
    You can use an extension and hide the other part.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    MV-G
    3770K 5.00
    7970 1200/1700
    GSkill 2400
    Seasonic Platinum 1000
    Silverstone TJ08-E
    - Koolance AC-370 - Swiftech MCP-35X - Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad - Koolance VID-AR797 -
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    USA National Debt



  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,884
    Quote Originally Posted by Waterlogged View Post
    Does the cap need to be in that precise location?. . .perhaps relocate it to somewhere else in the sleeve where it will be hidden (like behind the MoBo or under a mid panel)?
    If it only needs to be attached to the wire, why not reinstall it inside the PSU?

  16. #16
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4,466
    Quote Originally Posted by Bei Fei View Post
    You can use an extension and hide the other part.
    +1 to this.
    CPUID http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=554982
    New DO Stepping http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=555012
    4.8Ghz - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=794165

    Desk Build
    FX8120 @ 4.6Ghz 24/7 / Asus Crosshair V /HD7970/ 8Gb (4x2Gb) Gskill 2133Mhz / Intel 320 160Gb OS Drive, WD 256GB Game Storage

    W/C System
    (CPU) Swiftech HD (GPU) EK HD7970 with backplate (RAM) MIPS Ram block (Rad/Pump) 3 x Thermochill 120.3 triple rads and Dual MCP355's with Heatkiller dual top and Cyberdruid Prism res / B*P/Koolance Compression Fittings and Quick Disconnects.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    644
    its there to cut down on noise... and if you put it down the line you'll allow that much more cable for noise to be introduced back into the system...

    either buy a diff psu or be happy that youve got good stuff and heatshrink over it and continue sleeving.
    SYSTEM
    i5-3750K @ 4.6ghz - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - 16GB Samsung DDR3 - Sapphire R7 370 Nitro 4GB
    Water Cooling
    EK Supremecy - DDC-3.2 w/XSPC Top -Swiftech MCR320-QP - EK Multioption 150

  18. #18
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    591
    To turn tables a bit, should I be doing this mod to my powersupply???

  19. #19
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Back and forth between Florida and Maine
    Posts
    4,097
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf132 View Post
    My corsair hx850 has something similar to that at the end of the cabling of the pci-e cables.

    If the HX850 is the same as the HX1000, those "shields" on the end are not attached with wires to the PSU ... they are just glued over the group of PCI-E wires. They can be removed by cutting them off, with no detriment as far as I've seen.

    Different kettle of fish on the new Strider. Someone needs to be the guinea pig to try re-positioning them / figuring out how to sleeve (it won't be me ).

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    582
    Quote Originally Posted by shazza View Post
    If the HX850 is the same as the HX1000, those "shields" on the end are not attached with wires to the PSU ... they are just glued over the group of PCI-E wires. They can be removed by cutting them off, with no detriment as far as I've seen.

    Different kettle of fish on the new Strider. Someone needs to be the guinea pig to try re-positioning them / figuring out how to sleeve (it won't be me ).
    What shazza said.. this is a whole different horse here. All you have to do is work around it on the HX850.

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    565
    The cap is also there to help with heavy load surges. It will provide the "instant" power when needed helping to maintain the 12V integrity. The closer to the power draw the better!
    Last edited by Bei Fei; 01-26-2010 at 10:23 AM. Reason: DOHH!!!!

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    MV-G
    3770K 5.00
    7970 1200/1700
    GSkill 2400
    Seasonic Platinum 1000
    Silverstone TJ08-E
    - Koolance AC-370 - Swiftech MCP-35X - Phobya Xtreme 200mm Rad - Koolance VID-AR797 -
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



    USA National Debt



  22. #22
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southfield, MI
    Posts
    4,127
    I would just not uni-sleeve that cable. Just use some black electrical tape, and some sleeving large enough to go over the cap. if you pull it tight, It won't look that bad. I did it on my Corsair HX1000 as I didn't want to remove the extra 2 wires on the the PCI-E connector. I just folded that connector back on the wire and sleeved over it.

    Its not the best looking thing, but it isn't the worst either.

    edit:

    look at the black cable. You can see the bludge right before the ziptie.

    Project Millertime: The Core I5 build

    Crunching/folding box on air: AMD Athlon X2 7750 Black Edition; Sapphire Radeon HD 4830; Gigabyte MA78GM-US2H; Lian Li PC-V351; Windows 7 RC

  23. #23
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Imperial Palace, UDE of Pitatopia
    Posts
    8,392
    Quote Originally Posted by Bei Fei View Post
    The cap is also there to help with heavy load surges. It will provide the "instant" power when needed helping to maintain the 12V integrity. The closer to the power draw the better!
    Best answer I've seen, I'd buy that. They stay where they are then.
    Circles SucQ!

    If your annoyed by sigs telling you to put things in your sig, then put this in your sig

    Bribery won't work on me...just say NO to AT!!!

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,884
    Quote Originally Posted by Bei Fei View Post
    The cap is also there to help with heavy load surges. It will provide the "instant" power when needed helping to maintain the 12V integrity. The closer to the power draw the better!
    So would that allow better overclocking?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by Alexandr0s View Post
    So would that allow better overclocking?
    No, but it will help if a sudden change in power comes down the cable (touch wood, not sure about this)

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •