Thread: Help With Picking a DSLR

Xtreme Member

Help With Picking a DSLR

Ok, first off, I must say that I am a COMPLETE DSLR newbie. My entire photography experience has consisted of using various point-and-shoot cameras.

However, I got some money for my birthday, so I'd like to buy a DSLR. The camera would primarily be used for close up computer pictures, with the occasional sporting event or vacation.

I have been researching entry-level DSLRs, and it seems the best two are the Canon Rebel XSi and the Nikon D3000. I can't decide between the two. I have read that the XSi has slightly better specs, but is it worth the extra price?

I was also wondering if the kit lens is sufficient for computer shoots, or should I buy the body and then a separate lens?

Finally, I would also like a little advice on setting up a small photo studio. I was going to pick up some heavy-duty white paper for the background, but should I also buy a light source? If so, what kind?

Thanks so much in advance!
    Regards,
    Chris

Core i7 920 3931A318 4.4GHz 1.375vcore | EVGA X58 Classified E760 | EVGA GTX470 1280MB | Corsair Dominator GT 7-8-7-20 1688MHz | Heatkiller 3.0 CU and Feser xChanger 480 | Seasonic M12 (Soon to be replaced)

Xtreme Member
    both are good value for money
    i'd suggest you to go to a local photostore and compare the two
    check how it sits in your hand, how the menu's are etc
    don't be afraid to fiddle with all the knobs and switches
    choose the one that leaves the best impression, because the specs are almost identical, the xsi having a slight advantage with live-view
    it's great for macro and product-shooting, which you intend to do

as for the second question, kit lens will do just fine for now
    and check out this thread for some lighting tips: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=241906

hope it helped
    }{ my photoBLOG