MMM
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345
Results 101 to 125 of 125

Thread: ATI 5970 Blocks

  1. #101
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    64
    Have you heard anything about the Aqua tuning blocks? I was looking to get one of those Bit unsure of the EK...

  2. #102
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Stockholm Sweden
    Posts
    480
    Just stambled uppon this

    PowerColor with block from EK

    Nice!!
    [Asus P8Z77 WS Z77] [i7 3770K] [Apogee HD waterblock]
    [16GB G.Skill DDR3 PC3-19200 2400MHz TridentX Series CL10 (10-12-12-31) Dual Channel kit]
    [Zotac GTX 680][Watercool Heatkiller GPU-X3 GTX680 Hole]
    [2x ThermoChill PA120.3][2x Laing DDC-1T-PLUS - XSPC Dual 5.25"Bay Reservoir ][Stacker 832][PSU:ThermalTake 1200W][2x 24" Screens BenQ G2420]
    Current Rig ASUS P8Z77 WS - ATX / Z77 Intel Core i7-3770K CM Stacker + 2nd WC Casehttp://img49.imageshack.us/my.php?image=pict0157dh0.jpg
    Project Blue Orbit - Phase 2
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=243865

    Build With MIPS freezers NB,SB,Mosfets

  3. #103
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    619
    Quote Originally Posted by neo_rtr View Post
    Just stambled uppon this

    PowerColor with block from EK

    Nice!!
    It's really not all that badly priced either. Like $115 extra which is pretty close to the right price if you were to do it yourself. I wonder if it's a reference design pcb? I would think it would be to fit the EK block. I would want that verified before purchasing to make sure the volt-mod apps will work on it.
    ASRock 990FX Extreme4
    AMD FX 8350
    Kingston 16GB (4GBx4) DDR3 1333
    Gigabyte NVidia GTX 680 2GB
    Silverstone 1000W PSU

  4. #104
    Aqua Computer Rep
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    549
    According to the photo it seems that you will get two cards... One watercooled and the other one with stock fan is for backup purposes?
    Got a question or having a problem with your Aqua Computer product?
    Contact us via PM or E-Mail.

  5. #105
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    7,738
    that picture does look like a really bad photoshop

  6. #106
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    No more temperature piccies? I'm about to go 5970 + EK Waterblocks and was concerned about the VRM issue. Is this solved at last?

    Thanks.
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3 nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz Corsair TX850W Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB Corsair 650D DELL U2711 27"

  7. #107
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    65
    Quote Originally Posted by NaMcO View Post
    No more temperature piccies? I'm about to go 5970 + EK Waterblocks and was concerned about the VRM issue. Is this solved at last?

    Thanks.
    Even Crysis doesn't heat the VRMs up nearly as much as Furmark does. So the real world temperatures end up being adequate.

    Here's the EK block at 1.3v with 8 degree celcius water temperature. My VRMs have about a 70c rise over the water temperature near them. At stock speeds the VRM temperatures are more than halved.


  8. #108
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    Thank you Romir, this was exactly what i was after. In game temperature is all i care about and it seems pretty nice.

    It also depends on the WC system but i got that covered

    Cheers
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3 nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz Corsair TX850W Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB Corsair 650D DELL U2711 27"

  9. #109
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Norway
    Posts
    133
    I have the 5970 + EK nickel block. I ran furmark 1.8 dual gpu, 1650x1050 with 8 x msaa. I only get temps of 35C on VRMs. But my card is running 900/1200 @ 1,149v only. Stock cpu for now. Some smal issues i'm trying to figure out of.

    Last edited by M40TURBO; 03-08-2010 at 10:40 AM.
    CPU: Q9650 MOBO: Asus P5E64 WS EVOLUTION PSU: OCZ MOD X STREAM 900W
    GPU: HIS HD 4870x2 Coolance Water cooling RAM: 4x1gb OCZ DDR3 Platinum 1600 7-6-6-20
    CPU COOLER: Swiftech GTZ waterblock HD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA 3,5"
    OPTICAL: Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7203S CASE: Nexus NZXT

  10. #110
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    Great temps indeed. The nickel-plated EK waterblock is the one i ordered, it should be here before the card, heh. What small issues are you referring to, in-game issues or...?
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3 nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz Corsair TX850W Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB Corsair 650D DELL U2711 27"

  11. #111
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Norway
    Posts
    133
    Well the block\block i have have the dipp inn them. My vrm's have the same hight, so i put two pads on one an two on the other. Same thickness on one side and a thinner one on the other one. Works like a charm..
    No my problems are window related i think.. Not sure.. But it stops at 950/1260/1,149v when the cpu q9650 is @ 4,5ghz. Think thats the max for my asus card. More volt = restart. 960 on core clock = restart..
    Hope the block works just as well on my saphire card..

    This is the block and mounted on the card,





    CPU: Q9650 MOBO: Asus P5E64 WS EVOLUTION PSU: OCZ MOD X STREAM 900W
    GPU: HIS HD 4870x2 Coolance Water cooling RAM: 4x1gb OCZ DDR3 Platinum 1600 7-6-6-20
    CPU COOLER: Swiftech GTZ waterblock HD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA 3,5"
    OPTICAL: Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7203S CASE: Nexus NZXT

  12. #112
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    Ah ok

    Wow, that backplate is fantastic.
    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3 nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz Corsair TX850W Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB Corsair 650D DELL U2711 27"

  13. #113
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    363
    Quote Originally Posted by M40TURBO View Post

    No my problems are window related i think.. Not sure.. But it stops at 950/1260/1,149v when the cpu q9650 is @ 4,5ghz. Think thats the max for my asus card. More volt = restart. 960 on core clock = restart..
    Hope the block works just as well on my saphire card..
    What exactly are the problems you are experiencing. Many 5970 users who watercool are experiencing one fomr of problem or another, so just inquiring as to the exact nature of your problem.

  14. #114
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    281
    what about xspc razor for 5970? it's quite price competitive but i have not found any info on performance. anyone have it? seen it's internals?

  15. #115
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    64
    Very impressive I love the look of this block

  16. #116
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    79
    anyone know where to buy one of those powercolor 5970 lcs ????

  17. #117
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    66
    Could someone recommend me a FC block for the 5970 4gb card? Its this 1 in particular: http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/gra.../11/sapphire/1

    Also a good Xfire link solution for the 2 cards. These will go on an Asus R3E.

    Thanks in advance

  18. #118
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    228
    Quote Originally Posted by M40TURBO View Post
    I have the 5970 + EK nickel block. I ran furmark 1.8 dual gpu, 1650x1050 with 8 x msaa. I only get temps of 35C on VRMs. But my card is running 900/1200 @ 1,149v only. Stock cpu for now. Some smal issues i'm trying to figure out of.

    Hi! I guest your VRM should over 35c. The temp definitely drop after furmark stop ... can you point the cursor to the GPU-Z bar during furmark running (5min)? I very amaze with your CPU and GPU temp ... your ambient temp? or Chiller?

    EVGA Classified E759-A1 l Intel i7 975 EE @4GHz l CORSAIR DDR3 7-8-7-20 @ 2000MHz 3X2GB l ASUS HD5970 l Silverstone 1200W l Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD X2 Raid0 l Windows 7 Ultimate l Custom Bench (Water Cooling)


  19. #119
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Norway
    Posts
    133
    Well as you can see those are max temps. And the room temp was 20-21C maybe. Not higher. And how long the test ran i don't remember. 30min-1hour i think.. Temps dont get high with stability test and xtreme burn on, if you run 8x MSAA. Try running without it. Then my temps went to 100+ after 5 mins and where rising still.
    CPU: Q9650 MOBO: Asus P5E64 WS EVOLUTION PSU: OCZ MOD X STREAM 900W
    GPU: HIS HD 4870x2 Coolance Water cooling RAM: 4x1gb OCZ DDR3 Platinum 1600 7-6-6-20
    CPU COOLER: Swiftech GTZ waterblock HD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA 3,5"
    OPTICAL: Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7203S CASE: Nexus NZXT

  20. #120
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    228
    Quote Originally Posted by M40TURBO View Post
    Well as you can see those are max temps. And the room temp was 20-21C maybe. Not higher. And how long the test ran i don't remember. 30min-1hour i think.. Temps dont get high with stability test and xtreme burn on, if you run 8x MSAA. Try running without it. Then my temps went to 100+ after 5 mins and where rising still.
    your room very cold! Nice!
    I think mine got mounting problem ... VRM temp looks unbalance .. haha! What do you think guys?



    My Card >


    EVGA Classified E759-A1 l Intel i7 975 EE @4GHz l CORSAIR DDR3 7-8-7-20 @ 2000MHz 3X2GB l ASUS HD5970 l Silverstone 1200W l Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD X2 Raid0 l Windows 7 Ultimate l Custom Bench (Water Cooling)


  21. #121
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere in Norway
    Posts
    133
    Have you checked you're vrm chipps if they are the same hight? And if the waterblock has a hight difference where the vrm chipps are??
    When i mounted the block with level vrms and difference in block, i put on the thermal pad that is inn the instructions and then added an extra thin one where the hight difference was on the block.

    I mounted first with just one pad and there was imprint on only the one side. So i added a thin one on the other side and put it back on.
    I'm planing on putting on new thermal paste soon, then i'll check both my blocks and pads.
    CPU: Q9650 MOBO: Asus P5E64 WS EVOLUTION PSU: OCZ MOD X STREAM 900W
    GPU: HIS HD 4870x2 Coolance Water cooling RAM: 4x1gb OCZ DDR3 Platinum 1600 7-6-6-20
    CPU COOLER: Swiftech GTZ waterblock HD: WD VelociRaptor 300GB SATA 3,5"
    OPTICAL: Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7203S CASE: Nexus NZXT

  22. #122
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    66
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeChuo View Post
    your room very cold! Nice!
    I think mine got mounting problem ... VRM temp looks unbalance .. haha! What do you think guys?



    My Card >

    very nice joe - is that the ASUS 2gb or 4gb version?

  23. #123
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    228
    Quote Originally Posted by glide 1 View Post
    very nice joe - is that the ASUS 2gb or 4gb version?
    Asus 2GB ... Thanks!

    EVGA Classified E759-A1 l Intel i7 975 EE @4GHz l CORSAIR DDR3 7-8-7-20 @ 2000MHz 3X2GB l ASUS HD5970 l Silverstone 1200W l Intel X25-M G2 80GB SSD X2 Raid0 l Windows 7 Ultimate l Custom Bench (Water Cooling)


  24. #124
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    What are normal VRM temps during furmark? I've been having issues passing 1.125V the past few days (after a tear down of my machine), and I can't figure out why. Are these kind of on the high side for a furmark load?

  25. #125
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    65
    No Watercool here,think he has the best VRM Temps,water is still close to them.
    Cant test it because selling my 5970,so no need anymore for this pretty only Watercool HEATKILLER GPU-X 5970 in black Nickel





    ASUS Rampage III Extreme,INTEL Xeon W3520@4,5GHz,Core i7 920 C0@4,368GHz,6GB CORSAIR Dominator GT@MIPS Ram Freezer
    ASUS GTX 470@SLI,ENERMAX Revolution85+ 950W,INTEL Postville 80GB,2x1TB WESTERN DIGITAL Caviar Green WD10EADS
    2 XSPC RX360,XSPC RX240,WATERCOOL Heatkiller 3.0 Cu@full black Nickel,DANGER DEN Laing 3.25@XSPC all in U2-UFO CYO

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •