View Poll Results: What do you think of ROG Motherboards

Voters
439. You may not vote on this poll
  • Innovative

    117 26.65%
  • Have a great bios design and great long term bios support

    117 26.65%
  • The best of the best

    111 25.28%
  • Similar to other boards

    34 7.74%
  • Overpriced

    184 41.91%
  • I just read the reviews and then decide

    48 10.93%
  • I think of them as gaming boards

    28 6.38%
  • I think of them as overclocking boards

    73 16.63%
  • I think of them as gaming and overclocking boards

    161 36.67%
  • Interested in a ROG competiton board for OC ( no audio, no network etc )

    55 12.53%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 197

Thread: ASUS ROG Owners/Users Feedback and Insights and Ideas. Your Opinion Counts!

  1. #101
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Rotterdam
    Posts
    6
    Love my Asus Maximus III Gene :




  2. #102
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Toon
    Posts
    1,555
    Crosshair IV Gene?
    Intel i7 920 C0 @ 3.67GHz
    ASUS 6T Deluxe
    Powercolor 7970 @ 1050/1475
    12GB GSkill Ripjaws
    Antec 850W TruePower Quattro
    50" Full HD PDP
    Red Cosmos 1000

  3. #103
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    S.W. Desert USA
    Posts
    195
    I would just like to have the latest BIOS versions available to download from ASUS, beta or not! Hello! RIIIE BIOS 0504 and 0531 are in the wild but nowhere to be found to download from ASUS!
    i7/930 - Noctua NH-C12P
    Rampage III Extreme - (2) evga 9800GTX
    Corsair AX-1200 - 12GB PGS312G1600ELK
    (2) VelociRaptor 150GB - (2) Raptor 160GB - WD Caviar 2TB
    LG GGW-H20L Blu-Ray - Plextor PX-880SA - X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    Silverstone TJ07 (mostly) Aluminum Case

  4. #104
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Would you sue Asus if it bricked ya board ? some biosses are better to not see the living daylight...
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  5. #105
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    S.W. Desert USA
    Posts
    195
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Would you sue Asus if it bricked ya board ? some biosses are better to not see the living daylight...
    No, I would not sue ASUS.

    I have lived through all the the Striker versions without bricking a mobo, so I am a bit careful about which I load, (knocking on wood as I type). I realize that there are instances where some BIOS versions that caused a few bricks, but I really wonder if most were user error rather than actually caused by the BIOS itself.
    i7/930 - Noctua NH-C12P
    Rampage III Extreme - (2) evga 9800GTX
    Corsair AX-1200 - 12GB PGS312G1600ELK
    (2) VelociRaptor 150GB - (2) Raptor 160GB - WD Caviar 2TB
    LG GGW-H20L Blu-Ray - Plextor PX-880SA - X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    Silverstone TJ07 (mostly) Aluminum Case

  6. #106
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    515
    Not lieing to consumers... Example the X-Fi software that came with the motherboard worked great.. Until i had to reformat, Downloaded the new drivers off the site, first thing i noticed lack of THE MARKETED ENHANCEMENTS, CMSS, ETC.. though no need for activation..

    Then i got the old drivers to work on Win7 X64 bit, but just realized i lost my serial key, called Asus TAIWAN, after few minutes, they said to download the latest drivers off the site.. ( did not need key ), but they do not realize that the new one has no support for optimizations....., also they would not provide me with a new key.
    Project Elegant Dreams
    CPU: Intel 980x (3005F803T) @ Stock , Mobo: Rampage III Extreme, Ram: 24GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 C9 1T 1.51v GPU: SLI EK'd Vanilla GTX580, 0.875v @ idle.
    Sound:Asus Xonar Xense w/Sennheiser PC350
    SSD: 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB RAID-0 on ICH10 Storage: 2x1.5TB Hitachi 5K3000, 1.5TB WD Black, 1TB F3, various other HDD's Case: Obsidian 800D, PSU: Corsair AX1200,


    Water Cooling
    Main Loop
    EK Supreme HF
    EK GTX480 blocks on EVGA 580s
    MCP355 and MCP35X in serial
    Dual BlackIce GTX480 Rads

  7. #107
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Springfield
    Posts
    53
    I own the following

    A8N-SLI Deluxe
    Maximus Formula SE
    Rampage Formula
    Maximus II Formula
    Maximus III Formula

    Heres what I can say .. your ROG line is .... well lets say is a marketing gimick and leave it there. Owning several ROG board and the P55 being the latest you are consistant with poor bios support, your lates bios for the MIIIF 1607 has destroyed my ram stability underclocking ram to 1600MHz still will not keep it stable. Quality control is piss poor and you know it, the MIIF line was plagued with poor contact some boards were hitting 100c on the NB right out of the box and frying mobos, the MIIIF is no different very poor mosfet contact. I had to RMA my MIIIF board for no other reason than a bad bios I called Asus for a replacement bios they WONT SEND IT, why did you finally follow DFI and make a replaceable BIOS CHIP AND NOT SHIP THEM??? So its RMA time for a rediculous avoidable problem at least Asus finally coughed a few bucks for a Canadian depot.

    I am a loyal Asus customer and will try to remain one but bios support/department should have a major overhaul, not sure if you let the cleaning crew code bios or not but it sure looks that way, Charging a premimum for a board is fine but give the product dedicated support so ppl know why they paid top dollar for the ROG line other wise you look greedy and ROG is chalked up to marketing

  8. #108
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2
    I am currently running my first ROG board, RIIE.

    Love it.

    The last selection has always interested me. I would love to have a board without onboard sound or NIC. Gives us a choice in using what we want. Sounds silly, I know I can just turn them off.

  9. #109
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok,Thailand (DamHot)
    Posts
    2,690
    Rampage II Extreme
    Rampage Extreme
    Crosshair III Formula

    i love CLR Cmos Button & LCD Poster

    Solid Vcore (increase when load)

    many slot for overclock setting mem (CMOS)

    many Temp & Voltage reading via BIOS & Probe (Windows)
    Intel Core i5 6600K + ASRock Z170 OC Formula + Galax HOF 4000 (8GBx2) + Antec 1200W OC Version
    EK SupremeHF + BlackIce GTX360 + Swiftech 655 + XSPC ResTop
    Macbook Pro 15" Late 2011 (i7 2760QM + HD 6770M)
    Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (2014) , Huawei Nexus 6P
    [history system]80286 80386 80486 Cyrix K5 Pentium133 Pentium II Duron1G Athlon1G E2180 E3300 E5300 E7200 E8200 E8400 E8500 E8600 Q9550 QX6800 X3-720BE i7-920 i3-530 i5-750 Semp140@x2 955BE X4-B55 Q6600 i5-2500K i7-2600K X4-B60 X6-1055T FX-8120 i7-4790K

  10. #110
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Athens - Hellas
    Posts
    739
    An LCD poster should be come with the rex3 I think or release the OC panel .

  11. #111
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, People's Republic of New Jersystan
    Posts
    27
    Rampage III Gene?

    Pretty please?

    (O hai, first post...)

  12. #112
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    Something like this ? : Rampage III Gene
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  13. #113
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Lafayette, People's Republic of New Jersystan
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    Something like this ? : Rampage III Gene
    Asus is reading my mind!1!! It'z a consipracee!!11

  14. #114
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    483
    I wish I had in the BIOS the relative Vcpu option in R3E, like it is in R2E.

  15. #115
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    45
    What can I say? Mixed feelings about my Maximus III Formula and resignation.
    So far its running well for about 8 month now with my I7-860.

    Usually I use the Bios to make OC. I tested TurboVEvo and after short time (adjusting the VCore) TurboVEvo dies under Windows.
    When I went inside the Bios I saw, that TurboVEvo had adjusted my IMC Voltage to 2,0 Volt what is absolutely danger for the CPU.
    I reported this at the Asus.com Forum and found out, that I was not the only one.
    I was thinking, If TurboVEvo killed my CPU, would Asus give me a new one? I don´t think so.

    The other thing what disturbs me a lot is the big VDroop and VOffset if LLC is off (what is recommended from Intel).
    Setting for 3,87Ghz (BCLK=184 Multi=21)with LLC of inside the Bios a VCore of 1,4V result in this:
    CPU Idle (VOffset) = 1,36V, CPU Load with Prime (VDroop) = 1,272V.
    I need for stable 3,87Ghz a Vcore Load 1,288V. So even setting 1,4V in the Bios its not enough to run my settings stable.
    As more BCLK I use, as more VDroop and VOffset I have.
    So I make OC only with Multi 22, to keep the BCLK down.
    How poor is this for a ROG Extreme OC Board.
    Also this matter I reported to Asus and I am not expecting that they can solve this.

    Maybe my next Board will be a EVGA or a Gigabyte with a I7-930.
    I just wait, if Intel bring the new socket 1356 end of this year.

    Best regards from Brazil.
    Mikel (Germany)
    Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro CPU: I7-3770K Batch: 3215B645 24/7: 4,6 GHz (Ht on) VCore: 1,22V Temp: Prime=80°C
    CPU Cooler: Water VGA: ATI Radeon HD6850 RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Case: Armor+ VH6000BWS
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster ATX Silent Pro M500W HDD1: Crucial M4 HDD2: Samsung 500 GB HDD3: Samsung 500 GB
    System: Windows 7 V6.1 Ultimate

  16. #116
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    834
    I have never seen such a big vdroop. But why don't you use LLC then?
    Maximus 5 Gene | i7-3770K @ 5GHz | ADATA 2x2GB @ 2.6GHz 9-12-10-28-1T | HD7970 @ 1200/6400
    Rampage 4 Extreme | i7-3930K @ 5GHz ||| X58-A OC Orange | i7-980X @ 4.6GHz

  17. #117
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    45
    I use LLC now, but I don´t like to use it, when I make OC, to protect my CPU from peaks.
    Today I received an Answer from Asus Brazil (about my VDroop) and they are asking Taiwan what to do.
    So lets wait and hope.
    Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro CPU: I7-3770K Batch: 3215B645 24/7: 4,6 GHz (Ht on) VCore: 1,22V Temp: Prime=80°C
    CPU Cooler: Water VGA: ATI Radeon HD6850 RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Case: Armor+ VH6000BWS
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster ATX Silent Pro M500W HDD1: Crucial M4 HDD2: Samsung 500 GB HDD3: Samsung 500 GB
    System: Windows 7 V6.1 Ultimate

  18. #118
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,806
    ROG boards are good, but overpriced. Asus sure think their name alone magically makes the ROG board millions of times better than a competitors board thats £50 less. Its just not true. So in summary;

    - ROG boards good, but not worth the £50-£70 premium over a competitors board.
    - Cooling solutions on both ROG boards I owned were/are crap.
    - Ditch all the fluff people don't give a rats arse about (excessively fancy packaging, craploads of extra cables that will never get used etc) and pass on the saving
    - Windows OC software is rubbish. Anyone worth their salt buying a ROG board won't use the Windows OC software either.
    - Focus less on "flash" and more on effective.
    Last edited by Ket; 07-05-2010 at 04:29 PM.

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 3570k @ 4.5GHz 1.18v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 1866MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Gigabyte GTX980, custom cooler @ 1.5GHz / 7.6GHz | Xonar DX 7.1 | 2TB Barracuda | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  19. #119
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    45
    About my big VDroop and VOffset issue I got an answer from Asus US:

    Here is what they say:
    "Asus Gaming Series is different from normal motherboard.
    Normal motherboard get all hardware monitoring data from Super I/O chip.
    But on Asus Gaming Series motherboard, correct data only available from onboard iROG chip.
    So that you should use the Asus PC Probe or ROG connect utility to get the correct data.

    Third party software cannot get correct data from iROG chip, so you may see odd value from them.
    Customer also can get the correct measurement from the onboard Asus ProbeIt points (by a multimeter)

    For this customer, please let him measure the actual voltage from the ProbeIt point and adjust it to a suitable value."

    So what they are saying is, that I see the wrong VCore in CPU-Z and I should use my Multimeter, to make OC.
    This answer is really funny, but I will check this and send them the results.
    Lets have a look, what happens then.

    I have tested it using the Asus tools:
    - LLC deaktivated
    - VCore Bios 1,4125V
    - VCore Idle 1,34V
    - VCore Load 1,26V
    I have no idea, what they like to teach me!
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by MikelMolto; 07-09-2010 at 06:50 PM.
    Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro CPU: I7-3770K Batch: 3215B645 24/7: 4,6 GHz (Ht on) VCore: 1,22V Temp: Prime=80°C
    CPU Cooler: Water VGA: ATI Radeon HD6850 RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Case: Armor+ VH6000BWS
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster ATX Silent Pro M500W HDD1: Crucial M4 HDD2: Samsung 500 GB HDD3: Samsung 500 GB
    System: Windows 7 V6.1 Ultimate

  20. #120
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,379
    I have no clue what you want to teach us... you disabled LLC so you get droop/drop... normal not ? Indeed yours is pretty big. Question what happens if you enable LLC and measure everything out with DMM ?
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  21. #121
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Sao Paulo Brazil
    Posts
    45
    I don´t like to teach anybody anything.
    I like to share my experience with this Board (what is the reason for this thread).
    Yes I make OC with LLC enabled because I don´t have another choice. With LLC enabled it works fine (no doubt).

    I just would like to make OC with LLC off (like I always do), to protect my CPU from peaks if switching from Idle to Load and back.
    Thats all.
    Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro CPU: I7-3770K Batch: 3215B645 24/7: 4,6 GHz (Ht on) VCore: 1,22V Temp: Prime=80°C
    CPU Cooler: Water VGA: ATI Radeon HD6850 RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Case: Armor+ VH6000BWS
    Power Supply: CoolerMaster ATX Silent Pro M500W HDD1: Crucial M4 HDD2: Samsung 500 GB HDD3: Samsung 500 GB
    System: Windows 7 V6.1 Ultimate

  22. #122
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Western Canada
    Posts
    1,004
    Been an Asus ROG user for MANY years and general the boards themselves are good.
    With the latest REIII I've got some issues.

    1. Poor contact between chipsets and cooler.
    2. ROG connect needs to be able to use BT from a PC instead of cable, I mean how hard could that be. Plus WM 5 doesn't work from a PPC. And why has the iPhone app not been realeased?
    3. Also why not include that cool remote control board with the package?
    4. I want my ROG poster back.
    5. I like all the extra's, it makes the experience of owning ROG more fun.
    5. And the Biggest Issue of all is your POOR customer support!!!!!! In all these years Asus support has NEVER helped me. For the price one pay's for the board you should implement a dedicated ROG support system, with trained people!

    Oh, yea a BIOS utility that allows us to print our BIOS setting to a printer or file. Would make it much easier to track changes as well easy sharing of settings.
    Last edited by Johnmark; 07-14-2010 at 12:28 PM. Reason: Addition

  23. #123
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    136
    I have only owned a Maximus formula x38 board, so i can not comment from a ownership stand point on any of the newer boards. If however the rep from ASUS still reads this thread to get costumer feedback and suggestions I would like to offer my input on what i would like in a future ROG boards, in no particular order:

    Drop the on board audio altogether. instead you should do something of the following; put the cost of including on board audio into another area of the board that would help increase performance.

    Another option would be to offer a coupon towards one of your Xonar sound cards in the box with the motherboard. That gives your company a chance to increase its earnings potential while still appealing to the consumers of your motherboard products by reducing the price point of the motherboard.

    Another topic that i feel needs to be addressed, and ASUS you are not alone in this but could take lead in correcting it. This is the over dressed with flash problem. What i am refreshing to is where you cut into mosfets, north bridge and lesser, south bridge heat sinks with ascetic plastic art and badges. Every thing should be done to try and maximize the cooling potential of the heat sinks used on the board.

    Speaking of heat sinks, i think that separate heat sinks for each device that require cooling is a better solution in most cases. Why? Two reasons; first it prevents unnecessary heat transfer between components that otherwise would not get as hot if cooled separately. Secondly do too complications from board flex from heat or stress from mounting devices, the single piece or joint fixed heat sinks that span multiple surface do not make as good of contact leading to less than optimal cooling.

    Learn from your competitors new and old. If your competitors are offering your customers a solution that genuinely offer better performance, Don't sling mud and and try and down play it, instead offer it twice fold on your counter products.

    Take a page from the former DFI, if you are going to offer a premium motherboard offer the full register control in the BIOS, to allow your consumers to take full advantage of said motherboard.

    Theses are just a few of my thoughts, and opinions about what should be done that could improve your motherboards...
    Lian Li PC-A17B
    Silverstone Olympic 800 Watt
    Asus Maximus Formula(Rampage converted) 1002b
    Q9650 E0: currently @3.8Ghz(421*9~1.30v)
    T.R.U.E. with Push/Pull Scythe 120*38 3000RPM
    G.SKILL F2-9600CL5D-4GBPI @1266MHz 2x2GB
    (5-5-5-15-CL2) PL5
    6970@950/1400
    Sound Blaster fatal1ty XFI
    Seagate ST1000333AS
    Seagate ST3500320AS
    PLEXTOR PX-810SA
    3x Sony GDM-FW 900(BNC) & Samsung LN40A650(HDMI)
    Logitech Z-5500

  24. #124
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4,466
    The new Rampage Extreme III Formula rocks. Played with it at Quake Con and it is nearly identical component wise to the RE3. Definitely a home run for Asus.
    CPUID http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=554982
    New DO Stepping http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=555012
    4.8Ghz - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=794165

    Desk Build
    FX8120 @ 4.6Ghz 24/7 / Asus Crosshair V /HD7970/ 8Gb (4x2Gb) Gskill 2133Mhz / Intel 320 160Gb OS Drive, WD 256GB Game Storage

    W/C System
    (CPU) Swiftech HD (GPU) EK HD7970 with backplate (RAM) MIPS Ram block (Rad/Pump) 3 x Thermochill 120.3 triple rads and Dual MCP355's with Heatkiller dual top and Cyberdruid Prism res / B*P/Koolance Compression Fittings and Quick Disconnects.

  25. #125
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    413
    Something I was thinking about today while benching...

    I corrupted an OS which is no big deal because it was a dedicated benching OS. However, I had files which I had no submitted yet on it. It would be sweet if there was some sort of onboard Linux based troubleshooting device. I had to boot up to Paragon Recovery Pro and transfer files using that. It seems like it would be awesome if I didn't have to do that.

    The other thing I was thinking of, which might be limited by USB capabilities, would be to allow me to save files to the device which is connected. That way I could save my screen shots on my laptop and upload them immediately. I realize I can basically do this with a USB drive, but it would be a neat feature regardless.


    i7 920 / X58A-OC / Dominator GT 2000 7-8-7 / 5870 Lightning

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 2345678 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •