Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 39

Thread: Making SLI work on ANY non Nforce chipset MB

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7

    Making SLI work on ANY non Nforce chipset MB

    This is going to be a guide on how to make SLI work on ANY non Nforce chipset board. Brought to you by Tristanguy1224 and Eclipseaudio4

    First and foremost I take no responsibility nor does XtremeSystem.org if something goes wrong and damage is done.

    Here is a link to almost everything you need. forcedSLI.rar The other things you will need are, The latest driver cleaner or driver sweeper, and the latest Nvidia drivers, and a little dos knowledge.

    This will be for Windows 7 64bit but should work for the other OS's as well.

    The first thing you need to do is download everything I have listed.(bookmarking this page would be a good idea as well) Now reboot into safe mode with networking. (F8 when bios hands over to OS) Now run driver cleaner for all things Nvidia.

    It will reset and when it does make sure you do not go back into safe mode.
    Now install the latest Nvidia Drivers(actually will work for all drivers)
    After that resets check to make sure you have Nvidia control panel. If not you have done something wrong.

    Next you are going to take the folder SLIStringInstaller v1.81 and open that up there will be three exe's open "slistringinstall.exe" You now want to click ASUS. It does not matter what MB you have use the ASUS button if you do not it will not work. it will then tell you that it installed the string or something to that effect. You can now close it.

    Next you are going to open cmd but you have to open it from the windows directory and run with administrator rights. should be something like this c:\windows\system32 it should be in this folder.


    Now that you have cmd open it gets a little tricky the easiest way to do this for me was to have those three folders you expanded from the forcedsli rar on the desktop.

    Now type "cd.." then enter until you get to C:\> . Next (as long as you have those folders on the desktop) type "cd users" you should now have C:\Users> now type "cd (your sign in name)" for me it was "cd home" now it will look like C:\users\HOME> (with your sign in name where HOME is). Next you will type "cd desktop" and you get C:\users\HOME\desktop> . Next you wan to type "cd hal" for C:\users\HOME\desktop\HAL> and finally you will type "install" this will get the command going. now your prompt should look like C:\users\home\desktop\hal> type "cd.." to go back to C:\users\home\desktop> and then type "cd Patch" this will bring you to C:\users\home\desktop\patch> now type "prepare" after this is done shutdown and set yourself up to run SLI. (put the bridge on and so forth) Power up and check Nvidia control panel it should look like this.


    I am sorry if this guide got long winded and kinda hard to read but... It works.


    No SLI

    SLI


    If you have any issues we will try to help you out but this should be considered beta for now and we would appreciate it if some one would confirm this does work as I have posted it.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by eclipseaudio4; 11-09-2009 at 03:43 PM.

  2. #2
    take me to the manbar Vivi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    South Africa :)
    Posts
    1,181
    Awesome thread!!

    Thanks!!

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    53
    The links say max number of downloads reached. Can you set up another link to the dowenloads.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    namu daishi henjo kongo stummerwinter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in Germany
    Posts
    771
    Wow, interesting thing, thanx for sharing...
    Quote Originally Posted by NEW MODEL ARMY - the attack - 1984
    Now the talking's over, plans are laid and the hour is set
    Glances round the table, eyes all shining, dark and bright
    We meet again at daybreak for the day that will be ours
    We're tomorrow's history. So just check your weapons, say your prayers.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict jmke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    [M] - Belgium
    Posts
    1,819
    Quote Originally Posted by 2chesapeakes View Post
    The links say max number of downloads reached. Can you set up another link to the dowenloads.
    Thanks
    ^

    much appreciated if somebody could host this file without limit


    Belgium's #1 Hardware Review Site and OC-Team!

  6. #6
    Worlds Fastest F5 Biker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Room 101, Ministry of Truth
    Posts
    1,612
    Cannot find the requisite archive anywhere else...

    C'mon eclipseaudio4!

    Stop playing Left4Dead or sleeping and stuff and up the files somewhere else!
    X5670 B1 @175x24=4.2GHz @1.24v LLC on
    Rampage III Extreme Bios 0003
    G.skill Eco @1600 (7-7-7-20 1T) @1.4v
    EVGA GTX 580 1.5GB
    Auzen X-FI Prelude
    Seasonic X-650 PSU
    Intel X25-E SLC RAID 0
    Samsung F3 1TB
    Corsair H70 with dual 1600 rpm fan
    Corsair 800D
    3008WFP A00



  7. #7
    namu daishi henjo kongo stummerwinter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Somewhere in Germany
    Posts
    771
    Works with 190.62, but can't get an older driver running...
    Quote Originally Posted by NEW MODEL ARMY - the attack - 1984
    Now the talking's over, plans are laid and the hour is set
    Glances round the table, eyes all shining, dark and bright
    We meet again at daybreak for the day that will be ours
    We're tomorrow's history. So just check your weapons, say your prayers.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict jmke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    [M] - Belgium
    Posts
    1,819


    Belgium's #1 Hardware Review Site and OC-Team!

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    1,622
    I have webspace on a fat pipe I can host on. Someone just send me the files. PM me and Ill give u my email

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member Neox69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    105
    Still on that RMA, but I might have another board coming in to test...

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7
    Sorry guys I have been hella busy.
    Biker: LOL I wish altho I was a little.
    TheKarmakazi I will PM you for e-mail and send them to you.
    stummerwinter: I had it running 185.85's just fine

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7
    Ok guys I have reuploaded to a new file sharing site. Hopefully It will be unlimited as they said. I have also sent the files to TheKarmakazi as he said he will host them as well.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict SocketMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver,British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    1,179
    I got SLI working on K9a2 (790fx+SB600) using this thread:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=231383

    a few weeks ago,however there were some limitations -
    only worked with 1 force ware driver and adding
    ram/ another gpu would BSD on boot up.
    Only worked in "test mode" (driver checking off) in win7.


    World Community Grid's mission is to create the world's largest public computing grid to tackle projects that benefit humanity.
    Our success depends upon individuals collectively contributing their unused computer time to change the world for the better.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member Mr.Guvernment's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Costa Frick'n Rica
    Posts
    417
    Mirror for downloads if above doesn't work for people.


    http://www.mathiau.com/forums/XS/SLIMod/forcedSLI.rar
    |Rig|Sold my monster, stuck on a Q8200 and 9500Gt with 4G of ram.


    Quote Originally Posted by
    Originally Posted by jimmyz
    This chip is gonna stop piracy like condoms prevented unwanted pregnancies and STD's.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by SocketMan View Post
    I got SLI working on K9a2 (790fx+SB600) using this thread:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=231383

    a few weeks ago,however there were some limitations -
    only worked with 1 force ware driver and adding
    ram/ another gpu would BSD on boot up.
    Only worked in "test mode" (driver checking off) in win7.
    This is kinda like that in that it only works in test mode(I belive, have not tried in reg) But that is a small price to pay for SLI. From the testing I did I can tell you If done correctly it will work with all drivers, and should not have any issues If you add anything. Sometime in Jan I will have 2 260's that I will be able to test this on as well, but until then I can not say with 100% certainty that you will be able to change the cards out(altho there is no reason it should not work.)

    The link you posted is the other way that you supposedly can do this. We had no luck what so ever with that method. All in all we spent over 10Hrs trying to get that method to work when we gave up on it. The method described in the OP took all of 30Min to get working properly and about 4 days of testing.
    Last edited by eclipseaudio4; 11-09-2009 at 07:43 PM.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member Neuromancer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    168
    Nice job

    Since you have winrar you can make a self extracting executable that runs a BAT file to eliminate all that typing

    Just use one of the standard windows variables instead of extracting to C: or a specific drive letter so it runs on anyones PCs no matter there OS drive letter

    %HOMEPATH% will send it the default user directory (or guest folder in XP) or for more options check these environment variables out

    (Not trying to sound ungrateful just trying to help out )

  17. #17
    Xtreme Cruncher ggdh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    679
    Looks great! I'll try it after work! Thanks!
    SB 2600K
    MSI P67A-GD65

    8GB 1600/CL8
    GTX580
    64GB SSD
    4TB
    Xonar DX
    BeQuiet Straight Power 680W sleeved
    in
    Cosmos 1000, modded
    TC PA120.3+XSPC RX240mm+XSPC RASA+DDC1T+OCLabs top+EK Multioption 150+ EK-FC580


  18. #18
    Xtreme Member ShArKo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    Posts
    438
    Nice thread......... thanks
    Intel C2D E8400 @ 4Ghz // Asus Maximus Formula x38 @ FSB 500Mhz// G.Skill Pi 2x2GB 1000Mhz // 9800GTX+ SSC eVGA // WD Raptor X 150GB + Samsung Spinpoint 2TB // DVD-RW DL Asus // Powercooler 850W // CM Cosmos S // Samsung T260N / Edifier R251 // Logitech G9 // Logitech G15 Rev2

    Cooling System: Swiftech Apex Ultra H2O Kit + MCW60

  19. #19
    Hardware Nightmare TiN_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Taipei :)
    Posts
    855

    Unhappy

    eclipseaudio4

    It's not much polite to post SLI mods without respect of it's developers.

    SLI mod was developed and tested by anatolymik and sveensnelda from TechPowerUp! forums.

    We supported it 60+ more page discussions, http://forums.techpowerup.com/showth...=60844&page=29, and supported also on other forum, including XS here: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=231383

    So please, add anatolymik and sveensnelda to credits. And these guys are still working on newer mods, because with 195.xx drivers NVIDIA added extra check, to prevent SLI.

    Also, as was stated here earlier: there is full guide,without any ads or download limits for everybody. I've tested more that 10 configs, also other people forums tested much more, so it's little reward for all developers time elapsed for mods.

    BTW, if anybody will try files described here for non-Win7 64bit they will 100% crush OS. HAL mod is _special_ for every OS type. anatolymik developed only XP32 (non ASUS certificate version) mod and Windows7 64bit so far.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by TiN_; 11-10-2009 at 04:27 AM.
    Taking GND reference from another galaxy

    Electronics engineering @ extreme overclocker
    LN2: Cel347@8199.5MHz,920@5300,E8600@6610,QX9650@5700,X 3050@4311,X3470@5060

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by TiN_EOF View Post
    eclipseaudio4

    It's not much polite to post SLI mods without respect of it's developers.

    SLI mod was developed and tested by anatolymik and sveensnelda from TechPowerUp! forums.

    We supported it 60+ more page discussions, http://forums.techpowerup.com/showth...=60844&page=29, and supported also on other forum, including XS here: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=231383

    So please, add anatolymik and sveensnelda to credits. And these guys are still working on newer mods, because with 195.xx drivers NVIDIA added extra check, to prevent SLI.

    Also, as was stated here earlier: there is full guide,without any ads or download limits for everybody. I've tested more that 10 configs, also other people forums tested much more, so it's little reward for all developers time elapsed for mods.

    BTW, if anybody will try files described here for non-Win7 64bit they will 100% crush OS. HAL mod is _special_ for every OS type. anatolymik developed only XP32 (non ASUS certificate version) mod and Windows7 64bit so far.

    Thanks.
    Well first off thanks for craping in this thread. A PM would have been much more appropriate.
    Second I never said that I made this. I did not know who did but never claimed it was my own. That being said now that I look back at his site http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/conten...php?content.30 I do see that that is the name that should have been credited.
    I must say however tho that the way it is explained was very hard to follow and at times just unexplained. We spent hours trying to get this to work as a result of this.
    If people were really interested to know who made It I am sure he signed it in the code somewhere. Also you are correct it will only work in 7.

    What it really comes down to tho is awareness! The more people know about this the better as we will no longer be stuck with an inferior chipset.

  21. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    Extremely interested in trying this out, but I want to make SURE this works. Is there anyway to see if my system is ready for SLi before I blow 200 dollars on this.

  22. #22
    Hardware Nightmare TiN_'s Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Taipei :)
    Posts
    855
    Dapman02

    A lot of people tried already, and everything works. It's not "alternative" or "another" SLI here, it's the same SLI made by NVIDIA. It's just without checks of platform.

    Download latest Everest and look at ACPI/DSDT Table section. If you see there SLI Certificate: YES, cert data and HAL report of chipset hardware : Intel X58 on your mobo - then 99.9% that it will work properly. If you don't see both these things - your modification go wrong way, recheck and redo everything again.
    Taking GND reference from another galaxy

    Electronics engineering @ extreme overclocker
    LN2: Cel347@8199.5MHz,920@5300,E8600@6610,QX9650@5700,X 3050@4311,X3470@5060

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by TiN_EOF View Post
    Dapman02

    A lot of people tried already, and everything works. It's not "alternative" or "another" SLI here, it's the same SLI made by NVIDIA. It's just without checks of platform.

    Download latest Everest and look at ACPI/DSDT Table section. If you see there SLI Certificate: YES, cert data and HAL report of chipset hardware : Intel X58 on your mobo - then 99.9% that it will work properly. If you don't see both these things - your modification go wrong way, recheck and redo everything again.
    Under the ACPI DSDT it says this

    ACPI Signature DSDT
    Table Description Differentiated System Description Table
    Memory Address CFEA0450h
    Table Length 41793 bytes
    OEM ID A7577
    OEM Table ID A7577100
    OEM Revision 00000100h
    Creator ID INTL
    Creator Revision 20051117h


    Does the Creator ID mean it worked?
    I havn't restarted yet, so that my be it.
    Processor: Phenom II @3.8 Ghz
    Cooling: TRUE with push pull yate mediums
    GPU: EVGA GTX275
    Motherboard: MSI GD-70
    Case:Cooler Master HAF 932 black interior
    RAM: 4GB's of OCZ 1600mhz
    HDD: 2x640GB Western Digital Blue

  24. #24
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Face Clinic, Harley Street
    Posts
    282
    Quote Originally Posted by eclipseaudio4 View Post
    Well first off thanks for craping in this thread. A PM would have been much more appropriate.
    Second I never said that I made this. I did not know who did but never claimed it was my own. That being said now that I look back at his site http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/conten...php?content.30 I do see that that is the name that should have been credited.
    I must say however tho that the way it is explained was very hard to follow and at times just unexplained. We spent hours trying to get this to work as a result of this.
    If people were really interested to know who made It I am sure he signed it in the code somewhere. Also you are correct it will only work in 7.

    What it really comes down to tho is awareness! The more people know about this the better as we will no longer be stuck with an inferior chipset.
    a PM would not have been 'appropriate' you shamelessly ripped off another bunch of guys work as your own, with the full intent on taking all the credit, as you did earlier in the thread.

    the way it was explained was too hard to follow? the guide is perfect for anyone with any compuiter knowladge at all, so FAIL on that point.

    and i am also sure that 'people' will not go through hours of code to find sveetsnelda's name. (one of the guys you ripped off for this how too, without giving proper credit)

    Also you are correct it will only work in 7
    of course he's correct, he been helping to Dev this since the start, lol

    as for awareness the how to for this 'Mod' was in the news section of this very forum for weeks, then it was moved to the 'Drivers' section, to keep it off the radar.

    you also say you spent hours working on this ehh? some of us here have spent weeks helping these guys out, testing thier mods. i personaly must have done over 100 win 7 re-images to test this stuff out.

    personaly i think you tried to rip this off for the credit, and you have been caught, how you think you would ever get away with it, is beyond me.

    if you wanted to construct a 'how too' you should have given full credit to the developers for it, who may i add are still working on the mod to comply with the recently released 195 drivers,

    for what its worth, your how to is good work, just very sad you ddnt credit the guys for what is probaly the best individual work of 2009, this has been the holy grail of workarounds for years..

    these guys have done it......

    This material would have been impossible without the participation of:

    Author modifications and specialist programming Sveetsnelda
    Author of modifications HAL.dll - anatolymik
    Support and testing by xDevs.com

    Information Support Resources techPowerUp!, Xtremelabs.org, 3Dnews.ru, Xtremesystems.org.

    Big THANKS to:

    TheWolf, SArd, DeDaL, cyclone, and all who are interested in going on.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by eclipseaudio4 View Post
    This is going to be a guide on how to make SLI work on ANY non Nforce chipset board. Brought to you by Tristanguy1224 and Eclipseaudio4

    First and foremost I take no responsibility nor does XtremeSystem.org if something goes wrong and damage is done.

    Here is a link to almost everything you need. forcedSLI.rar The other things you will need are, The latest driver cleaner or driver sweeper, and the latest Nvidia drivers, and a little dos knowledge.

    This will be for Windows 7 64bit but should work for the other OS's as well.

    The first thing you need to do is download everything I have listed.(bookmarking this page would be a good idea as well) Now reboot into safe mode with networking. (F8 when bios hands over to OS) Now run driver cleaner for all things Nvidia.

    It will reset and when it does make sure you do not go back into safe mode.
    Now install the latest Nvidia Drivers(actually will work for all drivers)
    After that resets check to make sure you have Nvidia control panel. If not you have done something wrong.

    Next you are going to take the folder SLIStringInstaller v1.81 and open that up there will be three exe's open "slistringinstall.exe" You now want to click ASUS. It does not matter what MB you have use the ASUS button if you do not it will not work. it will then tell you that it installed the string or something to that effect. You can now close it.

    Next you are going to open cmd but you have to open it from the windows directory and run with administrator rights. should be something like this c:\windows\system32 it should be in this folder.


    Now that you have cmd open it gets a little tricky the easiest way to do this for me was to have those three folders you expanded from the forcedsli rar on the desktop.

    Now type "cd.." then enter until you get to C:\> . Next (as long as you have those folders on the desktop) type "cd users" you should now have C:\Users> now type "cd (your sign in name)" for me it was "cd home" now it will look like C:\users\HOME> (with your sign in name where HOME is). Next you will type "cd desktop" and you get C:\users\HOME\desktop> . Next you wan to type "cd hal" for C:\users\HOME\desktop\HAL> and finally you will type "install" this will get the command going. now your prompt should look like C:\users\home\desktop\hal> type "cd.." to go back to C:\users\home\desktop> and then type "cd Patch" this will bring you to C:\users\home\desktop\patch> now type "prepare" after this is done shutdown and set yourself up to run SLI. (put the bridge on and so forth) Power up and check Nvidia control panel it should look like this.


    I am sorry if this guide got long winded and kinda hard to read but... It works.


    No SLI

    SLI


    If you have any issues we will try to help you out but this should be considered beta for now and we would appreciate it if some one would confirm this does work as I have posted it.
    Thanks!
    Nice benchmark on a 8800.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •