Page 2 of 48 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 1189

Thread: *** Official Radeon HD5800 Series Overclocking Thread ***

  1. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    64
    Ordered a 5850 yesterday, looking forward to seeing what it can do.

    Quote Originally Posted by Bojamijams View Post
    Please forget about Furmark.. for any and all reasons... as you said yourself, even the hardest hitting game at its highest settings doesn't put anywhere near the kind of stress+heat on it..
    Which is exactly why it's a good stress tester. I always want to have some margins, so worst case scenario tests are a must.

  2. #27
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    100
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_5850/1.html

    The GDDR5 memory chips are made by Samsung and carry the model number K4G10325FE-HC04. They are specified to run at 1250 MHz (5000 MHz GDDR5 effective). Those are the same chips like on the big brother HD 5870 - get ready for some serious overclocking.


    The GPU voltage is managed by a Volterra VT1165MF voltage controller which is I2C capable enabling software voltmods.


    The overclocks of our card are 835 MHz core (15% overclock) and 1260 MHz Memory (26% overclock). For your reference, the defaults are 725 / 1000 (GPU-Z is showing the wrong values due to a bug which will be fixed in the next version). As a percentage those overclocks are really nice. The maximum core clock of 835 MHz is clear evidence that this GPU ended on a HD 5850 because it could not handle the HD 5870 clock speeds of 850 MHz. The memory chips are exactly the same as on the HD 5870, which results in roughly the same maximum memory clock. In essence you can get a HD 5850 and overclock it to almost HD 5870 performance levels in just a few minutes. I would also like to point out that you can increase the voltage for better GPU overclocking. The default voltage of 1.09 V is quite low and there is plenty temperature headroom as well. So I ran a quick test at 1.30 V GPU and reached a maximum core clock of 1000 MHz.


    5850 & Waterblock

  3. #28
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    Nice post^

    Does the VT1165MF need to be cooled?
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #29
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
    Nice post^

    Does the VT1165MF need to be cooled?
    Dont thinks so.. If you look 5870 cooler it wont cool those chips:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/A...ages/front.jpg
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/A...es/cooler3.jpg

  5. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    64
    Anyone know if the Sapphire 5850 has the same Samsung memory ICs?

  6. #31
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    Quote Originally Posted by ieatrawbacos View Post
    Anyone know if the Sapphire 5850 has the same Samsung memory ICs?
    The answer to your question is 'yes' - 4 posts above and in the OP. Edit: just realized that you might be looking for clarification between brands. HIS, Sapphire, Asus, do they all have programmable volt-regs & 4.ns samsung 5gpbs ics? So far the answer is yes, since they all appear to be based on Ati's reference designed PCB.
    Last edited by jaredpace; 10-02-2009 at 12:04 PM.
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  7. #32
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
    The answer to your question is 'yes' - 4 posts above and in the OP.
    I realize that these are all reference cards and are likely to all use the same memory, but there have been exceptions in the past.

    I don't see a Sapphire branded 5850 in the OP, and the post above my last is about an HIS card.

    Just wondering if anyone had seen under the heatsink of a Sapphire branded 5850 and could confirm with 100% certainty that they also use the 1250MHz rated Samsung ICs.

  8. #33
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    Yeah i just realized you were talking about brands. I would say yes, but to be safe maybe we can wait for someone with a sapphire 5850 to tell us
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  9. #34
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    716

    nice

    Quote Originally Posted by Migi06;4044732
    [IMG
    http://tpucdn.com/reviews/HIS/HD_5850/images/gpuz_oc.gif[/IMG]
    The overclocks of our card are 835 MHz core (15% overclock) and 1260 MHz Memory (26% overclock). For your reference, the defaults are 725 / 1000 (GPU-Z is showing the wrong values due to a bug which will be fixed in the next version). As a percentage those overclocks are really nice. The maximum core clock of 835 MHz is clear evidence that this GPU ended on a HD 5850 because it could not handle the HD 5870 clock speeds of 850 MHz. The memory chips are exactly the same as on the HD 5870, which results in roughly the same maximum memory clock. In essence you can get a HD 5850 and overclock it to almost HD 5870 performance levels in just a few minutes. I would also like to point out that you can increase the voltage for better GPU overclocking. The default voltage of 1.09 V is quite low and there is plenty temperature headroom as well. So I ran a quick test at 1.30 V GPU and reached a maximum core clock of 1000 MHz.


    5850 & Waterblock
    now thats the info we've been waiting for on the 5850 5000mhz rated memory chips and a core with a bit of extra volts thats good for a 1000ish , excellent





  10. #35
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    185
    this is my small oc testing the card 1010-1330
    tomorrow I will continue from this point

  11. #36
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  12. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by GLENBOY View Post
    now thats the info we've been waiting for on the 5850 5000mhz rated memory chips and a core with a bit of extra volts thats good for a 1000ish , excellent
    it be a good monday
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  13. #38
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,263
    Quote Originally Posted by nascasho View Post
    Holy god I managed to pwn my other score using just one card this time!

    But how the hell are others breaking the 19k mark with one card?!

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1457343

    P18058
    My guess is over volting and 4.2+ i7s with HT enabled.

    I'd honestly only regard the GPU score. As the CPU can inflate it a lot ( eg your total is 700 higher yet my gpu score is higher )
    Last edited by Chickenfeed; 10-02-2009 at 01:31 PM.
    Feedanator 7.0
    CASE:R5|PSU:850G2|CPU:i7 6850K|MB:x99 Ultra|RAM:8x4 2666|GPU:980TI|SSD:BPX256/Evo500|SOUND:2i4/HS8
    LCD:XB271HU|OS:Win10|INPUT:G900/K70 |HS/F:H115i

  14. #39
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    124


    ATI power play working
    Voltages working
    Crossfire working

    all done with this nice little MSI overclocking tool from the same maker of Rivatuner
    to remove the GPU clocks limit you must flash the new released asus 1200/1400 bios.
    Intel I7 3.5ghz 4770k @4.5Ghz 1.285v HT-Enabled | Gigabyte OC z87 DDR3 | 2x8 Avx 2133 C9 @2400 C10 1.64v | PC-Power & Cooling 950w MKII Single Rail Monster | Creative ZXR Sound Card | 24" NeC MultiSync 24WMGX3 1920x1200 60hz | Sennhizer HD650 Headset | Various HDDs 5+ Terabyte | Noctua D14 Heatsink Push/Pull Config | 2x His 7950`s X-Fire @1120/1450 *Stock Cooling* | LG Bluray Drive/Writer |

  15. #40
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    716
    do you use the link button in the msi tool to overclock in crossfire so it overvolts all the cards





  16. #41
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54
    how high vgpu can u use for 24/7 ? my maxtemp with 1.225v and 1000core is 55c.

  17. #42
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    your gpu & pwm has a thing called OCP that will shut your board down if you over heat it or overflow it with too much voltage Even so, i would stay under 1.30v - since that's the highest I've heard mentioned so far. Pretty soon someone will figure out the exact amount where over-volt protection and over-current protection initialize. Virus2k, a link to that asus 1200/1400 bios??
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  18. #43
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54
    so that means I cant damage the card because of too high volt?

    I think it is this bios ?

    http://techpowerup.com/vgabios/56695...24.090915.html
    Last edited by wekktor; 10-02-2009 at 02:47 PM.

  19. #44
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    You can always damage your card, keep it reasonable, or read up on some of those support threads. Virus2k, that OC is really nice! :0
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  20. #45
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    363
    Quote Originally Posted by ViRuS2k View Post


    ATI power play working
    Voltages working
    Crossfire working

    all done with this nice little MSI overclocking tool from the same maker of Rivatuner
    to remove the GPU clocks limit you must flash the new released asus 1200/1400 bios.
    Hang on, how are you overclocking those Sapphire cards over the 900 core limit and CCC is showing 1200 core and 1400 mem limits

    EDIT; okay see you have flashed to the Asus bios. Where is this bios available, is it the same one from techpowerup? also what program and paramaters are people using to flash the 5870, thanks.
    Last edited by lowdog; 10-02-2009 at 04:43 PM.

  21. #46
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    54
    if you flash your bios to asus then it will be 1200/1400 limit. You can overclock in AMD GPU Clock Tool over yours limit(900) with your bios and then change the fanspeed and voltage in MSI AfterBurner but then the 2d clock doesnt work, but if u just want to benchmark or if you dont care about 2d clock mode then u can clock in amd gpu tool

  22. #47
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    curious which flashtool (atiflash doesnt work) too and which bios exactly.. the above posted?
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  23. #48
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    ahhh atiflash 3.75 with -fs command does the job
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  24. #49
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209


    asus bios ftw

    stable with stock voltages... ram > 1325 decreases fps again....



    stable with 1.25v gpu... (5 minutes tested..)
    Last edited by Oese; 10-03-2009 at 06:44 AM.
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  25. #50
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    btw how hot do your vrm get under load? using gpu-z for readout?
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

Page 2 of 48 FirstFirst 1234512 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •