Page 1 of 48 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 1189

Thread: *** Official Radeon HD5800 Series Overclocking Thread ***

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463

    *** Official Radeon HD5000 Series Overclocking Thread ***

    Official HD5970 / HD5870 / HD5850 / HD5770 / HD5750 Overclocking Thread
    *This is a results thread, not a guide, Not responsible, use at your own risk*
    Summary posts 1-820
    HD5970 average OC: 997 / 1231 @ 1.299v

    http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k...1TW5mc1E&hl=en

    HD5870 average OC: 1027 / 1286 @ 1.27v


    http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k...FZk1Nd3c&hl=en

    HD5850 average OC: 1001 / 1232 @ 1.226v

    http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k...0RzZDVEE&hl=en

    HD57XX average OC: 961 / 1311 @ 1.225v

    http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?k...LLV9EYnc&hl=en
    UPDATE:
    Get all the vcore you need on your 5000 series GPU, plus the ability to overvolt memory (actually the 2nd vt1165 which controls VDDCI/VTT on 5870/5970, may help memory clocks slightly - Thx Hipro5) with the newest beta version of RBE. Unload your bios via Gpu-Z, edit via RBE beta, flash back. First bios in the thread was a modified HD5850 @ .95 157/300 idle and 1.25v/1.15v 1000/1300 load. Very Impressive - expect a whole new host of desirable bioses popping up soon. If you have RBE experience, get to work!
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=113949

    Quote Originally Posted by massman View Post

    Andreyang's "Frankenstein looking" hardmodded 5870's

    Let's get to it!

    courtesy of W1zzard & Elmor

    Single 5870 courtesy the Great Shamino (using 1.6v OCP-modded)

    Single 5870 from Deanzo (team pure) 1.6v LN2

    http://firingsquad.com/hardware/ati_...king/page4.asp

    5870:

    5850:

    5770:

    5750:


    The overclocks of our card are 835 MHz core (15% overclock) and 1260 MHz Memory (26% overclock). For your reference, the defaults are 725 / 1000 (GPU-Z is showing the wrong values due to a bug which will be fixed in the next version). As a percentage those overclocks are really nice. The maximum core clock of 835 MHz is clear evidence that this GPU ended on a HD 5850 because it could not handle the HD 5870 clock speeds of 850 MHz. The memory chips are exactly the same as on the HD 5870, which results in roughly the same maximum memory clock. In essence you can get a HD 5850 and overclock it to almost HD 5870 performance levels in just a few minutes. I would also like to point out that you can increase the voltage for better GPU overclocking. The default voltage of 1.09 V is quite low and there is plenty temperature headroom as well. So I ran a quick test at 1.30 V GPU and reached a maximum core clock of 1000 MHz.
    As mentioned in the HD 5870 article, overclocking the memory on these cards is quite different from any other card so far. Normally you'd expect rendering errors or crashes, but not with these cards. Thanks to the new error correction algorithm in the memory controller, every memory error is just retransmitted until everything is fine. So once you exceed the "stable" clock frequency, memory errors will appear more often, get retransmitted, but the rendered output will still look perfectly fine. The only difference is that performance drops, the further you increase the clocks, the lower the performance gets. As a result a normal "artifact scanning" approach to memory overclocking on the HD 5800 Series will not work. You have to manually increase the clocks and observe the framerate until you find the point where performance drops.
    - W1zzard
    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_5850/33.html

    There are 3 ways to get past AMD clock limit:
    1) Get new BIOS from your vendor with extended overclocking limits if possible. AMD allows some vendors to have higher reachable clock limits that others.
    2) Use AMD BIOS editors like RBE, some of them are able to override AMD limitations and edit overclocking limits.
    3) Use AMDGPUTool, ATITool or RivaTuner. These tools can optionally use advanced undocumented AMD overclocking interface bypassing the limits. However, keep in mind that this interface is incompatible with PowerPlay (so your 5870 will start eating 100+W instead of 20W in idle).
    DON'T TRY to use multiple tools accessing voltage controller AT THE SAME time. It CAN be dangerous, especially if some other tool is WRITING some data to VRM (and tools that monitor VRM temperatures WRITE data to VRM). Trying to display VRM status in ANY combination of AMDGPUClockTool, GPU-Z, Everest and Afterburner is DANGER. If you REALLY need to run those tools together, disable voltage controller monitoring in all of them but one.
    Probably giving easy voltage controls to beginners was not a good idea. That is why it is hidden that deep in RivaTuner and available to power users only. Anyway, that's MSI's choice. There is always a balance between happy hardcore overclockers and unhappy beginners and vice versa.
    - Unwinder
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=16

    HD5970 RISK LADEN WATERCOOLING SPECIAL:
    Super disclaimer: Not responsible for destroyed cards.

    Cards on full cover water might reach 1200mhz core / 1400mhz mem. If you can cool the dozen or so voltage regualtors that love to reach the boiling point (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...8&postcount=35), then you can oc to the max. VRMS, not core temps are your limiting factor. You're going to need an ASUS voltage tweak 5970 bios (for use with smartdoctor), afterburner edited with unlocked CCC limits, ASUS smart doctor, and all the other basic software.
    If you know how to control the I2C values, it's possible to set your memory voltage higher than 1.15v (1.15v is maximum Vmem available via the ATI overvolt tool). Rivatuner in combination with the knowledge from the voltage soft-mod threads linked at the bottom of this post may help you. First clock your memory to the highest stable speed and stress test for decreases in performance.
    Flash to the asus 5970 bios and use smartdoctor to get your core/engine voltage to ~1.45v, however ASUS bios clocks in CCC are still capped at 1000mhz. AB currently maxes at 1.3v. AMD gpuclocktool should raise mhz higher than 1ghz limit - this will likely disable powerplay 2d clocks as would AB's unofficial overclocking method. So far the highest 5970 OC I've seen is 1030/1300.
    Ati overvolt utility:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...e_Utility.html
    Smartdoctor 5.51 nov 26, 2009
    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/vga...martDoc551.zip
    AMD gpuclocktool
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...r_HD_5870.html
    Asus 5970 bios, slave + master
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/qqz3w3...H5970_AS03.zip
    ( EAH5970 has two GPUs. There are two BIOS in the .zip file for both master and slave GPU. Please run "AS03M.exe" at first and then "AS03S.exe". Restart system when you finish.)

    5970 Load temps on EK full cover waterblock:


    > 1000mhz core:
    ASUS 5870 unlocked bios:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/5...24.090915.html
    MSI 5870 unlocked bios:
    http://cid-26aaa81850481d85.skydrive...%5E_unlock.910
    ASUS 5850 unlocked bios:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...5&d=1257556756
    MSI 5850 unlocked bios:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...9&d=1255628605
    ASUS 5770 unlocked bios:
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...0&d=1256400717

    TOOLS:
    (Thanks Unwinder for RT & Afterburner. Thank you W1z for GPU-Z)
    MSI Afterburner:
    http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm



    GPU-Z:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/


    ATi Flash:
    http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads...lash_3.75.html


    Get the latest Radeon 5000 Series Catalyst beta drivers here:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46

    Guide to flashing ASUS on 5870:
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...44&postcount=1
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...82&postcount=7
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=422

    [H] Radeon 5800 overclocking thread:
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1457047

    If you need help with software voltage modding, google it, or check these support threads:
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=74630
    http://www.hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1457047
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=227628
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=235297
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=215521

    Please post your best results here! Thank you.
    Last edited by jaredpace; 02-16-2010 at 11:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    716
    nice thread jared, just one thing the link to gputool which is pictured is going to amd gpu clock tool which is a different animal and not as good as gputool which you have pictured but alas gputool is not publically available yet which works with the 5800 series cards but its coming, then we'll see some real overclocking especially with the 5850s i feel, thanks for starting the thread off and i'll be watching this thread eagerly





  3. #3
    Xtreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,559
    Cheers

    Chispy.
    Last edited by chispy; 10-01-2009 at 07:48 PM.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,463
    Yes absolute respect for unwinder & wizzard. I'm just linking to currently available software. Glenboy thanks, I just realized that was a gpu-tool screen, it's fixed.
    Bring... bring the amber lamps.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  5. #5
    Xtreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,559

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
    Yes absolute respect for unwinder & wizzard. I'm just linking to currently available software. Glenboy thanks, I just realized that was a gpu-tool screen, it's fixed.
    Hey NP good guy then its all good . Take care.

    Angelo.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    124


    Still testing but like someone already said we really need a RBE update to support cypress and cypress XT gpus so that we can remove that god awfull amd gpu clock limit.
    Last edited by ViRuS2k; 10-01-2009 at 01:49 PM.
    Intel I7 3.5ghz 4770k @4.5Ghz 1.285v HT-Enabled | Gigabyte OC z87 DDR3 | 2x8 Avx 2133 C9 @2400 C10 1.64v | PC-Power & Cooling 950w MKII Single Rail Monster | Creative ZXR Sound Card | 24" NeC MultiSync 24WMGX3 1920x1200 60hz | Sennhizer HD650 Headset | Various HDDs 5+ Terabyte | Noctua D14 Heatsink Push/Pull Config | 2x His 7950`s X-Fire @1120/1450 *Stock Cooling* | LG Bluray Drive/Writer |

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    404
    Quote Originally Posted by ViRuS2k View Post
    Reserved untill software is released....

    *side note, From looking at those stock to over-clocked results there doesnt seem to be that much of a improvement, i mean stressing the card right out for 4 half. fps ? lol*
    are you cpu limited or bottlenecking those cards ? clearly something is wrong becuse when i had my 2x 4890s overclocked from stock to 980core the results where much much higher.
    Yes, that might be true for Crysis but u might see greater gains in other games.

    BTW U guys know about the new error mem checking in the 5xxx series? Higher OCs sometimes result in slower performance.

    Can't wait to see how the 5850s OC.
    INTEL 2600K @ 4.5ghz 24/7 Corsair H100
    ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
    2 x CORSAIR 4GB DDR3 1600 (CL8)
    4TB Seagate SATA2
    SAPPHIRE 7950 (GPU 1100 | MEM 1500)
    Cosmos S
    Asus XONAR DX
    Corsair 850W PSU

  8. #8
    I would assume we need the RBE tool to remove the ATI set max overclock mhz with a modified bios?
    4670k 4.6ghz 1.22v watercooled CPU/GPU - Asus Z87-A - 290 1155mhz/1250mhz - Kingston Hyper Blu 8gb -crucial 128gb ssd - EyeFunity 5040x1050 120hz - CM atcs840 - Corsair 750w -sennheiser hd600 headphones - Asus essence stx - G400 and steelseries 6v2 -windows 8 Pro 64bit Best OS used - - 9500p 3dmark11 (one of the 26% that isnt confused on xtreme forums)

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near Venice as they say
    Posts
    1,314
    Want my card here!!!!!!!!!
    TRUE Lapped - Intel Core i7 2600k 4,7Ghz - ASRock P67 Extreme4 Gen3 - Nvidia GTX 1080 FE - 16Gb Crucial 2133 Mhz CL9 1,51v - Crucial M4 256Gb - Crucial MX300 1050Gb - Corsair AX850 - Fractal Define R3


  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    278
    Mine does 900/1300 easy. At this point, overclocking is pointless for me. All games run very good.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    452
    Any info on HD 5870 vs other cards?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    185
    is msi after burning working fine with all the 5870 or only with msi brand?

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by okorop View Post
    is msi after burning working fine with all the 5870 or only with msi brand?
    Everything works fine apart from upping the clocks past 900 and 1300 otherwize you have to use AMD GPU tool to bypass those like i have had to do untill RBE gets a update.
    Intel I7 3.5ghz 4770k @4.5Ghz 1.285v HT-Enabled | Gigabyte OC z87 DDR3 | 2x8 Avx 2133 C9 @2400 C10 1.64v | PC-Power & Cooling 950w MKII Single Rail Monster | Creative ZXR Sound Card | 24" NeC MultiSync 24WMGX3 1920x1200 60hz | Sennhizer HD650 Headset | Various HDDs 5+ Terabyte | Noctua D14 Heatsink Push/Pull Config | 2x His 7950`s X-Fire @1120/1450 *Stock Cooling* | LG Bluray Drive/Writer |

  14. #14
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,426
    Just quick report before going to bed (long day tomorrow )!

    Sapphire default GPU Vcore is 1.125V load
    not good enough for 960MHz core in FureMark (freezes after 30+sec.)
    upping vGPU to 1.185V is enough for stable 1GHz on core! Haven't had time to try higher clocks on this voltage yet. It will need to wait till tomorrow!

    BTW 9500 oMarks is easy with this card


    @okorop: Afterburner works fine on Sapphire HD5870 which should mean it will work on any reference HD5870
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    185
    Quote Originally Posted by Lightman View Post
    Just quick report before going to bed (long day tomorrow )!

    Sapphire default GPU Vcore is 1.125V load
    not good enough for 960MHz core in FureMark (freezes after 30+sec.)
    upping vGPU to 1.185V is enough for stable 1GHz on core! Haven't had time to try higher clocks on this voltage yet. It will need to wait till tomorrow!

    BTW 9500 oMarks is easy with this card


    @okorop: Afterburner works fine on Sapphire HD5870 which should mean it will work on any reference HD5870
    thank's I am waiting for three sapphire 5870, so everyting is working

  16. #16
    i got back into the country today, rushed home... picked up my new sapphire 5870, went into my office at home eager to get my tech hit... only to find the electrics off till monday....

    wtf....landlord+electrician=epic fail

    end of rant....

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    363
    [QUOTE=Lightman;4043208]

    Sapphire default GPU Vcore is 1.125V load

    [QUOTE]

    No, it's 1.162V, at least thats what mine is at load.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    404
    Any OC results yet for the 5850?
    INTEL 2600K @ 4.5ghz 24/7 Corsair H100
    ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
    2 x CORSAIR 4GB DDR3 1600 (CL8)
    4TB Seagate SATA2
    SAPPHIRE 7950 (GPU 1100 | MEM 1500)
    Cosmos S
    Asus XONAR DX
    Corsair 850W PSU

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,209
    waiting for my card :p
    1. ASUS Sabertooth 990fx | FX 8320 || 2. DFI DK 790FXB-M3H5 | X4 810
    8GB Samsung 30nm DDR3-2000 9-10-10-28 || 4GB PSC DDR3-1333 6-7-6-21
    Corsair TX750W | Sapphire 6970 2GB || BeQuiet PurePower 450w | HD 4850
    EK Supreme | AC aquagratix | Laing Pro | MoRa 2 || Aircooled

  20. #20
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,263
    I am curious if anyone has had any display driver has stopped responding issues yet. If I really put the hurt on the card with something like Furmark's stress test, eventually the driver will stop responding ( this is at 900/1300 ) Games however have been solid and then there is the fact that Furmark's stress loads things a good 8-12C hotter than even Crysis Warhead on Enthusiast with AA. I've yet to try overriding the fan to run at high speed in Furmark but I may try that out of curiosity ( I find the card becomes quite loud past %40 speed but no game seems to get it that high ; only Furmark - games tend to be from 25-35% with the fan profile)
    Feedanator 7.0
    CASE:R5|PSU:850G2|CPU:i7 6850K|MB:x99 Ultra|RAM:8x4 2666|GPU:980TI|SSD:BPX256/Evo500|SOUND:2i4/HS8
    LCD:XB271HU|OS:Win10|INPUT:G900/K70 |HS/F:H115i

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    100
    5850 should have volterra VT1156MF chip on the back:
    http://www.pcgameshardware.com/scree..._R_ckseite.jpg
    Last edited by Migi06; 10-02-2009 at 10:09 AM.

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,263
    Here is a Vanatage P run at 4GHz cpu and 900/1300 on the 5870. For whatever reason GPUZ doesn't seem to report the overclocks for me.

    Feedanator 7.0
    CASE:R5|PSU:850G2|CPU:i7 6850K|MB:x99 Ultra|RAM:8x4 2666|GPU:980TI|SSD:BPX256/Evo500|SOUND:2i4/HS8
    LCD:XB271HU|OS:Win10|INPUT:G900/K70 |HS/F:H115i

  23. #23
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,051
    Please forget about Furmark.. for any and all reasons... as you said yourself, even the hardest hitting game at its highest settings doesn't put anywhere near the kind of stress+heat on it..
    Computer: i7 2600k @ 4.7Ghz | Asus P8P67 Evo | Corsair LP 16gb 1600CL9 | Silver Arrow | Essence STX | Crucial m4 128gb | Silverstone Raven 3|

    Video: 2x Sapphire 6950 Toxic 2gb @ 6970 Switch @ 880 / 1350 | Asus VG248QE |

    Audio: ODAC+O2 => JH|13 Pro | STX => ATH-AD700X / Audioengine A5

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,263
    I agree with you there but I am somewhat OCD in that if anything causes instability or driver crashes I /wrist In the realworld though the card is doing fine ( doubt even 2560x1600 with 8x SSAA would be as nasty as furmarks high stress test )
    Feedanator 7.0
    CASE:R5|PSU:850G2|CPU:i7 6850K|MB:x99 Ultra|RAM:8x4 2666|GPU:980TI|SSD:BPX256/Evo500|SOUND:2i4/HS8
    LCD:XB271HU|OS:Win10|INPUT:G900/K70 |HS/F:H115i

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    318
    Holy god I managed to pwn my other score using just one card this time!

    But how the hell are others breaking the 19k mark with one card?!

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=1457343

    P18058

Page 1 of 48 123411 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •