Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 102

Thread: CUDA Factorial Benchmark from TOC.ru

  1. #51
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    811
    Here's what i got,

    ASUS Sabertooth P67B3 nVidia GTX580 1536MB PhysX Intel Core i7 2600K 4.5GHz Corsair TX850W Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
    8GB GSKill Sniper PC3-16000 7-8-7 OCZ Agility3 SSD 240GB + Intel 320 SSD 160GB + Samsung F3 2TB + WD 640AAKS 640GB Corsair 650D DELL U2711 27"

  2. #52
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    Quote Originally Posted by HeUeR View Post
    nice Napalm nice brrr, i cant wait till i will move on some quad core cpu, my cpu is so week, that i cant get normals score with my 8800GTX
    thanks.. do you get any hang time after it reaches 99.6-9% ??

    i took the 8800 ultra out and installed it for you to see what 8800 gtx does @ quad

    i clocked my ultra to your gtx clocks

    Quote Originally Posted by HeUeR View Post
    250000 bench:

    GPU: 27.903s

    q9650 @ 4.5ghz/ddr2 @ 500mhz
    this includes ~8 sec hang time.. actual time = 14 seconds





    only a few times i get it right ^

    cooled by arctic accelero/70F ambient also/cap+vmod ^
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 10-04-2009 at 08:22 AM.

  3. #53
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    41
    What do you mean with that hang time, didnt understand i think. You mean soft freeze for some sec, or ... !?

    6 sec difference between same cards @ dual core vs quad core Quad is doing what he needs to do Il pm you, i want to check some more benches with setup: same card freq @ dual vs quad
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2Ghz Cooled By TT BT
    Mobo: GigaByte GA-965P-S3
    Video: nVidia XFX GeForce 8800GTX 768Mb GDDR3
    Ram: 4x512Mb DDR2 OCZ Platinum Edition PC2 6400
    HDD: WD 250GB 16Mb Sata II
    PSU: FSP Epsilon 700W

    Fan(s): 2x120mm

  4. #54
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    yeh freeze.. after it reaches ~99.9% it hangs/freezes for ~8 sec sometimes more

    @ 1620 shader it reaches 99.9% in 14 seconds just like @ 2106 shader it reaches 99.9% in 11 seconds ^

    if you dont get the freeze/hang time then its probably my 8800

    lol more benches ?? one bench before i pull it out ok ?

    either way get a quad asap.. everything will get faster i guarantee you
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 10-04-2009 at 08:54 AM.

  5. #55
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    41
    Napalm check private messages, i sent you pm with 2 more benches what i want to see and very big tnx you for spending time for me. And yea i know quad core will blast my vga much more higher
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2Ghz Cooled By TT BT
    Mobo: GigaByte GA-965P-S3
    Video: nVidia XFX GeForce 8800GTX 768Mb GDDR3
    Ram: 4x512Mb DDR2 OCZ Platinum Edition PC2 6400
    HDD: WD 250GB 16Mb Sata II
    PSU: FSP Epsilon 700W

    Fan(s): 2x120mm

  6. #56
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    finally got it.. my 8800s been thru a lot.. mods wars sickness



    about pm/benches - alright you got it

  7. #57
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    41
    how did ya get bench done without freez?
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2Ghz Cooled By TT BT
    Mobo: GigaByte GA-965P-S3
    Video: nVidia XFX GeForce 8800GTX 768Mb GDDR3
    Ram: 4x512Mb DDR2 OCZ Platinum Edition PC2 6400
    HDD: WD 250GB 16Mb Sata II
    PSU: FSP Epsilon 700W

    Fan(s): 2x120mm

  8. #58
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    i ran and reran the bench until it posted the right time i had the same troubles @ 2106 shader

    i know whats wrong with my 8800 i didnt think it would affect the bench since it doesnt affect games/other benches

    when ill get it fixed if results are any diff ill repost..
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 10-04-2009 at 10:27 AM.

  9. #59
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    subzero


  10. #60
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    Quote Originally Posted by Talonman View Post
    Were you guys also having your video RAM, not free up after each run in v0.3.6 too, or was that just me?
    Bump!
    Asus Maximus SE X38 / Lapped Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz (L726B397 stock VID=1.224) / 7 Ultimate x64 /EVGA GTX 295 C=650 S=1512 M=1188 (Graphics)/ EVGA GTX 280 C=756 S=1512 M=1296 (PhysX)/ G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) / Gateway FPD2485W (1920 x 1200 res) / Toughpower 1,000-Watt modular PSU / SilverStone TJ-09 BW / (2) 150 GB Raptor's RAID-0 / (1) Western Digital Caviar 750 GB / LG GGC-H20L (CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and BlueRay Drive) / WaterKegIII Xtreme / D-TEK FuZion CPU, EVGA Hydro Copper 16 GPU, and EK NB S-MAX Acetal Waterblocks / Enzotech Forged Copper CNB-S1L (South Bridge heat sink)

  11. #61
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rostov-on-Don, Russia
    Posts
    28
    Hi All. I was return from Moscow
    Yours result is super! And i have MultiGPU alpha version of this benchmark. Do you want try to test it?

  12. #62
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    8,595
    Quote Originally Posted by OverFoxtrot View Post
    Hi All. I was return from Moscow
    Yours result is super! And i have MultiGPU alpha version of this benchmark. Do you want try to test it?
    What a silly question. Of Course they want to test it!! This is Xtreme Systems.

  13. #63
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    YES!!!

    Post up a download link.
    Last edited by Talonman; 10-07-2009 at 04:19 AM.
    Asus Maximus SE X38 / Lapped Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz (L726B397 stock VID=1.224) / 7 Ultimate x64 /EVGA GTX 295 C=650 S=1512 M=1188 (Graphics)/ EVGA GTX 280 C=756 S=1512 M=1296 (PhysX)/ G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) / Gateway FPD2485W (1920 x 1200 res) / Toughpower 1,000-Watt modular PSU / SilverStone TJ-09 BW / (2) 150 GB Raptor's RAID-0 / (1) Western Digital Caviar 750 GB / LG GGC-H20L (CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and BlueRay Drive) / WaterKegIII Xtreme / D-TEK FuZion CPU, EVGA Hydro Copper 16 GPU, and EK NB S-MAX Acetal Waterblocks / Enzotech Forged Copper CNB-S1L (South Bridge heat sink)

  14. #64
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    41
    yup, give us the new version, i will make little bit popular this soft in my country oc forum
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2Ghz Cooled By TT BT
    Mobo: GigaByte GA-965P-S3
    Video: nVidia XFX GeForce 8800GTX 768Mb GDDR3
    Ram: 4x512Mb DDR2 OCZ Platinum Edition PC2 6400
    HDD: WD 250GB 16Mb Sata II
    PSU: FSP Epsilon 700W

    Fan(s): 2x120mm

  15. #65
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    Rest assured my friends at EVGA will also get the word!

    nVidia already knows my stance...
    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=105567

    "For future CUDA Superhero Challenges, I would rather not see a problem assigned.

    I think the creative programs that might be submitted, will be more exciting for us nVidia fans to look at. They would also make for a better advertising video too.

    This CUDA app is my current favorite: The CUDA Factorial Benchmark
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=233280
    (It is also ready to be downloaded and run as is.) We need more apps like that. I downloaded your .cu file, but have no idea how to run it.

    The CUDA Factorial Benchmark lets us see how much faster our GPU's are, over our CPU. That is exactly the kind of app we need to help educate the non-believers in the GPU Revolution.

    I want the version of the CUDA Factorial Benchmark that uses all 3 of my GPU's, instead of just 1/2 of my 295. I have been told they are working on it.

    If anybody knows of a CUDA program that I can download, that will use both sides of my 295, and my 280 dedicated PhysX processor all at once to solve a problem, please post up a link!
    I want that program real bad, whatever it is.

    I had the incorrect idea that new apps were going to be submitted by CUDA programmers, that would be up for download, and that we could also run. That was bad on my part.
    I assumed that was what the CUDA Superhero Challenge was all about."




    Off topic: I can't post in the GPU section yet, so i have to get my posts in where I can!

    It is a well known fact that PhysX can run on the CPU... Just much slower. Nvidia did optimized PhysX to run on the GPU for added performance, as expected. It is also well known the today's GPU's offer much more performance than the ageia PPU ever did.

    We have all seen this video, of 8 cores making 3,500 boxes swirling in a tornado running on a CPU. This is nothing more than an honorable mention for what a top of the line CPU can do, but not anything that directly challenges the PhysX performance that we can get from a single GPU.
    http://www.viddler.com/explore/HardOCP/videos/36/
    That's OK, and providing you have 8 cores to calculate on. I wish they would have used a Q6600 or a dual core CPU for that test.


    The real deal...
    http://www.nvidia.com/object/gpu_tec...ml#livewebcast

    In the video section under: Recording of the keynotes and general sessions...
    'Opening keynote with Jen-Hsun Huang'
    About 1/2 way through his presentation, when speaking on Visual Computing:

    An example is posted about analyzing the New Orleans levee break.
    # of Particles: 163,000
    # of steps per particle: 1,000,000
    CPU (Core 2, @ 2.5GHz): 24 Days to calculate...
    (1) GTX 260: 4 Hours to calculate...
    Total Speedup in performance = 144 X as fast.

    Looks like running on the GPU was the correct choice for them.

    In the 'Day 3 Keynote: Richard Kerris, CTO, Lucasfilm'
    In the first 1/2 of the video, there is the Industrial Light & Magic, 2009 example.
    Projuct GPU: Benefit from the use of GPU simulator, animation and rendering techniques for production, when they can provide a distinct advantage over the CPU based processors.

    A research example is posted of a cube comprised of over 12,000 rigid bodies, calculated in 1 hour and 13 minutes using 1 GPU.

    The next example is a colored cube comprised of over 100,000 rigid bodies, it took 3 hours and 20 minutes to calculate.

    Keeping in mind that the most they were ever previously able to send, was 14,000 rigid bodies spanning multiple machines. The GPU is giving them much more performance than the CPU ever could, and they are enjoying a productivity increase, along with a substantial cost savings. It would be a tough sell to them, that the CPU is the correct choice now.

    In the new FERMI presentation, it was specifically mentioned how PhysX will enjoy a speedup running on the new GPU's. Any concern about performance running PhysX on the GPU will be even smaller of an issue than it is now.

    You can bet that when the Havok Physic engine is successfully ported over to OpenCL, and running on GPU's, the Havok boys will be looking for a performance gain. In fact, I dare say WAY more performance! If not, their effort was just in vein.
    Most nVidia guys won't want Havok if we have to only run it on out CPU's. We already have been spoiled by PhysX. You can bet that the more demanding Havok effects will run much faster on the GPU.

    I just love how GPU's are being put to more serious processing tasks than just playing games.

    I do believe it to be the way of the future, and the next big thing.

    The CUDA Factorial Benchmark helps to show this, and a big reason why it is one of my favorite CUDA apps.
    Keep up the fine job!
    Last edited by Talonman; 10-07-2009 at 06:14 AM.

  16. #66
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    Quote Originally Posted by Talonman View Post
    Bump!
    the issue youre having @ post #38 is due to heat: throttle clocks kick in

    more cooling or lower clocks and youll get constant results

    as for running out of gpu ram.. i had the same @ 8800 ultra

    no reboot i just had to restart the app..




    edit: i just ran the bench on the 280.. cooled by arctic accelero/vmodded

    i dont get the "Not enough memory on GPU device"

    @ 1728 constant/correct results



    though @ 1782 shader i get erratic results like you do get on your 280
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 10-07-2009 at 09:06 AM.

  17. #67
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rostov-on-Don, Russia
    Posts
    28
    CUDA Factorial Benchmark 0.3.7 alpha
    It is necessary to restart the program after each start. Wait for results
    Thanks to all for support
    P.S Somebody fix title of theme(wrong site name)?
    Last edited by OverFoxtrot; 10-07-2009 at 09:18 AM.

  18. #68
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    - erratic results fixed @ 280

    - faster than 3.6

    - higher shader clock


  19. #69
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    Quote Originally Posted by OverFoxtrot View Post
    CUDA Factorial Benchmark 0.3.7 alpha
    It is necessary to restart the program after each start. Wait for results
    Thanks to all for support
    P.S Somebody fix title of theme(wrong site name)?
    Thanks for the new version, and conformation that the app must be restarted after each run.

    I get home in 5 more hours, and will test it out...

    Love the ALL box.
    Asus Maximus SE X38 / Lapped Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz (L726B397 stock VID=1.224) / 7 Ultimate x64 /EVGA GTX 295 C=650 S=1512 M=1188 (Graphics)/ EVGA GTX 280 C=756 S=1512 M=1296 (PhysX)/ G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) / Gateway FPD2485W (1920 x 1200 res) / Toughpower 1,000-Watt modular PSU / SilverStone TJ-09 BW / (2) 150 GB Raptor's RAID-0 / (1) Western Digital Caviar 750 GB / LG GGC-H20L (CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and BlueRay Drive) / WaterKegIII Xtreme / D-TEK FuZion CPU, EVGA Hydro Copper 16 GPU, and EK NB S-MAX Acetal Waterblocks / Enzotech Forged Copper CNB-S1L (South Bridge heat sink)

  20. #70
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rostov-on-Don, Russia
    Posts
    28
    We have some results on our forum and now working at beta version.
    If you want see real diffrence - use 750000! calculation and bigger. Now speed is small because some calculation make on CPU and need optimization.
    Last edited by OverFoxtrot; 10-07-2009 at 10:51 AM.

  21. #71
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    Odd...

    If I use my normal 999,000, the program will not run for me with all GPU's selected.





    If I use your suggested 750,000, the program runs, but the clocks drop back down from 3D Performance mode, to 2D clock speeds before the run completes...



    If I use 999,000 or 750,000 and select a single GPU, the program runs just fine, and the clocks stay in 3D Performance mode for the entire run.

    I don't know if this will help, but here is my event log:

    Log Name: Application
    Source: Windows Error Reporting
    Date: 10/7/2009 9:08:12 PM
    Event ID: 1001
    Task Category: None
    Level: Information
    Keywords: Classic
    User: N/A
    Computer: MaximusSE
    Description:
    Fault bucket 1496996379, type 1
    Event Name: APPCRASH
    Response: None
    Cab Id: 0

    Problem signature:
    P1: CUDA_Factorial_Benchmark.exe
    P2: 1.0.3566.40857
    P3: 4acbab93
    P4: StackHash_f398
    P5: 0.0.0.0
    P6: 00000000
    P7: c00000fd
    P8: 75a19bb4
    P9:
    P10:

    Attached files:
    C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Temp\WER6DCF.tmp.vers ion.txt

    These files may be available here:
    C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER \ReportArchive\Report0f16aabf
    Event Xml:
    <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
    <System>
    <Provider Name="Windows Error Reporting" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1001</EventID>
    <Level>4</Level>
    <Task>0</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-10-08T02:08:12.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>37229</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>MaximusSE</Computer>
    <Security />
    </System>
    <EventData>
    <Data>1496996379</Data>
    <Data>1</Data>
    <Data>APPCRASH</Data>
    <Data>None</Data>
    <Data>0</Data>
    <Data>CUDA_Factorial_Benchmark.exe</Data>
    <Data>1.0.3566.40857</Data>
    <Data>4acbab93</Data>
    <Data>StackHash_f398</Data>
    <Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
    <Data>00000000</Data>
    <Data>c00000fd</Data>
    <Data>75a19bb4</Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    </Data>
    <Data>
    C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Temp\WER6DCF.tmp.vers ion.txt</Data>
    <Data>C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windo ws\WER\ReportArchive\Report0f16aabf</Data>
    </EventData>
    </Event>

    One more error message from another run:

    Faulting application CUDA_Factorial_Benchmark.exe, version 1.0.3566.40857, time stamp 0x4acbab93, faulting module unknown, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x00000000, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00000000, process id 0x72c, application start time 0x01ca47c4811d9199.
    Last edited by Talonman; 10-07-2009 at 06:12 PM.
    Asus Maximus SE X38 / Lapped Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz (L726B397 stock VID=1.224) / 7 Ultimate x64 /EVGA GTX 295 C=650 S=1512 M=1188 (Graphics)/ EVGA GTX 280 C=756 S=1512 M=1296 (PhysX)/ G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) / Gateway FPD2485W (1920 x 1200 res) / Toughpower 1,000-Watt modular PSU / SilverStone TJ-09 BW / (2) 150 GB Raptor's RAID-0 / (1) Western Digital Caviar 750 GB / LG GGC-H20L (CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and BlueRay Drive) / WaterKegIII Xtreme / D-TEK FuZion CPU, EVGA Hydro Copper 16 GPU, and EK NB S-MAX Acetal Waterblocks / Enzotech Forged Copper CNB-S1L (South Bridge heat sink)

  22. #72
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Rostov-on-Don, Russia
    Posts
    28
    Talonman Thanks.
    Clocks drop back down from 3D Performance mode to 2D clock speeds because CPU make calculation in the end. We will fix this in beta version.
    The main thing that the program loads all videocards in system.

  23. #73
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    I stand ready for more testing...
    Asus Maximus SE X38 / Lapped Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz (L726B397 stock VID=1.224) / 7 Ultimate x64 /EVGA GTX 295 C=650 S=1512 M=1188 (Graphics)/ EVGA GTX 280 C=756 S=1512 M=1296 (PhysX)/ G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) / Gateway FPD2485W (1920 x 1200 res) / Toughpower 1,000-Watt modular PSU / SilverStone TJ-09 BW / (2) 150 GB Raptor's RAID-0 / (1) Western Digital Caviar 750 GB / LG GGC-H20L (CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and BlueRay Drive) / WaterKegIII Xtreme / D-TEK FuZion CPU, EVGA Hydro Copper 16 GPU, and EK NB S-MAX Acetal Waterblocks / Enzotech Forged Copper CNB-S1L (South Bridge heat sink)

  24. #74
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver,British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    1,178
    Acceleration=x8.3



    edit*
    26.3x
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by SocketMan; 10-21-2009 at 03:54 AM.


    World Community Grid's mission is to create the world's largest public computing grid to tackle projects that benefit humanity.
    Our success depends upon individuals collectively contributing their unused computer time to change the world for the better.

  25. #75
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,977
    How is the program progressing with being able to use all 3 GPU's at once?
    Asus Maximus SE X38 / Lapped Q6600 G0 @ 3.8GHz (L726B397 stock VID=1.224) / 7 Ultimate x64 /EVGA GTX 295 C=650 S=1512 M=1188 (Graphics)/ EVGA GTX 280 C=756 S=1512 M=1296 (PhysX)/ G.SKILL 8GB (4 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) / Gateway FPD2485W (1920 x 1200 res) / Toughpower 1,000-Watt modular PSU / SilverStone TJ-09 BW / (2) 150 GB Raptor's RAID-0 / (1) Western Digital Caviar 750 GB / LG GGC-H20L (CD, DVD, HD-DVD, and BlueRay Drive) / WaterKegIII Xtreme / D-TEK FuZion CPU, EVGA Hydro Copper 16 GPU, and EK NB S-MAX Acetal Waterblocks / Enzotech Forged Copper CNB-S1L (South Bridge heat sink)

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •