Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 51 to 70 of 70

Thread: E8xxx/Q9xx0 FSB 1600 pin mod

  1. #51
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    30
    I might try this tonight if i can be bothered removing my cooler. will post back when i do it!
    Gaming = Q9400|H50|GTX470|9800GT|EP45-Extreme|4GB 1066|650W|800D|3-X233H|Logitech illuminated|Mamba|
    Game Server = PE2650|Xeon 2.4GHz|512MB Ram|5X36GB SCSI|
    File Server = E6500|2GB|2.5TB|GT210|
    FREE WEB HOSTING!

    How to Flash GTX465 To A GTX470!

  2. #52
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brentwood TN
    Posts
    110
    why do you need that tho?
    dose that give you additional overclock?

  3. #53
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Westminster, CA
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by kikicoco1334 View Post
    why do you need that tho?
    dose that give you additional overclock?
    yep

  4. #54
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Buenos Aires,Argentina
    Posts
    778
    anyone try with tpower i45?
    hersounds powered by 121 % overclocking Machine http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=220390 - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1917405

    facebook.com/hersounds

    Intel Core i5 4670K @ 4,5 Ghz 24/7 - Galaxy HOF GTX 780 - 8 GB Team Group Xtreem 2666 Cas 11 - 8Gb Avexir Core series 2800 Blue Led - Maximus VI Formula Armor TUF - Corsair Force GT 120 GB SATA 3 - Galaxy Hall of fame 1200 hersounds Limited edition Modular - Antec 620 dual fan mod

  5. #55
    Xtreme Rack Freak
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Belle River, Canada
    Posts
    1,812
    This mod is for those with server platforms where you can't do neither BIOS OCing nor software OCing.

    Main Rigs...
    Silver : i7-2600k / Asus P8H67-I Deluxe / 8GB RAM / 460 GTX SSC+ / SSD + HDD / Lian Li PC-Q11s
    WCG rig(s)... for team XS Full time
    1. i7 860 (Pure Cruncher)
    2. i7-870 (Acts as NAS with 5 HDDs)
    3. 1065T (Inactive currently)

  6. #56
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,290
    ohhh server boards .... do you think this will work on a tyan dual socket w/ 5420 cpu?
    Its not overkill if it works.


  7. #57
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires - Argentina
    Posts
    438
    anyone try on a Maximus Formula x38???
    What tape do you thing I must use to block the two pins?
    Intel C2D E8400 @ 4Ghz // Asus Maximus Formula x38 @ FSB 500Mhz// G.Skill Pi 2x2GB 1000Mhz // 9800GTX+ SSC eVGA // WD Raptor X 150GB + Samsung Spinpoint 2TB // DVD-RW DL Asus // Powercooler 850W // CM Cosmos S // Samsung T260N / Edifier R251 // Logitech G9 // Logitech G15 Rev2

    Cooling System: Swiftech Apex Ultra H2O Kit + MCW60

  8. #58
    Xtremely Retired OC'er
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,084
    Last edited by Nikolasz; 02-24-2011 at 11:57 PM.

  9. #59
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Brentwood TN
    Posts
    110
    nice info

  10. #60
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    12
    Very good news . Thank

  11. #61
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    508
    Tried this on my Optiplex 780 with a Q9550. Didn't work.
    It has PLL:
    IDT
    CV184-2APAG
    1028J

    This PLL is in SetFSB, but that also doesn't work.

    ClockGen shows MCHBAR Locked.

    BAREdit cannot access the memory locations to unlock the MCHBAR, either.
    Core i7 990x @ 4665MHz 30x155.5 | ASUS Rampage 3 Extreme 1601 Modded BIOS | 24GB (6x4GB) Mushkin Redline 999057 @ 1866MHz 8-8-8-24-1T
    2x MSI N770-2GD5/OC SLI Custom BIOS @ 1228/7464 | Samsung 840 EVO 1TB | 4x 3TB WD Red Raid 5 | Corsair RM1000 | 2x Dell SP2309W 2048x1152
    H2O Cooled | EK - Supreme HF Full Gold - FB RE3 | Swiftech - MCP35x2 - MCRes Micro v2 | HWLabs - 2x GTX 120 - GT Stealth 120
    7x Gentle Typhoon AP-0A 2150RPM | 1x Enermax Magma UC-MA12 1500RPM | Lian Li PC-A10B | 5GHz Gulftown

  12. #62
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    44
    Is this ok to a E8400 E0??

    Thank you!
    E8400 @ 4.15Ghz @ 1.37500v @ BIOS | 1.344v @ CPU-z
    Asus P5K Pro
    GSkill PC2-8400 1069Mhz @ 5-5-5-15 | 2.02v
    TG Xtreem PC5300 @ DDR2-800Mhz @ 3-3-3-8 @ 2.20 (resting)
    Sapphire HD6870 1Gb GDDR5 256bit @ 955Mhz/4288Mhz stock vGPU
    Sapphire X1950XT 256Mb GDDR3 256bit @ 702Mhz/2000Mhz (resting)
    PSU LC Power 700Watt 4 12v rail @ 18A
    1 WD VelociRaptor 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD RaptorX 150Gb 10000rpm
    1 WD 1Tb 7200rpm

  13. #63
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    704
    I wonder what would happen with a quad core but then again my q9550 does an easy 440 mhz even more at times on the fsb (depends on the board my old board befre I swapped for the ep45t-usb3p was the ep45t-ud3lr and that did 4ghz on this cpu, but this board has so many features. Anyways anyone try this on a quad core?

    terramir
    Anyone know if some of these tricks work on sandybridge procs cause there be some rocking there.
    terramir

    terra= (lat.)world mir=(russ.) peace
    BTW that girl is my version of muddflap on my stacy common artwork not obcene (for the censors out there)

    Guys and gals vote for me in the Coolermaster case mod competition
    http://casemod2011.coolermaster.com/....php?u=390&c=2
    eco case 95% recycled DIY

  14. #64
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Australia! :)
    Posts
    6,099
    Quote Originally Posted by terramir View Post
    Anyone know if some of these tricks work on sandybridge procs cause there be some rocking there.
    terramir
    no. SB has no FSB. it's all the same bclock for all processors & all OC'ing is done via multi
    DNA = Design Not Accident
    DNA = Darwin Not Accurate

    heatware / ebay
    HARDWARE I only own Xeons, Extreme Editions & Lian Li's
    https://prism-break.org/

  15. #65
    Xtremely Retired OC'er
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,084
    I try on q9550 it works only when bios had full reset. Then it shows 3.4ghz on my asus p5k3 Deluxe

    But can oc from bios without mod too

  16. #66
    Santas
    Guest
    now i have to get my old computer out just to try this....

  17. #67
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    532
    Will try this on my E6750!
    New rig: INWIN D-Frame, i7 4770k @ 4.7 Ghz/1.38V, Swiftech H220, MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming, Team Vulcan DDR3 1600, 9-9-9-24, Samsung 840 pro 256GB, EVGA GTX 780, Corsair 850W
    Old rig:Antec 900/GIGABYTE GA-X38T-DQ6
    E6750 @ 3.5 GHz/Thermalright 120 extreme/MX2
    CORSAIR Vengance 8GB
    PNY 8800GT/Thermalright HR-03 GT

    Old, old rig: FX-53/GIGABYTE K8NSNXP-939 nForce3 Ultra/1GB CORSAIR 3200XLPRO
    X800XTPE/WD 74GB Raptor/250GB Caviar

  18. #68
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    San Jose, California
    Posts
    178
    Tested and it works on a E5300.

  19. #69
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    6

    Q9650 0n Optiplex 960

    I know this CPU is capable of some amazing Overclocking, or so I thought. I probably should have bought the QX9650. I rebuilt an old system and bought a Q9650 to replace a core 2 Duo. Added an Nvidia Quadro, a 500 GB SSD for the OS, a 1TB HHD for storage, and have 8GB of memory, and installed a card reader, and even had to solder a new Power Supply fan in it, because the old one was a cheapo. I brought it back from the scrap heap and it runs good, but could be just a bit better!

    It looks like the only way I am going to get more out of the CPU is through a pin mod, and I have never done one. I think it's impossible to use software to overclock this CPU as it seems like a locked one.

    Can someone confirm the right way to pin mod my CPU Q9650 to have it run at 400MHz?

    Is it exactly like the mod I see here with the QX9650?

    What kind of tape was used? Is that blocking\insulating the two pins, or connecting them?

    I'd appreciate any help. My machine runs pretty good considering it's age, and I have improved it drastically from where it was when I acquired it.

    I already installed additional cooling in the case, but cannot Overclock the chip, unless I can get my hands on a BIOS Mod, or someone can confirm with me the right way to pin mod this CPU.

    Please help... I only want a year of two out of this PC, and I will probably build something in a couple years to process video more efficiently.

    Right now budget is tight, so I am trying to tweak this 960 to get the max out of it. This is the last step.

    Thank you...for your help.

    Quote Originally Posted by stasio View Post
    E8xxx/Q9xx0 FSB 1600 pin mod

    QX9650 Retail

    Just put a tape on the pins...

    ...and off you go .


    玩玩看E8500

    Just put a tape on the pins...

    ...and off you go .


    400FSB的E8500喔


    Source:
    http://forum.coolaler.com/showthread.php?t=173071
    Last edited by OriginalTree; 03-27-2017 at 06:31 AM.

  20. #70
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    NE Ohio, USA
    Posts
    1,556
    You want to put tape on the 2 pads show above to insulate them from the MB. That will force the MB to 400 MHz FSB if the MB supports it.
    Home PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #1
    GA-P67A-UD4-B3 BIOS F8 mod, 2600k (L051B138) @ 4.5 GHz, 1.260v full load, Arctic Liquid 120, (Boots Win7 @ 5.6 GHz per Massman binning)
    Samsung Green 2x4GB @2133 C10, 2x MSI 1660ti, Vertex 4 128GB, 2x3TB WD Red RAID1, BR Burner, Win7 Ult x64, Enthoo Pro, HX750

    Work PC -- 24/7 Cruncher #2 ... Crucial M225 64GB SSD Donated to Endurance Testing (Died at 968 TB of writes...no that is not a typo!)
    GA-EP45T-UD3LR BIOS F10 modded, Q6600 G0 VID 1.212 (L731B536), 3.6 GHz 9x400 @ 1.312v full load, Zerotherm Zen FZ120
    OCZ 2x2GB DDR3-1600MHz C7, Gigabyte 7950 @1200/1250, Crucial MX100 128GB, 2x1TB WD Red RAID1, Win7 Ent x64, Centurion 590, XFX PRO650W

    Music System
    SB Server->SB Touch w/Android Tablet as a remote->S/PDIF->Denon AVR-X3300W->JBL Studio Series Floorstanding Speakers


Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •