Results 1 to 24 of 24

Thread: how much silver

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    190

    how much silver

    so i'm going to be adding my 9800GTX back into my pc since i'm done testing blocks and want to know if the 2 true silver compression fittings i got have enough silver to act as a biocide.

    here is my loop, if that matters.

    res>pump>pump>rad>rad>rad>cpu>gpu



    thanks in advance.
    CPU: Core2Quad q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (highest so far 4.2GHz)
    GPU: XFX 9800GTX @ 850/1230
    Ram: Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) 700MHz PC5300
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32)
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt DxX
    HDD:WD5001AALS, ST3250410AS, ST3500410AS, ST3500320AS - 1.75TB
    DVD: LG H26N,LG GH20LS10 both sata
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500/Razor Barracuda HP-1 / AC-1
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
    3Dmark06:17,814 AquaMark:190,865

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    675
    also very interested to know. i'm making a "sort of dual loop" it'll be dual loop except sharing the same res. and i have 4 true silver compressions in it.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    190
    i have pt nuke already but it's the original. the way i see it both my fittings at the very least total the surface area of the silver kill coils so it should be good on it's own. water will pass by it so it should treat the whole loop. i will just add the pt nuke to be safe. i've got 4 bottles to use anyhow. when i first ordered it i had the idea of adding half a bottle per loop lol.
    CPU: Core2Quad q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (highest so far 4.2GHz)
    GPU: XFX 9800GTX @ 850/1230
    Ram: Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) 700MHz PC5300
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32)
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt DxX
    HDD:WD5001AALS, ST3250410AS, ST3500410AS, ST3500320AS - 1.75TB
    DVD: LG H26N,LG GH20LS10 both sata
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500/Razor Barracuda HP-1 / AC-1
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
    3Dmark06:17,814 AquaMark:190,865

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    675
    unfortunately they're only inexpensive if you live in the US.
    i'm in Aust

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Upstate, SC
    Posts
    644
    all of my fittings are silver...
    SYSTEM
    i5-3750K @ 4.6ghz - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - 16GB Samsung DDR3 - Sapphire R7 370 Nitro 4GB
    Water Cooling
    EK Supremecy - DDC-3.2 w/XSPC Top -Swiftech MCR320-QP - EK Multioption 150

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    kibbler the nibbler
    Posts
    984
    Quote Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
    also very interested to know. i'm making a "sort of dual loop" it'll be dual loop except sharing the same res. and i have 4 true silver compressions in it.
    Technically that's a parallel loop.

    Quote Originally Posted by Spawn-Inc View Post
    i have pt nuke already but it's the original. the way i see it both my fittings at the very least total the surface area of the silver kill coils so it should be good on it's own. water will pass by it so it should treat the whole loop. i will just add the pt nuke to be safe. i've got 4 bottles to use anyhow. when i first ordered it i had the idea of adding half a bottle per loop lol.
    Four drops to 1 liter of coolant. Too much especially with ptnuke_original and the coolant becomes too acidic. With ptnuke you don't need to worry about silver fittings or killcoils, just flush and re-fill occasionally.

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    675
    Quote Originally Posted by astrodanco View Post
    Perhaps you're right. I recently bought about 20 feet of silver coil for like twenty bucks. I think that will probably last me just about forever...

    No silver dealers in Australia?
    unless you want to send me some?

    havent been able to find the right things on ebay, i'd like to make my own killcoils, it's all coins and bullion, and it probably wont fit in my res properly.

    oh well, i'll probably just get some from petras.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
    unless you want to send me some?

    havent been able to find the right things on ebay, i'd like to make my own killcoils, it's all coins and bullion, and it probably wont fit in my res properly.

    oh well, i'll probably just get some from petras.
    http://www.aemetal.com.au/Webstore/p...heet-04mm.aspx

    Looks good to me, any good for you ?

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Snohomish, Wahington
    Posts
    101
    try this place http://www.silversupplies.com/catalo...zel_wire.shtml. I just ordered 24" today of the 26 gauge x 3/16" 999 silver bezel wire. Enough for 3 coils.

  10. #10
    Chasing After Diety
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Absolutely Speachless :O
    Posts
    11,929
    its not soley on the quantity but more the flow rate that goes past silver.

    Silver loses ions over time. These ions are what kills nasties.

    Anyhow, u want it located where ur gonna get flow.

    As the coolant gets older, the water becomes nuked stronger.
    Nadeshiko: i7 990 12GB DDR3 eVGA Classified *In Testing... Jealous? *
    Miyuki: W3580 6GB DDR3 P6T-Dlx
    Lind: Dual Gainestown 3.07
    Sammy: Dual Yonah Sossoman cheerleader. *Sammy-> Lind.*

    [12:37] skinnee: quit helping me procrastinate block reviews, you asshat. :p
    [12:38] Naekuh: i love watching u get the firing squad on XS
    Its my fault.. and no im not sorry about it either.

  11. #11
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    675
    having just read the other thread, does this mean that the best places for my fittings would be on the output of my pump, as this would see the most flow?

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    190
    there shouldn't be that drastic a drop in flow so anywhere would be fine. but if more flow is better, then the closer the better. being that i run dual pumps i don't care. i finished my final loop and it so happens the fittings are the furthest away from the pumps. i added 4 drops to the whole loop since its a big loop.
    CPU: Core2Quad q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (highest so far 4.2GHz)
    GPU: XFX 9800GTX @ 850/1230
    Ram: Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) 700MHz PC5300
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32)
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt DxX
    HDD:WD5001AALS, ST3250410AS, ST3500410AS, ST3500320AS - 1.75TB
    DVD: LG H26N,LG GH20LS10 both sata
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500/Razor Barracuda HP-1 / AC-1
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
    3Dmark06:17,814 AquaMark:190,865

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    675
    as mentioned above, apparently i have a "parallell loop"
    i will using a single EK res with the multi link with dual loops. thinking ill put my fittings on the pump.
    might look nice too.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Am I just seeing things or does the OP have two D5s with the first one's outlet going straight to the inlet of the second one?
    You were not supposed to see this.

  15. #15
    of the Strawhat crew.
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    West TN
    Posts
    1,646
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    Am I just seeing things or does the OP have two D5s with the first one's outlet going straight to the inlet of the second one?
    You're not seeing things.

    XtremeSystems BF3 Platoon - Any XS member is welcome.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    What would be the reason to do that?
    You were not supposed to see this.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,111
    Quote Originally Posted by largon View Post
    What would be the reason to do that?
    You would do that to achieve greater flow and pressure which appears to be needed as the OP has quite a bit of lift necessary in their system due to the lcs being mounted above the pc.
    Quote Originally Posted by Movieman View Post
    I don't care, I'm running out of popcorn waiting for the results..

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Imperial Palace, UDE of Pitatopia
    Posts
    8,392
    Quote Originally Posted by hellcamino View Post
    You would do that to achieve greater flow and pressure which appears to be needed as the OP has quite a bit of lift necessary in their system due to the lcs being mounted above the pc.
    Actually, in a closed loop, there is no gravity. I would say the extra pumping power is for the 3 rads and the extended length tubing.
    Circles SucQ!

    If your annoyed by sigs telling you to put things in your sig, then put this in your sig

    Bribery won't work on me...just say NO to AT!!!

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    190
    and because i had 2 of those pumps from before when i ran dual loops. i added it for redundancy. i have tested it, and i can run with no fans and 1 pump and still get decent temps. with stock clocks and prime 95 load i got temps of 50C i think it was. i will try it again with my 24/7 overclock and my gpu in the loop this time.
    CPU: Core2Quad q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (highest so far 4.2GHz)
    GPU: XFX 9800GTX @ 850/1230
    Ram: Samsung 4GB (4x1GB) 700MHz PC5300
    Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32)
    PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt DxX
    HDD:WD5001AALS, ST3250410AS, ST3500410AS, ST3500320AS - 1.75TB
    DVD: LG H26N,LG GH20LS10 both sata
    LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
    Sound: Logtiech Z 5500/Razor Barracuda HP-1 / AC-1
    CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
    3Dmark06:17,814 AquaMark:190,865

  20. #20
    Chasing After Diety
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Absolutely Speachless :O
    Posts
    11,929
    Quote Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
    having just read the other thread, does this mean that the best places for my fittings would be on the output of my pump, as this would see the most flow?
    no it would be in the res as it holds the most quantity of liquid and u would get the maximum volume area for diffusion + flow rate.

    Iandh's killcoils are nice...

    i use several on miyuki...

    You should of seen my face when he pm'd me that he was getting sheet silver and he could roll it up into coils b4 he went public.

    On haruhi however, i use a bar silver in an EK res and just let it sit there... works as an antivotex + antimicrobe. 2 for the the price of 1.
    Last edited by NaeKuh; 08-03-2009 at 11:22 AM.
    Nadeshiko: i7 990 12GB DDR3 eVGA Classified *In Testing... Jealous? *
    Miyuki: W3580 6GB DDR3 P6T-Dlx
    Lind: Dual Gainestown 3.07
    Sammy: Dual Yonah Sossoman cheerleader. *Sammy-> Lind.*

    [12:37] skinnee: quit helping me procrastinate block reviews, you asshat. :p
    [12:38] Naekuh: i love watching u get the firing squad on XS
    Its my fault.. and no im not sorry about it either.

  21. #21
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5,579
    Quote Originally Posted by NaeKuh View Post
    its not soley on the quantity but more the flow rate that goes past silver.

    Silver loses ions over time. These ions are what kills nasties.

    Anyhow, u want it located where ur gonna get flow.

    As the coolant gets older, the water becomes nuked stronger.

    Quote Originally Posted by NaeKuh View Post
    no it would be in the res as it holds the most quantity of liquid and u would get the maximum volume area for diffusion + flow rate.

    Iandh's killcoils are nice...

    i use several on miyuki...

    You should of seen my face when he pm'd me that he was getting sheet silver and he could roll it up into coils b4 he went public.
    dude speak turbulence...

    and even if the res holds the (most quantitiy of liquid,volume would have sounded better)water..its gonna be the surface area of the silver that will matter..not the volume of the fluid...


  22. #22
    Chasing After Diety
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Absolutely Speachless :O
    Posts
    11,929
    Quote Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
    dude speak turbulence...

    and even if the res holds the (most quantitiy of liquid,volume would have sounded better)water..its gonna be the surface area of the silver that will matter..not the volume of the fluid...
    meh... ^ this..

    I think i had too much coffee.
    Nadeshiko: i7 990 12GB DDR3 eVGA Classified *In Testing... Jealous? *
    Miyuki: W3580 6GB DDR3 P6T-Dlx
    Lind: Dual Gainestown 3.07
    Sammy: Dual Yonah Sossoman cheerleader. *Sammy-> Lind.*

    [12:37] skinnee: quit helping me procrastinate block reviews, you asshat. :p
    [12:38] Naekuh: i love watching u get the firing squad on XS
    Its my fault.. and no im not sorry about it either.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Snohomish, Wahington
    Posts
    101
    John at Jab-Tech told me that he is going to start carrying pure silver for making your own kill coil loops at around $4 ea. Maybe have them in stock by end of week. From what he said theyre gonna be longer and heavier than petras too- 2.11 grams verses 1.3 grams at petra.
    Last edited by kahuna321; 08-03-2009 at 01:17 PM.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    194
    Quote Originally Posted by zeropluszero View Post
    having just read the other thread, does this mean that the best places for my fittings would be on the output of my pump, as this would see the most flow?
    imo it doesn't matter where the silver is so long as it has some flow passing over it, even the need for flow may be open to debate but better safe than mouldy. The computer will probably be on for hours at a time and even when off the uptake of silver ions around the fittings will continue to the point of saturation, however long that takes, ready to be mixed around next time the pump springs into action. With 'normal' pc use this is not something to worry about.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •