OCN2
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: PSU purchased in US, useable in Europe?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420

    PSU purchased in US, useable in Europe?

    This is probably a "no duh" question. But I'd rather be safe than sorry and have a dead PSU.

    I have a Thermaltake Toughpower 1kW PSU I purchased and used in the U.S. I brought it with me when I moved to Germany. The wall sockets here are 220 instead of 110. Can I just plug this PSU in with a standard German PSU cable or do I need to plug it into an adapter first?

    The back of the PSU has listed:

    A/C INPUT: 100-240 V 13A 47-63Hz.

    I'm not an electrician, but I assume this means it will work without the need of any adapter since 220 falls into that input range?
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Posts
    162
    *Please do not take this post as a definitive answer*

    I would assume it will work fine as it can switch itself, some PSUs are manually switched and some (very old) don't do it at all. If it was me I'd say do it, but wait for a second opinion

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420
    Quote Originally Posted by PeterStoba View Post
    *Please do not take this post as a definitive answer*

    I would assume it will work fine as it can switch itself, some PSUs are manually switched and some (very old) don't do it at all. If it was me I'd say do it, but wait for a second opinion
    That's the longest answer for "maybe" I think I've ever read
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420
    This review

    http://www.techaddicts.net/reviews/t...power1000.html

    Says:

    This power supply offers a full range power circuit, so there is no need for a 110v / 220v switch.
    So assuming it works.
    Last edited by kgk; 09-01-2009 at 05:04 PM.
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    247
    It will work fine with a new cable or a plug adapter.
    Power Supply Guide for Today's & Tomorrow's Computers

    Always Build with the Best!
    Dave .

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland
    Posts
    503
    Check the manufacturers web site, they should be auto switchable, but better safe than sorry.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland
    Posts
    503
    Quote Originally Posted by kgk View Post
    That's the longest answer for "maybe" I think I've ever read
    He's covering himself, and he's quite right in doing that.

    Its a grey area.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    London UK
    Posts
    1,394
    Yes it will, most of them do nowadays. In the old days there was a little tab to switch. I remember my colleague setting up a PC as 110V as it was going to the US, he then decided to do some last minute testing which resulted in the blue smoke coming out
    ******************************************
    Respec'
    System:Bunch of crappy overclocked PC's that cost an arm and a leg


  9. #9
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Posts
    3,867
    Active PFC = no voltage switch = ~90-250V input compatibility.
    You were not supposed to see this.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    420
    Quote Originally Posted by M31 View Post
    He's covering himself, and he's quite right in doing that.

    Its a grey area.
    I know, it just made me laugh. Reminded me of that Sopranos scene with Tony asking Bobby if the Russian could have survived the gunshot in the woods:

    "Headshot maybe, body..I dunno. Then again anything is possible"


    But thanks to everyone who took the time to respond. Looks like it'll work.
    Bill Cosby: Stewie, what do you think candy is made out of?
    Stewie Griffin: Sunshine and farts! What the hell kind of question is that?!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •