Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 42

Thread: MSI GTX260 Lightning softmod

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member Mod_Aap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    136

    MSI GTX260 Lightning softmod

    The softmod as used by the Swedish team at "Msi Overclocking Arena 2009'.
    Can only be used for the 'MSI GTX 260 Lightning' for any other (MSI) GTX260 use the regular options for softmodding.

    Download
    http://overklokken.info/images/MSI_G...ltage_Tool.bat (Right click, 'save as')


    Screenshot


    How to use
    1. Place the 'MSI_GTX260L_Voltage_Tool.bat' in your rivatuner folder.
    2. Double click the 'MSI_GTX260L_Voltage_Tool.bat' enter the HEX value for the by you wanted voltage. (You can also lower the voltage, see the datasheet for all offsets)
    3. Make sure you typed the right HEX value and enter 'Y' or 'yes' and press enter.
    4. Check the commands that will be run and press enter.
    5. Check the voltage with an multimeter on the card
    6. Overclock the hell out of the card (don't forget the ocp mod(credits to hipro5)
    7. If you are running into stability problems caused by memory, try to vmod your memory to. This can only be done by an hard-mod.


    Hipro5 ocp mod
    http://overklokken.info/images/MSI_G...260gtxmods.jpg

    Disclaimer: I'm not responsible for any damage in any form caused by this script.

    P.S. This only works for single card setups for now, an sli version can be made on request.
    Last edited by Mod_Aap; 07-19-2009 at 01:44 PM.

  2. #2
    I am Xtreme massman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    4,812
    Awesome work, Neil. A giant thumb up for the work on this!!
    Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

  3. #3
    OC Jedi (on stand-by) Fr3ak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,610
    Now I wish I could solder like grandpa hipro5

    Thanks for the guide/software!
    オタク
    "Perfection is a state you should always try to attain, yet one you can never reach." - me =)

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member Mod_Aap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Fr3ak View Post
    Now I wish I could solder like grandpa hipro5

    Thanks for the guide/software!
    The ocp mod isn't that hard, you only need to vmod the total IMAX. So that is only 1 thing to solder. Instead of 3.
    Last edited by Mod_Aap; 07-19-2009 at 01:35 PM.

  5. #5
    Nice Hardware!!! SF3D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Finland/Tampere
    Posts
    1,852
    Just edited my post away. Didn't read it right
    Last edited by SF3D; 07-19-2009 at 01:42 PM.
    You are as good as your samples are!

  6. #6
    Champion ME4ME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    237
    Thanx alot Neil, for making this, and the great support you gave us.
    I really appreciate it that you shared this with us for the contest. It worked really well, we experienced no problems at all with this tool.

    Great job on this one!

  7. #7
    Xtreme X.I.P. elmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    671
    It works perfectly, we were running 1060 core without any hard mods at all
    2008 - AOCC WW #2 | MOA EU #8 | GOOC WW #1
    2009 - GOOC WW #3 | MOA EU #3 | MOA WW #1 | GB TweaKing #6 | ASUS ROG OCS #2
    2010 - MOA EU #1 | GOOC EU #13 | MOA WW #1
    2011 - MOA EU #4 | MOA WW #?

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    1,622
    Very cool tool, thanks for sharing

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast Mean Machine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    724
    Shouldn't this work with any card with the same IC? Seems to be a nice solution, I remember "someone" raising his OVP limit by 0.006V at the time, each mod taking a half an hour.
    I KNOW MASSMAN DISLIKES YOU.

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    yo yo... man, you gotta lose the beard... you look like a drunk :P
    Competition ranking: Better than the danes in everything I've ever entered.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member Mod_Aap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by Mean Machine View Post
    Shouldn't this work with any card with the same IC? Seems to be a nice solution, I remember "someone" raising his OVP limit by 0.006V at the time, each mod taking a half an hour.
    If the address of the chip is the same on his card it should work. If it has a different address I can change the address for him.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict dpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    1,219
    Quote Originally Posted by elmor View Post
    It works perfectly, we were running 1060 core without any hard mods at all
    hmmm, we ran 1050Mhz after "messing" with the afterburner here at home.. also software.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member Mod_Aap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    136
    Quote Originally Posted by dpa View Post
    hmmm, we ran 1050Mhz after "messing" with the afterburner here at home.. also software.
    Afterburner only goes to 1,3v, or did you 'change' the software?
    This goes to 1.8v.

    And you only need to install rivatuner, no other cr*p. But everyone is free to install what they want.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    which voltage regulator is used by that card?

  14. #14
    Xtreme X.I.P. elmor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    671
    Quote Originally Posted by W1zzard View Post
    which voltage regulator is used by that card?
    uP6208

    http://overklokken.info/images/MSI_G..._Datasheet.pdf
    2008 - AOCC WW #2 | MOA EU #8 | GOOC WW #1
    2009 - GOOC WW #3 | MOA EU #3 | MOA WW #1 | GB TweaKing #6 | ASUS ROG OCS #2
    2010 - MOA EU #1 | GOOC EU #13 | MOA WW #1
    2011 - MOA EU #4 | MOA WW #?

  15. #15
    Xtreme Legend Sampsa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,711
    Team Finland also used this program during MOA 2009 EU Finals.. worked great!
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member Mod_Aap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Netherlands, Amsterdam
    Posts
    136
    I made a sli version:

    http://overklokken.info/images/MSI_GTX26/MSI_GTX260L_Voltage_Tool_SLI.bat

    Didn't test it yet. Feel free to try.

    Last edited by Mod_Aap; 07-20-2009 at 03:31 PM.

  17. #17
    Champion s e t h's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    cape town
    Posts
    1,270
    i find it suprising that MSI would allow competitors to load files onto the competition rigs....could someone explain how that worked?
    otherwise great stuff here...hardmods are really bad for warranties

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict Barr3l Rid3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Brasil, S.P.
    Posts
    1,000
    Does anybody knows about vmem for this card?
    990FXA-UD3 | FX8350@4.7Ghz | Asus HD7870 | 2x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2050Mhz 8-8-8-22 | AX850W |SSD Vertex3 Max IOPS 120GB | Auzentech Forte + TAPCO-S5

    EK Supreme Full-Gold | XSPC RX240 + EX120 | MCP35x | 3x Koolance Blue Led @PWM | Tygon Black 1/2 | Bitspower Compression | @ FM CM690 I

  19. #19
    Xtreme Addict cowie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    new jersey
    Posts
    1,101
    thanks for the tool snot app.
    maybe with a change in bat file name it will work with the 275 Lightning' yes?

    as for the ram its size and rated speed will limit it.
    + as for the ocp mod (imax) only pencil needed
    _________________

  20. #20
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Stuttgart, Germany
    Posts
    930
    Quote Originally Posted by cowie View Post
    thanks for the tool snot app.
    maybe with a change in bat file name it will work with the 275 Lightning' yes?

    as for the ram its size and rated speed will limit it.
    + as for the ocp mod (imax) only pencil needed
    probably.

    does anyone have a gtx 260 lightning to test gputool on? i added voltage change control for the gtx 275 lightning and wonder if it works for the gtx 260 lightning too

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member noxon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    112
    Quote Originally Posted by W1zzard View Post
    probably.

    does anyone have a gtx 260 lightning to test gputool on? i added voltage change control for the gtx 275 lightning and wonder if it works for the gtx 260 lightning too
    I have a 260 lightning, link to the software, and ill test it


  22. #22
    Registered User EL RICHARDO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    51
    I have an Asus 285 TOP with the same IC but the tool doesn't work... Anybody help me?

  23. #23
    Xtreme Legend dinos22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    17,470
    Quote Originally Posted by Sampsa View Post
    Team Finland also used this program during MOA 2009 EU Finals.. worked great!
    you did?
    i had it on my USB stick but was told we are not allowed to use anything
    Team.AU
    Got tube?
    GIGABYTE Australia
    Need a GIGABYTE bios or support?



  24. #24
    Registered User EL RICHARDO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    51
    Does it need different codes to work with my Asus 285 TOP? How to find the correct ones?

  25. #25
    Xtreme Legend Sampsa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,711
    Quote Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
    you did?
    i had it on my USB stick but was told we are not allowed to use anything
    Dude.. check the date of my post EU FINALS
    Favourite game: 3DMark
    Work: Muropaketti.com - Finnish hardware site
    Views and opinions about IT industry: Twitter: sampsa_kurri

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •