Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 133

Thread: OCZ announces Vertex Turbo SSD series

  1. #51
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Barack Hussein Obama-Biden's Nation
    Posts
    1,084
    At least everybody got to see the real numbers from Techreport in the link that I provided.

    Until I see somebody else from a reputable source putting up real numbers that significantly differ, I will continue to trust Techreport.com.

    My 1TB Caviar Black is plenty fast for me when I load anything up. Firefox with half a dozen add-on's loads up in 0.5 second for me, and when I install games or load up levels within games, I do not have enough time to look at or read the loading screens, which pisses me off.
    Last edited by Bo_Fox; 07-08-2009 at 06:57 PM.

    --two awesome rigs, wildly customized with
    5.1 Sony speakers, Stereo 3D, UV Tourmaline Confexia, Flame Bl00dr4g3 Fatal1ty
    --SONY GDM-FW900 24" widescreen CRT, overclocked to:
    2560x1600 resolution at 68Hz!(from 2304x1440@80Hz)

    Updated List of Video Card GPU Voodoopower Ratings!!!!!

  2. #52
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by Bo_Fox View Post
    At least everybody got to see the real numbers from Techreport in the link that I provided.

    Until I see somebody else from a reputable source putting up real numbers that significantly differ, I will continue to trust Techreport.com.
    IOMeter, 100% Random, 100% Write, 4K, 5GB disk section of the disk, 3 minutes. This is my 30GB Vertex in a "Used" state. How much more proof do you want?



    Edit: I should note that not even a brand new OCZ Summit (2nd Gen Samsung) or Corsair P256 (2nd Gen Samsung) get 4K IOPS numbers that high. And this is a used Vertex. And a 30GB Vertex, which is the slowest of the entire line due to the smallest capacity.
    Last edited by Telperion; 07-08-2009 at 07:19 PM.

  3. #53
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,169
    ownage.
    Thanks for the nice dose of STFU.

    "[crunching is] a minor service to humanity as a side effect of our collective hardware fetish" - Blauhung

  4. #54
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Barack Hussein Obama-Biden's Nation
    Posts
    1,084
    Quote Originally Posted by coo-coo-clocker View Post
    ownage.
    Thanks for the nice dose of STFU.
    Hardly ownage, since it's not a REPUTABLE source just yet..

    The more used it is, the slower it gets, plus it's only 30 or 60GB.

    Many of us still do not think it's worth it. Just read the thread.

    --two awesome rigs, wildly customized with
    5.1 Sony speakers, Stereo 3D, UV Tourmaline Confexia, Flame Bl00dr4g3 Fatal1ty
    --SONY GDM-FW900 24" widescreen CRT, overclocked to:
    2560x1600 resolution at 68Hz!(from 2304x1440@80Hz)

    Updated List of Video Card GPU Voodoopower Ratings!!!!!

  5. #55
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    290
    Quote Originally Posted by Bo_Fox View Post
    Hardly ownage, since it's not a REPUTABLE source just yet..

    The more used it is, the slower it gets, plus it's only 30 or 60GB.

    Many of us still do not think it's worth it. Just read the thread.
    ...what are you talking about, 30GB drives degrade faster than larger ones. Are you sure you're familiar with how SSDs actually function and performance levels off, and why? That's a genuine question.

    TechReport is the site that ran an SSD test suite review on a Pentium 4, ICH7 system with 1GB RAM. So they're more reputable than me?

  6. #56
    Visitor
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    676
    Quote Originally Posted by Bo_Fox View Post
    Until I see somebody else from a reputable source putting up real numbers that significantly differ, I will continue to trust Techreport.com.
    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid...=expert&pid=10

  7. #57
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Telperion View Post
    ...what are you talking about, 30GB drives degrade faster than larger ones. Are you sure you're familiar with how SSDs actually function and performance levels off, and why? That's a genuine question.

    TechReport is the site that ran an SSD test suite review on a Pentium 4, ICH7 system with 1GB RAM. So they're more reputable than me?
    leave it, you will not alter his mind...those with vertex who know how to set up a system are enjoying the drives...thats all that is needed
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  8. #58
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    594
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    leave it, you will not alter his mind...those with vertex who know how to set up a system are enjoying the drives...thats all that is needed
    Yes it's obvious he hasn't tested an OS installed on a proper ssd. I say test it before you judge it...

  9. #59
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    leave it, you will not alter his mind...those with vertex who know how to set up a system are enjoying the drives...thats all that is needed
    If everybody would properly setup their drives like via the good guides on the OCZ forum then he would beleive it... some just pop it in and format it, there's more to it... at first I thought my XP64 rebooted (due to a bad OC) as it was barely able to load the splash screen, next screen was my desktop :p

    These drives are awesome ! and they have dropped in price... I'm not looking back at my raptors at all... If you don't have tested them yourself no need to keep on arguing as you are not aware what you are missing... even the slowest SSD makes a laptop scream !
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  10. #60
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
    If everybody would properly setup their drives like via the good guides on the OCZ forum then he would beleive it... some just pop it in and format it, there's more to it... at first I thought my XP64 rebooted (due to a bad OC) as it was barely able to load the splash screen, next screen was my desktop :p
    Are you serious? If you cant just pop it in and format it. Then something is obviously wrong with the product. Its like having SLI/Crossfire but you manually have to make all the profiles yourself before you get it to work. But the guide can only be found on some forum...
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  11. #61
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    10,359
    This is to get the most out of the product... if you don't do it, that's your loss... it works out of the box but it's better to align it and co to get max performance...(takes max 5 minutes to set it up) and don't tell me that SLI or crossfire works out of the box, as it doesn't !!! profile or not but that's another discussion...

    How many mobo's work straight out of the box with all comon hardware ?
    Question : Why do some overclockers switch into d*ckmode when money is involved

    Remark : They call me Pro Asus Saaya yupp, I agree

  12. #62
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    594
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Are you serious? If you cant just pop it in and format it. Then something is obviously wrong with the product. Its like having SLI/Crossfire but you manually have to make all the profiles yourself before you get it to work. But the guide can only be found on some forum...
    Of course you can but it's like any other hardware product. You buy a cpu and then you oc it to get the best performance out of it although it's very fast @ stock.

    Same thing with ssds, fast @ stock but even faster after some tweaking like aligning them

  13. #63
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by Xcel View Post
    Of course you can but it's like any other hardware product. You buy a cpu and then you oc it to get the best performance out of it although it's very fast @ stock.

    Same thing with ssds, fast @ stock but even faster after some tweaking like aligning them
    You dont need to tweak and allign other SSDs like X25. It runs the best all the time. Just like mechanical HDs.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  14. #64
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    川崎市
    Posts
    2,076
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    You dont need to tweak and allign other SSDs like X25. It runs the best all the time. Just like mechanical HDs.
    Most of the SSD tweaks are only necessary on Win Xp as it does not have any clue how to deal with SSDs, with Win 7 you can skip most of the tweaks.

  15. #65
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    1,545
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Are you serious? If you cant just pop it in and format it. Then something is obviously wrong with the product. Its like having SLI/Crossfire but you manually have to make all the profiles yourself before you get it to work. But the guide can only be found on some forum...
    I popped in my new video card/TV tuner/peripheral, and it didn't just work! Drivers? I have to do something before it works?! This product is crap, it didn't just work when I plugged in it!

    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    You dont need to tweak and allign other SSDs like X25. It runs the best all the time. Just like mechanical HDs.
    You really just want to blame this on OCZ, don't you?

    All SSDs should have a properly aligned partition on them, it's stupid not to. Regardless, it's the fault of operating systems like XP and Vista not properly aligning the partition when they create it, not the SSD. Windows 7 handles this just fine, it will create a properly aligned partition if it detects a SSD.

  16. #66
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,244
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    You dont need to tweak and allign other SSDs like X25. It runs the best all the time. Just like mechanical HDs.
    to pay too much money for one intel or be clever and tweak non intel for low money.

    I cannot disregard the value of $€

    /potential vertex buyer

    and real socialist not intel capitalist lol

  17. #67
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Posts
    384
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    You dont need to tweak and allign other SSDs like X25. It runs the best all the time. Just like mechanical HDs.
    So then you have never defraged a mechanical HD? Would you consider this tweaking? or should the HD do this itself, "out of the box"?

  18. #68
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by sdsdv10 View Post
    So then you have never defraged a mechanical HD? Would you consider this tweaking? or should the HD do this itself, "out of the box"?
    I dont considering it needed. Specially since data is far from static.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  19. #69
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    849
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Are you serious? If you cant just pop it in and format it. Then something is obviously wrong with the product. Its like having SLI/Crossfire but you manually have to make all the profiles yourself before you get it to work. But the guide can only be found on some forum...
    Clearly you don't belong on this forum if you're opposed to 5 minutes of work using an easy-to-follow guide to get the best performance out of a product.

    Please call 1-800-WWW-DELL for a machine you don't have to tweak, since you're obviously opposed to other things like overclocking.

    • i7 920 D0 // eVGA X58 SLI // 12GB G.Skill Ripjaws // HD6950 (6970 BIOS)
    • Apogee XT // MCP655 // Thermochill PA120.3 // CM HAF 932
    • OCZ Vertex 3 MI edition // ASUS Xonar DX // Corsair TX850
    • HTC Incredible - Uber Kingdom Revolution ROM


  20. #70
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,771
    Quote Originally Posted by YMAA View Post
    Clearly you don't belong on this forum if you're opposed to 5 minutes of work using an easy-to-follow guide to get the best performance out of a product.

    Please call 1-800-WWW-DELL for a machine you don't have to tweak, since you're obviously opposed to other things like overclocking.
    There is too much complicated setup once you receive a Dell, try www.Apple.com

    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    I dont considering it needed. Specially since data is far from static.
    Changing settings to accommodate an SSD isn't needed then either.

  21. #71
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8,829
    Shintai has a point, though. Not everyone who buys Vertax will have a clue these tweaks even exist. So for a lot of consumers who want things to work "out of the box" the difference will be here. But they are surely appreciated by enthusiasts and advanced users in general.
    Last edited by zalbard; 07-09-2009 at 06:04 AM.

  22. #72
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,565
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony View Post
    TRIM whether native or 3rd party has to see the drive, if the OS or the app see a raid controller is that the drives fault?

    We were talking to some raid engineers a week back or so, there is still no agreement for the equivalent of TRIM on raid....so its nothing to do with the drives you attach...its all to do with the raid controller and its firmware. TRIM in raid will be handled by the raid card or controller...you need to remember that.

    vertex does have good idle time garbage collection now and does a good job of looking after its self when in raid as long as you give it enough idle time.
    I am not saying its the fault of OCZ, I use 2 Vertex drives myself, but just that when comparing the performance to that of a normal high end hard Drive raid array, this IS something to consider, as there is no TRIM, whether it be raid controller limitation or not, it is still something we currently have to deal with and shouldnt be dismissed when comparing SSD's to normal drives, since the trim only works when using it as a stand alone setup.
    EVGA X58 Classified
    Intel i7 965
    Corsair Dominator 1600mhz 3x2gb
    Nvidia GTX 295

  23. #73
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    339
    Quote Originally Posted by zalbard View Post
    Shintai has a point, though. Not everyone who buys Vertax will have a clue these tweaks even exist. So for a lot of consumers who want things to work "out of the box" the difference will be here.
    That's exactly the point.

    Do OCZ put something in the box that says "This is new and constantly updated technology. Please visit blahblahblah to find out how best to install and update your SSD", or is it just an SSD in a box?

    If it's the latter, then I'd be pretty bummed. But if it's the former, then what's the big deal?

  24. #74
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Quote Originally Posted by RazzleUltra View Post
    That's exactly the point.

    Do OCZ put something in the box that says "This is new and constantly updated technology. Please visit blahblahblah to find out how best to install and update your SSD", or is it just an SSD in a box?

    If it's the latter, then I'd be pretty bummed. But if it's the former, then what's the big deal?
    Another problem is alligning partitions and selecting another than default allocation size cant be done without a running Windows OS. In short, you need to conf and setup the drive in Windows before you install Windows on it.

    Not to talk about all the registry edits and disabling of anything from hibernation and pagefiles to services while disabling prefetchers, change cache sizes, disable certain NTFS naming features, running 3rd party advanced defrag utility (no its not TRIM) etc to get a working product. For me this aint tweaking and performance tuning. Its hotfixing.
    Last edited by Shintai; 07-09-2009 at 06:10 AM.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  25. #75
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,471
    Quote Originally Posted by YMAA View Post
    Clearly you don't belong on this forum if you're opposed to 5 minutes of work using an easy-to-follow guide to get the best performance out of a product.
    I like OCZ products just fine m8, but don't confuse out of the box functionality with out of the box performance. What we do with Motherboards and Processors is increase the out of the box performance, but at stock, everyone has the same performance, as guaranteed by the manufacturers.

    What is lacking in some of OCZ's SSDs is the same out of the box functionality as some of the other SSDs in the market. I shouldn't have to tweak a piece of hardware JUST to have it run well at STOCK. That's just unreasonable.

    Perkam

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •