MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: E6600 + X1900XT 512MB to Q9550 + HD4870 1GB VAPOR X

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20

    E6600 + X1900XT 512MB to Q9550 + HD4870 1GB VAPOR X

    HI !

    I just want to know if it's a good idea to switch my old stuff for this :

    OLD :

    Asus P5B Deluxe
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3.4 Ghz
    4 GB OCZ Platinium PC2-6400 REV 2
    Sapphire Radeon X1900XT 512 MB


    New :

    Intel P45 (Do i need to change my mobo or if yes which one do you suggest me ?)
    Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
    Sapphire Radeon HD4870 1GB VAPOR X

    So I'm waiting about your suggestion

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    165

    Talking

    X1900XT to HD4890 1GB $200 - Yes

    E6600 to Q9550 - Neutral

    Options -

    • Dont change mobo, just buy Q9550, $169 @ MicroCenter, if P5B supports E0 stepping.

    • Gigabyte P45 UD3P/R + Q9550

    • AMD Phenom II X4 940 + 790GX, Combo at Newegg $200

    • Just upgrade GPU, stay with E6600 at 3.4, its good enough, Upgrade to i5 later.
    i5 4440 - H81 PRO BTC R2.0 - Vengeance 4X2 GB - 850 PRO 128 GB - R7 240 - Pana L42ET60D / Dell S2240L - 3128 GB HDD - Audio Technica M50 - FiiO E10 - Swans M50 W - Xonar DX - Fenvi WiFi/BT 5 - Hauppage MCE Remote - VS350 - Carbide 400R - Windows 10 x64 - Corsair K55 RGB.
    Super proud to quit smoking since Sep 2016!

  3. #3
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    What do you mean by switch? Are you switching it for a rig or buying the parts?

    Because if you're buying parts, there are better deals out there.

    Perkam

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    96
    Quote Originally Posted by Atomic41 View Post
    Sapphire Radeon HD4870 1GB VAPOR X
    If this card use ATi Reference board, then forget it. You should go for other HD4870 that having a non-reference board design since a lot of HD4870/4890 have VRM's flaw, mine is a 4870 512MB Toxic Vapor-X with the stupid VRM from AMD/ATi.

    /Signs of reference board: 3 phase digital VRM for GPU, uses V|TEC inductors. My friend's PowerColor HD4870 PCS+ with 4 phase digital VRM doesn't have this problem...

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=228224

    and

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=224958

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20
    I just want to change some parts of my rig.

    So I'm thinking about the CPU + the Video card !

    What are you thinking about it !

  6. #6
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    Go Q9550 + 4890 for best combo if you're only changing CPU + GPU.

    Perkam

  7. #7
    yeah, i think that's a great idea.... good luck...

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    397
    Don't change your board. P35 should clock the 9550 well enough, it's super hard to justify 100$+ for a new board when P45 isn't very different from P45.
    Hardware
    • Core i5 750 @ 3.6Ghz (180x20)
    • Scythe Zipang 2
    • 4x2Gb DDR3 (1080@7-7-7-16, 1.65v)
    • Gigabyte P55-UD2
    • EVGA GTX 260, Corsair 550VX, mATX case


    Audio/Video
    • Samsung LN32A550 32" 1080p LCD
    • Asus Xonar Essence STX
      1. Denon AH-D2000
      2. Sony STR-DE197 -> Polk Audio M10


    Desktop Picture

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20
    Q9550 (250$ CAN)

    Sapphire Toxic HD4870 1GB (150$ CAN)

    or waiting until i5 or i7 but the increase of performance isn't big between CORE 2 QUAD and i7 ???

    I think a can save a lot if I just change my CPU + GPU because all the rest of my stuff is very good I think ? no ....

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    80
    Quote Originally Posted by Atomic41 View Post
    Q9550 (250$ CAN)

    Sapphire Toxic HD4870 1GB (150$ CAN)

    or waiting until i5 or i7 but the increase of performance isn't big between CORE 2 QUAD and i7 ???

    I think a can save a lot if I just change my CPU + GPU because all the rest of my stuff is very good I think ? no ....
    I think E6600@3.600GHz it's good again especially for games. Save your money for upgrade to i7 . I won't buy i7 because it's very expensive for me..I'll buy the newest version of Amd Phenom
    Last edited by User111; 07-18-2009 at 09:31 AM.
    E8500@4.4GHz (du 500x8 1.20v)|Noctua NH-U12F|2GB Tg Xtreem PC9600@720MHz 5-5-5-15-606MHz 4-4-4-12-475MHz 3-3-3-9|Gigabyte Ga-Ep45-Ud3r 1.1|Radeon HD4870 512MB@250/450MHz 1.083v|WD6401AALS@Ich10r|Corsair HX750W|Win Vista x64 SP2+Win 2K3 x32|Asus VH226H|HAF932|E4400@3.98Ghz oc ~99%|Ciao Max 24/07/2008

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20
    Do I upgrade my video card ?

    because I think it's just my X1900XT 512MB that slowing me in game ...

    for 220$ I can have a XFX 4890 1 GB double lifetime warranty or

    for 165 $ a XFX 4870 1GB with a lifetime warranty

    Which one it's going to be a good choice ?

  12. #12
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    HD 4890 >>>>> X1900XTX Xfire.

    That should put things in perspective.

    Perkam

  13. #13
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Red Maple Leaf
    Posts
    1,556
    Quote Originally Posted by Atomic41 View Post
    Do I upgrade my video card ?

    because I think it's just my X1900XT 512MB that slowing me in game ...

    for 220$ I can have a XFX 4890 1 GB double lifetime warranty or

    for 165 $ a XFX 4870 1GB with a lifetime warranty

    Which one it's going to be a good choice ?
    The HD4890 is something like 20% faster but costs an extra 30%, so the HD4870 would give you the best bang for buck but its really close.
    E8400 @ 4.0 | ASUS P5Q-E P45 | 4GB Mushkin Redline DDR2-1000 | WD SE16 640GB | HD4870 ASUS Top | Antec 300 | Noctua & Thermalright Cool
    Windows 7 Professional x64


    Vista & Seven Tweaks, Tips, and Tutorials: http://www.vistax64.com/

    Game's running choppy? See: http://www.tweakguides.com/

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    158
    I would definitely only upgrade your video card. your dual core is clocked pretty high, so it's fine for most games. I doubt the improvement in performance would be worth the money to upgrade to a quad core. What size screen are you playing on? If you're not playing on a monitor above 20 - 22", i probably wouldn't get a 1GB card, just to save money.
    Cosmos S
    Core i7 920 3.9GHz
    6GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600
    EVGA GTX 285
    X-fi Forte
    WD VR 300GB
    EVGA x58 MB

    LC Loop
    Swiftech GTZ
    Swiftech MCR-320 Radiator
    Swiftech MCP655
    EK Multi option reservoir
    Feser 1/2" ID tubing (AWESOME)

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20
    I play on a 22" screen Samsung 226BW

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Suddenly, Minneapolis...again
    Posts
    1,399
    What are you planning on doing with your rig? If your just gaming then I would just upgrade the video card to a high end card. 99% of games are not optomized to take advantage of 4 cores and 3.6Ghz vs 4.0Ghz (like my E8400) isnt very noticeable except in synthetic benchmarks which dont reflect true gaming performance.

    And the i7 or i5 series tend to only have noticeable advantages over C2Q's in professional apps. In gaming I will still put my C2D up against i7 and would expect fairly little performance loss from my 3 yr old arcitecture.

    I can play crysis at 1280 x whatever it is (havent played in a bit) for wide screen at 4x AA and I get nothing but the subtlist of laggs on high action senerios. And dont let my sig fool you. I dont run that setting. It does 4.2GHz on my air. But I run at stock for 99% of everything I do. and I still stand by those numbers.

    I have personnaly found DDR667 @ 3339 to "feel" a bit crisper. Makes me wonder some times.
    Last edited by little_scrapper; 08-20-2009 at 04:55 PM.
    Boy that info was old. As am I. Currently my kids have taken over my desktops. They are both sporting matching GTX1080's. Last Christmas I got everyone Oculuses and thus GTX1080's. My eldest is some sort of CSGO champion gold label something or other. Me I work and shoot real guns. Build Comps as needed.

  17. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    20
    Ok so I'm interess to move to a Sapphire HD5850 on my rig. Do you think it's a good move ?

    Intel E6600 @ 3.4Ghz
    4GB OCZ Platinium REV 2
    Asus P5B Deluxe
    OCZ GameXstream 700W
    Samsung 226BW "S" 22 inch screen

    What do you think about it ? I will pay it 309$ Canadian ...


    Thanks for your helps

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •