Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 129

Thread: ThrottleStop - Performance Adjustment Tool for Core 2 / Core i CPUs

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040

    ThrottleStop - Performance Adjustment Tool for Core 2 / Core i CPUs



    ThrottleStop 6.00
    http://www.thedigitalhq.com/downloads/

    New Features:
    - Intel 4th Generation Core i Haswell CPU support.
    - TDP Level Control for the ULV processors.
    - report of throttling due to TDP limit or CPU package temperature.
    - added PROCHOT (processor hot) offset reporting.
    - improved Windows 7 and Windows 8 system tray / notification area icon support.

    Here's some info about what you can do with ThrottleStop:

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/acer...r-windows.html

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/wind...ore-2-duo.html

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/alie...7-um-cpus.html
    Last edited by unclewebb; 10-04-2013 at 08:19 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast xsbb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Test Labs
    Posts
    512
    Thanks unclewebb!

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    I've been thinking about combining a few of my tools into a new program to give better thermal control over laptop / mobile CPUs.

    I'm not yet sure what's possible but I did some testing tonight on a T7200 which uses a VID of 1.2750 at full load. When running a single instance of Prime95 Small FFTs, the core 0 temperature was up to 86C.



    CPU-Z doesn't report the actual core voltage for this laptop, just VID, so actual core voltage was likely slightly less than that due to vdroop. I adjusted VID as low as it could go and I ended up at a VID setting of 1.0625 volts.

    One thread of Prime95 was still running as I dropped VID lower and lower and lower and look at the results. In under 4 minutes, Core 0 had dropped 20C from its maximum of 86C down to 66C with this one simple tweak. I think most laptop users could appreciate a simple app that gave them this much control.



    I didn't run a gazillion hours of P95 but it was obvious that this CPU is capable of running reliably at full speed without needing anywhere near the default voltage. You would save a lot of power and battery life when watching a movie or whatever without sacrificing any performance.

    My plan would be to support Core 2 mobile CPUs including the 45nm series like the P8400. I like the possibilities but I need some positive feedback before deciding how much effort to put into this new project.

    What do you think?

  4. #4
    Never go full retard skinnee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,979
    Please!!!!

  5. #5
    V3 Xeons coming soon! Movieman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    33,437
    stuck..
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    The XS WCG team needs your support.
    A good project with good goals.
    Come join us,get that warm fuzzy feeling that you've done something good for mankind.

    Quote Originally Posted by Frisch View Post
    If you have lost faith in humanity, then hold a newborn in your hands.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    What do you think?
    You know I'm in Kevin.
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Mentor stasio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Malaysia
    Posts
    2,883
    unclewebb,for Core Voltage make sure that Sensor=1(ON) in the ini. file[Sensor=0(OFF)-Core VID]
    Need a Gigabyte latest BIOS?
    GA-Z97X-SOC Force ,Core i7-4790K @ 4.9 GHz
    GA-Z87X-UD3H ,Core i7-4770K @ 4.65 GHz
    G.Skill F3-2933C12D-8GTXDG @ 3100 (12-15-14-35-CR1) @1.66V
    2xSSD Corsair Force GS 128 (RAID 0), WD Caviar Black SATA3 1TB HDD,
    Evga GTS 450 SC, Gigabyte Superb 720W
    XSPC RayStorm D5 EX240 (Liquid Ultra)
    NZXT Phantom 630 Ultra Tower
    Win 7 SP1 x64;Win 8.1 x64 (6.3)

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Holy crap. I haven't done anything yet and you've already set this to a sticky. Nothing like setting the bar nice and high.

    Thanks stasio. I know about that trick but I had forgotten about it. I think on the Dell laptop I was using, that setting didn't matter. Either way it would report the VID and not the actual core voltage. I'll give it a try later today when my testing tool comes back home, along with my wife.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    23
    I have a T8100, and will gladly help test it out... just let me know what to do! Thanks BTW

  10. #10
    Xtreme Addict WaterFlex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Russia
    Posts
    1,902
    Thank you!

    Intel Q9650 @500x9MHz/1,3V
    Asus Maximus II Formula @Performance Level=7
    OCZ OCZ2B1200LV4GK 4x2GB @1200MHz/5-5-5-15/1,8V
    OCZ SSD Vertex 3 120Gb
    Seagate RAID0 2x ST1000DM003
    XFX HD7970 3GB @1111MHz
    Thermaltake Xaser VI BWS
    Seasonic Platinum SS-1000XP
    M-Audio Audiophile 192
    LG W2486L
    Liquid Cooling System :
    ThermoChill PA120.3 + Coolgate 4x120
    Swiftech Apogee XT, Swiftech MCW-NBMAX Northbridge
    Watercool HeatKiller GPU-X3 79X0 Ni-Bl + HeatKiller GPU Backplate 79X0
    Laing 12V DDC-1Plus with XSPC Laing DDC Reservoir Top
    3x Scythe S-FLEX "F", 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon "15", Scythe Kaze Master Ace 5,25''

    Apple MacBook Pro 17` Early 2011:
    CPU: Sandy Bridge Intel Core i7 2720QM
    RAM: Crucial 2x4GB DDR3 1333
    SSD: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB SSD
    HDD: ADATA Nobility NH13 1GB White
    OS: Mac OS X Mavericks

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member ACE76's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    276
    So by just playing with different combos of the C States, you can lower the voltage to the CPU? I have a bunch of laptops and the one I'm using now has a T7500 but after loading the app, different c states were checked...guess different mobos do it differently. I just want to know if there is some pattern to follow or is this just something you play with and then test to see if the CPU can work with the given voltage.
    Ultra Aluminus/Silverstone SUGO 05/Thermaltake SPEDO
    Asus P6TD Deluxe/Zotac Mini-ITX GeForce 9300
    Core I3 3ghz/Core i7 920 D0
    TRUE Black/CM Hyper 212 Plus
    G.Skill 4GB PC8500/3GB Corsair DDR3-1866/6GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
    ATI HD4850 1GB/ATI HD4890 1GB/ATI HD5850
    Samsung 305T Plus
    Asus Xonar HDAV 1.3/Creative X-Fi PCI-E
    4 Intel X-25M 80GB SSD RAID-0/Areca 1231ML
    LG 8X Blu-Ray Burner/LG 10X Blu-Ray Burner/Sony Slimline Blu-Ray Optical
    Ultra X3 1600W/Ultra X3 1000W

  12. #12
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    A program to lower VID which will lower core voltages is a future work in progress. You could try RMClock which has the ability to lower core voltages on some boards. The C-States tool will let your CPU go into some of the lower power states.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast The-Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    544
    looks pretty cool unclewebb.
    I just thought with my twisted mind that I can turn off 3 cores in my i7 and then bump the multy to x22 on the fly (at least it is supposed to do it according to the turbo spec)
    Any chance we will be seeing support for i7 cpus with vid and C states ?

    btw, is it possible to move any core to C6 state (off) with this tool ? or it can only be done upon reset ?

    PC: Intel Core i7 920 D0 | Kingston Hyperx T1 6GB 2000Mhz 8-8-8 RAM | Foxconn Bloodrage GTI | Sapphire 4870X2 | Perc 5/i - WD 640AAKSx4 RAID0 | Asus 2014L1T | Dell 2407WFP | Lian Li G70 Silver Watercooled
    WaterCooling: Q² Project by The-Fox
    CPU Loop: Swiftech Apogee GTZ | Feser X-Changer 480 | Swiftech MCP655 Vario w/ DetroitAC top | EK Multioption RES 250 Rev.2 | Tygon R3603 1/2" | YL D12SL@1350RPM x4
    GPU Loop: EK-FC4870 X2 Nickel | Swiftech MCR320 | Swiftech MCP655 Vario w/DetroitAC top | EK Multioption RES 150 Rev.2 | Tygon R3603 1/2" | YL D12SL@1350RPM x3



  14. #14
    Xtreme Member synxll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    107
    thanks!!!, i'll try on a desktop c2d (e4300)

    Thanks again
    Wood Case Downloads: Biostar gf7050v-m7 SE + e4300 @ 3.5ghz 24/7 + TT Bigtyp VX + 2x1gb Supertalent @ 800 cas4 + MSI 7900gs @ 700-1680 + WD 500gb + PSU Hec Orion 585w + Custom Wood Case
    Case Worklog: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=181681

    Wood Case Gamer: Biostar gf7050v-m7 SE + e7200 @ 3.86ghz 24/7 + 2x1gb OCZ @ 800 cas4 + Sapphire HD4850 + 2x160Gb Raid 0 + PSU Topower 550w + Custom Wood Case
    Case Worklog: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197180

  15. #15
    I am Xtreme Hornet331's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    5,477
    nice to see your working on new stuff.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    The-Fox: Intel has not publicly released any VID information for Core i7 so programmers are screwed so far. Even Core i7 C-States are top secret information and listed as reserved in their documentation.

    rge was testing out getting a +2 turbo boost and he needed C3/C6 enabled in the bios so 3 of the 4 cores could go inactive when running a single threaded app. Then the one active core would get to use the +2 tubo but it only worked for him at default BCLK so it was kind of useless. I'm not sure how other boards handle this.

    This new tool is going to be designed mostly for Core 2 mobile CPUs. Most motherboards ignore VID requests from CPUs when you start overclocking so it won't be much use for them. It's on the things to do list after I get an 8 core version of RealTemp finished off. The kids steal my main computer during July so it's tough to get my work done.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    513
    Quote Originally Posted by unclewebb View Post
    A program to lower VID which will lower core voltages is a future work in progress. You could try RMClock which has the ability to lower core voltages on some boards. The C-States tool will let your CPU go into some of the lower power states.
    This would be great since RMClock doesn't support half multipliers and it would nice to have undervolting capabilities on my laptop with a 2.53 Penryn without suffering a small underclock as well.

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member burebista's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    319
    Until uncle's program you can try CrystalCPUID instead RMClock.
    If it ain't broke... fix it until it is.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    139
    What does modifying C-State do?

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    10
    I've a Dell Inspiron 1420 with the old C2Duo 2.0GHz processor and I'd LOVE to be able to drop that voltage to next to nothing for battery life (at 2.0 it likely COULD be 1.0v or lower). In short, can I have this yet?
    i7 920 D0 @ 4.7+HT | Classified E760 | 2 x GTX 480 | 3 x 2GB DDR2000 GSkill Trident 9-9-9-24
    Heatkiller 3.0 Acetal CPU Block + 2x Swiftec MCW60 + 4x120 BIX Rad | 2x 128GB C300 SSDs

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member Burn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    282
    Been having difficulty getting this to work on my Q9550 and EP45-UD3P. Any help?
    CNC Waterblock Builder
    Q9550, Rev. E0
    Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
    4GB G.Skill DDR2-1000
    eVga GTX 260 Core 216 Superclocked
    3 Western Digital 80GB, RAID 0; 500GB Seagate 7200.11
    Silverstone OP750 PSU

    Extreme Watercooling
    Swiftech MCR-QP 360
    D-Tek Fuzion v1
    Laing D5
    D-Tek Fuzion GFX rev. 2

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040


    http://www.fileden.com/files/2008/3/...rottleStop.zip

    The C-States program and idea kind of died but it has been replaced with a program called ThrottleStop.

    There is a significant problem on many Dell laptops where Clock Modulation is used to slow down the CPU internally without warning users about what's going on. Some laptops also throttle back the CPU multiplier which can also significantly reduce performance.

    This new tool can fix both of those issues plus it has the ability to set half multipliers on 45nm Core 2 CPUs, enable Super Low Frequency Mode (SLFM) as well as adjust voltage ID on the fly. At full load, only lower VID one step at a time or you might lose stability. It's a good idea to run Prime95 Small FFTs or similar when playing with this setting. On a T7200 I was able to lower the core temperature by 20C while running Prime by simply adjusting VID lower.

    If this simple program dramatically improves the performance of your laptop then consider donating $5 bucks to encourage future development. This version will expire in a couple of weeks so I hope I don't have to add some nagging messages to the next release of ThrottleStop. I hate them.

    ThrottleStop presently supports Core 2 and Core i7 mobile CPUs.

    Happy testing.

  23. #23
    Registered User chinobino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    98
    Which OS have you been testing with unclewebb?

    Will this program override your selected power configuration? (i.e. 'Laptop/Battery' in XP or 'Power Saver' in Windows 7)
    Intel 3770K @ 4.5 GHz (L204B337)
    ASRock Z77 Fata1lity Pro
    2x4GB Corsair DDR3-2666
    GTX580 SLI (MSI Lightning)
    4 x Intel 80GB x25-m SSD's RAID0
    Corsair H70
    Enermax Revolution 85+ 1250W

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict unclewebb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Cochrane, Canada
    Posts
    2,040
    Quote Originally Posted by chinobino View Post
    Will this program override your selected power configuration? (i.e. 'Laptop/Battery' in XP or 'Power Saver' in Windows 7)
    Probably. This tool at the moment is mostly for the Dell laptops with Core i7 mobile CPUs that throttle like crazy when gaming. This utility has been used successfully on Windows 7 for this purpose but I think it might override pretty much any power profile in any operating system. Due to demand, it was a rush job to get this tool out to testers. Hopefully I'll have some more time to play with it, test it and make it better in the near future.

  25. #25
    Xtreme Enthusiast In-Fluence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    531
    I've been using this for my E7500 I put in my lappy the other week. It's been working great and has enabled me to keep my volts low whilst still being able to o/c!

    You're beginning to provide a nice plethora of handy utils for tweaking and monitoring Unclewebb. Nice work and many thanks!

    Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R F6 : i7 920 D0 4.4GHz 1.4v : 4Gb G.Skill ECO 6-8-6-24 1.54v
    Apogee XT & MCW30 : XSPC Dual 750 w/DDC+18W : RX120 & RX240 : Tygon tubing : Corsair HX 850
    2x750Gb 7200.12 RAID0 : 2x500Gb 7200.12 RAID1 : Samsung DVD-RW : LG BD-R
    Antec P182 with 5 x Noctua NF-P12 & 1 x Akasa Apache
    M-Audio Delta 1010 (Rack) : Behringer Truth B2031A
    XFX 5770 + 8600GTS (physx) : 2x Samsung Syncmaster 710n

    Lappy: Asus C90s & E7500 @3.17GHz w/ 4Gb RAM & top scoring 8600m GT DDR2



Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •