Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: cpu for Blackops

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    101

    cpu for Blackops

    I know it's not on the Foxconn list of supported cpu's, but that list may be out of date... I'm hoping someone can tell me if e5200 will work on this board. Really hope it will, as I believe it's a chip with great OC potential, and for around $100 au it's much cheaper than cooking a quad... Also from what I've read, dual core's are simpler to tweak than quads, at least with this board, which it seems to me a made for gamers (I'm not a gamer) and overclockers,

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    all socket 775 chips will be compatible as far as i know.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    126
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteFireDragon View Post
    all socket 775 chips will be compatible as far as i know.
    This. Any socket 775 chip will work with x48.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    101
    So I was correct, it's just that the e5200 came out after Foxconn stopped upfdating their supported CPU list. Will grab one next payday then.
    BLACKOPS mobo., 4 GB Corsair xms3 XMP DDR3 RAM @1333 7-7-7-20, seagate 'cuda v11, 1TB, Q9650 @ 3.7, Megahalems cooler, corsair HX620 PSU, Galaxy 9800 GT. Win 7 HP 64. Intel X25-M G1 80 GB ssd

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    169
    If I remember correctly, Blackops with older bioses might have non-boot (?) issues with some newer LGA 775 45nm (Q9xxx?) chips. Might be wise to grab something cheap like a Celeron L 430 (as backup) which should work with an old bios (in my case, worked fine with P02). You can then boot into OS (dos..windows..whatever) and flash the bios chips to current standards, if your E5200 needs this.

    XmX

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    101
    e5200 should arrive in a couplefew days.

    will look for a cheap celeron if it doesn't boot.
    fingers crossed.

    edit.
    Got my gpu and dvd drive today, plugged in and switched on, posted 1st try.
    Installed ubuntu (will prob get vista 64 next payday) and my new comp is working great!
    Very happy so far with my 1st ground up build. Even did some cable sleeving and didn't make too much of a hash of that.
    Still on stack cooling, so won't try oc'ing anything just yet...
    Last edited by Spork!; 07-03-2009 at 12:25 AM.
    BLACKOPS mobo., 4 GB Corsair xms3 XMP DDR3 RAM @1333 7-7-7-20, seagate 'cuda v11, 1TB, Q9650 @ 3.7, Megahalems cooler, corsair HX620 PSU, Galaxy 9800 GT. Win 7 HP 64. Intel X25-M G1 80 GB ssd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •