Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Whitewater fits on A64 boards (sort of)

  1. #1
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341

    Whitewater fits on A64 boards (sort of)

    Until they come up with an adapter, you can just take the plastic cpu mounting bracket and slide it on top of the WW. Ceter it and screw it down with some screws into the backplate, but you need to use some heavy duty springs on the tops of the screws to get the correct pressure and if necessary use some rubber washers to create the right spacing. I use 4 rubber washers below to help support the frame and keep form overtightening, and 2 rubber washers above to create the right spacing then heavy duty springs that came with a swiftech block. Works pretty well. My idle temps are arround 26 deg. at close to 2500mhz.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    .
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Xtreme 3D Mark Team Staff Kunaak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Juneau Alaska
    Posts
    8,036
    looks like it works to me

    I see you have a leadtek board.
    is that the 754?




    "The command and conquer model," said the EA CEO, "doesn't work. If you think you're going to buy a developer and put your name on the label... you're making a profound mistake."

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    K8NW Pro (940)
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    52
    here is my 462-UH on k8nnxp
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member Pimpsho's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    uranus
    Posts
    446
    man u guys are ingenious!! nice nice nice work boys

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    29
    xgman

    You just made my choice of a prometia or A64 setup easier. Good find!
    3DM0120637 3DM03 6384

  8. #8
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    At 2530mhz now idle 23, load 29 deg. This WW works very well on the FX as long as you lap the FX a bit and of course the WW base also.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  9. #9
    Nookie420
    Guest
    could just remove the heatspreader from the fx

  10. #10
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    I already did a couple and the die corners chip/crack too easy.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast zippyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas. USA
    Posts
    728

    Whitewater and A64, results??

    Do you have any temps to share with us to indicate how the WW block performs on the 64 VS. a regular XP? 26C looks very good actually. How about under full load?

    What voltages were you running on each chip?

    Thanks!
    Last edited by zippyc; 01-18-2004 at 07:26 AM.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341

    Re: Whitewater and A64, results??

    Originally posted by zippyc
    Do you have any temps to share with us to indicate how the WW block performs on the 64 VS. a regular XP? 26C looks very good actually. How about under full load?

    What voltages were you running on each chip?

    Thanks!
    That was on the leadtek K8NW board. I now am using the Asus SK8V which reads the temps much higher. I think the leadtek temps report was out of wack. The Asus runs in the low to high 30's idle/load, at 2530mhz 1.73v with AS5. I can't remember what temps I was running with the WW on the XP cpu.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast zippyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas. USA
    Posts
    728

    Thanks...

    Thanks,

    That's helpful to me. Kinda suspected the temps were off on the leadtek.

    Does that Asus overclock better for you?

    I have a WW, and am scouting for my next board. Thanks.

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    109
    Wow. Never thought of that. You just saved me the $50 for a new waterblock!

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341

    Re: Thanks...

    Originally posted by zippyc
    Thanks,

    That's helpful to me. Kinda suspected the temps were off on the leadtek.

    Does that Asus overclock better for you?

    I have a WW, and am scouting for my next board. Thanks.
    IMHO, the sk8v is the ONLY board to consider, at least at the current time. No comparison.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    136
    you guys are screwing into the bottom of the board or have it coming up like it does on the XP? (I'm doin the latter, but it doesn't seem to be working too well, can't see how snug it is either :|
    DFi LanParty UT | Athlon 64 3700+ | 1gb Mushkin Black Lvl 2 PC3500 | ATi Radeon X800XT-PE

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict kommando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Br!ban3 / Aus / State: St0n3d
    Posts
    1,545
    Ahahahah nice, im gonna recommend this to all OCAU members. Oh yer don't forgot to check the the micro channels at times, they can get clogged up.

    And give it some brasso action.

    Ripping it up on old technology
    i4memory.com

  18. #18
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    The only thing is that you have to make sure to get it on nice and even since the block will slip around a bit under the frame untill you tighten it down. I use the washers so it is more likely to get an even tightening on both sides.
    {2012 27imac-3.4i7-680mx-32gb ram-768SSD+External TB Samsung840pro ssd + TB velociraptors-Moto828mkIII/Marantz/Amphion Sound-HPzR30w 2nd monitor}

  19. #19
    Xtreme Mentor xgman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    3,341
    Originally posted by Saffire
    you guys are screwing into the bottom of the board or have it coming up like it does on the XP? (I'm doin the latter, but it doesn't seem to be working too well, can't see how snug it is either :|
    You just screw right into the backplate, so you need the right length screws or they will bang into the MB tray. The washers and springs on top help with that. I used some swiftech kit ones. The springs shoulkd be tighter oines than the normal XP ones in order to put enough pressure on the AMD 64 spreraders.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    136
    Ahh, maybe thats why I was getting quirky temps -- I did it like a regular XP (used the same springs and everything). Temps would jump from 40-50 within the span of 5 seconds

    When everything gets back in I'll have to try that again.
    DFi LanParty UT | Athlon 64 3700+ | 1gb Mushkin Black Lvl 2 PC3500 | ATi Radeon X800XT-PE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •