Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Possible team partnership.....

XS WCG Hamster Herder

Possible team partnership.....

I'll start this out on the XS Stanford Folding team forum, and duplicate the thread on my "home", the WCG forum.

OK, I don't get out of my WCG cave very often, but I have had some revelations in the past couple of months. So, here I am....

When the forum crashed, I spent some time in the TPU XS refugee camp, here. It wasn't always pretty, but it didn't take us long to find out they had a WCG team trying to start up. Rammie and I brought our full farms over, as did others. We achieved the criteria for them to get a sub-forum, here. We knew we did a good thing by promoting the overall growth of this DC work we all do.

Since this was new to me and I was a folding noob, with a desire to get the WCG team going no matter what, I posted this in the WCG section. Link to original post here.

"Quote:Originally Posted by ShadowFold
    I think I will have my CPU boincing and my GPU folding"

My reply....
    "That is a recipe many at XS do. It works well. Crunching GPUGrid along with WCG, both on BOINC, also works but you have to watch what version you run on. It's a little trickier.

A thought for this team is to "cross-pollinate" with your folding team. Fold for them with your GPUs, and ask them to crunch WCG for your team.... A quick and easy way to boost both teams."

That's my basic idea here. With that in mind, I have moved three GTX 260-216s over to your XS folding team here. What I'm expecting in return is that some of you running the CPU(or SMP?) folding client cross those over to WCG. We have found that the WCG BOINC client is best at CPU utilization, and the folding GPU client is very efficient at folding for Stanford.