Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 91

Thread: Athlon II (Regor) In the house!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264

    Athlon II (Regor) In the house! - UPDATED -Underclking+Power consump

    ** UPDATED AGAN with UNderclocking an Power consumption.- see below**


    Picked one up a Athlong II X2 250 today.

    Doing a full review on the chip atm that i'm going to post on another site,

    I'll post direct Windsor K8 CLOCK to CLOCK comparisons for us curious folk, as well (will be the FIRST time we can actually do an apples to apples comparo of the two Uarchs [K8 vs K10] without differing cache structures) so i'm looking fwd to getting into that (nerd)

    Anyway thought I'd post some stocko performance, and info for now :

    Specs.

    TDP: 65w (vs 80w for the PHII X2's)
    Stk clock 3.0Ghz
    Stk Vcore 1.35v
    Cache: 2x 1MB L2 no L3
    NB clock: 2000Mhz





    Thoughts:

    * New 65w Heatsink is TINY.. pic's coming when I find my god damn card reader.

    * Despite, runs very cool @ stock. with Fan speed increase minimal at full load

    *Super pi performance appears about on par with or slightly faster than old Agena.. not sure about the others.

    ***CPU-Z needs an update Mr CPU-Z man (can't remember his nick )

    EDIT.. Added Die Shot's



    Estimated Die Size ~110mm2



    UPDATED:

    out of box stock/stock comparison with its predecassesors..

    Note, NOT ane exact uARCH comparison, that will be RE-Run at 2.8ghz +2.8ghz sync NB

    Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-MA770-US3
    RAM:
    2x1GB Crucial Ballistix @ DDR2-800 5-5-5-18
    Video: ATI HD4890 OC @ 950/1020

    HDD: SEagate 320GB 7200.1
    PSU: Seasonic 550w





    UPDATED..

    K8 vs K10 comparison.

    OK, so the purpose of this is to finally take a look at what core level improvments were made in the evolution from K8 to K10. Since barcelona we've had a different Cache hierarchy (wiht 2MB + of L3 cache), and independtently clocked northbridge.

    Fot this test I've matched the two CPU's clock speeds, and memory speeds to (finally) bring a comparison between the two.

    Of note though is the following:

    this uARCh is unofficially known as K10.5. In this revamp of the core, certain applications, most evident in POV RAY gained substantial extra performance since Phenom 1 /Barcelona, so this is obviously included in the results.

    secondly. the K8 runs only Ganged memory mode. This CPU or even the MOBO for whatever reason is unable to run in ganged mode, so all tests had to be run in Unganged.

    apart from that though, i've done my very best to match everything else. CPU's were swapped over and all RAM timings and clock speeds verified 100%. As follows:

    CPUs:

    AMD X2 6400+ Stepping F3. downclocked
    AMD Athlon II X2 250 C2. Downclocked.

    * Clockspeed 200 x 14 (2800Mhz
    * NB speed (K10) 200x14 (2800Mhz)
    * DDR2: 400Mhz (standard divider for the K8, 1:2 multi for K10)
    - timings 4-4-4-15 2T. With identical subtimings.

    Hypertransport: stock for K8. downclocked to 5x (1000Mhz) for Regor.

    All settings verified in CPU-Z (i forgot to take regor's ss, will post later)

    RESULTS:





    Here I've split the % advantage Averages into catagories.. my reasoning as follows:

    1st Average: no weighting of results. A plain average.

    2nd Average: Mandrelbot removed from the avg..

    Mandelbot benchmarks have recieved a massive increase in performance with K10. It may be just SSE enhancments, but it's a huge improvment. As its no indicative of overall performance i've classed it as a very large bottleneck improvment, or optimisation.

    3rd average:

    There are several other benchmarks that gained a huge boost from K10 . It's perfectly valid to keep these results in the average, however the majoirty of benchmarks show lesser improvements. I've made the cutoff at 30%. this is purely to segregate legacy/ commonplace code improvements.

    Please Discuss!


    UPDATE: UNDERCLOCKING AND POWER CONSUMPTION

    Notes etc:

    Power measured @ the wall. PSU is a 550w S12+ with PFC, so power readings should be reasonably accurate..

    NO CPU reading taken as a reference, obviously it's not to be taken TOO seriously as the memory, chipset at the least will probably be in a lower power state with no CPU, but it at least gives a worst case idea.





    Last edited by mAJORD; 06-08-2009 at 05:29 AM. Reason: updated with k8 vs k10 apples to apples comparison

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    794
    Saw the RAM timings and knew it was a gigabyte board, didn't even have to read anything

    lets see some tests against some of the K8 chips!

    what about some overclocking? does it do 4 Ghz easily?
    Computerr:
    Case: Cooler Master Gladiator 600
    Mobo: MSI 790FX-GD70...
    RAM: G.Skill ECO DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24 @ 1.4v.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 720 @ 3.6 GHz
    Graphics: Visiontek HD 5850 1gb
    PSU: Corsair HX650w.
    Cooling: Xigmatek HDT-S1283
    HDD: WD5000AAKS-00V1A0,Older 3 platter WD Black 1tb.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    641
    Quote Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
    Doing a full review on the chip atm that i'm going to post on another site,

    I'll post direct Windsor K8 CLOCK to CLOCK comparisons for us curious folk, as well (will be the FIRST time we can actually do an apples to apples comparo of the two Uarchs [K8 vs K10] without differing cache structures) so i'm looking fwd to getting into that (nerd)
    Looking forward to your report.

    Finally an energy-efficient offering from AMD, hopefully it'll match-up nicely with E5x00's in performance-per-watt department.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    Quote Originally Posted by breakfromyou View Post
    Saw the RAM timings and knew it was a gigabyte board, didn't even have to read anything

    what about some overclocking? does it do 4 Ghz easily?

    LOL Indeed.. typical wtf timings I get at default with my Ballistix.. go go gigabyte.

    I dunno about 4 gig, but with the miniscule stock heatsink (it's seriously tiny) it's doing 3.4 on stk volts benchmark stable, reported (belivable) 40c load temp.

    Still pushing it though, see when it falls over.

  5. #5
    Live Long And Overclock
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    14,551
    Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it. Clock it.



    Perkam

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    yes sire!

    Quick test before I go to bed, so only 20mins orthos.

    Stock HS and Vcore, as per Screenshot details.

    Here's a pic of the little HS Vs the 125watt heatpipe one.







  7. #7
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,663
    Wow, that cooler is tiny like the dual core Xeon HSFs. I bet if you put that massive Phenom II stock HSF on there it would make a big difference for overclocking. I see 4+Ghz on air prime stable with that HSF.
    Core i7 2600K@4.6Ghz| 16GB G.Skill@2133Mhz 9-11-10-28-38 1.65v| ASUS P8Z77-V PRO | Corsair 750i PSU | ASUS GTX 980 OC | Xonar DSX | Samsung 840 Pro 128GB |A bunch of HDDs and terabytes | Oculus Rift w/ touch | ASUS 24" 144Hz G-sync monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by phelan1777 View Post
    Hail fellow warrior albeit a surat Mercenary. I Hail to you from the Clans, Ghost Bear that is (Yes freebirth we still do and shall always view mercenaries with great disdain!) I have long been an honorable warrior of the mighty Warden Clan Ghost Bear the honorable Bekker surname. I salute your tenacity to show your freebirth sibkin their ignorance!

  8. #8
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Sweden, Linköping
    Posts
    2,034
    Quote Originally Posted by Mechromancer View Post
    Wow, that cooler is tiny like the dual core Xeon HSFs. I bet if you put that massive Phenom II stock HSF on there it would make a big difference for overclocking. I see 4+Ghz on air prime stable with that HSF.
    The Phenom I/Phenom II coolers are godly on 65-89W TDP CPUs.

    This time when I am getting both a Athlon II x2 and Phenom II x2 I will even bother to try out the stock heatsink, something I've never done before
    SweClockers.com

    CPU: Phenom II X4 955BE
    Clock: 4200MHz 1.4375v
    Memory: Dominator GT 2x2GB 1600MHz 6-6-6-20 1.65v
    Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
    GPU: HD 5770

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    19
    Quick & dirty. Opteron 170 @ 2.8GHz on Win'7. 31.625s.

    EDIT: 3GHz = 30.593s. As stated, it's quick & dirty. Thought I'd do it for those who didn't have the patiance for the "Extreme" users to do a proper job.
    Last edited by 2senile; 05-30-2009 at 04:16 PM.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    78
    how did you "pick one up"? i didnt even know these were available for sale yet

  11. #11
    I am Xtreme FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Czech republic
    Posts
    6,758
    nice...
    ROG Power PCs - Intel and AMD
    CPUs:i7-6950X, i7-5960X, 4x i7-7700K, i3-7350K, 2x i7-6700K, i5-6600K, R7-1800X, R7-1700X, 3x AMD FX-9590, 1x AMD FX-9370, 4x AMD FX-8350,1x AMD FX-8320,1x AMD FX-8300, 2x AMD FX-6300,2x AMD FX-4300, 3x AMD FX-8150, 2x AMD FX-8120 125 and 95W, AMD X2 555 BE, AMD x4 965 BE C2 and C3, AMD X4 970 BE, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD X6 1100T BE, A10-7870K, Athlon 845, Athlon 860K,AMD A10-7850K, AMD A10-6800K, A8-6600K, 2x AMD A10-5800K, AMD A10-5600K, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, 2x AMD A64 3000+, AMD 64+ X2 4600+ EE, Intel i7-980X, Intel i7-2600K, Intel i7-3770K,2x i7-4770K, Intel i7-3930KAMD Cinebench R10 challenge AMD Cinebench R15 thread Intel Cinebench R15 thread

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    157
    Quote Originally Posted by Overvolt_25 View Post
    how did you "pick one up"? i didnt even know these were available for sale yet
    Yep they are available down here ins Oz , but it seems most will have them available on tuesday
    Mine: i5 2500k @ 4.7gig - CM 212+ - GTX570 - Giga P67A-UD4 - 2 x 4gig Ripjaws 1600Mhz - OCZ vertex 2 120g - Corsair TX750 - Antec 300
    Wifies : Asrock 880GMH - Phenom II B50@3.5 gig - Gskill 2 x 2gig DDR3 1333 - HIS 5770 - 74g Raptor - CM TX3 - Vantec 620w PSU
    Kids: Asus M4N68 - Athlon x2 3800+ - 2 x 2gig Kingston - 8800GTS - CM TX3 - 74gig raptor - TT 550w

  13. #13
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Devon
    Posts
    3,425
    Me as similar nerd to you mAJORD can't wait for full review!

    Don't forget to look at the memory timings/speed influence on performance! I have a feeling it might be quite important without L3 cache for some applications!

    When you get bored with OCing try also some undervolting/underclocking of this chip. I really want to get it for my HTPC, because yesterday I found a matroska Hi-Def movie my 4450 stock have problem with
    RiG1: Ryzen 7 1700 @4.0GHz 1.39V, Asus X370 Prime, G.Skill RipJaws 2x8GB 3200MHz CL14 Samsung B-die, TuL Vega 56 Stock, Samsung SS805 100GB SLC SDD (OS Drive) + 512GB Evo 850 SSD (2nd OS Drive) + 3TB Seagate + 1TB Seagate, BeQuiet PowerZone 1000W

    RiG2: HTPC AMD A10-7850K APU, 2x8GB Kingstone HyperX 2400C12, AsRock FM2A88M Extreme4+, 128GB SSD + 640GB Samsung 7200, LG Blu-ray Recorder, Thermaltake BACH, Hiper 4M880 880W PSU

    SmartPhone Samsung Galaxy S7 EDGE
    XBONE paired with 55'' Samsung LED 3D TV

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    Hi Lightman

    Certainly, I have that lined up.. I've completed an initial comparsion aimed at looking at difference between 6000+ and the 250 from a consumer pt of view. What I can't decide on though is NB frequency for an arcitectural comparison. With K8 there is no seperate NB clock domain. What frequency does it really run at? I've confirmed that despite NO L3 cache, performance does increase a small amount with NB overclocking. What is happening here?

    These are the questions, So I'm not 100% sure on how to tackle that.

    Anyway, I've Popped the lid on this beast.. so enjoy die size comparisons for now, and confirmation it is a brand new mask.




    Brisbane: measured 8.5x 14.8 =125.8. Actual die size 126mm2

    Regor: Measured 8.2x 13.5 = 110mm2.. Estimated..

    So the 89mm2 was wrong. As I predicted! :p

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    967
    Nice one you got there
    Did you find Athlon II x4 for sales in Oz as well ?
    Thanks for sharing !!

    Gaming Rig
    CPU : AMD FX-8300 (Vcore 1.275V )
    HSF : Thermalright AXP140 with GELID WING 14
    MB : ASUS M5A88-M
    RAM : Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 LP 4GB x4
    VGA : Galaxy GTX660 2GB GDDR5
    PSU : FSP Aurum 500W 80PLUS GOLD
    Case : Lian-Li PC-A04
    SSD : Plextor M5S 256GB

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    392
    the nb clock is the IMC clock, so I think it's expected to affect the performance.. in the k8 I think it runs on "full speed" same clock as the cores!?

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    301
    Official release is the 2nd June here in Aus ... & just dual's for now
    Asus A8N-E, x2 3800+ 2.7Ghz@1.488v RmClk, TT Big Typhoon lapped, Zalman NB-47J, XFX 9500gt, Corsair 2Gb, Sony DVD, Samsung 1TB, Coolermaster Cavalier, Enermax 620w, Benq G2400WD, Logitech X-230, WIN7 64.

    There is a cure.... it's called Prevention. .. And remember - the story being told is not always the one that best reflects reality….

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    1,264
    one would think so..

    Perhaps the issue with high NB clocks on Deneb/Agena is related to the L3 itself, and the 2Ghz clock on this is to keep TDP's down, like with griffin, since performance delta is pretty insignificant over most benchmarks.

    I have tried 2.9ghz clocks on this and they were fine at higher CPU-NB Voltage.. which may just be no higher than stock Vcore since by defauly NB voltage is significantly lower (on deneb)

    Need the Datasheet for this CPU to confirm, as there's no indication in my Mobo's bios (voltage settings are an "offeset" from stock.. damn gigabyte)

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    967
    How high NB does this Athlon II x2 do ?
    Can the L2 run at the same speed with the clock speed ??

    Gaming Rig
    CPU : AMD FX-8300 (Vcore 1.275V )
    HSF : Thermalright AXP140 with GELID WING 14
    MB : ASUS M5A88-M
    RAM : Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 LP 4GB x4
    VGA : Galaxy GTX660 2GB GDDR5
    PSU : FSP Aurum 500W 80PLUS GOLD
    Case : Lian-Li PC-A04
    SSD : Plextor M5S 256GB

  20. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    92
    Quote Originally Posted by breakfromyou View Post
    Saw the RAM timings and knew it was a gigabyte board, didn't even have to read anything

    lets see some tests against some of the K8 chips!

    what about some overclocking? does it do 4 Ghz easily?
    I finally threw my Ph II 940 in my machine yesterday (replacing an Windsor X2 6000+) and on the DFI board the 1066 Ram setting defaulted to similar 5-7-7-24 2T timings. heh.

    mAJORD, keep up the good work; do you happen to have any Windsor X2 6000+ results at 250 x 12, DDR800 or 300 x 10, DDR667? Or are you going to run all the comparison benches for the K8 fresh?

    Cheers

    AMD FX-8350 | ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z | G.Skill F3-1866C8D-16GTX | MSI Radeon R9 280X Gaming 3GB
    OCAU

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    130
    What about power consumption?

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    235
    Quote Originally Posted by mAJORD View Post
    http://www.impresswatch.com.cn/itwatch/377/3351377.shtml



    Estimated Die Size ~110mm2
    To be compared with the 65nm Griffin for scaling:


    http://www.impresswatch.com.cn/itwat.../3351377.shtml


    Regards, Hans
    Last edited by Hans de Vries; 05-31-2009 at 10:11 AM.

  23. #23
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    235
    ( Edit: Jun, 1st ) This should be a better measurement:

    45nm Regor: 8.45 mm x 13.9 mm = 117 mm^2
    65nm Griffin: 10.0 mm x 15.6 mm = 156 mm^2

    Regards, Hans
    Last edited by Hans de Vries; 06-01-2009 at 06:51 AM.

  24. #24
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    SF
    Posts
    1,070
    thanks for the regor "introduction"!!

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    167
    Quote Originally Posted by Hans de Vries View Post
    Quick and dirty check:

    45nm Regor: 8.2mm x 13.0mm = 107 mm^2
    65nm Griffin: 11.1mm x 16.8mm = 186 mm^2


    Regards, Hans
    Regor is 117 mm^2

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •