Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: my SSD/harddrive options

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510

    my SSD/harddrive options

    know

    i was orignally thinking of getting 2 ocz vertex 30gb but as look at the g.skill falcons 64gb for 2 were 400 and the vertex 60gb were 440

    i was also getting 1 or 2 caviar blacks but i dont know if the caviar black is better vs samsung F1s

    is it worth spending more money on 64/60gb ssds or just have the 2 30gb?
    if so which is better falcons or the vertex?
    which is better samsung f1 or caviar blacks and should i get 1 or 2?
    the supertalent ultradrive me 32 and 64 looks very similar to the vertex
    Last edited by ILikeCosmosS; 05-24-2009 at 10:49 AM.

  2. #2
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    354
    I have G.Skill Titans - that said i would go with OCZ hands down were I to do it over. My G.Skill drives are fine but G.Skill support sucks whereas OCZ support is about as good as it gets - clearly worth a bit more money
    i7 920 DO 3850A849 @4410 under custom water.
    Asus P6T deluxe V2
    3X2gb Mushkin DDR3 1600 998691
    Sapphire 4870 1g
    Corsair Hx 850 psu
    2 G.Skill titan 128gb SSDs in RAID0 Data
    Intel X25-M OS drive
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64

  3. #3
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,136
    I think the 640GB blacks are a bit better than the F1s

    The new G.Skill drives are basically the same as the Vertex drives, but I dont think there is TRIM support yet. Also, OCZ support is WAY better.
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    Vertex and the Falcon's are the same drive for most part. Same firmware and TRIM will work just as well as the OCZ drives. GSkill didn't release a TRIM tool AFAIK yet but that is likely because it is beta, and doesn't work on a lot of systems.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
    Vertex and the Falcon's are the same drive for most part. Same firmware and TRIM will work just as well as the OCZ drives. GSkill didn't release a TRIM tool AFAIK yet but that is likely because it is beta, and doesn't work on a lot of systems.
    They have
    Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2
    MSI P55-GD65
    3x Kingston X25-V RAID0
    2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI
    G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600
    Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

    Heat: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=48663

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    so what about the ultradrive me?

    and is 1 caviar black or f1 enough?

    i was thinking of getting 2 640gbs but i could just get a 1tb or 1.5tb
    should i spend 130 dollars more on 2x64gb drives ? (vertex or ultradrive me)

    is ultradrive me any better then vertex?

  7. #7
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951

    Thumbs up Here You Go

    unbeliveable transfer rates with a pair of these G.Skill FALCON 128 GB SSD drives attached to the ICH10R chipset....OS is Win XP 64 Bit, SP2


    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    very good and similar to other drives in raid 0

  9. #9
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951
    i am going to attach them to the areca 1210 card, to see how and if any does the speed change, after updating the firmware and bios of that card.
    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    which is better ultra drive ME from supertalent or the ocz vertex

    and WHICH one should i get 32/30gb or 64/60gb?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,136
    Vertex...
    Rig 1:
    ASUS P8Z77-V
    Intel i5 3570K @ 4.75GHz
    16GB of Team Xtreme DDR-2666 RAM (11-13-13-35-2T)
    Nvidia GTX 670 4GB SLI

    Rig 2:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    AMD FX-8350 @ 5.6GHz
    16GB of Mushkin DDR-1866 RAM (8-9-8-26-1T)
    AMD 6950 with 6970 bios flash

    Yamakasi Catleap 2B overclocked to 120Hz refresh rate
    Audio-GD FUN DAC unit w/ AD797BRZ opamps
    Sennheiser PC350 headset w/ hero mod

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    Quote Originally Posted by ILikeCosmosS View Post
    which is better ultra drive ME from supertalent or the ocz vertex

    and WHICH one should i get 32/30gb or 64/60gb?
    they are the same drive. Get whatever size you think is good for you.

  13. #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    how are they the same drive different companies?

    i think ill get a 32/30gb since it is cheaper and it just a os drive

  14. #14
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    They are the same drive as they use the same controller and NAND chips. Only difference is the pcb and the case. They perform identical.

  15. #15
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    which is better to choose ocz for support? or supertalent?

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    374
    OCZ definitely has a wider support base and fantastic forum support, more than Supertalent. But then again, they are the same drives, so you can use the same firmware and such.

  17. #17
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    alright and here is the major question i really would like to know

    get 2 caviar black 640/500gb or a single 1tb caviar black ( i get to have more room in the case hence easier to watercool with just 1 3.5 drive)

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    6
    I am assuming that since you are looking at two smaller drives that you plan on doing RAID 0. Unless you perform lots of sustained reads/writes then the RAID 0 won't get you a whole lot. Griff805 just posted a thread showing the differences between several different tasks using a single X-25M and two in RAID 0 on the ICH10R. There is almost neglible differences between them, also the Indilinx based drives tend to suffer greatly without the use of TRIM and currently RAID controllers don't support this feature yet therefore I would suggest a single drive setup. With that said I would suggest either the 80GB Intel drive or the sweatspot on the Indilinx drives seems to be the 120GB (128GB) drives as they have slightly better performance.

    As for the platter drives my setup is going to use two drives but one will be a removable setup and used for backup purposes. I would suggest the 1Tb drives as you currently get a little more per dollar (roughly $.10.9 vs $.95 per GB) and when you run out of space you can simply add another big drive and all is good.

  19. #19
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    South FL, USA
    Posts
    4,951
    it also appears that these drives with the indilinx controller need about 7 wipes to clean it out with the "wiper.exe" program...i was suffering some degradation in single and raid...not until i did about 7 wipes of each drive did they perk up...look at this review for a little substantiation of this matter with basically ALL SSD drives.
    Last edited by Ace-a-Rue; 05-28-2009 at 02:09 PM.
    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 UNOFFICIAL THREAD

    BIOSTAR TPOWER BOLT MOD FOR HEATPIPE AND HEATSINK

    BIOSTAR TPOWER I45 BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    ABIT IP35 PRO HEATPIPE MOD

    ABIT IP35 PRO BIOS FLASHING PROCEDURE

    IP35 Pro: 9650@4000Mhz, par overclocker; Freezone Elite; 4Gb GSkill DDR-800@DDR-1068 (2 x 2gb); XFX 8800 GTS; Areca 8X PCIe in Raid 0 working at 4x speed; 4-250 Gb (single platter) 7200.10 drives; Giga 3DAurora case with side window.

  20. #20
    Love will tear us apart
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    wrigleyville.chi.il.us
    Posts
    2,350
    Hmm thanks Ace please keep us updated...
    Dark Star IV
    i5 3570K | Asrock Z77 Extreme4 | 8GB Samsung 30nm | GTX 670 FTW 4GB + XSPC Razer 680 | 128GB Samsung 830
    Apogee HD White | 140MM UT60/120MM UT45/120MM ST30 | XSPC D5 V2

  21. #21
    Engineering The Xtreme
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    MA, USA
    Posts
    7,213
    Super talent is the absolute worst support on the face of the earth so do NOT buy that brand SSD!

  22. #22
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    the only major downloading i will be doing is buying games from steam and downloading movies on platter drives

    the ssd's are only for the OS and a few important apps (antivirus, and important documents, Crysis)

    know at first i was thinking 2 32gb drives in raid 0 or 64gb drives in raid 0 to get good speeds and i wont be doing much sustained reads/writes.

  23. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    i wanted to know if samsung ssd's were available in 32/64 sizes?

    would 3 30 gb vertex be faster then 1 80 gb intel drive?

  24. #24
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Grande Prairie, AB, CAN
    Posts
    6,126
    Quote Originally Posted by ILikeCosmosS View Post
    i wanted to know if samsung ssd's were available in 32/64 sizes?

    would 3 30 gb vertex be faster then 1 80 gb intel drive?
    Depends on your usage. If you are using applications that need a lot of throughput then yes. But application launching / windows startup won't be from what people have found on these forums.

  25. #25
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    as the prices would go the 80gb intel drive is equalient to 3x 30gb vertex's and i only looking for only 2

    alright thx due to the prices i am going to get 2 for 240 bucks

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •