Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Inexpensive Digital Thermometer + Probe for DI?

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,619

    Inexpensive Digital Thermometer + Probe for DI?

    I've been trying to locate an inexpensive digital thermometer with a probe to use for dry ice. Many of the cheaper ones I'm finding say they will go "-40C to 120C" or something similar.

    Example: http://cgi.ebay.com/Digital-LCD-Ther...3A5%7C294%3A50

    Being that I'm just using dry ice and mainly need the probe to monitor swing (have a small aluminum pot but just benching dual cores) do you guys think a probe rated to -50C will be sufficient? I assume the thermometer will display lower than -50C, but not 100% sure.
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere South, Great Britain.
    Posts
    661
    Quote Originally Posted by tool_462 View Post
    I've been trying to locate an inexpensive digital thermometer with a probe to use for dry ice. Many of the cheaper ones I'm finding say they will go "-40C to 120C" or something similar.

    Example: http://cgi.ebay.com/Digital-LCD-Ther...3A5%7C294%3A50

    Being that I'm just using dry ice and mainly need the probe to monitor swing (have a small aluminum pot but just benching dual cores) do you guys think a probe rated to -50C will be sufficient? I assume the thermometer will display lower than -50C, but not 100% sure.
    The temperature range is determined by the the thermocouple so -50 will be all it can read/display.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    768
    I wouldnt say so
    I mean, here in the UK, for once, we may have something better price wise than the US
    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...lvzyn37if#dtab
    A great unit, easily go below -50, not sure how far though.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Victoria, British Colombia
    Posts
    2,677
    you could buy a 12v one for ~ $40 but you would have to have it plugged in. still may not be a bad option
    mentally confused and prone to wandering

  5. #5
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,619
    I might just pick up a cheap one (~$10) and just use it to make sure I stay below -50C

    Good thing about DI on an E8600 is that I can just keep the pot full all the time and not really worry about cold bug or anything, board and chip both boot just fine at -68C
    i5 2500K @ 4.9GHz+ 8GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 6 Asus P8P67 Pro CrossFire 6970's @ 950/1450
    Xeon X5677 @ 4.5Ghz 6GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @1600Mhz CAS 7 Gigabyte EX58-UD5 4870x2
    i7-880 @ 4.2Ghz+ (still playing) 4GB G-Skill RipJaws DDR3-2000 @2300Mhz CAS 9 Asus Maximus III Formula MSI Hawk 5770

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    724
    Quote Originally Posted by tool_462 View Post
    Good thing about DI on an E8600 is that I can just keep the pot full all the time and not really worry about cold bug or anything, board and chip both boot just fine at -68C
    Yeah, but you won't really go anywhere.
    I KNOW MASSMAN DISLIKES YOU.

    Quote Originally Posted by saaya
    yo yo... man, you gotta lose the beard... you look like a drunk :P
    Competition ranking: Better than the danes in everything I've ever entered.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    18
    I will use this thread, i am looking for cheap thermometer. To use with dice, now i have a thermometer that shows only l ?C . What to buy in a 50$ or so range, i dont mind if its used, but that silly 100 posts rule :\

  8. #8
    Xtreme 3D Team
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL.
    Posts
    176
    Your best bet is to find one on fleabay or some other type of site. Just make sure it reads down to at the very least -60c. They are not cheap so you may want to up your budget a bit.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    18
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/301264374639...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

    What about this one, would this be so inacurate so it will be useless, did somebody compare this to some legit thermometer.

  10. #10
    3D Team Captain
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,130
    I have no idea about the thermometer you linked, sorry. The ones popular with German overclockers are the Greisinger GTH 175/PT and the Voltcraft K102.

    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    You can never have enough D9's.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    544
    Looks like a pure Chinese "brand", but it might work ok.
    You'd probably want to replace the thermocouples though.
    These usually measure fine down to -50 only.

    I usually buy from these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/K-type-Therm...item5404325ece
    Not very durable, but cheap enough and do the job for LN2. Interestingly they go down to -196 no problem and react fine on the whole -196 to 0 range. Sure, not super accurate I guess, but good enough to me.
    Or you can buy much more expensive, but a little better probes from kingpin or der8auer.
    Last edited by I.nfraR.ed; 10-24-2014 at 12:03 AM.
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    18
    Got the voltcraft k101 for 30$ with probe so i think thats the best i will get for that kind of money.

  13. #13
    3D Team Captain
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,130
    The Voltcraft K101 is a good choice, it's the same as the K102 anyway, just with one probe instead of two.

    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    You can never have enough D9's.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by I.nfraR.ed View Post
    Looks like a pure Chinese "brand", but it might work ok.
    You'd probably want to replace the thermocouples though.
    These usually measure fine down to -50 only.

    I usually buy from these: http://www.ebay.com/itm/K-type-Therm...item5404325ece
    Not very durable, but cheap enough and do the job for LN2. Interestingly they go down to -196 no problem and react fine on the whole -196 to 0 range. Sure, not super accurate I guess, but good enough to me.
    Or you can buy much more expensive, but a little better probes from kingpin or der8auer.
    Ordered the thermocouple from your link, got this one with white cable in my photos.


    Is this ok, i still got the one with the metal rod, its bend so i can use it with my pot, but i want a spare...is this one I got OK or i got ripped off, the one in the photo in the add is different.

  15. #15
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    544
    Hmm, they should have been green as on the pictures.
    Sorry if I mislead you, but on pictures the probes are exactly like mine.
    It was very long time ago when ordered for the last time.

    PS: Just checked my Purchase history on ebay and that's exactly the same seller I bought 2-3 times from, so the link is not wrong.
    Maybe he changed to these, but don't know if they're good.
    IMO, ask for refund, the items don't match the photo.

    Please test it when you get dry ice though, interested to see what it will show.
    Last edited by I.nfraR.ed; 11-04-2014 at 06:51 PM.
    X6 1090T (1010MPMW) @ 4267MHz 1.44V NB@3229MHz 1.33V | Asus Crosshair IV Formula | 2x2GB Corsair Dominator GTX2 @ 1845MHz 6-6-5-17-22 1T | Asus HD4890 @ 1050/4800 | Corsair HX850W | HAF 932
    EK Supreme HF | EK-FC4890LT | MCP655 + Koolance D5 Top | ThermoChill PA120.3 + 3x Enermax Magma | XSPC Bay res | Masterkleer 1/2" UV Red

  16. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    18
    No problem man its not your fault. Yes i will test it in ice and use the second one for my pot that is tested from the previous owner

  17. #17
    -150c Club Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Northeast, USA
    Posts
    10,823
    K type probes should all be the same. No worries about green or white, those are coatings for high temperature protection.
    As for cheap and accurate, a PID temperature monitor is around 30$ and goes down to -200C.


    If you have a cooling question or concern feel free to contact me.

  18. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    18
    Looks ok

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •