MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Windows 7 Reads Monitors EDID differently

  1. #1
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,565

    Windows 7 Reads Monitors EDID differently

    Anyone noticing how some monitors default to 59hz instead of 60hz?

    I tried it with 2, a 19inch dell and a 24inch HP, the dell sets to 60hz fine, but the HP sets to 59, and when setting it to 60 it doesn't really apply it (just says it did, when you go back in it is still at 59hz, this is with and without the manufacturer's monitor driver), from what Ive been reading this seems to be some common thing about how Win 7 reads the info chip in the monitors, if the hertz number in the chip rounds down instead of up it will set it to 59, when normally it would default to 60.

    Check this out, this is the Nvidia Auto monitor readings in XP and Windows 7 for a Lenovo 24 inch monitor:
    Windows XP:


    Windows 7:


    Look at the Refresh number differences at the bottom. Oddly enough the driver fails to run the test in Windows 7 so even when I set the values the same as XP I cant actually test or use them (It fails to run the test even at default settings though)
    EVGA X58 Classified
    Intel i7 965
    Corsair Dominator 1600mhz 3x2gb
    Nvidia GTX 295

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    339
    Fairly certain Vista is the same as my 24" Dell and my LG 1080p are both running at 59Hz on Vista.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher Russ_64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    850
    Mine is even worse - Acer X222W runs at 1680x1050 @60Hz (59/60) in Windows Server 2008 (Vista 32bit) but in Windows 7 64 bit Beta it runs at max 1600x1200 @ 85Hz (60/70/75/85). Same Cat 9.3 drivers
    Asus Maximus VIII Ranger Z170 : Core i5-6600K : EVGA RTX2080 XC : 16Gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4-3200 : 256Gb Crucial MX500 : Corsair H100i : PCP&C 750w 60A : CM Cosmos S : Windows 10 x64
    Asus Z8NA-D6 : Dual Xeon E5645 : 24Gb DDR3-1333 ECC : MSI GTX470 : 120Gb Samsung EVO 840 : 1TB HDD : PCP&C 750w 60A : CM Stacker : DD MC-TDX, EK-FC470, RX240+RX120, D5 X-Top, BayRes : VMware ESXi 6.7.0 - VM's - WCG crunchers x 5 (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS), Mint 19, Windows 10 Insider Preview
    Sophos XG 17.5.3 running on GA-Z97-Wifi : Core i3 : 8Gb DDR3-1600 : 120Gb SSD : Corsair H80
    BenQ GW2765, Aten 4-port KVM, Asustor AS5002 4Tb NAS, Belkin 1500va UPS, Sky Fibre Max 80/20Mbps


  4. #4
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    same thing happens to me under vista x64 and xp x64... I think it's a problem with the nvidia drivers because everyime I change drivers I have to change the refresh from 59 back to 60hz.

    did problem didn't exist on my 4870x2 or GTX280. maybe it's a new video card drivers used by Nvidia/ and or not ATI
    Last edited by safan80; 05-07-2009 at 12:05 PM.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  5. #5
    I am Xtreme zanzabar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    SF bay area, CA
    Posts
    15,772
    this is normal, there are alot of monitors that were huge problems becouse they were 59hrz (lcd TV) and were being read as 60hrz (lcd monitor) since thats the closest that windows supported by default. its perfectly fine and its supposed to happen and was added in rc1 (maybe a few earlier too). and ati has no rc1 drivers 9.5 will be rc1 native
    5930k, R5E, samsung 8GBx4 d-die, vega 56, wd gold 8TB, wd 4TB red, 2TB raid1 wd blue 5400
    samsung 840 evo 500GB, HP EX 1TB NVME , CM690II, swiftech h220, corsair 750hxi

  6. #6
    The un-extreme XIP
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,273
    displaying the info differently, but it's reading the info the same way. note the actual refresh rate of 59.95

    i5 3570K@ 4.8GHz 1.32v, 32GB Gskill 1866, Gigabyte g1 sniper m3
    HD7970@1125/1575 stock voltage
    1TB F1+2*128GB Crucial M4
    Silverstone 450w, no case
    2560*1440@120Hz overclocked catleap
    Steelseries G6v2+5600dpi modded logitech trackball

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Up State New York
    Posts
    94
    I know this is old but still a current issue with many, as most monitors are not "approved" by Windows 7(google EDID issue Windows 7). Here's an INF file work around
    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device...edid_over.mspx
    RIVE/3930K Water
    16GB Gskill Ripjaw X 2133
    2X Intel CherryVille 520 60GB Raid O
    2X HD 7970 VisionTec
    Corsair AX1200

    Biostar TP45HP, GA-X48-DQ6 , Maximus IV Gene Z

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •