Page 7 of 33 FirstFirst ... 4567891017 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 175 of 815

Thread: New Multi-Threaded Pi Program - Faster than SuperPi and PiFast

  1. #151
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Chumbucket843 View Post
    if you compiled for linux and the cell i could run this thing on my ps3. actually the cell has been beaten in flops by x86 by now though and its a PITA to work with.
    I can't "just" compile it.
    I would need to learn how to use the linux threading libraries first.

    To compile for Linux without any code modification, I'd have to disable multi-threading... which pretty much defeats the purpose of the program.

    Judging by the examples I found on how the linux "pthread" library is used, it should be a simple drop-in replacement for the Windows threading library...
    But I don't have a machine with linux to try it, nor do I have the time.


    As for cell processors... It's a different type of processor so much of the program would have to be rewritten and re-optimized to be efficient.
    Last edited by poke349; 08-06-2009 at 10:51 AM. Reason: removed some unrelated info
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  2. #152
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,128
    Have you looked at the boost library?

  3. #153
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Calmatory View Post
    Have you looked at the boost library?
    Thanks for the input. No, I haven't heard about it.

    Seems interesting and it appears to be a "semi-standard" that VS supports...
    I didn't know VS actually supported a thread-library other than itself.

    If VS supported pthreads, I would've use pthreads from the start since it's more portable... but no... it just HAS to force you to use the windows one...

    The thing I don't like about Boost right now is that it's C++. The source code for the program is 99% C - and I kinda want to keep it that way.

    It also doesn't look it can be drop in replacement for WinAPI because of all that object management stuff...
    Wheras, WinAPI and pthreads have almost the same usage format.




    Also, v0.4.2 should be out in a week or so... I added a batch mode as requested by a number of people. Right now, I'm still testing it...

    The only thing is that the batch benchmarks aren't validated. It'd be kind of a mess if I generated a checksum for every single benchmark.
    I might add validation for them in the future. But as of right now, I'll leave it out.
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  4. #154
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    82
    Got a test cpu, mobo & ram to goof around with. When I get bored with it I'll throw in a Q9550 or similar and give it to the wife.

    Pentium 4 661 in Windows XP 64 bit running the SSE3 x64 executable @ 4.7GHz with and without HT:

    25m no HT
    Code:
    Benchmark Successful. The digits appear to be OK.
    
    Program Version:    0.4.1 Build 7412 (fix 1) (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
    CPU Frequency:      4,717,549,367 Hz  (frequency may be inaccurate)
    Thread(s):          1
    Digits:             25,000,000
    Total Time:         73.1281 seconds
    Checksum:           65cb672d996bc3240db0fda7909acc3b
    25m+HT
    Code:
    Benchmark Successful. The digits appear to be OK.
    
    Program Version:    0.4.1 Build 7412 (fix 1) (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
    CPU Frequency:      4,717,524,888 Hz  (frequency may be inaccurate)
    Thread(s):          2
    Digits:             25,000,000
    Total Time:         65.6558 seconds
    Checksum:           085dd47af97911d30c9fa6d03a9ce1e0
    50m no HT
    Code:
    Benchmark Successful. The digits appear to be OK.
    
    Program Version:    0.4.1 Build 7412 (fix 1) (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
    CPU Frequency:      4,717,561,175 Hz  (frequency may be inaccurate)
    Thread(s):          1
    Digits:             50,000,000
    Total Time:         168.288 seconds
    Checksum:           cd31559715e07e3619136cc16cd2cf2b
    50m+HT
    Code:
    Benchmark Successful. The digits appear to be OK.
    
    Program Version:    0.4.1 Build 7412 (fix 1) (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
    CPU Frequency:      4,717,547,001 Hz  (frequency may be inaccurate)
    Thread(s):          2
    Digits:             50,000,000
    Total Time:         153.715 seconds
    Checksum:           7b0843fca01a0b691b42d7d33fe11537
    100m
    Code:
    Benchmark Successful. The digits appear to be OK.
    
    Program Version:    0.4.1 Build 7412 (fix 1) (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
    CPU Frequency:      4,717,545,210 Hz  (frequency may be inaccurate)
    Thread(s):          1
    Digits:             100,000,000
    Total Time:         377.512 seconds
    Checksum:           ae6656d43ce984db08c62a84afc1ec02
    100m+HT
    Code:
    Benchmark Successful. The digits appear to be OK.
    
    Program Version:    0.4.1 Build 7412 (fix 1) (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.60GHz
    CPU Frequency:      4,717,527,780 Hz  (frequency may be inaccurate)
    Thread(s):          2
    Digits:             100,000,000
    Total Time:         343.165 seconds
    Checksum:           1f7061c8731d2da31a774b0d16de8145
    Yep, even at 4.7GHz a P4 is still garbage.
    Core i7 920 @ 4.4GHz, EVGA Classified E760, 3x1GB OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 @ 1680 7-8-7-24, SLI eVGA 8800GT @ 756/1890/2200, Heatkiller 3.0 CU waterblock, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Hitachi E7K500 500gb, Seasonic S12 SS-650HT psu

  5. #155
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Ooh...

    64-bit P4...


    Wouldn't shoving a C2Q into a an old 775 require more than a BIOS update?

    I thought about putting a Q6600 into my Pentium D machine... but then I checked that the chipset doesn't support C2Q even with a bios update.


    Here's a screenie of v0.4.2:
    It should be out in a couple days. It isn't quite ready for release right now - there's (yet another) a bug in the VS compiler that I'm wrestling with...



    The text file can be copy and pasted into excel.

    I've found 3 bugs in the VS compiler in the last 8 months... 2 of them related to high memory usage in x64... I think it's safe to say that not too many people use VS for high-memory programming.
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  6. #156
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Plano, TX
    Posts
    82
    Quote Originally Posted by poke349 View Post
    Ooh...

    64-bit P4...


    Wouldn't shoving a C2Q into a an old 775 require more than a BIOS update?

    I thought about putting a Q6600 into my Pentium D machine... but then I checked that the chipset doesn't support C2Q even with a bios update.
    I was going to built her a quad setup anyway so I got the DFI DK P35-T2RS which supports the duo/quad chips. I saw a cheapo P4 661 so I figured I'd get it and test how far it'll go and how it compared with my old Opteron @ 3GHz. So far even at 4.7GHz and with some low timings on some Crucial BallistiX Tracer memory it isn't looking good vs the Opty.

    Quote Originally Posted by poke349
    Here's a screenie of v0.4.2:
    It should be out in a couple days. It isn't quite ready for release right now - there's (yet another) a bug in the VS compiler that I'm wrestling with...

    The text file can be copy and pasted into excel.

    I've found 3 bugs in the VS compiler in the last 8 months... 2 of them related to high memory usage in x64... I think it's safe to say that not too many people use VS for high-memory programming.
    Good news about the release of v0.4.2, I'm glad to see the batch mode added. Have you tried testing the Intel compiler? I had some decent luck with it even on AMD machines. The profile guided optimization can really give some programs a boost. I have a feeling most of your cpu time is spent on hand optimized assembly so PGO likely wouldn't be of any benefit but I figure I'd mention it just in case you haven't messed with it yet.
    Core i7 920 @ 4.4GHz, EVGA Classified E760, 3x1GB OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600 @ 1680 7-8-7-24, SLI eVGA 8800GT @ 756/1890/2200, Heatkiller 3.0 CU waterblock, WD Caviar Black 1TB, Hitachi E7K500 500gb, Seasonic S12 SS-650HT psu

  7. #157
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by spdycpu View Post
    I was going to built her a quad setup anyway so I got the DFI DK P35-T2RS which supports the duo/quad chips. I saw a cheapo P4 661 so I figured I'd get it and test how far it'll go and how it compared with my old Opteron @ 3GHz. So far even at 4.7GHz and with some low timings on some Crucial BallistiX Tracer memory it isn't looking good vs the Opty.



    Good news about the release of v0.4.2, I'm glad to see the batch mode added. Have you tried testing the Intel compiler? I had some decent luck with it even on AMD machines. The profile guided optimization can really give some programs a boost. I have a feeling most of your cpu time is spent on hand optimized assembly so PGO likely wouldn't be of any benefit but I figure I'd mention it just in case you haven't messed with it yet.

    Actually... There's is no assembly whatsoever in the entire program.
    As an undergraduate, my programming knowledge is too narrow to write good assembly. So that right there is a major potential for improvement.

    Although I haven't run a profiler on it yet, my guess is that it spends most of it's time pipeline-stalling and waiting for memory (cache misses, or simply insufficient memory bandwidth...)

    Specifically, I have a feeling that unprefeched cache misses are significant, but I haven't played with my memory timings nor have I run a profiler to determine its impact.
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  8. #158
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Version v0.4.2 is out!


    Here's a screenie of that stress tester...

    Temperature-wise, it's on par with Prime95.
    But I don't know if it can detect stability issues as well as Prime95 - let alone Linpack.

    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  9. #159
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bloomfield
    Posts
    1,968
    hey poke, there is a 16 core quad socket system in WCG section by jcool and i think it would pwn on this benchmark. its only got 4 gigs right now but it supports a junkload of memory. i wonder how much ram this would use idling in windows?

  10. #160
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Chumbucket843 View Post
    hey poke, there is a 16 core quad socket system in WCG section by jcool and i think it would pwn on this benchmark. its only got 4 gigs right now but it supports a junkload of memory. i wonder how much ram this would use idling in windows?
    I think he already knows.

    Quote Originally Posted by jcool View Post
    Oh heh, a new benchie - I'll def. check it out sometime
    But the fact the there's no ram is gonna be severely limiting... With THAT many cores, you're gonna need a massive computation size to keep them busy. 4 GB won't be enough to keep those cores fed... But... it might be enough to break some of the current speed records anyway.
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  11. #161
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,095
    25,000,000 digits:
    Program Version: 0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s): Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3520 @ 2.67GHz
    CPU Frequency: 2660015200
    Thread(s): 2^3
    Digits: 25000000
    Total Time: 12.924
    Checksum: c90910e6b1387d740fe4352132ee4855

    2,500,000,000 digits:
    Program Version: 0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s): Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU W3520 @ 2.67GHz
    CPU Frequency: 2660034352
    Thread(s): 2^3
    Digits: 2500000000
    Total Time: 2404.996
    Checksum: c2abaca2a09340b91922847dd0ffc278
    Last edited by SamHughe; 08-13-2009 at 04:45 PM.

  12. #162
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    359
    Here is my Dual Shanghai System.

    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      2900166909
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             25000000
    Total Time:         11.406
    Checksum:           e195c35a015ca7c4079e7e2c4c727037
    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      2900164958
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             50000000
    Total Time:         23.549
    Checksum:           8d2ea0a8ccbda4511edad184dd0c405f
    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      2900166047
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             100000000
    Total Time:         49.112
    Checksum:           77fec20038094164021df20c23143c6c
    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      2900172767
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             250000000
    Total Time:         139.788
    Checksum:           e0befcb870941172171bfc300fa992bd
    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      2900162991
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             500000000
    Total Time:         301.514
    Checksum:           cf5090c8ca14560219b83cc1de7f90e2
    Edit: I will run more over the next couple of days. I have 8gb of ram currently, and when I get to 16gb I will run the larger ones
    Last edited by Hawkeye4077; 08-13-2009 at 11:10 PM.
    ASRock X399 Fatal1ty
    1950x Threadripper
    32gb DDR4
    GTX 1070
    __________________________________________________ ____

  13. #163
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    @ SamHughe
    Nice 2.5b run. Haven't been seeing many of those.

    Did you pretty much have to close everything to get it to fit into 12GB?
    Or did you just let it page out?


    Quote Originally Posted by Hawkeye4077 View Post
    Here is my Dual Shanghai System.

    Edit: I will run more over the next couple of days. I have 8gb of ram currently, and when I get to 16gb I will run the larger ones

    Woah... the first AMD dualie.

    Quick question: Is that running at 2.9 GHz as the program says or is it @ 3.3 GHz (in your siggy)?


    Since it's the first time I've seen this program run on an AMD dualie, would you be able to do benchmarks for:
    1,000,000
    10,000,000
    1,000,000,000

    I'd love to add it to the comparison chart that's here:
    http://www.numberworld.org/y-cruncher/#Benchmarks


    The 1m and 10m aren't in the benchmark options, so you'll need to use either the batch-mode or the custom compute option.
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  14. #164
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1,095
    Quote Originally Posted by poke349 View Post
    @ SamHughe
    Nice 2.5b run. Haven't been seeing many of those.

    Did you pretty much have to close everything to get it to fit into 12GB?
    Or did you just let it page out?
    Thanks!
    I ran msconfig and selected diagnostic startup. I still think it paged out some though.

  15. #165
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    359
    Quote Originally Posted by poke349 View Post

    Woah... the first AMD dualie.

    Quick question: Is that running at 2.9 GHz as the program says or is it @ 3.3 GHz (in your siggy)?


    Since it's the first time I've seen this program run on an AMD dualie, would you be able to do benchmarks for:
    1,000,000
    10,000,000
    1,000,000,000

    I'd love to add it to the comparison chart that's here:
    http://www.numberworld.org/y-cruncher/#Benchmarks


    The 1m and 10m aren't in the benchmark options, so you'll need to use either the batch-mode or the custom compute option.
    Was at 2.9 GHZ.. I will rerun @ 3.33
    ASRock X399 Fatal1ty
    1950x Threadripper
    32gb DDR4
    GTX 1070
    __________________________________________________ ____

  16. #166
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Texas
    Posts
    359
    As above here is my dual Shanghai 2389 @ 3.33ghz.

    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      3336182273
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             25000000
    Total Time:         9.720
    Checksum:           409d8961151453331ebd8fd5b49ffab9
    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      3336181988
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             50000000
    Total Time:         20.084
    Checksum:           f18969bf2caaadc01bd3a3a05bdca6c0
    Code:
    Program Version:    0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s):       Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency:      3336180534
    Thread(s):          2^3
    Digits:             100000000
    Total Time:         42.306
    Checksum:           9af038030bc9e0370ee84f1c8ad8babf
    Program Version: 0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s): Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency: 3336181279
    Thread(s): 2^3
    Digits: 250000000
    Total Time: 113.583
    Checksum: c7a217871dbd8aac1fd1a0a86c0c6b23
    Program Version: 0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s): Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency: 3336180470
    Thread(s): 2^3
    Digits: 500000000
    Total Time: 249.244
    Checksum: 330ec95f5a05c4971e373ab94be5664d
    Program Version: 0.4.2 Build 7438 (x64 SSE3)
    Processor(s): Quad-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 2389
    CPU Frequency: 3336183313
    Thread(s): 2^3
    Digits: 1000000000
    Total Time: 552.905
    Checksum: 52c37453ac4eb2ba0abec8f7913ea03b
    Code:
    1,000,000 Digits
    Writing Decimal Digits:   1,000,001  digits written
    Total Computation Time:  0.617 seconds  ( 0.000 hours )
    Total Time (including writing digits):  0.709 seconds  ( 0.000 hours )
    Code:
    10,000,000 Digits
    Writing Decimal Digits:   10,000,001  digits written
    Total Computation Time:  4.288 seconds  ( 0.001 hours )
    Total Time (including writing digits):  4.659 seconds  ( 0.001 hours )
    Last edited by Hawkeye4077; 08-15-2009 at 04:41 PM.
    ASRock X399 Fatal1ty
    1950x Threadripper
    32gb DDR4
    GTX 1070
    __________________________________________________ ____

  17. #167
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Hawkeye4077 View Post
    As above here is my dual Shanghai 2389 @ 3.33ghz.

    Nice results. I've added your Opterons to that comparison list.

    The results are interesting. Compared with my dual-Harpertown rig, it beats it for less than 100m. But any higher and it starts to get slower.

    Smaller cache?
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  18. #168
    2.4C killer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,924
    heres mine, can do more later. this is 32m

    4.51ghz, 3.87ghz Uncore. 32m 11.297s

    Last edited by Peen; 08-16-2009 at 11:03 AM.

  19. #169
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Peen View Post
    heres mine, can do more later. this is 32m

    4.51ghz, 3.87ghz Uncore. 32m 11.297s

    Woah, nice. New single socket record!

    Was turbo-throttling in effect during the run? Your temps are hitting 88C, but 75-80C is usually the point where turbo throttling starts.
    Are you on air?



    As for all the suggestions about the Intel Compiler.
    I've tried it, and the results are interesting.

    Initially, after messing with the compiler options, it couldn't do any better than 5% slower than the current build (with the Visual Studio Compiler).
    After tweaking the source code a bit, I've gotten it to about 1% faster than Visual Studio. And I don't think I'm done yet.

    I'll need to finish my tweaks (and hopefully do better than 1%) and do a ton of other tests on my workstation to make sure it's consistently faster.

    On the other hand... The binary (when compiled with ICC) is HUGE...
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  20. #170
    2.4C killer
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    1,924
    I think I ran prime earlier thats why it said it was so hot. But my chip is already high leakage chip so it runs hot. My chip starts throttling at 100c, Oh and this is on water too. Ill try 4.6ghz later but my brand new DFI X58 UT just died, went pop!

  21. #171
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Peen View Post
    I think I ran prime earlier thats why it said it was so hot. But my chip is already high leakage chip so it runs hot. My chip starts throttling at 100c, Oh and this is on water too. Ill try 4.6ghz later but my brand new DFI X58 UT just died, went pop!
    You killed your DFI? Sorry to hear that... RMA?


    The "main" throttling occurs at 100C, but Turbo mode gets disabled when you hit 80C or so. So the multiplier drops from 21 to 20.

    It will actually bounce back and fourth between 20 and 21 many times per second. Once you get high enough (85+ C), then it pretty much stays at 20.
    Last edited by poke349; 08-17-2009 at 02:51 PM. Reason: typo
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  22. #172
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA - Podunk
    Posts
    43
    Core i7 920 @ 3.927GHz

    SuperPi 32M - 9m31.187s
    y-cruncher:
    250M - 127.051s
    500M - 280.013s
    1 Billion - 616.635s
    2.5 Billion - 4129.34s

    Last edited by Kurumi; 08-17-2009 at 04:36 PM.
    Intel Core i7 970 | Corsair H50 + 2x SFF21E | Asus P6X58D-E | 24GB Patriot ViperII Series 7 DDR3-1600 | Seasonic X650W | 4x Samsung PM800 128GB SSD | XFX HD5870 XXX | Lian-Li PC-A05N | M-Audio Firewire 410 | BenQ FP241W

  23. #173
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    705
    Quote Originally Posted by Kurumi View Post
    Core i7 920 @ 3.927GHz

    SuperPi 32M - 9m31.187s
    y-cruncher:
    250M - 127.051s
    500M - 280.013s
    1 Billion - 616.635s
    2.5 Billion - 4129.34s

    Oh Large runs. Cool.

    Was the 2.5b paging like crazy? It shouldn't be that slow.

    Unless you were doing tons of stuff in the background, it should've kicked everything else out of ram to allow 2.5b to run without much page-thrashing.
    Main Machine:
    AMD FX8350 @ stock --- 16 GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz --- Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0 --- 2.0 TB Seagate

    Miscellaneous Workstations for Code-Testing:
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.0 GHz --- 32 GB DDR3 @ 1866 MHz --- Asus Z87-Plus --- 1.5 TB (boot) --- 4 x 1 TB + 4 x 2 TB (swap)

  24. #174
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Fredericksburg, VA - Podunk
    Posts
    43
    It was trashing like crazy for 2.5b. I wasn't running anything else in the background other than my normal apps. I expected 2.5b to be hard on my system though.
    Intel Core i7 970 | Corsair H50 + 2x SFF21E | Asus P6X58D-E | 24GB Patriot ViperII Series 7 DDR3-1600 | Seasonic X650W | 4x Samsung PM800 128GB SSD | XFX HD5870 XXX | Lian-Li PC-A05N | M-Audio Firewire 410 | BenQ FP241W

  25. #175
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam
    Posts
    128
    Quote Originally Posted by poke349 View Post
    Version v0.4.2 is out!


    Here's a screenie of that stress tester...

    Temperature-wise, it's on par with Prime95.
    But I don't know if it can detect stability issues as well as Prime95 - let alone Linpack.
    Temperature-wise, it's on par with Prime95.
    yes it is.

    your software is very good.

    If i run Multi-Threaded Pi with 350.000.000, i run well Prime95 small FFT in 30 minutes without any error.

    My PC Q9550 @ 4GHz.

    P.S : Sorry my english.

Page 7 of 33 FirstFirst ... 4567891017 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •