MMM
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 160

Thread: Swiftech MCW7000-T for Corei7 announced

  1. #26
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    568
    Quote Originally Posted by gabe View Post
    to all posts above..

    24v is the max operating voltage. Let's see if we can find a sweet spot somewhere in between 12 and 24 (sourcing the right PSU comes to mind in this respect).. and if this doesn't work to our liking, then we have other tricks in our bag.

    I'll keep you posted.
    10 buck say this is wrong

    It'll probably be the Umax(24) at a hot side temp of X (ie 50c). it wont be a "maximum" if you increase the Hot side temp then Umax, Qmax and dT max will also increase.
    Last edited by Ultrasonic2; 03-15-2009 at 08:45 PM.

  2. #27
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    276
    This is beautiful. Wondering if Swiftech will ever go LN2.
    Lian-Li Armorsuit PC-P80
    Asus P6T Deluxe w/ OC Palm| TFC X-Changer 360 x2
    Intel i7 965 Extreme Edition | Swiftech Apogee GTZ
    Asus GTX 295 x 2 (Quad-SLi) | Koolance VID-NX295 x 2
    Velociraptor 300GB | Swiftech MCP655 Pump x 2
    G.SKILL PI Black 6GB | EK 250ml Reservoir
    Tygon 7/16 Tubing | Enermax Revolution 85+ 1050w Fully Sleeved

  3. #28
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    314
    Quote Originally Posted by NameTaken45 View Post
    very nice block, i like the LEDs also.
    gabe, i have the older apogee GT, i lost a couple of the hold down screws that go through the mobo to the backplate, how can i order a set of these?
    i didnt see a seperate list for parts on the site, any help would be appreciated.
    At least let us know of the specs on those screws. I'm also in need of some as the ones I'm using are about to strip completely.

  4. #29
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Washington State
    Posts
    1,315
    Quote Originally Posted by Dom7184 View Post
    well the money your going to spend on this and psu, rad, etc to keep the it cool and the heat out of the loop

    i would just get a phase



    Its safer to buy this than get scammed by a phase maker Which is becoming more and more common
    Phenom 9950BE @ 3.24Ghz| ASUS M3A78-T | ASUS 4870 | 4gb G.SKILL DDR2-1000 |Silverstone Strider 600w ST60F| XFI Xtremegamer | Seagate 7200.10 320gb | Maxtor 200gb 7200rpm 16mb | Samsung 206BW | MCP655 | MCR320 | Apogee | MCW60 | MM U2-UFO |

    A64 3800+ X2 AM2 @3.2Ghz| Biostar TF560 A2+ | 2gb Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800 | Sapphire 3870 512mb | Aircooled inside a White MM-UFO Horizon |

    Current Phenom overclock


    Max Phenom overclock

  5. #30
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    332
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmer411 View Post
    Its safer to buy this than get scammed by a phase maker Which is becoming more and more common
    yeah that sucks but thats why you look before you buy, but what ever floats your boat

  6. #31
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    965
    sub'd
    "fightoffyourdemons"


  7. #32
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Torrance, CA
    Posts
    381
    Sub'd as well. Looking forward to seeing tests of early review samples.

  8. #33
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere South, Great Britain.
    Posts
    661
    Quote Originally Posted by Jimmer411 View Post
    Its safer to buy this than get scammed by a phase maker Which is becoming more and more common
    True but you won't be going subzero with this !!

  9. #34
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    164
    yes you will go sub-zero.

    i go subzero with only 226w of TEC on Core i7 -10C idle @ 4180Mhz HT on, load +28C.
    Now i ordered a 300W TEC for it, and i will testy it on this one.
    Last edited by Chillerzero; 04-09-2009 at 11:36 PM.
    3dmark Vantage : +47K (NO PhysX)
    3dmark11 : +14K
    3dmark06 : +41K
    3dmark05 : +50K
    3dmark03 : +187K
    3dmark01 : +126K
    Wprime32m : 3.233sec
    Wprime1024 : 1m30sec320

  10. #35
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere South, Great Britain.
    Posts
    661
    Quote Originally Posted by Chillerzero View Post
    yes you will go sub-zero.

    i go subzero with only 226w of TEC on Core i7 -10C.
    Now i ordered a 300W TEC for it, and i will testy it on this one.
    I can't believe you go -10C with a load....when the CPU's idle maybe but not with a load.

    There is no point in going subzero if the CPU isn't doing anything !!!

    All it does is increase the thermal cycling....which is what will kill your CPU in the end if nothing else gets it first.
    Last edited by zipdogso; 03-20-2009 at 05:27 PM.

  11. #36
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    568
    Quote Originally Posted by Chillerzero View Post
    yes you will go sub-zero.

    i go subzero with only 226w of TEC on Core i7 -10C.
    Now i ordered a 300W TEC for it, and i will testy it on this one.
    Do you mean at load or at idle and what Vcore and Clock speed are you running it at ...

    Do you have a link to the tec you are currently using and one for the TEC your planing on using?


    Cos so far it seems very hard to believe

  12. #37
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    568
    Quote Originally Posted by Chillerzero View Post
    I run about a month on TEC on my Core i7 965 EX.
    All is created by hand, i think 417w TEC is little overkill,
    because i run my Core i7 965 @ 4.1Ghz HT enabled with temps.
    And i emailed some pics of myn TEC also to Swiftech self.
    I also made mountings holes for lga775 in it, so i can use it on several setups.

    The building of myn TEC for Core i7 is viewable here (but it is in dutch) : Chiller's TEC for Core i7 build log

    idle in windows @ -10C
    Full load on 8 treads @ +28C and this 24/7.




    Here are pics from myn mounting Swiftech model 6500 with 245w TEC module in it, here without led's :






    And here some pics with led's on :









    I assume we're talking about this post cos. This is theoretically imposable even in a best case scenario .. You have a CPU generating 230watts of heat being cold by a 226 watt TEC and your loads are 28c .. that it theoretically impossible.

    So you must be forgetting to tell us some thing OR an i7 at that Vcore and frequency doesn't generate 230 watts of heat ?

    It' all very fishy to me

  13. #38
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    756
    Quote Originally Posted by zipdogso View Post
    True but you won't be going subzero with this !!

    You won't be going subzero if you get scammed either.
    Quote Originally Posted by Manicdan View Post
    real men like the idea of packing lots of stuff into a very small space, which is what the mac mini is
    ----------------------------------------------------

    Quote Originally Posted by Baron_Davis View Post
    PS. I'm even tougher IRL.

  14. #39
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere South, Great Britain.
    Posts
    661
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiggy McShades View Post
    You won't be going subzero if you get scammed either.
    I was thinking less about being scammed and more about the fact that TEC is not a replacement for phase...not even close.

  15. #40
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    836
    Quote Originally Posted by Chillerzero View Post
    yes you will go sub-zero.

    i go subzero with only 226w of TEC on Core i7 -10C.
    Now i ordered a 300W TEC for it, and i will testy it on this one.
    True, people will be going sub-zero so insulation is required, but you're talking idle temps here, at load the outcome is totally different and after all we all know that load temperatures count only because this indicates that the system will not hang with the applied cooling method, i.e. what you're looking for when your current cooling device doesn't fit your profile. The Swiftech block will have to handle a lot of heat considering its small size (even though i7 has a bigger socket), I'm curious if it can transport all that heat in an efficient way.

    I have no idea about the exact power output for general i7 cpu's, but what I do believe is that a 226W TEC can do the job and give 20C at the cold side, where the MCW7000-T would give the same results but with few MHz more overclock. In the end the improvement going from 230 to 400 Watt might not be that satisfactory as the heat output increases a lot too and it's just not that easy to deal with.

  16. #41
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,510
    i will go buy a TEC to make sure my i7 stays sub ambient but i want to wait for this !
    swiftech please release a psu compatible with it at 24 volt 28.5 amps
    gabe ever since this was announced i got interested in TEC
    ill get this instead of phase since i dont want to die

    even if i had regular wc i wouldn't get as low as peliter

  17. #42
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Warrenton, VA
    Posts
    2,933
    Chillerzero;


    idle in windows @ -10C
    Full load on 8 treads @ +28C and this 24/7.

    ________

    I can confirm your spread from idle to load is right.
    Just yesterday I primed i7 at 4ghz for 10hrs -
    idle at ~20C, load at 57C (boreas chiller), spread from idle to load was 37C, yours is 38C, so that makes sense, excellent work!
    Last edited by SteveRo; 03-23-2009 at 04:27 AM.

  18. #43
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    965
    Quote Originally Posted by ILikeCosmosS View Post
    ill get this instead of phase since i dont want to die
    uh, what?
    "fightoffyourdemons"


  19. #44
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by zipdogso View Post
    Wow, that was sweet....really nice work
    It didn't take much from your build log with it being in dutch
    But it would of been interesting if I did know I'm sure....
    What is that chart of figures at the beginning ?
    Witch chart you mean ?
    http://www.highflow.nl/forum/f34/cor...stom-tec-2204/

    Photobucket sucks. upgrade next month.

    link updated
    Last edited by Chillerzero; 04-25-2009 at 11:52 AM.
    3dmark Vantage : +47K (NO PhysX)
    3dmark11 : +14K
    3dmark06 : +41K
    3dmark05 : +50K
    3dmark03 : +187K
    3dmark01 : +126K
    Wprime32m : 3.233sec
    Wprime1024 : 1m30sec320

  20. #45
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Auckland New Zealand
    Posts
    568
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveRo View Post
    Chillerzero;


    idle in windows @ -10C
    Full load on 8 treads @ +28C and this 24/7.

    ________

    I can confirm your spread from idle to load is right.
    Just yesterday I primed i7 at 4ghz for 10hrs -
    idle at ~20C, load at 57C (boreas chiller), spread from idle to load was 37C, yours is 38C, so that makes sense, excellent work!

    i certainly hope these numbers are correct based on a 226TEC cos that'll mean TEC's will become all the rage again. and that those CPU calculators are wrong. i guess we'll find out

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Canada, eh?
    Posts
    824
    Hmmm...

    Well, I'll carry it, but I have to question the usefulness of the product. With the LGA775 one there was the justification that the TEC was just inside the threshold of "can be used attached to your PSU instead of with a dedicated unit", but this one doesn't look that way...

    Looking forward to seeing more about this unit. I may even buy one if it impresses.... I've always wanted to play with TEC.
    Please note: I am not here to provide any kind of official NCIX support on these forums.

    For faster (and official) service please contact me at Linus@ncix.com, or please contact our customer care team at wvvw.NCIX.com (Canada) or wvvw.NCIXUS.com (America)

    Heatware: http://heatware.com/eval.php?id=25647

  22. #47
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Warrenton, VA
    Posts
    2,933
    Quote Originally Posted by zipdogso View Post
    I think going to 12v will seriously compromise the unit with a view to overclockers.

    24v meanwells are only adjustable to 22v but the current draw will too high for the supply.

    a 15v turned up to 16.5v might not be too bad and have the necessary current rating.
    EDIT - SE 320-15 adjusts to 18v and the TEC will draw 20amps at this which is just inside the PSU rating.

    Be interesting to see how you tackle this....but am a bit confused why you had a, supposedly, custom TEC made without considering powering it first ?????
    I found one vendor carrying the 320 psu - it was <$100. so the block plus the ps (assuming this psu would work) would be approx $300 - this will be a hot item if it works.
    I think this is it - http://www.peaktopeakpower.com/sp-32...store=ptp_blue
    This should be the specs if I got the right ps, where does it say 15 turned up to 18v can tolerate 20amps? -
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by SteveRo; 03-23-2009 at 02:43 PM.

  23. #48
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Arizona, USA
    Posts
    1,700
    Wow, didn't think that you guys would ever update your TEC series... though, I question the timing of it, with the economy being what it is.


    Core i7 920 D0 B-batch (4.1) (Kinda Stable?) | DFI X58 T3eH8 (Fed up with its' issues, may get a new board soon) | Patriot 1600 (9-9-9-24) (for now) | XFX HD 4890 (971/1065) (for now) |
    80GB X25-m G2 | WD 640GB | PCP&C 750 | Dell 2408 LCD | NEC 1970GX LCD | Win7 Pro | CoolerMaster ATCS 840 {Modded to reverse-ATX, WC'ing internal}

    CPU Loop: MCP655 > HK 3.0 LT > ST 320 (3x Scythe G's) > ST Res >Pump
    GPU Loop: MCP655 > MCW-60 > PA160 (1x YL D12SH) > ST Res > BIP 220 (2x YL D12SH) >Pump

  24. #49
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    57
    idle in windows @ -10C
    Full load on 8 treads @ +28C and this 24/7.

    Yeah the load numbers sound a little low, I ran a artic web block with a 437W 24V TEC with a q6600 G0 stepping and was in the 20s at load at stock speed and 45C at 3.9GHz.

    ddc/xspc top > black ice gtx360 6 high panflos push/pull (25mm shroud both sides)> ddc/xspc top > Artic Web

    I am converting to a 527W 16V and Q9650 probably by the end of next week. I should be able to tame Q9650, but a i7 is a little different. I doubt the swiftech block stands a chance.
    Last edited by Bond Number; 03-25-2009 at 03:41 PM.

  25. #50
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Somewhere South, Great Britain.
    Posts
    661
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveRo View Post
    I found one vendor carrying the 320 psu - it was <$100. so the block plus the ps (assuming this psu would work) would be approx $300 - this will be a hot item if it works.
    I think this is it - http://www.peaktopeakpower.com/sp-32...store=ptp_blue
    This should be the specs if I got the right ps, where does it say 15 turned up to 18v can tolerate 20amps? -
    Wrong meanwell try this one :-
    http://www.meanwell.com/search/s-320/default.htm

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •