Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: XFX Radeon HD 4870 1 GB BIOS Updater Bug Found

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963

    XFX Radeon HD 4870 1 GB BIOS Updater Bug Found

    I was personally curious as to what's different with XFX's ATI BIOS'es compared to the others, but I could not find anywhere to download a copy of the BIOS. So, I decided to look on XFX's own site, and download their "BIOS Update" for the HD 4870.

    Here is where I got it from:


    So I downloaded the "Windows" version of the updater.

    Then I found that it did not have a BIOS file in the archive!


    So I looked further with a Resource Editor. I found that the main flasher EXE file had a BIOS image embedded inside. But, to my surprise, it's NOT for RV770 (HD 4870)!

    Look:


    So then I found that several people are saying the BIOS update didn't work. This may be why.

    In case anyone's curious, I've made a dump of the embedded BIOS file and uploaded it here:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/204533022/RV410.bin.html
    Last edited by AgentGOD; 03-02-2009 at 12:06 PM.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  2. #2
    Xtreme Cruncher Shintai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    7,745
    Scary there is no validation check in their code. Just a brute force flash.
    Crunching for Comrades and the Common good of the People.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Quote Originally Posted by Shintai View Post
    Scary there is no validation check in their code. Just a brute force flash.
    Yea, and I opened it (the exe) on this rig yesterday, and it appeared to be preparing to flash, and luckily, I closed it before it could do so. Phew, not dead HD 4870 X2.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  4. #4
    Xtreme Addict Miwo's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Hopatcong, NJ
    Posts
    1,082
    thats a pretty serious blunder on their part.
    And if they are using the -f force flag, that is a great way to brick cards. Nice way to enter the Radeon market XFX

    'Gaming' AMD FX-6300 @ 4.5GHz | Asus M5A97 | 16GB DDR3 2133MHz | GTX760 2GB + Antec Kuhler620 mod | Crucial m4 64GB + WD Blue 2x1TB Str
    'HTPC' AMD A8-3820 @ 3.5GHz | Biostar TA75A+ | 4GB DDR3 | Momentus XT 500GB | Radeon 7950 3GB
    'Twitch' AMD 720BE @ 3.5GHz | Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2P | 4GB DDR3 | Avermedia Game Broadcaster

    Desktop Audio: Optical Out > Matrix mini DAC > Virtue Audio ONE.2 > Tannoy Reveal Monitors + Energy Encore 8 Sub
    HTPC: Optoma HD131XE Projector + Yamaha RX-V463 + 3.2 Speaker Setup

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    At least the customers don't really have to worry, there's a lifetime warranty on it...Oh wait, it's not covered! If you read the readme that comes with the flasher, they say this (verbatim):
    HD-487A-ZDD BIOS Update
    ======================

    Please extract ALL files into a suitable folder.
    Then RUN the 487AZDD2.exe file to complete the BIOS update.
    Please ensure the system is not turned off or loses power during the process.
    When finished please REBOOT the system.

    Please note XFX do not accept any responsilibility for any consequences of updating the firmware.
    For any advice or questions, please use the ticket system to contact a Technician.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict Luka_Aveiro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,021
    XFX is an nVidia SPY!!!!1!111!!11!one!!11!!!!

    Are we there yet?

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Quote Originally Posted by Luka_Aveiro View Post
    XFX is an nVidia SPY!!!!1!111!!11!one!!11!!!!

    That joker is a heavy!
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast Aerwidh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    620
    Big no-no
    Main Rig: Phenom II X6 1055T 95W @3562 (285x12.5) MHz, Corsair XMS2 DDR2 (2x2GB), Gigabyte HD7970 OC (1000 MHz) 3GB, ASUS M3A78-EM,
    Corsair F60 60 GB SSD + various HDDs, Corsair HX650 (3.3V/20A, 5V/20A, 12V/54A), Antec P180 Mini


    Notebook: HP ProBook 6465b w/ A6-3410MX and 8GB DDR3 1600

  9. #9
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    It's too bad XFX won't cover any bricked cards from flashing this.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  10. #10
    Xtreme Guru SKYMTL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,544
    A manufacturer should never, EVER publically post a BIOS update to a GPU.

  11. #11
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    A manufacturer should never, EVER publically post a BIOS update to a GPU.
    Technically it's not public, you have to have had registered an XFX HD 4870 card there first :P
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  12. #12
    Xtreme Guru SKYMTL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,544
    Quote Originally Posted by AgentGOD View Post
    Technically it's not public, you have to have had registered an XFX HD 4870 card there first :P
    It is still an open invite for people to brick their cards.

  13. #13
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Quote Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
    It is still an open invite for people to brick their cards.
    Well, look at the bright side! More bricked cards (warranty does not cover this, as their readme says) = more profit for XFX, since people have to buy a new card! It's great for the consumer and the economy too, since it's more spending!

    </poor attempt at sarcasm>
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  14. #14
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,657
    Well unless something has changed you can always throw in a pci card and reflash.
    Work Rig: Asus x58 P6T Deluxe, i7 950 24x166 1.275v, BIX2/GTZ/D5
    3x2048 GSkill pi Black DDR3 1600, Quadro 600
    PCPower & Cooling Silencer 750, CM Stacker 810

    Game Rig: Asus x58 P6T, i7 970 24x160 1.2v HT on, TRUE120
    3x4096 GSkill DDR3 1600, PNY 660ti
    PCPower & Cooling Silencer 750, CM Stacker 830

    AMD Rig: Biostar TA790GX A2+, x4 940 16x200, stock hsf
    2x2gb Patriot DDR2 800, PowerColor 4850
    Corsair VX450

  15. #15
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,795
    Cardinal rule of computing....

    If it's not broken, don't fix it!

    Words to live by.....

  16. #16
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    643
    Or do a blind flash. Happened to me a couple times, just have to memorize the flash screens! lol.
    New Build Under Way...

    Server:
    X2 3800+ 0601 UPMW 2.95ghz w/ 1.48v cooled by zalman 7700 Cu
    EVGA 7900gt CO Superclocked (725/875) cooled by modded AMD64 hsf
    DFI NF4 Ultra-D
    2 x 512mb TeamGroup pc4000 UTT BH-5
    OCZ 520W Powerstream

  17. #17
    Xtreme Addict Zaskar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,565
    Quote Originally Posted by freeloader View Post
    Cardinal rule of computing....

    If it's not broken, don't fix it!

    Words to live by.....
    Fixing things that aren't broken is the foundation of all technological advancements :P
    EVGA X58 Classified
    Intel i7 965
    Corsair Dominator 1600mhz 3x2gb
    Nvidia GTX 295

  18. #18
    Xtreme Addict roofsniper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Lubbock, Texas
    Posts
    2,133
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaskar View Post
    Fixing things that aren't broken is the foundation of all technological advancements :P
    woooooooo so true.

  19. #19
    I am Xtreme Ket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    6,585
    ... and people wonder why I will never, EVER, buy a XFX product. This is just yet another catastrophic blunder by XFX. Avoid.

    "Prowler"
    Asrock Z77 Extreme6 | i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.4v | 2x4GB PC12800 Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-15 1T 1.55v | Sapphire HD7950 Vapor-X w\ Gelid Icy Vision A | Xonar DX 7.1 | 640GB WD Black | 2x Sony Optiarc | Corsair 850w HX

    Cooling:

    3x Coolermaster Sickleflow 120mm 70CFM fans | Modified CoolIT ECO sealed loop CPU cooler | Custom made "The Judge" VGA VRM heatsink

    Asrock Z77 thread! | Asrock Z77 Extreme6 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4 Review | Asrock P67 Extreme4/6 Pro3 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 thread | Asrock Z68 Extreme4 Review | Asrock Z68 Gen3 Thread | 8GB G-Skill review | TK 2.ZERO homepage | P5Q series mBIOS thread

    (\_/) This is Bunny.
    (+.+) Bunny is dead.
    (^ ^) Copy and paste Bunny into your sig to create an army of BUNNY ZOMBIE MINIONS!!!

  20. #20
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London,Uk
    Posts
    966
    did anyone actually check this bios isn't the right one or is everyone jumping to conclusions based on that code. XFX didn't make the cards listed in the code so why would anything they have, have such code in it. Reusing working code is the cornerstone of the programming industry, and seeing as you never actually tried to make it work, for all you know it is the working and correct bios.

    Not only that but the surrounding parts are the "the power cable is not connected" cable, which could well mean the whole section is ONLY for that, the message, and so its simply been copied and reused since it first got put in and worked. Its completely normal for companies to reuse bits of code and its completely normal for bits of code like that with old names/dates to make it into newer programs, also remembering that bios's have barely changed in the past 20 years.

    I'd suggest getting a bios for another card, and checking the same section to see if the same data is there, not sure if you can still get a copy of your current gpu bios from gpu-z or not but that would be a start.

    I wouldn't be remotely surprised if you found that every single bios for the past few years has that same section of code in it to be perfectly honest.
    Mail Me | 3500+ , dfi sli-dr, g-skill la, 2x6800gt, 600w pcz, stacker case, air cooled

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast AgentGOD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Quote Originally Posted by drunkenmaster View Post
    did anyone actually check this bios isn't the right one or is everyone jumping to conclusions based on that code. XFX didn't make the cards listed in the code so why would anything they have, have such code in it. Reusing working code is the cornerstone of the programming industry, and seeing as you never actually tried to make it work, for all you know it is the working and correct bios.

    Not only that but the surrounding parts are the "the power cable is not connected" cable, which could well mean the whole section is ONLY for that, the message, and so its simply been copied and reused since it first got put in and worked. Its completely normal for companies to reuse bits of code and its completely normal for bits of code like that with old names/dates to make it into newer programs, also remembering that bios's have barely changed in the past 20 years.

    I'd suggest getting a bios for another card, and checking the same section to see if the same data is there, not sure if you can still get a copy of your current gpu bios from gpu-z or not but that would be a start.

    I wouldn't be remotely surprised if you found that every single bios for the past few years has that same section of code in it to be perfectly honest.
    I made an image dump of the embedded BIOS file. I have it linked on the first post. It's 64 KB sized, definitely not a 4870 BIOS. And RBE doesn't recognize it.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  22. #22
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by AgentGOD View Post
    I made an image dump of the embedded BIOS file. I have it linked on the first post. It's 64 KB sized, definitely not a 4870 BIOS. And RBE doesn't recognize it.
    something is wrong, it should be 128 KB

    someone who already using XFX 4870 1GB, should dump his bios with GPU-Z and post it

  23. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    35
    What about ISO version of BIOS?
    |Asus P5W DH Deluxe|Intel Core2 Quad Q6600+Sycthe Ninja 1000P|G.Skill 2x1GB. DDR2 800MHz.|Samsung 160 GB SATA2 NCQ|AOpen H600B-28+Tagan EasyCon 530W.|Gigabyte 8800GT|Samsung 226BW|Audigy DE@Audigy2 ZS|Creative Inspire 5200|

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •