Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 9800pro to 9800XT flash error Help!

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast sinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    677

    9800pro to 9800XT flash error Help!

    i was working on flashing my radeon 9800Pro to the 9800XT but when i flash to the XT i get a Error saying File open error "ATI.9800XT.256.Samsung.bin" am i doing something wrong or is there maybe a file corrupt. Also im wondering if before i flash should i reset my card to its default speeds, set it at the XT's 412/365, or does it even matter

    thanks

    AMD Rig:
    2500+ @ 3200+ 11x200
    NF7-S 2.0
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 Corsair XMS PC3200

    Intel Rig:
    2.4c SL6Z3 @ 3.4ghz
    IC7-Max3
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 KHX 3200 BH-5

  2. #2
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member Poki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mason, MI... USA
    Posts
    1,286
    I believe people are backwards flashing the XT to the pro bios to defeat the overclocking protection not the other way around... Am i right?
    GA-P35-DS3L no more than 450fsb w/1333 chip
    E6550 stuck at 3150
    V-DATA 2x1gb
    MSI 7900GS 512 3Dmark score in near future
    Old A64 scores2001 39,707 3D03 23,768 3D05 11,394 3D06 5914

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast xDUCK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    914

    Re: 9800pro to 9800XT flash error Help!

    Originally posted by sinn
    i was working on flashing my radeon 9800Pro to the 9800XT but when i flash to the XT i get a Error saying File open error "ATI.9800XT.256.Samsung.bin" am i doing something wrong or is there maybe a file corrupt. Also im wondering if before i flash should i reset my card to its default speeds, set it at the XT's 412/365, or does it even matter

    thanks
    Uhh, I'm going to take a chance here and assume your card is not a 256mb 9800 Pro. You should be thankful you are getting problems switching to the XT BIOS, or your card might have been trashed by now. :smileysex

  4. #4
    Xtreme Enthusiast sinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    677
    yea your right i do have the 128 but i wasnt aware that you couldnt flash that to the XT. This Site didnt say anything about needing the 256mb 9800 to flash
    Last edited by sinn; 11-02-2003 at 06:00 PM.

    AMD Rig:
    2500+ @ 3200+ 11x200
    NF7-S 2.0
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 Corsair XMS PC3200

    Intel Rig:
    2.4c SL6Z3 @ 3.4ghz
    IC7-Max3
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 KHX 3200 BH-5

  5. #5
    CAL-I Member FlyingHamster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Austin, Tx
    Posts
    1,186
    so can I flash my 9800 pro to a XT?
    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R rev 2.0
    Intel Core i7 950
    2x MSI N460GTX Cyclone 768D5/OC in SLI
    Corsair 6GB (3x2gb) DDR3 1600mhz C7
    Silverstone ST75F-P 750w psu
    Samsung F3 1TB

    MY HEATWARE

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast sinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    677
    here it says that 128 users can flash using the 256 bios, so im guessing its possible?

    AMD Rig:
    2500+ @ 3200+ 11x200
    NF7-S 2.0
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 Corsair XMS PC3200

    Intel Rig:
    2.4c SL6Z3 @ 3.4ghz
    IC7-Max3
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 KHX 3200 BH-5

  7. #7
    Xtreme 3DTeam Member Poki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Mason, MI... USA
    Posts
    1,286
    Accoding to the article any r300 can be flashed to the XT bios.

    Although i would not do it, there are definitly some major hardware differences.
    GA-P35-DS3L no more than 450fsb w/1333 chip
    E6550 stuck at 3150
    V-DATA 2x1gb
    MSI 7900GS 512 3Dmark score in near future
    Old A64 scores2001 39,707 3D03 23,768 3D05 11,394 3D06 5914

  8. #8
    Xtreme Enthusiast sinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    677
    reading more in depth it seems that 9 outa 10 people have problems i think will just have to wait until the 128 bios come out

    GOOD LUCK

    AMD Rig:
    2500+ @ 3200+ 11x200
    NF7-S 2.0
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 Corsair XMS PC3200

    Intel Rig:
    2.4c SL6Z3 @ 3.4ghz
    IC7-Max3
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 KHX 3200 BH-5

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member easypanic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    254
    First, in dos : for flashing: your file name is listed as ...9800~1.bin , so you shouldn't type in the full name of the bios file , many people have problems with that .

    Second, no problem with the 256 Mb bios, all is recognized , I only had to set AGP Aperture Size in BIOS to 256 , then it is fully recognized by 3.8 Catalyst .

    Here is my result
    P5N32-E SLI PLUS - E6600 @3.6GHz - 2GB Team Xtreem - ASUS 7950GX2 - 3*74GB RAID 0 - 4*500GB RAID5 (ARECA 1210) - Lian Li PC2000

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast sinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    677
    you gained the overdrive ability correct? what i was wondering is since overdrive increases your clockspeeds until your card gets too hot, and since the 9800 np and pro dont have temperature diodes, wouldnt your card clock it self up till it burned out?

    AMD Rig:
    2500+ @ 3200+ 11x200
    NF7-S 2.0
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 Corsair XMS PC3200

    Intel Rig:
    2.4c SL6Z3 @ 3.4ghz
    IC7-Max3
    ATI 9800 Pro
    2 x 512 KHX 3200 BH-5

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member easypanic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    254
    yes, overdrive is enabled

    don't know by now how it handles the temp sensor issue, didn't have time to test
    P5N32-E SLI PLUS - E6600 @3.6GHz - 2GB Team Xtreem - ASUS 7950GX2 - 3*74GB RAID 0 - 4*500GB RAID5 (ARECA 1210) - Lian Li PC2000

  12. #12
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    the xt bios gave oppainter 300 points less with the same clocks, unless you can oc the card a lot higher with that bios i wouldnt flash to the xt bios

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •