Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.1 - A way to force crossfire w/ profiles

  1. #1
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963

    ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.1 - A way to force crossfire w/ profiles

    Code:
    ATI CrossFire Xtension v1.1
    by AgentGOD
    -----------------------------
    Home pages: www.epichardware.com & www.ultimate-filez.com
      Donation: www.ultimate-filez.com/?page=donate
    
    Description:
    	Ever ran into a problem where you could not use your big, multiple ATI GPU setup on a new game?
    	Don't worry, many people have had the same issue, and up until now, the only solution was to
    	wait for an updated build of the Catalyst drivers, which usually takes over a month! Now, that
    	problem has a solution! ATI CrossFire Xtension allows you to create custom profiles that will
    	force CrossFire (ATI multi-GPU solution) support on non-supported, or new, games and applications.
    
    	Remember, this is only a temporary solution for CrossFire problems, as ATI themselves must update
    	drivers to have true proper CrossFire support for new games. While you wait the month long period
    	(or longer) for ATI to update their drivers, you can use this tool to use CrossFire without waiting,
    	right now, on your new games.
    
    Requirements:
    	-Microsoft .NET Framework v2.0 (minimum)
    	-Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Runtime (usually also required for CCC installation)
    	-An non-CrossFire supported Direct3D/OpenGL game (usually)
    	-Two or more ATI graphics cards (dual-GPU on single PCB counts)
    	-Windows XP/Vista/Seven (32-bit or 64-bit)
    	-ATI Catalyst 9.2 or above recommended!
    
    Instructions:
    	Extract the program to its own folder, then run the program. Add a game/application to the program
    	to create a profile for that game/application. Be sure to select the correct rendering method! If
    	you aren't sure which one your game uses, you can always check Google! Then, launch the game by
    	selecting, then double-clicking the game, or click the Launch button. Your profile settings will be
    	saved upon quitting the program, or you can manually save by hitting the Save button. The profile will
    	be saved as "ATI_CF_Xtension.ini" in the same folder.
    
    *Note: as of v1.1, you can now select which pre-defined CrossFire profile to use! If you aren't sure what to
           do with this drop-down list, leave it at the default name, as it should work fine in most situations.
    
    Enjoy!
    
    
    Credits:
    ----------
    AgentGOD - coding the program
    ATI/AMD - for the HD 4870 X2
    TricksOfDeath - UI revisions
    NickF - bug testing
    psolord - testing with HD 4870 X2 on FEAR 2 (Catalyst 9.1)
    
    Copyright © 2009 [E]pic [H]ardware & Ultimate Filez
    Screen shot:

    Note: In the screen-shot, I added a few games (some CF supported, some not) for demonstration (screen-shot) purposes. FEAR 2 official CrossFire support was just added by ATI in Catalyst 9.2. Thanks to psolord for reporting that v1.0 of the program worked flawlessly with FEAR 2 in Catalyst 9.1.

    Download link:
    http://www.epichardware.com/bin/ATI_CF_Xtension.rar
    Last edited by AgentGOD; 02-20-2009 at 09:22 PM.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  2. #2
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Changes in v1.1
    - Added selectable pre-defined profile list of CrossFire supported Direct3D and OpenGL applications
    - Fixed a few GUI glitches
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  3. #3
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,046
    awesome/sweeet!! finally someone..

    man your making me buy 4870x2 now after all these months.. where were you last year?

    thank you!!

    probably ill be getting 4870x2 now thanks to this app
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-21-2009 at 10:32 AM.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    13
    This program dont work at Windows XP disk or Vista either
    4870X2 Gainward goes like hell card
    Last edited by NikosE; 02-21-2009 at 04:28 PM.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    That happens when you are missing .NET Framework 2.0 or higher.
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Athens Greece
    Posts
    13
    No.. NET Freamework is not missing (I have Dotnetfx 3.5 installed)
    EDIT....I installed the NET Framework again and is OK now...Thanks
    BTW...I tried it at AQUAMARK3 and i notice a huge drop to FPS when this utility is enabled.
    Obviously works only for games..
    Last edited by NikosE; 02-22-2009 at 03:58 AM.

  7. #7
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    963
    Have you tried other pre-defined profiles for it?
    .:: Gaming PC Specs ::.

    Case: Antec Nine Hundred
    CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.6 GHz, 1.44v (cooled by Xigmatek GAIA) [IntelBurnTest{Linpack} stable]
    GPU/Monitor: VisionTek HD 6950 @ 6970, 950 MHz/1375 MHz 1.30v + Sony BRAVIA 32EX400 1080p
    Motherboard: GIGABYTE Z68XP-UD4 F5
    Memory: 16 GB (4x 4 GB) Corsair Vengeance LP DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive: 2x Seagate 500 GB 7200.11 RAID 0 & RAID 1 (Matrix RAID) + 1x WD Caviar Black 640 GB
    Sound: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty Profess1onal, Logitech X-530
    PSU: Corsair AX-1200 (1500W PSU!)
    O/S: Microsoft® Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 X64

  8. #8
    Xtreme Supporter
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    654
    Does this work with games that require the use of launchers such as Warhammer Online?

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •