X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: $15 Water Chiller

  1. #1
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Emmaus, PA, US
    Posts
    1,437

    $15 Water Chiller

    So during some routine Ebay trolling I came across this little gem http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=190285090402

    I wasn't expecting much, given it was being sold by a general item/surplus dealer with an unknown working condition, but hell for $15 I went for it. When it arrived I was greatly surprised

    The unit is absolutely spotless.... brand new. No residue or anything inside the reservoir or piping, just a tad bit of dust on the top of the unit probably from sitting around for a while. The unit contains a Danfoss 101G compressor (134a) with a Speck LNY-2841 water pump. The system is controlled by a digital temperature controller on the side panel. All around excellent build quality and components.

    Although the compressor is tiny compared to what is seen for some water chillers here at XS the unit works flawlessly and only takes maybe a half hour to pull the 3-4 gallon reservoir down to 5c (the current preset minimum on the controller)

    So yeah, it's not gonna cool a quad core or anything, but it's a cute little unit and a hell of a steal at $15 (plus $17.93 shipping )

    Anyway, onto the pics:

    big box


    safely packed


    side view


    compressor/condenser


    reservoir


    testing the pump with some water


    pump label


    other side


    frosty (high rez)
    Click Image to Enlarge


    I figured some XS members would enjoy seeing this, hope you enjoyed

    |Rig: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor|6gb DDR2 800|Dual 250gb Western Digital RAID0|8600GT|

    (12:16:17 AM) OC3D NoL: NOL EAT ANNOYING NOOBIE
    (12:16:19 AM) OC3D NoL: RAWRRRR

  2. #2
    Assistant Administrator systemviper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Newtown, CT
    Posts
    2,875
    Nice Find, you got to love finding a gem in the boneyard
    HWbot - Team: XtremeSystems
    XS cruncher - Team: XtremeSystems
    OCN Feedback
    HEAT


    *** Being kind is sometimes better then being right.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    @ the computer
    Posts
    2,510
    wow you're one lucky guy for finding this great deal. any recommendations on how i should search for something this specific on ebay?
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    292
    wow, great find dude, cant wait to see some loaded results. and make sure you bipass that controller .
    "Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
    - Popular Mechanics, 1949

    "I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
    - Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943


    Heat

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Georgia, Tbilisi
    Posts
    195
    Great finding
    $15 costs only package for that IMHO


    Core i7 920 <|> DFI LANPARTY UT X58 T3eH8 <|> OCZ Platinium 3GB DDR3 CL7 1600Mhz <|> ZOTAC GTX260 c216 <|> Ultra120 2X Noctua 1300RPM <|> Gigabyte ODIN PRO 800W <|> Samsung 275T 27" PVA





  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    128
    Nice job...You're a lucky guy...lol
    Music is my LIFE!!!

  7. #7
    Diablo 3! Who's Excited?
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Boulder, Colorado
    Posts
    9,440
    Woah. That's a nice chiller for $15 + shipping. I should troll ebay a bit more

  8. #8
    WCG Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Grid Square EM58mh
    Posts
    957
    that is a nice find. I'd like to know what kind of unloaded temps you can get, might be good for a dedicated gpu chiller. as per domestic order #9477, all my ebay trolling has been suspended indefinitely...

    Distributed Computing: Making the world a better place, one work-unit at a time.

    http://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/index.jsp

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    214
    Damn you, I had to pay 25 euros for mine (10 for the unit + for parts).
    Last edited by DonNiger; 02-20-2009 at 09:15 AM.

  10. #10
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Emmaus, PA, US
    Posts
    1,437
    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteFireDragon View Post
    wow you're one lucky guy for finding this great deal. any recommendations on how i should search for something this specific on ebay?
    Hard to say really, the main reason this didn't get any bids besides mine was the fact that they didn't even put water chiller or any common terms in the auction. The only reason I found the unit is I was checking out all the seller's items for sale and managed to see it

    |Rig: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor|6gb DDR2 800|Dual 250gb Western Digital RAID0|8600GT|

    (12:16:17 AM) OC3D NoL: NOL EAT ANNOYING NOOBIE
    (12:16:19 AM) OC3D NoL: RAWRRRR

  11. #11
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4,466
    Great find, the only issue I see is that it is 230v vs. 110v. I guess you could build an inverter for it, but probably worth the hassle.
    CPUID http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=554982
    New DO Stepping http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=555012
    4.8Ghz - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=794165

    Desk Build
    FX8120 @ 4.6Ghz 24/7 / Asus Crosshair V /HD7970/ 8Gb (4x2Gb) Gskill 2133Mhz / Intel 320 160Gb OS Drive, WD 256GB Game Storage

    W/C System
    (CPU) Swiftech HD (GPU) EK HD7970 with backplate (RAM) MIPS Ram block (Rad/Pump) 3 x Thermochill 120.3 triple rads and Dual MCP355's with Heatkiller dual top and Cyberdruid Prism res / B*P/Koolance Compression Fittings and Quick Disconnects.

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    On top of a mountain
    Posts
    4,163
    GRRRRRRReat find
    20 Logs on the fire for WCG: i7 920@2.8 X3220@3.0 X3220@2.4 E8400@4.05 E6600@2.4

  13. #13
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Emmaus, PA, US
    Posts
    1,437

    chiller power

    Quote Originally Posted by Utnorris View Post
    Great find, the only issue I see is that it is 230v vs. 110v. I guess you could build an inverter for it, but probably worth the hassle.
    Funny you should mention that - it wasn't long ago I discovered that the outlets in my dorm were not just wired with the L1 and neutral terminals. Either the connections are wired to legs of a 3phase system or some outlets are L1 and some are L2 for the hot connection. Either way I'm able to get 212vac across the hot terminals of two different outlets, so I've already had the chiller up and running

    |Rig: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor|6gb DDR2 800|Dual 250gb Western Digital RAID0|8600GT|

    (12:16:17 AM) OC3D NoL: NOL EAT ANNOYING NOOBIE
    (12:16:19 AM) OC3D NoL: RAWRRRR

  14. #14
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    L.A. ( Latin America)/ 4socket wannabe
    Posts
    2,767
    really enjoyed it.. very good work my friend 220v ftw .. if you could hook some solar panels it would be heaven
    Last edited by Duh; 02-21-2009 at 06:09 PM.
    "Study hard my young friend"[/B].
    ---------------------------------------
    Woody: It's not a laser! It's a... [sighs in frustration]

  15. #15
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    4,466
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] MarioMaster View Post
    Funny you should mention that - it wasn't long ago I discovered that the outlets in my dorm were not just wired with the L1 and neutral terminals. Either the connections are wired to legs of a 3phase system or some outlets are L1 and some are L2 for the hot connection. Either way I'm able to get 212vac across the hot terminals of two different outlets, so I've already had the chiller up and running
    Can you say "Heaven"?
    CPUID http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=484051
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=554982
    New DO Stepping http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=555012
    4.8Ghz - http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=794165

    Desk Build
    FX8120 @ 4.6Ghz 24/7 / Asus Crosshair V /HD7970/ 8Gb (4x2Gb) Gskill 2133Mhz / Intel 320 160Gb OS Drive, WD 256GB Game Storage

    W/C System
    (CPU) Swiftech HD (GPU) EK HD7970 with backplate (RAM) MIPS Ram block (Rad/Pump) 3 x Thermochill 120.3 triple rads and Dual MCP355's with Heatkiller dual top and Cyberdruid Prism res / B*P/Koolance Compression Fittings and Quick Disconnects.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    ARIZONA
    Posts
    1,565
    woooooooo man what a smoken deal !
    some times the dragon wins & sometimes he dont
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    PENT E8400 batch #814A014 ...4.3 at 1.34v~4.7 at 1.45v
    FOXCONN MARS
    COOLIT Eliminator 7*c idle~27~38*c load $95bucks !
    BUFFALO FireStix's ddr2-800 do 1200 eazy at 2.1v
    OCZ 2x2 kit pc2 8500 - 1066 @1069 atm
    Quattro 1000W
    Radeon 2-4850's in crossfire
    OCZ Vertex SSD thanks Tony!
    ALL PIPED INTO HOUSE AIRCOND ;}
    *QUANTUM FORCE* saaya & sham rocks !
    *REAL TEMP*
    At least you've got some Xtreme software now for working in Xtreme situations! "Unclewebb" rocks !
    *MEMSET* Felix rocks !
    *SUPER TEC MAN* UncleJimbo rocks !
    OVERCLOCKERS MAG..http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...d.php?t=197660

  17. #17
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Emmaus, PA, US
    Posts
    1,437
    Now that I've done some more testing, and had 3 voltmeters all going at once - I've found my dorm has full access to all 3 legs of 208v 3phase

    each meter is connected across a hot connection from 3 different outlets in a delta configuration
    Click Image to Enlarge

    |Rig: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor|6gb DDR2 800|Dual 250gb Western Digital RAID0|8600GT|

    (12:16:17 AM) OC3D NoL: NOL EAT ANNOYING NOOBIE
    (12:16:19 AM) OC3D NoL: RAWRRRR

  18. #18
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    368
    Wow I am never that lucky. Be careful, I am from the Caribbean where we don't have 110V power generation and everything is 240V's... I can assure you a 220V shock is nothing nice....
    Thermaltake Xaser VI Case
    ASUS P7P55 Motherboard
    Intel i7 870
    AMD 4870X2
    8 gigs of OCZ Fatal1ty DDR3
    CoolIt Boreas 12 TEC CPU cooler
    Coolermaster UCP-1100W PSU


    Quote Originally Posted by {GOD}Raptor22
    I find it exceedingly humorous how you sit here and continue to play keyboard warrior even though you know you are wrong.

  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    121
    Quote Originally Posted by [XC] MarioMaster View Post
    Funny you should mention that - it wasn't long ago I discovered that the outlets in my dorm were not just wired with the L1 and neutral terminals. Either the connections are wired to legs of a 3phase system or some outlets are L1 and some are L2 for the hot connection. Either way I'm able to get 212vac across the hot terminals of two different outlets, so I've already had the chiller up and running
    Hey, can you explain this a little more? So you're saying if the outlets are wired differently for the hot connection you can combine them for 220V??

    Can I just rewire my outlets to combine them then?
    Like, basically you rigged this thing yourself?
    http://refreshyourhome.com/new-steam...CONVERTER.html

    I wish I had a clue how to wire such a device since it seems heavily marked up at $200. You just run the hot to the hot of an outlet that's wired opposite? That doesn't sound too undoable, but how do you check whether it's wired opposite or not?

    Oh I kinda get it...if you have a circuit breaker/fuse box the outlets should be on different circuits/fuses, because the 220v is split at the box into two 110v's? I think all my sockets are from one fuse, but my light bulbs are all on the 2nd fuse so I'd have to tap the light bulb power, lol.
    Last edited by Tekdemon; 03-01-2009 at 12:13 PM.

  20. #20
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Emmaus, PA, US
    Posts
    1,437
    Quote Originally Posted by Tekdemon View Post
    Hey, can you explain this a little more? So you're saying if the outlets are wired differently for the hot connection you can combine them for 220V??

    Can I just rewire my outlets to combine them then?
    Like, basically you rigged this thing yourself?
    http://refreshyourhome.com/new-steam...CONVERTER.html

    I wish I had a clue how to wire such a device since it seems heavily marked up at $200. You just run the hot to the hot of an outlet that's wired opposite? That doesn't sound too undoable, but how do you check whether it's wired opposite or not?

    Oh I kinda get it...if you have a circuit breaker/fuse box the outlets should be on different circuits/fuses, because the 220v is split at the box into two 110v's? I think all my sockets are from one fuse, but my light bulbs are all on the 2nd fuse so I'd have to tap the light bulb power, lol.

    Not sure if that thing has any additional stuff in it or not, but it looks like it works the same way. For home outlets you'd need one outlet wired with L1 and Neutral, the second outlet wired with L2 and Neutral. Then across L1 and L2 you have 220v. I get 208v here because the hots are actually legs of 3phase power.

    |Rig: AMD Athlon64 X2 6000+ Windsor|6gb DDR2 800|Dual 250gb Western Digital RAID0|8600GT|

    (12:16:17 AM) OC3D NoL: NOL EAT ANNOYING NOOBIE
    (12:16:19 AM) OC3D NoL: RAWRRRR

  21. #21
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern VA
    Posts
    1,290
    Quote Originally Posted by [cTx]biglipzit View Post
    Wow I am never that lucky. Be careful, I am from the Caribbean where we don't have 110V power generation and everything is 240V's... I can assure you a 220V shock is nothing nice....

    you should try 250Amps of 480V while the motor is running

    one of the Technicians did that to me a few years ago, i said we need to turn the power off, but he replied that he needs the power on and the motor running to figure out whats wrong..... lucky for him, he had his saftey harness on, so it only blew him about 5feet back... we were only up 240' at the time
    Its not overkill if it works.


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •