Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 102

Thread: 4+1 vs. 8+2(8+1) Phase Power Design

  1. #26
    Xtremely High Voltage Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    16,048
    Quote Originally Posted by Dumo View Post
    Try overclock voltages in bios, see if there vdroop or instability.
    Some mobo can't take high vcore for long benching session.

    http://img503.imageshack.us/img503/8...shot046uw2.jpg
    Ouch.
    The Cardboard Master
    Crunch with us, the XS WCG team
    Intel Core i7 2600k @ 4.5GHz, 16GB DDR3-1600, Radeon 7950 @ 1000/1250, Win 10 Pro x64

  2. #27
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Dumo View Post
    Try overclock voltages in bios, see if there vdroop or instability.
    Some mobo can't take high vcore for long benching session.

    your not alone ,,

    Ive made many bagels using a model 770/790gx (ultra self cleaning disposable convection oven) smoke signals when the clean cycle is done
    "AMD...Like the perfect Storm,...Everything needs to be just right"
    X555x4SuperCore@4450mhz@1.64v..........

    RYZEN 7 1800x/ ASUS ROG STRIX VEGA64/ =EK NICKEL WB, Feser THC 2x360 1x480
    X470 Gigabyte Aorus7, Patriot 3400mhz 16gb dual2x8
    SSD Samsung 970pro,,860EVO

  3. #28
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,103
    Quote Originally Posted by CandymanCan View Post
    Bringing this old thread back to life. What about the 8+1 Designs ? The cost between the 8+2 and 8+1 are alot, i could buy the Phenom 955 and a Asus 8+! board for $309 allowing me money to buy a 4890 and memory, whereas the 8+2 design i would be short . How would this affect overclocking tho vs a 8+2 board ?
    If you get a 8+1 make shure it has Ramsinks or at least some type of cooling if there is not a heatpipe from the get go.



    Ive pushed 4+1 and @1.65volts it isnt pretty compared to 8+1 mobos.




    For $100 - $120 there are several new 8+2 mobos that are fantastic. Most of them will handle 1.55v-1.70v fairly easy and qiute stable under preshure.

    Now Under $80 you can find some Nice older 8+1 will handle about the same up to 1.6v with a High TDp Oc. You need to have the Fets properly cooled. The 4+1's can still Pop with high volts even with w/B cooling.

    Im surprized i have not Popped the TA770 with 1.65v when the 9950 was @3.5ghz. That Mobo Hurt my ears it Screamed so loud

    The Ones that dont come with a heappipe just need to be improvised with Ram sSinks or a Fan/Sink cooler of some sort.

    The Open Box Mobos EGG,, Are insane right now. Most Mobos will just need a CD or manual . Most the Ones ive ever recieved were exactly that an Open Box with Everything inside
    "AMD...Like the perfect Storm,...Everything needs to be just right"
    X555x4SuperCore@4450mhz@1.64v..........

    RYZEN 7 1800x/ ASUS ROG STRIX VEGA64/ =EK NICKEL WB, Feser THC 2x360 1x480
    X470 Gigabyte Aorus7, Patriot 3400mhz 16gb dual2x8
    SSD Samsung 970pro,,860EVO

  4. #29
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,014
    None of these are true 8 + 2 phases......its a gimmick...
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  5. #30
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,103
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    None of these are true 8 + 2 phases......its a gimmick...
    There still 4 and or 6 but just name them 8+1 or 8+2 what ever correct.

    I mean if you count the fets chokes , at least that what it seems to be anyway.
    "AMD...Like the perfect Storm,...Everything needs to be just right"
    X555x4SuperCore@4450mhz@1.64v..........

    RYZEN 7 1800x/ ASUS ROG STRIX VEGA64/ =EK NICKEL WB, Feser THC 2x360 1x480
    X470 Gigabyte Aorus7, Patriot 3400mhz 16gb dual2x8
    SSD Samsung 970pro,,860EVO

  6. #31
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,014
    yes they are 4 and 6 phases, no true 8 phases on any of them....I would just pay more attention to the quality of the components used.
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  7. #32
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,663
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    yes they are 4 and 6 phases, no true 8 phases on any of them....I would just pay more attention to the quality of the components used.
    You mean to say my Asus M3A79-T Deluxe which clearly states on the front of the box that is it "8+2 Phase Power Design" is only a 4 phase?! That makes me quite angry at Asus.



    So this is a blatant lie?
    Last edited by Mechromancer; 06-03-2009 at 04:32 AM.
    Core i7 2600K@4.6Ghz| 16GB G.Skill@2133Mhz 9-11-10-28-38 1.65v| ASUS P8Z77-V PRO | Corsair 750i PSU | ASUS GTX 980 OC | Xonar DSX | Samsung 840 Pro 128GB |A bunch of HDDs and terabytes | Oculus Rift w/ touch | ASUS 24" 144Hz G-sync monitor

    Quote Originally Posted by phelan1777 View Post
    Hail fellow warrior albeit a surat Mercenary. I Hail to you from the Clans, Ghost Bear that is (Yes freebirth we still do and shall always view mercenaries with great disdain!) I have long been an honorable warrior of the mighty Warden Clan Ghost Bear the honorable Bekker surname. I salute your tenacity to show your freebirth sibkin their ignorance!

  8. #33
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    There seems to be a lot of confusion about ASUS 8+2 power circuitry.
    Both Crosshair 3 and M4A79T-Deluxe use L6740 PWM controller made by ST Micro.
    It's a 4+1 phase controller, which means power regulation is done in 4 phases for core voltage and in 1 phase for NB voltage. ASUS uses double inductors for each phase to split the load to more components and thus increase longevity and decrease temps. It's not a true 8 phase regulation, the same as for example Rampage II Extreme PWM being a 8-phase, double inductor design, not a 16-phase PWM.


    Whether it is a blatant lie depends on what does "phase" mean for you. ASUS and Gigabyte seem to think that inductor = phase, but rest of the world knows that "phase" is "one part or portion in recurring or serial activities or occurrences logically connected within a greater process, often resulting in an output or a change." (Wikipedia). Phase is not something that exists on motherboard PCB, it's a parameter of the voltage control process. So for most people, yes, ASUS and Gigabyte and many other manufacturers lie about their PWM designs.

    EDIT: The same design is used on M3A79-T Deluxe.
    Last edited by G.Foyle; 06-03-2009 at 05:04 AM.
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  9. #34
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,014
    Yep good info man.....

    I believe the gigabyte is a 6 phase......but they go about 6 phase a diff way.....
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  10. #35
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    ROMANIA
    Posts
    687
    Hello guys, i'm not to expert in phase power design, can one of us please tell me how man phases for CPU have the board in the picture?
    5 CPU+ 1chipset ( or4 4+2?)? The board is ASROCK A790GMH/128. I'm planning to buy one, it's PWM seems to be solid even though it has no cooling..
    And. i have heard that Asrock MB overvolts the voltage a bit, quite strange...
    Opinions if this 90$ can hold a X3 720 at 1.5v?
    Last edited by xdan; 06-03-2009 at 08:55 AM.

  11. #36
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,014
    Judging by the components used I would not plan on breaking any records....An 8 pin input at the PWM would not hurt......seems they only used 4pin....they are likely overvolting to comnpensate for vdroop....
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  12. #37
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    ROMANIA
    Posts
    687
    Judging by the components used I would not plan on breaking any records
    I'm not planning to break any records , i'm planning a decent overclock 3.7-3.8GHZ no more than 1.5v..
    Actually from a 90$ Mb it will be quite good...

  13. #38
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    Gigabyte 790FXT-UD5P has similar 4+1 phase, double inductor design with Intersil controller (I cant remember the exact model)
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  14. #39
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,014
    Ahh that must be the intels they run 6 phase on then.....
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  15. #40
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,244
    Quote Originally Posted by xdan View Post
    I'm not planning to break any records , i'm planning a decent overclock 3.7-3.8GHZ no more than 1.5v..
    Actually from a 90$ Mb it will be quite good...
    maybe 1.45v is possible.. biostar am2+ can not go far above 1.45v Asrock and Biostar pwm looks similiar. 720be 3,7ghz is doable on v1.425 there you have hope

  16. #41
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    67
    xdan i'm not sure, but at a first sight of the motherboard i would say that is a 4+1 phase pwm.
    The 6th "phase" is for the 790GX chipset.

    I would also say that the cpu VRM is pretty weak because it has only 2 mosfets on a phase. Nowadays a good motherboard has 3 or 4 mosfets (4 on ASUS motherboards ex: M3N78PRO motherboard).

  17. #42
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    ROMANIA
    Posts
    687
    would say that is a 4+1 phase pwm.
    The 6th "phase" is for the 790GX chipset.
    +1 for what ?,if the six is for chipset? memory has it's PWM.
    Nowadays a good motherboard has 3 or 4 mosfets (4 on ASUS motherboards ex: M3N78PRO motherboard).
    That has no Amd 790GX/FX/XT chipset and neither SB 750 or 710.
    This Asrock is the cheap 790GX(SIDE PORT MEMORY)+SB 750(ACC) i've found.
    For what i want the cheaper Asus mb is 30$ fo for 4 mosfets it doesn't worth. And Biostar MB i can't buy because i can't find near bye.
    Last edited by xdan; 06-03-2009 at 09:09 AM.

  18. #43
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    67
    No, you didn't understand:

    The CPU VRM is composed of:
    -4 phases for the CPU(cores) (4 coils + 8 mosfets)
    -1 phase for the memory controller embedded into the cpu(1 coil + 2 mosfets)

    The A790GMH/128MB is the chipset of the motherboard with diverse functions. It's vrm is that 6th pair of 1 coil + 2 mosfets.

    I reffered to ASUS M3N78PRO as having a solid CPU VRM for it's price and an example of a motherboard with 4 mosfets on phase.
    For OC AMD790XX chipset + SB750 is the best option.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by nr4; 06-03-2009 at 10:25 AM.

  19. #44
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    Quote Originally Posted by xdan View Post
    +1 for what ?,if the six is for chipset? memory has it's PWM.
    Most PWM controllers for AMD platforms have 4 phase regulation for core voltage and 1 phase regulation for NB and L3 cache (uncore) - that's what 4+1 means.

    EDIT: ninja'd by nr4
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  20. #45
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    109
    So much talk and none about MSI's DrMos?

    MSI is one of the top tier companies that have refused to join the phase marketing game. How would a 5 phase DrMos fare vs the Asus/Giga monster phase power?

  21. #46
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    ROMANIA
    Posts
    687
    Ok, i understood, thank you very much nr4 and xoqolatl for explications, anyway i will still buy that board because i'm making an ultra performance budget system -220$ i mean the A790GMH/128-90$, an X2 550(instead of x3 720)-103$ may be i get@quad?!, a 2GB DDR2 1066 kit of memory-30$. And i want that video on board because i'm waiting the 4770 to restock, or the 4730 to appear .....
    Still if that it's not hapening soon i will buy an 4850 at 110$....

  22. #47
    Brilliant Idiot
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Hell on Earth
    Posts
    11,014
    Quote Originally Posted by Entropicity View Post
    So much talk and none about MSI's DrMos?

    MSI is one of the top tier companies that have refused to join the phase marketing game. How would a 5 phase DrMos fare vs the Asus/Giga monster phase power?
    According to initial reports and tests it has blown up ( under extreme testing )......however not being one to follow the crowd I will test it myself with proper insulation and a bios that works right this time......I personally have had no issues pushing it hard on air or water.....
    heatware chew*
    I've got no strings to hold me down.
    To make me fret, or make me frown.
    I had strings but now I'm free.
    There are no strings on me

  23. #48
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by chew* View Post
    According to initial reports and tests it has blown up......however not being one to follow the crowd I will test it myself with proper insulation and a bios that works right this time......
    OUCH! I better be careful with mine then. I guess it should be ok for "normal" overclocking.

    One thing I do notice is it DOES run cooler.

  24. #49
    all outta gum
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    3,393
    Dr. MOS is, in short, a technology where a pair of mosfets (high & low) and a mosfet driver are integrated into one circuit. Instead of three (driver, mosfet low, mosfet up) you have one. They have nothing to do with phase count, but MSI says they run cooler and output less ripple. MSI is not the only company that uses integrated mosfets; Gigabyte has them too, for example on GA770T-UD3P.
    www.teampclab.pl
    MOA 2009 Poland #2, AMD Black Ops 2010, MOA 2011 Poland #1, MOA 2011 EMEA #12

    Test bench: empty

  25. #50
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,244
    Quote Originally Posted by Entropicity View Post
    So much talk and none about MSI's DrMos?

    MSI is one of the top tier companies that have refused to join the phase marketing game. How would a 5 phase DrMos fare vs the Asus/Giga monster phase power?
    probably phase 5 means 4+1 after all..

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •