OCN2
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Bloodrage + Turbo mode.

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.A. (Richmond VA)
    Posts
    154

    Bloodrage + Turbo mode.

    I've tried many times to get turbo mode always on but it always blue screens me. (So long as it's enabled I BS.)

    I've tried all kinds of voltages and bclock/multi settings. It literally blue screens every time.

    Not even 133/12 lol.
    I'm sort of at a loss. I have the same issue with 20x multiplier so long as the bclock is over 201 and the multi is 20x I blue screen on boot up.
    I can boot into windows stable at 20x by 200bcl but I always crash within the first 20 seconds of prime.

    [ Voltage wise for 19/200 (3.8ghz/1600mhz) This is completely stable.
    I run
    +70 vcore
    +200VTT
    1.65 vdimm
    all other settings default. ]

    I usually go like,
    +140 vcore
    +200vtt
    1.65vdimm when 20/200 1.72vdimm when 19/211 or 18/220.
    and all other stock accept IOH at 1.120v when I'm trying to hit 4ghz.

    But be it 19/211 or 20/200 or 18/220 or just any random combo to try to hit 4ghz I can never stay stable.

    I'm not the most experienced in overclocking so I might very well be setting everything up wrong.

    This is all on G13 bios.


    (Temps are fine up to around +1.45mhz vcore then I'm load around 85-90c)
    i7-920 @ 4.0ghz/1600mhz,
    Quantum Force Bloodrage, DominatorDD3,
    Velociraptor, gtx460-sli, 2tb W.D., Corsair HX1000w,
    CM:Scout

    http://soundcloud.com/kiyka/

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    A great place again
    Posts
    2,589
    In the bios under cpu features what are your settings ?

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.A. (Richmond VA)
    Posts
    154
    PPM = enabled
    EIST = enabled
    Third one = auto
    HT = enabled
    Rest is disabled.
    i7-920 @ 4.0ghz/1600mhz,
    Quantum Force Bloodrage, DominatorDD3,
    Velociraptor, gtx460-sli, 2tb W.D., Corsair HX1000w,
    CM:Scout

    http://soundcloud.com/kiyka/

  4. #4
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    A great place again
    Posts
    2,589
    Quote Originally Posted by kiyka View Post
    PPM = enabled
    EIST = enabled
    Third one = auto
    HT = enabled
    Rest is disabled.
    Disable the third one CxE.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.A. (Richmond VA)
    Posts
    154

    ah

    Thank you! That got my halfway. Now I can boot with turbo on.

    Now the problem that remains is I crash the moment prime is fired up. (+1.4 vcore/200vtt)

    This was a 19/200. But like I said anytime I seem to hit 4ghz I crash after prime runs for mere seconds.
    i7-920 @ 4.0ghz/1600mhz,
    Quantum Force Bloodrage, DominatorDD3,
    Velociraptor, gtx460-sli, 2tb W.D., Corsair HX1000w,
    CM:Scout

    http://soundcloud.com/kiyka/

  6. #6
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    A great place again
    Posts
    2,589
    What are your memory settings and which bios are you running ?

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.A. (Richmond VA)
    Posts
    154

    Mem

    I had them at stock settings (auto.) when trying to get 4ghz
    and I've tried them at 8-8-8-20 which is what I'm using at the moment.
    everything else is auto, or default.

    G13 bios.
    i7-920 @ 4.0ghz/1600mhz,
    Quantum Force Bloodrage, DominatorDD3,
    Velociraptor, gtx460-sli, 2tb W.D., Corsair HX1000w,
    CM:Scout

    http://soundcloud.com/kiyka/

  8. #8
    One-Eyed Killing Machine
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Inside a pot
    Posts
    6,393
    When you enable the PPM option the CPU Voltage settings in the BIOS goes haywire.
    What used to give you 1.35V will be giving you something like 1.42V.
    Set your CPU Voltage to +50mV for example, save & exit, get into the BIOS again, go to the Hardware Monitoring section and check the CPU Voltage.
    You're probably feeding your CPU with 1.45V+
    Coding 24/7... Limited forums/PMs time.

    -Justice isn't blind, Justice is ashamed.

    Many thanks to: Sue Wu, Yiwen Lin, Steven Kuo, Crystal Chen, Vivian Lien, Joe Chan, Sascha Krohn, Joe James, Dan Snyder, Amy Deng, Jack Peterson, Hank Peng, Mafalda Cogliani, Olivia Lee, Marta Piccoli, Mike Clements, Alex Ruedinger, Oliver Baltuch, Korinna Dieck, Steffen Eisentein, Francois Piednoel, Tanja Markovic, Cyril Pelupessy (R.I.P. ), Juan J. Guerrero

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    U.S.A. (Richmond VA)
    Posts
    154

    ppm

    Well I tried it but I don't see any voltage diff, it's still doing the blue screens no matter how I set it. =\
    i7-920 @ 4.0ghz/1600mhz,
    Quantum Force Bloodrage, DominatorDD3,
    Velociraptor, gtx460-sli, 2tb W.D., Corsair HX1000w,
    CM:Scout

    http://soundcloud.com/kiyka/

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by BenchZowner View Post
    When you enable the PPM option the CPU Voltage settings in the BIOS goes haywire.
    What used to give you 1.35V will be giving you something like 1.42V.
    Set your CPU Voltage to +50mV for example, save & exit, get into the BIOS again, go to the Hardware Monitoring section and check the CPU Voltage.
    You're probably feeding your CPU with 1.45V+
    It's not 'haywire' Bill, it's just dependant on a few variables.

    Enable PPM and EIST but Disable C1x and the voltage will not fluctuate based on idle/load/cpu multi ala speedstep (Also the same for C1, but not C1E).

    However, vcore demand is based on load, threads and cpu multi.

    Load will droop slightly, 0.01-0.02v maybe without vdroop enabled, with vdroop it overvolts based on thread demand (Bios set, or application load), i.e 1 core = +0.01v, 2 cores = +0.02 and 4 cores = +0.05v.

    Bios set CPU multi also affects vcore, with increasing vcore for each multi, i.e Turbo mode x21 will set more than non-turbo mode x20.

    So if you have vdroop enabled, x21 multi and 4 threads enabled, you will be well over whatever you set in BIOS.

    I just have the DMM to hand at all times, BIOS HW monitor/CPU-Z is a tiny bit out.

    PS. Sasha if you're reading this, get in touch - I have lots of feedback about the board

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    131

    Bloodrage Part 2

    Quote Originally Posted by r1ch View Post
    PS. Sasha if you're reading this, get in touch - I have lots of feedback about the board
    Hi! r1ch

    when can we see part 2 of your bloodrage testing over on Benchtec

    Raptor1
    Case: Lian Li PC-A7010B
    Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48 (G30 Bios)
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16Ghz, Q812A232, (Running At 3.2 Ghz)
    Memory: Cellshock 4 x 1GB DDR3 PC3-1866 (8-8-8-16) Blue Dual Channel Kit (Running At 1600 Mhz)
    CPU Heatsink: Thermalight Ultra Extreme 120 With Scythe S-Flex SFF210G S-FDB 1900RPM 120MM Fan
    Graphics: BFG 9800 GX2 OC Driver 185.81
    Power Supply: Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W EGX1000EWL ATX2.2 Modular PSU
    Sound: Creative X-Fi Fatality Pro
    Monitor: Viewsonic 19" VX1940w Widescreen LCD 1680X1050 2ms
    DVD Drive: LG GGWH20L Super Multi Blue Blu-ray Disc Rewriter and HD-DVD Rom Lightscrbe DVD±RW, DVD±R, DVD±R DL, DVD-RAM SATA
    Backup: Iomega REV 35GB SATA
    Hdd: OS - 2 x Western Digital VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS BackPlane Version 300GB 10,000RPM, 16MB SATA2 (Raid 0)
    Hdd: Storage - Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB 7,200RPM 32MB SATA2
    OS: Windows 7 Build 7100 RC x64
    Bios Settings: http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...06&postcount=1

  12. #12
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    911
    Anyone know of a basic i7 / Bloorage OC guide? I haven't even started yet and would like some quick start stuff.
    Bloodrage || 920 @ 3.2Ghz || TRUE Black
    3x 2GB HyperX 2000 || @ 2000Mhz 7.7.7
    2x 300GB WD VR Raid 0 || 2x 2TB Samsung F3 Raid 0
    LG 10x BD-R || LG 22x DVD/RW
    MSI GE 470 || LG 246WP
    Sonar X-Fi || Klipsch 5.1
    Lycosa || Mamba || Exact Mat
    CM ATCS 840 || Seasonic M12D
    Server 2008 R2 x64

  13. #13
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Shipai
    Posts
    34,647
    kiyka, how hot is your cpu?
    could it be running too hot?
    whats holding you back, cpu clocks or bclock?
    are you sure mem isnt holding you back either?
    what psu are you using?

    r1ch, stot on, thats the thing with vcore and others have it as well, though some worse and some better.
    intel noticed we dont like droop and disable it, so they FORCE it no by using dynamic vid changes.. we CAN disable those, but then vid is frozen and eist becomes meaningless for those who run it, since clock reduction alone doesnt reduce power and heat production of the cpu a lot. but most of us arent running eist anyways, so that should be fine.
    we should have a setting to freeze vid soon, until then, sorry for the inconvenience, you might have to run a tad higher vcore than you need to make sure vcore in idle is still high enough to be stable. but from what ive heard and seen stability actually doesnt seem to be a problem, its more of a "i can see vcore jump and drop and dont like it" thing than really limiting overclocks. correct me if im wrong though, i can push to get this fixed faster if its really causing problems.

    gr8golf, about an oc guide, any i7 guide will do fine actually
    id recommend to drop all multis first, then up the bclock and increase vtt
    then raise the cpu multi and vcore with it, btw, i recommend keeping ht off, its really pretty much useless and only heats up your cpu, and heat is limiting i7 on air
    then raise the uncore multi and bump up vtt if needed
    then increase memory and bump up vdimm if needed

    then polish off the whole thing and increase the chipset voltages and vtt and vcore a step more and you should have it all clocked at the max and stable
    hope that helps

    if you get stuck and cant get further, shoot me a pm

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •