MMM
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: cosmos s 1100 case rad placement

  1. #1
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    250

    cosmos s 1100 case rad placement

    I would like to know if a feser 480 rad will fit in the top bay of this case, also I would like to paint my rad...any tips, sandpaper-what grit, primer, paint??
    Last edited by spaz77; 02-09-2009 at 03:18 PM.

  2. #2
    this guy did use a xspc rx 360 rad in the top he was able to fit push pull here u go
    look at it
    http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=17969354

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    250
    thats neat...but i need to know if a 480 will fit?

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    358
    Quote Originally Posted by spaz77 View Post
    thats neat...but i need to know if a 480 will fit?


    that is my cosmos 1000. so i am sure it will fit yours too. (feser quad radiator used in the picture)
    I like turtles

  5. #5
    i am not sure but you will have to do some major modding to 8 fans the max u can get is 6 without major modding
    you will lose 1st bay
    but you possibly could be able to fit it as long as it isnt to fat of a rad

  6. #6
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by ILikeCosmosS View Post
    i am not sure but you will have to do some major modding to 8 fans the max u can get is 6 without major modding
    you will lose 1st bay
    but you possibly could be able to fit it as long as it isnt to fat of a rad
    I am not looking to do a push-pull config, just want to mount a 480 rad in the top of my cosmos s 1100..and from the pic its been done!

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by pika198 View Post


    that is my cosmos 1000. so i am sure it will fit yours too. (feser quad radiator used in the picture)
    I wonder if all the early batches of the 17mm spacing are gone, I want to order a 480 xchanger but need to 15mm spacing.

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    358
    Quote Originally Posted by spaz77 View Post
    I wonder if all the early batches of the 17mm spacing are gone, I want to order a 480 xchanger but need to 15mm spacing.
    mine is 15mm space , got it from www.tilatech.com, but now they sold out
    I like turtles

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    358
    Quote Originally Posted by spaz77 View Post
    I am not looking to do a push-pull config, just want to mount a 480 rad in the top of my cosmos s 1100..and from the pic its been done!
    I was able to do it with no mods. Have three pull fans on the inside of case, and two at the top (under the black fan guard at the top of the case). only lost access to first two cd bays, but it is all internal
    I like turtles

  10. #10
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by pika198 View Post
    I was able to do it with no mods. Have three pull fans on the inside of case, and two at the top (under the black fan guard at the top of the case). only lost access to first two cd bays, but it is all internal
    so I would need a few more m4 screws am I right?

  11. #11
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    358
    Quote Originally Posted by spaz77 View Post
    so I would need a few more m4 screws am I right?
    I used what came with the rad. The rad comes with enough screws for a push and pull setup. So a total of 32 screws are included
    I like turtles

  12. #12
    Fanboy of Good Products
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    4,047
    how did u get the screws in there and then secure the rad?
    Cruncher #1: EVGA Z68 FTW | i7-2600k @ 4.5 | 6GB Ram
    Cruncher #2: Supermicro Dual-Socket | 2 x 6-core Opterons | 4GB Ram
    Cruncher #3: 8-core Xserve 1,1

    T400 for non-crunching



    "But don't think you'll run me over - It's, ah, planting season here in Texas... and the farm is growing..." -Otis11 on crunching WCG

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    358
    Quote Originally Posted by shoota View Post
    how did u get the screws in there and then secure the rad?
    used 6 short screws to mount it at the top and then just mounted the fans
    I like turtles

  14. #14
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    Have someone more "clear" pictures of how quad radiator fits in CM Cosmos S? I'm pretty sure, that PA120.4 will fit, but i want to see it's placement in the front side of the case. I'm not sure, that front small grills will fit.

    Thank in advance.
    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

  15. #15
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    489
    Quote Originally Posted by pika198 View Post
    I was able to do it with no mods. Have three pull fans on the inside of case, and two at the top (under the black fan guard at the top of the case). only lost access to first two cd bays, but it is all internal
    Can you post some better pics of how you mounted that quad rad inside the Cosmos? It sounds like only half of the radiator is getting air from outside the case. The other half of the rad is using recirculated air from inside the case, I guess.

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Miami,Fl
    Posts
    298
    Although you should be able to fit it inside the case, there is not enough space for the 4 fans to suck in air, and exhaust it in an efficient manner.
    So you can fit it, but you will utilize the maximum efficiency of your quad radiator.

    If you have the case I would measure the area under the fan grill/guard on top and plan accordingly.

    You might have sufficient face for 420 (3x140) rad, which should net the same performance as a quad 480 assuming you can match airflow.

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    That's my plan:

    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

  18. #18
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    238
    It's time to clean my wc system, so i want to change something. So, i'll ask again - is it worth to use quad raditor like upper scheme or stick with 3x120?
    ASUS P5E Deluxe X48 | C2Q Q9550@testing[Fuzion v2+MCR320+MCP655] | G.Skill 4x2GB F2-8800CL5D-4GBPQ@testing | Sapphire 4870X2@ testing | 150GB WD VelociRaptor + 2xWD6400AAKS | Chieftec CFT-850-14C | Iiyama E2403WS | Razer DeathAdder | CM CosmosS Black

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •