Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 75 of 202

Thread: Tripple digit cascade

  1. #51
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    I welcome you to come to vegas to measure it yourself, watch, feel, listen and ask questions at comdex.If you want to swap meters I can do but but I am not going out to buy another one because you dislike the reading it has from a cascade built by an retired HVAC engineer.

    Maybe you might learn something from the engineer who built mine.

    My PEV responds to the load quickly, cap tubes do not. You were running a cap tube right?

    Gotta get back benching, came out to post new scores.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  2. #52
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    ok well, ill just go fire up one of my -150c revcos, stick my probe in and call it a super computer freezer, post the pic and ill be the coolest guy ever.

    dude, the company i work for is called los angeles CASCADE. we're called that because thats all we do, cascade systems.im not claiming to know everything, but in my 10 years working on cascade systems (thats constantly everyday) i have never ever seen such a wonder as -107c useing 2 compressors with 95 in the second stage. i grew up with these freezers and know what im talking about. i can take your revco apart down to nothing and put it back together

    im not tryin to be a jerk and its not sour grapes. just deal with it, your temp is wrong.
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  3. #53
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    It probably is wrong. I thought we went over this.

    I have a complete helium cryo setup

    Maybe Ill turn on the baxter and let it get down to temp and lock a new probe inside when it gets down to -85c
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  4. #54
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    my dad could beat up your dad.
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  5. #55
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    Its ok mickey, I understand what he is saying. but I think my avatar is like a stick poking at him

    It will be changed soon enough as I am sure you want to know what my block looks like.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  6. #56
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    387
    Originally posted by captaincascade
    hey i stole yer idea with useing a hot plate.

    anyone know how much heat 1 of these puts off, i think mines for a crock pot. i got it set up with a temp control set to 100c. do you think thats enough? will this be a good way to test?
    I use a 160w condensate heater pan. I started up and tested my scratch project. The condensate heater pan was at 170degF, while I maintained a -45degF evaporator.

    I've got pics of all the testing and the completed project. I think I'll get around to posting them, today (on another thread).

  7. #57
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Denmark Frederikshavn
    Posts
    477
    We want some pics of the system running!! but thats REALLY some nice temps
    -=Back In Business=-

  8. #58
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    510
    yeah, is the system insulated well enough to leave on for long periods of time? We're all anxiously awaiting pics. I'm most curious about how its insulated considering all the problems people with dry ice have...and yours in colder.
    I have a computer.

  9. #59
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,460
    Well, whatever temps it is, it's a damn nice system.

  10. #60
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    Very well insulated, the right hand sides of both compressors is cool, below ambiant.

    No bubbles in sight glass, we charged first stage under full load.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  11. #61
    Xtreme Christmas Lighter
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Upstate NY, USA
    Posts
    4,088
    Originally posted by captaincascade
    my dad could beat up your dad.





  12. #62
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    Originally posted by FUGGER
    Its ok mickey, I understand what he is saying. but I think my avatar is like a stick poking at him



    It will be changed soon enough as I am sure you want to know what my block looks like.
    Thats about right. I dont care about your computer racing, though its nice it has a purpose and i hope my systems do what is expected. i race freezers, and this guys usin a broken stop watch. I dont mind competition, but itd be nice to see how much further i have to go, acuratly.

    And cmon the "my dad could beat up your dad " comment was pretty funny.
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  13. #63
    Overclocking Guru
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SoCal, USA
    Posts
    5,231
    captaincascade,

    you need to go to XTW today with your Cascade rig. We need to try this Athlon 64 on it again.

    OPP

  14. #64
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Darby FL, USA
    Posts
    2,154
    Captain, you're just having more fun than the law allows, aren't you?

    I have family in your area (Lawson Refrigeration in Irvine). I'm tempted to run out there and join in the fun... LOL


    Author - Refrigeration Trouble Shooting Books

    Want to learn more? Click Here

  15. #65
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    860
    "Sits in the dark watching & learning. he has found a home"

  16. #66
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    475
    Captain, I also doubt FUGGER's temp measurements, but based on the numbers he is able to come close if his evap is really good, and hist load in the 80-140W range.

    -107C evap temp would mean at least -112C SST, especially at these low temps. At -112C, our low side pressure is about 0.18 bara (~5.5 inch Hg). With an SC12 running at 60Hz, this is a suction pressure which is possible. It can be compared with a prommie running at -52C. Hard, but not impossible.

    Still, to maintain this, he would need to condense at about -40C, thus with his high stage maintaining at least -45C at load. Now, this is hard for an SC12.

    Thus, IMHO it is possible (read: not impossible), though I expect real evap temperature to be around -95C .. -100C.

    cmon FUGGER, give us some more details about the thing. High stage evaporating temp, pressures, etc.

    One more question: how do you do the low stage refrigerant expansion?

  17. #67
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    -97 is the absolute coldest ive seen with a 2 stage r-95 system. That was on a revco i rebuilt, and that was on the thermocouple that leads to the inlet to the 2nd stage evap directly sodered to pipe. -93, -94 is the coldest ive ever seen box temp. calculations and disney charactors aside, i do realize im arguing a dead point. i don't like to consider myself god, more like one of his children just like you. only difference is i was sent here to die for your sins. A great pestalence will soon be upon you. Repent!
    join me in my not understanding why people would not believe i know what im talking about.

    I really work at radio shack, live in my moms basement, and collect baseball cards.

    yes gary i am having to much fun. lol

    cmon you know its pretty funny guys.:-)
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  18. #68
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    475
    Originally posted by captaincascade
    join me in my not understanding why people would not believe i know what im talking about.
    No doubt about that.
    Still, -100C *is* possible with R508b in our systems, so fugger might indeed run this low.

    To put it differently: have you ever seen a commercial single-stage reciprocal compressor R404a system running below -45C? Many here do it.
    [/QUOTE]

  19. #69
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    CC, I was told I am not running straight 508B in second stage.

    No problem for my 15+ hours of benching this weekend. Both compressors run cool and the whole suction side was very cool (iced at one point till we adjusted the PEV)

    From my limited experiance I can comprehend that using a cap tube on a cascade will not produce the capacity needed just the insane temp range to fire up (been there, done that)

    I dont want to give too many specs out because if I am wrong you guys will run me into the ground and I do not need an extra orafice expansion at this time. Reggie (HVAC engineer) will be online soon and be able to answer questions and correct my mistakes.

    Dabit, high side R507B not in vacuum, no bubbles in sight glass. Low side PEV on the Evap head feeding a custom made distributor inside the evap head. Center pressure point retention mech for NO board warpage. four corners are not used. (gotta love a big C clamp)

    You seen the base of my block in my avatar.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  20. #70
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    how can you see if there is bubbles in the sight glass? isn't it frozen?

    are you useing a sporlan zz txv?

    oh, and hey op, how far does my temp warm up on a load like -78c max? somethin like that. i had to rev it down so he could overclock the amd64. i was just bypassin a bit from high to low like a capacity control.


    its not possible with those compressors, can you give me that?
    Last edited by captaincascade; 11-03-2003 at 10:53 AM.
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  21. #71
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    It is possible to break away ice layer from the sight glass on first stage at any time. The second stage is under insulation and can be pulled back to expose. Do you need pictures.

    I am a newb to know how far these compressors will go, but I do know they are operating very nicely.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  22. #72
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    picture a wave of electicity..... up and down ....up and down....
    just a wavey line ok

    now what the run cap does is creates another wave that doesnt go down and up as much and kinda keeps it uh .... not so wavey


    it just kinda sorta uh,,, makes it more dc than ac i wanna say kinda...... less amps to make the waves,,, get it?


    hey you removed your "how does a run cap question"?
    Last edited by captaincascade; 11-03-2003 at 11:30 AM.
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  23. #73
    Xtreme Owner Charles Wirth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    12,378
    I offered for you to come look at it early, could have saved some bandwidth and aggravatoin if you took me up on my offer. I even offered you $100 towards gas /shrug

    oh well, lets see what yours can do. Eric wants to drive and Im cool with that.
    Intel 9990XE @ 5.1Ghz
    ASUS Rampage VI Extreme Omega
    GTX 2080 ti Galax Hall of Fame
    64GB Galax Hall of Fame
    Intel Optane
    Platimax 1245W

    Intel 3175X
    Asus Dominus Extreme
    GRX 1080ti Galax Hall of Fame
    96GB Patriot Steel
    Intel Optane 900P RAID

  24. #74
    Freezer Racer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    la,ca
    Posts
    703
    we're doin what now?


    did you understand the run cap?
    If i was an animal Id be a freezer.

  25. #75
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sierra Nevada Mountains (not my Beer)
    Posts
    486
    Hey Guys, this is becoming sorta like, well, a food fight....Fugger, I'd like to come look at it for free! I could use a road trip!

Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 123456 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •