MMM
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stress Testing in Windows7

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    74

    Stress Testing in Windows7

    Does anyone have any experience stress testing in Windows 7? I had my new build pretty much stable on XP, then made the move over to 7 to discover it no longer passed prime95's blend test. A quick google told me that Windows 7 breaks P95's torture tests?

    Are there any stress test applications that people have used successfully with Windows 7?
    Hardware: CaseLabs T10 | REIV | 3930k @ 4.8 | 16GB Mushkin 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 | 3x GTX680+ 4GB Tri-SLI | 2x 240GB Cherryville raid0 | 2x 3TB Barracuda | CEntrance DACmini CX | HiFiMan HE-500 | 30" Ultrasharp U3011
    Watercooling: EK-Supreme HF | 3x EK-FC680 GTX | EK-FB Kit RE4 | MCP35X2 | 2x Alphacool UT60 | XSPC RS360 | EK-Multioption RES X2 250 Advanced

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    74
    Nobody has done stability testing in Windows 7!?
    Hardware: CaseLabs T10 | REIV | 3930k @ 4.8 | 16GB Mushkin 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 | 3x GTX680+ 4GB Tri-SLI | 2x 240GB Cherryville raid0 | 2x 3TB Barracuda | CEntrance DACmini CX | HiFiMan HE-500 | 30" Ultrasharp U3011
    Watercooling: EK-Supreme HF | 3x EK-FC680 GTX | EK-FB Kit RE4 | MCP35X2 | 2x Alphacool UT60 | XSPC RS360 | EK-Multioption RES X2 250 Advanced

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Garner, NC
    Posts
    141
    my Q6600 is stable using Linpack.
    When Lightning strikes...The Heartbeat stops...



  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    74
    I was just looking at the LinX thread... think I'll give that a try tonight.
    Hardware: CaseLabs T10 | REIV | 3930k @ 4.8 | 16GB Mushkin 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 | 3x GTX680+ 4GB Tri-SLI | 2x 240GB Cherryville raid0 | 2x 3TB Barracuda | CEntrance DACmini CX | HiFiMan HE-500 | 30" Ultrasharp U3011
    Watercooling: EK-Supreme HF | 3x EK-FC680 GTX | EK-FB Kit RE4 | MCP35X2 | 2x Alphacool UT60 | XSPC RS360 | EK-Multioption RES X2 250 Advanced

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Northeast Ohio, Where the weather changes every 30 min...
    Posts
    598
    You just get a slightly lower overclock just like moving from XP to Vista.
    Not much to say right now.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by Oldguy932 View Post
    You just get a slightly lower overclock just like moving from XP to Vista.
    Nope, you got that one totally wrong based on a false assumption. It's actually the opposite of what your thinking. Windows 7 runs on less resources then Vista does and is easier on the OC then Vista as well. I have 4 boxes running multiboots with Win7, 3 of which are overclocked. Win7 introduces no new problems for overclocking against Vista and compares quite favorably to XP in that regard (closely matching it, in fact).
    Ci7 7700K/32Gb Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz/Asus TUF Z270 Mark 1/PNY RTX 3090 XLR8 Epic-X/Samsung 960 Pro 512gb/Toshiba X300 6Tb/Corsair Carbide 400C/Corsair HX850i Platinum/EVGA CLC 240 AIO/Windows 10 Pro

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •