Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 613141516
Results 376 to 390 of 390

Thread: Tutorial: How to softmod to ANY VGPU you want without hardmods! (1.3~1.6v or more)

  1. #376
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2
    Hi there! I used the method mentioned here(with RivaTuner plugin) to further overclock my 4870 but with no success. Without volt mod i was able to reach 800 mhz on core. 830 Mhz was not stable it was crashing from time to time in Crysis benchmark. I tried to increase vcore only a bit and increased core to 830 but Crysis was still unstable and it hang even faster than without voltage increase! Continuing to increase volltage led me to nothing - benchmark was hanging faster to faster My 4870 is cooled with Accelero S1 and Turbo Module upon stock RAM and VRM cooling. Anu suggestions?

  2. #377
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany _ Frankfurt
    Posts
    395
    hello,
    i hope your gpu isn't on the way to die, but there is always written, at your own risk, you should always keep that in mind i think
    www.vitesse24.de
    www.vitesse24.de


    C2Q q6600 3.3GHZ @ 1,184V
    4,5GHZ@ 1,52V ( 9* 500 )




    Corsair Dominator 10000 2gb, 8888 2gb, 9136 1gb

  3. #378
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Posts
    42
    Guys, any idea if these methods will work on the HD 5870 cards? Are they equipped with Volterra VT11xx regulators?

  4. #379
    BANNED!!!!!!!!!!!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles/Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,040
    Does this method still work?

  5. #380
    World Champion - IRONMODS
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northern Japan
    Posts
    1,999
    Afterburner is the preferred method these days:

    http://event.msi.com/vga/afterburner/download.htm
    Quote Originally Posted by Massman
    My definition of 'efficient' is 'it does not suck monkeyballs'. Yes, I set bars low.
    [CENTER]The post counter is not an intelligence meter!

    MAX11L - "It's like a console...with the suck turned down and the awesome turned up" -tet5uo
    Heat Team IRONMODS

  6. #381
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    CT, USA!!!
    Posts
    2,968
    Does anyone still have the EVGA-GVT-patch.rar patch the download site is no longer working.

  7. #382
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Croatia->Zagreb
    Posts
    135
    i need him to..can anyone please re-upload


  8. #383
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London. UK
    Posts
    229
    hmmm, these are are fine, but what if i want to change the memory voltage of my 4890?

    I can't find a method apart from GPU-Tool that allows this, but it doesn't allow saving settings at startup, i'm stuck here. Anything out there i can try?
    RIG 1: X6800 | DFI Infinity 975X/G | 2x1GB OCZ PC2-8000 Plat EL XTC |
    X1900 XTX Crossfire | FSP 700W Epsilon |

  9. #384
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Tallinn, Estonia
    Posts
    27
    In my opinion software memory voltage change is not working. Controller just don't support voltage change....
    You may set it "X" votage, but actually voltage change is zero.(Only way to find it out is to measure it with multimeter)

  10. #385
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London. UK
    Posts
    229
    well, if i run GPU tool "test for stability" and then lower the memory voltage (the one that is named ???) eventually it get pixel issues and it will crash, so it's definitely doing something.
    RIG 1: X6800 | DFI Infinity 975X/G | 2x1GB OCZ PC2-8000 Plat EL XTC |
    X1900 XTX Crossfire | FSP 700W Epsilon |

  11. #386
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    124
    Does anyone know how to softmod the voltages on a Asus 5870 v2 via RBE i cant seem to access the voltage regulator part on the bios with RBE
    i dont think its updated for these cards

    the voltage regulator chip on these cards is : uP6208_Detection = 1
    VDDC_uP6208_Detection = 46h those are the detection routines for MSI afterburner 2.0 beta 6 for asus v2 5870 regulators and hardware monitoring.
    Intel I7 3.5ghz 4770k @4.5Ghz 1.285v HT-Enabled | Gigabyte OC z87 DDR3 | 2x8 Avx 2133 C9 @2400 C10 1.64v | PC-Power & Cooling 950w MKII Single Rail Monster | Creative ZXR Sound Card | 24" NeC MultiSync 24WMGX3 1920x1200 60hz | Sennhizer HD650 Headset | Various HDDs 5+ Terabyte | Noctua D14 Heatsink Push/Pull Config | 2x His 7950`s X-Fire @1120/1450 *Stock Cooling* | LG Bluray Drive/Writer |

  12. #387
    BANNED!!!!!!!!!!!
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles/Hong Kong
    Posts
    3,040
    The patch link is not working..

  13. #388
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    3
    Well I'll be. The Mod worked and got my X2 up to 1.35v. Yesterday I pronounced my X2 dead/dying since it started BSOD'ing in 3D games. (first time it showed was SC2). Same type of death as my first original one. Slowly it started locking up, (with or without BSOD), then finally artifact on boot to finally no more booting. 1st RMA lasted about 2 weeks then artifacted and died as well. 2nd RMA is this current one. Performed great up until yesterday then like I said, Lockup and BSOD. Today I found this post and tonight I tried this mod. Go figure at 1.35v she no longer locks up or BSOD's. I bet this is only a temporary fix but for now I'll take it until I can get an RMA request for a 3rd card. Amazing stuff guys. Looking at the Amp Draw like others have posted, the change in amps from 1.26/1.30 - 1.35 is much greater than 1.35-1.40 so even though the voltage is increasing, there is more than likely a limit that we are reaching. My amp usage hit 95A at 1.35 (vs 75-82ish at 1.30) and it did hit 97A at 1.40v but thats the max.

  14. #389
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    285
    Is it possible to raise vGPU higher than 1.30 on 9800gx2 with any program? I'm using voltage factory and max measured vGPU is 1.30. I can set way higher in program without result
    Overclocking, it's a lifestyle

  15. #390
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Sydney , Australia
    Posts
    1,604
    Do any of these tools work with current gpus?

    Bencher/Gamer(1) 4930K - Asus R4E - 2x R9 290x - G.skill Pi 2200c7 or Team 2400LV 4x4GB - EK Supreme HF - SR1-420 - Qnix 2560x1440
    Netbox AMD 5600K - Gigabyte mitx - Aten DVI/USB/120Hz KVM
    PB 1xTitan=16453(3D11), 1xGTX680=13343(3D11), 1x GTX580=8733(3D11)38000(3D06) 1x7970=12059(3D11)40000(vantage)395k(AM3) Folding for team 24

    AUSTRALIAN DRAG RACING http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFsbfEIy3Yw

Page 16 of 16 FirstFirst ... 613141516

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •