Page 4 of 30 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 100 of 750

Thread: GTX285 various mods.. which may work for GTX260/280/295 also

  1. #76
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    sorry nickless no pencil but all it takes is silver conductive paint to bridge a vid pin

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/...2&postcount=56

    if you bridge vid pin 2 and 4.. take a look at post #71 by cryptik

    and results @ post #73 by dengyong
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-09-2009 at 02:43 AM.

  2. #77
    Xtreme Member nickless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU, BUL
    Posts
    195
    Quote Originally Posted by NapalmV5 View Post
    sorry nickless no pencil but all it takes is silver conductive paint to bridge a vid pin

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/...2&postcount=56

    if you bridge vid pin 2 and 4.. take a look at post #71 by cryptik

    and results @ post #73 by dengyong
    Thank's mate, you are great. Last question, can I remove this silver conductive paint and how, when I decide to sell the card?
    |RIIIE||Xeon W3520#3845A935|EVGA GTX480||PC3 16000 Kingston HyperX 6GB||2x150GB WD VRaptor||WD6401AALS||HAF 932//CM 1250W||LenovoL220x||X-Fi Xtreme Music||Lycosa+Lachesis+Destructor+G27+P880|
    WC-Loop1: CPU |EK-Supreme HF|Magicool Xtreme III||MCP355||MCRES| Loop2: VGA/NB| EK-FC480 GTX-Acetal / MCW30|MCP655|MCR220QP|MCRES|


  3. #78
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Yes silver conductive paint is easily removed with some isopropyl alcohol or acetone on a Q-tip. If you use acetone be careful what you get it on, it is quite a strong solvent, but I have not had an issue with it yet.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  4. #79
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Napalm, would you mind measuring the shader voltage on your cards? I use one of the small caps a centimeter or so towards the rear of the card from the shader chip (on the back of card) - I'm pretty sure this is the shader voltage anyway.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  5. #80
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Event Horizon
    Posts
    2,543
    For anyone confused about the vmod here's a pic.
    All credit to CryptiK and NapalmV5.
    GTX285 vmod.jpg
    Last edited by dengyong; 02-09-2009 at 12:17 PM.
    3770k L221B009 @4500mhz 1.2v HT on IHS Tim replaced | ASUS Maximus V Gene | G.SKILL F3-2400C10D-16GTX | CORSAIR AX850 PSU | GTX 680 water cooled | Swiftech MCP35X | 2x PA120.3 | Swiftech APOGEE-XT

  6. #81
    Xtreme Member nickless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU, BUL
    Posts
    195
    I made it, I bridged 2 and 4 pin with silver conductive paint and now I have 1.22v Vcore and 2.12v Vmem. Thank's a lot to NapalmV5, dengyong and CryptiK .
    Get some test now
    |RIIIE||Xeon W3520#3845A935|EVGA GTX480||PC3 16000 Kingston HyperX 6GB||2x150GB WD VRaptor||WD6401AALS||HAF 932//CM 1250W||LenovoL220x||X-Fi Xtreme Music||Lycosa+Lachesis+Destructor+G27+P880|
    WC-Loop1: CPU |EK-Supreme HF|Magicool Xtreme III||MCP355||MCRES| Loop2: VGA/NB| EK-FC480 GTX-Acetal / MCW30|MCP655|MCR220QP|MCRES|


  7. #82
    Xtreme Mentor dengyong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Event Horizon
    Posts
    2,543
    Quote Originally Posted by nickless View Post
    I made it, I bridged 2 and 4 pin with silver conductive paint and now I have 1.22v Vcore and 2.12v Vmem. Thank's a lot to NapalmV5, dengyong and CryptiK .
    Get some test now
    NapalmV5 and CryptiK did all the work and deserve all the credit.
    3770k L221B009 @4500mhz 1.2v HT on IHS Tim replaced | ASUS Maximus V Gene | G.SKILL F3-2400C10D-16GTX | CORSAIR AX850 PSU | GTX 680 water cooled | Swiftech MCP35X | 2x PA120.3 | Swiftech APOGEE-XT

  8. #83
    Xtreme Member ChinStrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CR:IA
    Posts
    384
    hmm, i have an eVGA SSC - the first three from the left already have resistors on them. thats all though, 1,2 and 3 - the rest are blank.

    would bridging set 4 help any you think?
    PC-A04 | Z68MA-ED55 | 2500k | 2200+ XPG | 7970 | 180g 520 | 2x1t Black | X3 1000w

  9. #84
    Xtreme Member ChinStrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CR:IA
    Posts
    384
    actually, looking again - 1,2,3 and 11 are resistored already.
    PC-A04 | Z68MA-ED55 | 2500k | 2200+ XPG | 7970 | 180g 520 | 2x1t Black | X3 1000w

  10. #85
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    1/2/3/11 is normal for SSC version, this gives ~ 1.23vgpu/2.15vmem. If you bridge 4 you will get a little extra voltage. I currently have 1/2/3/4/11 bridged and I'm experimenting with other arrangements.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  11. #86
    Xtreme Member ChinStrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CR:IA
    Posts
    384
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    As Napalm said just bridge it with solder, the 'resistors' they use are 0 - 0.1 ohms anyway (basically a dead short between the 2 contacts). Max stable clocks did improve after the mod.

    On my card (base model EVGA):

    1/3/11 = 1.16 vgpu / 2.11 vmem
    1/2/3/11 = 1.22 vgpu / 2.13-2.14 vmem

    EDIT - bridged the 4th contacts (so now have: 1/2/3/4/11 bridged), now have 1.23 vgpu / 2.15 vmem under load, basically at SSC voltages now.

    Raising voltage hasnt had a large effect on load temps, before mods on auto fan speed it was ~80*C in really heavy scenes of crysis, at 1.22v is was around 83*C, and now at 1.23v it's around 85*C (but today is warmer weather too). Fan doesn't go over 72%.
    hmm. i just saw this. adding the 4th pin does infact give the extra .01 on vcore?
    PC-A04 | Z68MA-ED55 | 2500k | 2200+ XPG | 7970 | 180g 520 | 2x1t Black | X3 1000w

  12. #87
    Xtreme Member ChinStrap's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    CR:IA
    Posts
    384
    this is a great thread. i thank you guys for your willingness to share!

    your efforts are appritiated
    PC-A04 | Z68MA-ED55 | 2500k | 2200+ XPG | 7970 | 180g 520 | 2x1t Black | X3 1000w

  13. #88
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Yes for me bridging 4 gave me an extra 0.01v on both vgpu & vmem.
    Last edited by CryptiK; 02-11-2009 at 08:38 PM.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  14. #89
    Xtreme XIP chispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,480
    Thanks for this guide guys ,well done. I would like to know where to measure v.core and v.mem ? where are the points to check with DMM ? i just got an xfx GTX 285xxx and i would like to measure my stock voltage and try this mod after testing the card on stock volts.
    Any help and guidance will be greatly appreciated.

    chispy.

  15. #90
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by nickless View Post
    I made it, I bridged 2 and 4 pin with silver conductive paint and now I have 1.22v Vcore and 2.12v Vmem. Thank's a lot to NapalmV5, dengyong and CryptiK .
    Get some test now
    I was going to reply to your PM but it looks like you have it sorted now.

    Quote Originally Posted by chispy View Post
    Thanks for this guide guys ,well done. I would like to know where to measure v.core and v.mem ? where are the points to check with DMM ? i just got an xfx GTX 285xxx and i would like to measure my stock voltage and try this mod after testing the card on stock volts.
    Any help and guidance will be greatly appreciated.

    chispy.
    Hey Chispy, here's the points I use. Red = vgpu measure point, green = vmem measure point.

    Last edited by CryptiK; 02-09-2009 at 08:29 PM.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  16. #91
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    ^ dengyong/cryptik - thanks

    nickless - looks like you got it figured out thanks to cryptik/dengyong

    if you guys also bridge vid 10 you may get 1.24-25vcore

    if you guys want ~1.26vcore which is the most doable right now/~2.17vmem.. just solder a 22k resistor from ground to one of the points @ vid 2

    your welcome guys

    Quote Originally Posted by dengyong View Post
    NapalmV5 and CryptiK did all the work and deserve all the credit.
    forget credit.. sharing is more rewarding
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-09-2009 at 08:31 PM.

  17. #92
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    Napalm, would you mind measuring the shader voltage on your cards? I use one of the small caps a centimeter or so towards the rear of the card from the shader chip (on the back of card) - I'm pretty sure this is the shader voltage anyway.
    is it the smaller cap above/right of C1285 ?

  18. #93
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    I measured 1.18v at both caps to the right of where 'C1277' is written on the PCB. I may be wrong though this might not be shader voltage.

    Also I just bridged VID 10 (as well as having 1/2/3/4/11 bridged) and got no change in voltage. Then I removed VID 4 leaving 1/2/3/10/11 bridged and got 1.21v load and a BSOD at stock clocks. No idea what caused it but I'm removing VID 10 and hope stability returns.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  19. #94
    Xtreme Member nickless's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    EU, BUL
    Posts
    195
    If 2/4/ give 1.22-1.23v, can I try 2/4/10 for some extra vcore?

    [off] Are commands for GTX 285 in nvflash the same like GTX280:
    For Normal Flash: nvflash -5 -6 newbios.rom
    For Forced Flash: nvflash -4 -5 -6 newbios.rom [off]
    Last edited by nickless; 02-10-2009 at 12:32 AM.
    |RIIIE||Xeon W3520#3845A935|EVGA GTX480||PC3 16000 Kingston HyperX 6GB||2x150GB WD VRaptor||WD6401AALS||HAF 932//CM 1250W||LenovoL220x||X-Fi Xtreme Music||Lycosa+Lachesis+Destructor+G27+P880|
    WC-Loop1: CPU |EK-Supreme HF|Magicool Xtreme III||MCP355||MCRES| Loop2: VGA/NB| EK-FC480 GTX-Acetal / MCW30|MCP655|MCR220QP|MCRES|


  20. #95
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    Quote Originally Posted by CryptiK View Post
    I measured 1.18v at both caps to the right of where 'C1277' is written on the PCB. I may be wrong though this might not be shader voltage.

    Also I just bridged VID 10 (as well as having 1/2/3/4/11 bridged) and got no change in voltage. Then I removed VID 4 leaving 1/2/3/10/11 bridged and got 1.21v load and a BSOD at stock clocks. No idea what caused it but I'm removing VID 10 and hope stability returns.
    sorry about that.. after so many combos..

    i had:
    1/2/3/4/5/11
    1/2/3/4/5/10/11
    1/2/3/4/5/9/10/11
    many others

    i dont remember exactly how i reached ~1.25vcore

    probably vid 5 so: 1/2/3/4/5/11

    im gonna confirm that in a bit..


    Quote Originally Posted by nickless View Post
    If 2/4/ give 1.22-1.23v, can I try 2/4/10 for some extra vcore?

    [off] Are commands for GTX 285 in nvflash the same like GTX280:
    For Normal Flash: nvflash -5 -6 newbios.rom
    For Forced Flash: nvflash -4 -5 -6 newbios.rom [off]
    no just 1/2/3/4/11

    let me see if i can get it ~1.24-25vcore


    yes same commands
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-10-2009 at 02:17 AM.

  21. #96
    Xtreme XIP chispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    1,480

    Thumbs up

    [QUOTE=CryptiK;3640847]I was going to reply to your PM but it looks like you have it sorted now.



    Hey Chispy, here's the points I use. Red = vgpu measure point, green = vmem measure point.
    QUOTE]


    Thanks a lot Cryptik , appreciate your help bro. Testing today i will let you know how this mod goes on my card.


    chispy.

  22. #97
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Quote Originally Posted by NapalmV5 View Post
    sorry about that.. after so many combos..

    i had:
    1/2/3/4/5/11
    1/2/3/4/5/10/11
    1/2/3/4/5/9/10/11
    many others

    i dont remember exactly how i reached ~1.25vcore

    probably vid 5 so: 1/2/3/4/5/11

    im gonna confirm that in a bit..




    no just 1/2/3/4/11

    let me see if i can get it ~1.24-25vcore


    yes same commands
    Don't apologise, I'd been bridging things experimenting myself, and was minutes away from bridging VID 10 of my own accord.

    I tried 1/2/3/4/5/11 and it didn't cause any change in voltage for me. I'd like to get 1.25v, I think that would be a good balance between heat & speed.

    Quote Originally Posted by chispy View Post


    Thanks a lot Cryptik , appreciate your help bro. Testing today i will let you know how this mod goes on my card.


    chispy.
    No problem mate, hope you get some good results with it.
    Last edited by CryptiK; 02-10-2009 at 03:13 AM.
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

  23. #98
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    i just redid 1/2/3/4/5/11 and @ startup its ~1.24vcore and @ load ~1.25-26vcore



    next ill try 1/2/3/4/5/6/11

    edit: startup @ 1.23vcore load @ 1.25-26vcore
    Last edited by NapalmV5; 02-10-2009 at 03:33 AM.

  24. #99
    Xtreme Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    4,068
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/Forums/...2&postcount=77

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeyakame View Post
    fgw,

    Shall do that mate and get back to you.

    I just finished reading and re-reading the Intersil ISL6327CRZ multiphase closed-loop feedback and compensation PWM Voltage Reg datasheet, the VR used by NV in the die shrink G200 reference cards, GTX 260 55nm and GTX 285 55nm.
    Seems NV screwed you guys over with VR cost cutting this time around, mind you the IC itself only costs $5usd or so.

    It's a VR designed with cost savings and affordability in mind so it lacks any kind of external low-pin count bus interface accessibility and relies on the pcb designer to set up all the necessary operational values in design and testing phase. There are 8 VID pins which when pulled up the base VID is read by which pins are 0 or 1 and converted to digital signal by DAC. '

    Voltage adjustment is done through current offset via the OFS pin, which is polarity dependant for negative or positive offset, switch to Vss (gnd) for neg, switch to Vcc (vin) for pos. Offset is configured through external resistors connected between the DAC and REF pins, the impedance dynamically controls the current which in turn determines the Vout (voltage out).

    Long story short, unless NV have some kind of low pin count programmable interface to adjust a pull up or pull down resistor connected between DAC digital VID signal pin and REF voltage reference pin there is absolutely NO CHANCE AT ALL to control Voltage Adjustments via software on either the GTX 260 55nm or GTX 285 55nm. The only way would be to change the resistor between DAC and REF pins, to give a greater current offset to drive Voltage out higher.

    If EVGA is saying it is possible on their cards, short of physical changes to the NV reference cards to add this basic functionality I can't see how it is possible at all. I read over the datasheet a good 4 or 5 times just to make sure I completely understood the electrical design and don't see any way to do it.

    lower resistance @ the 1kohm resistor dac/ref might lead to the back of the card lowers vcore.. higher resistance doesnt allow os boot @ 1.33vcore

    suggestions?


    cryptik.. what you think about the 1k resistor on the back.. its the 1st resistor at the bottom right of the vid pins.. the 26.6k resistor is the 2nd one

  25. #100
    Xtreme Mentor CryptiK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    3,000
    Interesting, what do you get with just 1/2/3/4/11 ?
    Ci7 990X::Rampage III Extreme::12GB Corsair Dominator 1866C7GT::2 x EVGA SC Titans in SLI::Corsair AX1200::TJ07::Watercooled
    Ci7 920 3849B018::Rampage II Extreme::6GB GSKILL Trident 2000C9 BBSE::EVGA GTX580::Antec Signature SG850::TJ09::Aircooled w/TRUE 120X

Page 4 of 30 FirstFirst 123456714 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •