Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Anyone used a A64 3000+?

  1. #1
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783

    Question Anyone used a A64 3000+?

    The A64 3000+ chip is on sale down here in Oz for a lot less than its 3200+ big brother. I was wondering if anyone has any oc results for these chips.

    Bit worried that its stuck at a max multi of 9x though (like the 3200+ is stuck at a max of 10x) and that AMD may be binning the chips so I would end up with a crap overclocker.

  2. #2
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    MM,
    Nice result with 9x, but I plan to cool it with a R404a prom, so the 9x will limit the max oc to about 2400 (267x9) or there abouts. My mem cant do 267 MHz (I wish) so I'd need to run it @ 213 (5:4 ratio). Alternatively I could run 2220 MHz, 247x9 (my stable memory limit @ 3.2V) using 1:1, I suppose I wouldnt need the prom for this speed.

    hmm, think I just convinced myself not to get one until this multiplier issue is resolved.

  3. #3
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    507
    Very likely they would be binning them. But the multiplyer thing is just plain hitting below the belt. IMO




    They will fall at his feet....... But eBay @ZZHOLE still ripped me off!

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    69
    CodeRed, where are you finding the A64 3000+'s ? I'm darn keen on getting one myself seeing as my jump to Intel failed.
    CPU History
    Intel 486DX | AMD 486DX2 | Cyrix 166 | Cyrix 233 | AMD K6 350Mhz | AMD K6-2 500MHz | AMD SlotA 600MHz | AMD Tbird 1.2GHz | AMD Tbird 1.4GHz | AMD Palo 1500+ | AMD Palo 1600+ | AMD Palo 1700+ | AMD Tbred 1700+ (x2) | AMD Tbred 1800+ | AMD Tbred 2400+ | AMD Barton 2500+ (x3) | AMD Tbred 2000+ | Intel P4 2.8C (x3) | Intel P4 2.8E | P4 3.0C (x3) | A64 3000+ (939) (x3) | A64 3200+ (939) (x2) |

    Aircooling History
    DragonOrb3 | V7+ | XDream | SLK800 | SLK900A | MCX462-V | SP94 | CJC 661CA | CNPS7000Cu | MCX478-V | XP90 | Hyper6 | Tuniq Tower120 |

    Watercooling History
    Cyclone 5 | Jaron Esky (x2) | LRWW | Cascade | Maze 3 & 4 | Turbine | Clover | MCW5002 | G4 Storm |

    Phase Change History
    Evap Tower | Vapochill Classic | DIY PhaseChange | Vapochill PE | Vapochill LS | Prommie Mach II |

  5. #5
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by Sin22
    CodeRed, where are you finding the A64 3000+'s ? I'm darn keen on getting one myself seeing as my jump to Intel failed.
    It-Rite have them listed on their web site

  6. #6
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    London,Uk
    Posts
    965
    i'd actually expect the 3000+ to still have the 4-10x multis avaialble, with clockgen proggie or with crystal cpuid, which will gie yo a full 3200+. Also, i HIGHLY doubt they will be speed binnging the ath 64 yet, there aren't enough, and there isn't enough diff in speed. With xp's , when speed binning was actually needed, it was generally a good 3-400 Mhz apart. If there is a prob with chips and heat, at same rated voltage, 200Mhz won't make all that much diff.

    If i find one, i might buy it and test that out,
    Mail Me | 3500+ , dfi sli-dr, g-skill la, 2x6800gt, 600w pcz, stacker case, air cooled

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Posts
    187
    A64 for $345 @ promotion price is awesome... that plus a NF3 board is under $500 for a great system...
    i3-540 @ 4.2ghz
    Asrock P55 Extreme4
    8gb DDR3 @ 1760mhz
    2 x 6850's in Crossfire

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member eagle101's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    SoCal USA
    Posts
    737
    codered:what memory are you using?
    Thanks Eagle101
    -------------------------
    CrossHairV-Z 9590 cpu-OC
    SSD Ocz RevoDrive3 X2 Raid0 PciE
    -51c Cpu SS Phase.Change Cooling
    Msi 290X Lightning oc
    1600 Watts P2 Evga Platinum
    G.SKILL Trident X Cas7 1600Mhz
    Dell U2410 24" IPS

    5.1 Sound Pro-Klipsch





  9. #9
    X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    783
    Originally posted by eagle101
    codered:what memory are you using?
    Ive got some XMS3500 sticks that do 247 @ 3.2V on a NF7-S board.

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Poland(Cracovia)
    Posts
    22
    hmm nice scores! Mickey! maybe is some way to unlock it?? welcome on the forum (i'm new)

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    18
    there's someone over at overclockers, who tried to run a mobile A64 3000+ in a desktop motherboard, a shuttle AN50R.

    unfortunately he's having problems trying to get it working.

    I have no experience with A64s, and couldn't find info on it.

    Hopefully some of you guys might have some pointers for that guy.

    http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=243232
    "I don't believe in God, but when I see Laetitia, I might change my mind." - Fashion designer Vivienne Westwood

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •