Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 2345678 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 311

Thread: Windows 7 - What's your experience index?

  1. #101
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    1,430
    Lol my memory score went up a lot just going from 4GB to 8GB with the same settings

    CPU - 7.5
    Mem - 7.5
    Graphics - 7.9
    Gaming - 6.0
    Primary HDD - 6.8

    Current hardware nowhere near tweaked yet
    Q9550 @ 3.8Ghz
    8GB 448 * 2 CAS5
    BFG GTX 285 OC @ OCX settings
    2 * GSkill SSD 64GB Motherboard Raid0
    Last edited by ewitte; 01-28-2009 at 07:12 AM.

  2. #102
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    177
    Quote Originally Posted by ewitte View Post
    Lol my memory score went up a lot just going from 4GB to 8GB with the same settings

    CPU - 7.5
    Mem - 7.5
    Graphics - 7.9
    Gaming - 6.0
    Primary HDD - 6.8

    Current hardware nowhere near tweaked yet
    Q9550 @ 3.8Ghz
    8GB 448 * 2 CAS5
    BFG GTX 285 OC @ GTX settings
    2 * GSkill SSD 64GB Motherboard Raid0
    Are you using the WDDM 1.1 graphics driver? I think the score is limited to 6.0 if you don't. Also can you post your metrics?

  3. #103
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Does someone know how to get the Creative X-FI Extreme Audio pci-e, to function normal, in Windows 7 64bit. Am at wits end trying to figure it out and i can´t get ati 8.12 driver to uninstall.
    My system is AMD 4400+EE, Asus 780g HDMI and 2Gb OCZ crossfire ram. It´s my mediacenter pc and am using onboard graphics. Any help will be highly welcomed and thanks in advance.

    I can´t get any of my sound cards features, it´s console has only the mixer on it and the others are missing.
    Last edited by Shocker003; 01-28-2009 at 08:22 AM.


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  4. #104
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    1,430
    Quote Originally Posted by Firestrider View Post
    Are you using the WDDM 1.1 graphics driver? I think the score is limited to 6.0 if you don't. Also can you post your metrics?
    I'll check on there all I know is 181.22.

    EDIT Nvidia says to get the Windows 7 drivers from windows update. I installed the newest Vista x64 drivers. My guess is that it is running a WDDM 1.0 driver. Wondered why it wasn't any faster with the new card
    Last edited by ewitte; 01-28-2009 at 07:54 AM.

  5. #105
    Mr. Boardburner
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Posts
    5,384
    Quote Originally Posted by ewitte View Post
    I'll check on there all I know is 181.22.

    EDIT Nvidia says to get the Windows 7 drivers from windows update. I installed the newest Vista x64 drivers. My guess is that it is running a WDDM 1.0 driver. Wondered why it wasn't any faster with the new card
    I have got 181.22 here as well, but my GTX280 gets 6.5 points. Surely a 285 should be better right?
    Main rig:
    CPU: I7 920C0 @ 3.6Ghz (180*20)
    Mobo: DFI UT X58 T3eH8
    RAM: 12GB OCZ DDR3-1600 Platinum
    GPU/LCD: GeForce GTX280 + GeForce 8600GTS (Quad LCDs)
    Intel X25-M G2 80GB, 12TB storage
    PSU/Case: Corsair AX850, Silverstone TJ07

  6. #106
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    3,080
    OK, this is weird...when i ran my experience index i got 7.3 on the memory, then i installed my X-Fi drivers...and the score dropped to 5.5??....like, what the hell?
    Gigabyte EP45-DQ6 - rev 1.0, F13a bios | Intel Q9450 Yorkfield 413x8=3.3GHz | OCZ ProXStream 1000W PSU | Azuen X-Fi Prelude 64MB X-RAM| WD VelociRaptor 74HLFS-01G6U0 16MB cache 74GB - 2 drive RAID 0 64k stripe | ASUS 9800GT Ultimate 512MB RAM (128 SP!!) | G.SKILL PC2-8800 4GB kit @ 1100MHz | OCZ ATV Turbo 4GB USB flash | Scythe Ninja Copper + Scythe 120mm fan | BenQ M2400HD 24" 16:9 LCD | Plextor 716SA 0308; firmware 1.11 | Microsoft Wireless Entertainment Desktop 8000 | Netgear RangeMax DG834PN 108mbps; firmware 1.03.39 + HAWKING HWUG1 108mbps USB dongle | Digital Doc 5+ | 7 CoolerMaster 80mm blue LED fans | Aopen H700A tower case | Vista Home Premium - 32bit, SP1

  7. #107
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    1,430
    Quote Originally Posted by Martijn View Post
    I have got 181.22 here as well, but my GTX280 gets 6.5 points. Surely a 285 should be better right?
    The whole test is screwy. I got 6.0 as well with the 8800GTX. Its been formatted several times this week so its not lingering drivers. FPS in games and 3dmark are correct. Not to mention the huge jump in the memory score with the same settings and 8GB vs 4GB.

  8. #108
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    335
    think like this....

    Say I had 2GB of DDR2-800 and was marked accordingly.

    Now, say I go buy 2x 128MB dimms of custom made DDR2-1200 then I use LN2 to cool the sticks and force them to DDR2-1800 with timings of 4,4,4,1,1t in dual channel mode.

    Do you now think vista will score me 7.9 on memory simply because my memory is super duper fast?

    Ofcourse not, apperature has to play a role. Speed is not the only factor.

  9. #109
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by KELL5 View Post
    think like this....

    Say I had 2GB of DDR2-800 and was marked accordingly.

    Now, say I go buy 2x 128MB dimms of custom made DDR2-1200 then I use LN2 to cool the sticks and force them to DDR2-1800 with timings of 4,4,4,1,1t in dual channel mode.

    Do you now think vista will score me 7.9 on memory simply because my memory is super duper fast?

    Ofcourse not, apperature has to play a role. Speed is not the only factor.


    ill let you take over, its your turn to start repeating. lmao


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  10. #110
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by Shocker003 View Post
    Does someone know how to get the Creative X-FI Extreme Audio pci-e, to function normal, in Windows 7 64bit. Am at wits end trying to figure it out and i can´t get ati 8.12 driver to uninstall.
    My system is AMD 4400+EE, Asus 780g HDMI and 2Gb OCZ crossfire ram. It´s my mediacenter pc and am using onboard graphics. Any help will be highly welcomed and thanks in advance.

    I can´t get any of my sound cards features, it´s console has only the mixer on it and the others are missing.
    have you got the latest driver to install correctly? i got rid of my xfi platinum last week cos it keeps playing up, i think its the sound processor or the xram but creative support are convinced they dont have issues, pppffft now im just waiting on my asus d2x to come in!
    i did get the console and drivers working in 32bit though so i might just be able to help you out if you havnt already figured?


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  11. #111
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    2,121
    Ok so I am debating on switching all the way over to win 7 from Vista. So I am going to ask you guys what you think. Should I now or just wait for final release???
    ~ Little Slice of Heaven ~
    Lian Li PC-A05NB w/ Gentle Typhoons
    Core i7 860 @ 3gHz w/ Thor's Hammer
    eVGA P55 SLI
    8GB RAM
    Gigabyte 7970
    Corsair HX850
    OZC Vertex3 SSD 240GB

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

  12. #112
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    1,430
    Logmein doesn't work
    IE8 is crap

    I had at least 1 more issue but can't remember what it is off the top of my head. On the plus side its extremely fast but I switched over to SSD at the same time and never ran Vista on them so its hard to tell.

  13. #113
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    2,121
    Well I dont use IE and or Logmein hell I dont even know what that is lol.

    But I just cant decide if I should go fully over to it or not I took it off my computer dual booting cause it was on a crap HDD. So just having a hard time since I havent messed with it much
    ~ Little Slice of Heaven ~
    Lian Li PC-A05NB w/ Gentle Typhoons
    Core i7 860 @ 3gHz w/ Thor's Hammer
    eVGA P55 SLI
    8GB RAM
    Gigabyte 7970
    Corsair HX850
    OZC Vertex3 SSD 240GB

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

  14. #114
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    777
    Here's mine running x64.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  15. #115
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    367


    Q9550 @ 3.75GHz/1.275v

    4 x 2GB G.Skill DDR2 PC1000

    Gigabyte GA-P45-UD3R

    3 x 250 Seatgate SATA2 in RAID0/ 2 x 1TB Seagate SATA2

    eVGA 8800GT.
    "Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch :banana::banana::banana::banana:." - Bill Watkins- CEO Seagate Technology

  16. #116
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by HuffPCair View Post
    Well I dont use IE and or Logmein hell I dont even know what that is lol.

    But I just cant decide if I should go fully over to it or not I took it off my computer dual booting cause it was on a crap HDD. So just having a hard time since I havent messed with it much
    Just wait on the final release, ive had minor probs though i cant remember what they were.

    Just imagine the eye candy of vista but better then the speed of xp but better, combine the two brilliants : a whoopie of a o.s.


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  17. #117
    Xtreme Enthusiast Shocker003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    718
    Quote Originally Posted by rickvtv6 View Post
    have you got the latest driver to install correctly? i got rid of my xfi platinum last week cos it keeps playing up, i think its the sound processor or the xram but creative support are convinced they dont have issues, pppffft now im just waiting on my asus d2x to come in!
    i did get the console and drivers working in 32bit though so i might just be able to help you out if you havnt already figured?
    Thanks for the advice, am downloading the 32bit version now. I will still hang on to my creative cards for the time being.


    MAIN RIG--:
    Asus VE278Q---:AMD Ryzen 7 1700X @3.9GHz --:ASUS Crosshair VI Formula
    24GB G-Skill AEGIS F4-3000C16S-8GISB --:ASUS Strix R390 8GB--:X-Fi Titanium HD modded
    Inter-Tech Coba Nitrox Nobility CN-800 NS 800W 80+ Silver--:CYBORG RAT8--:STRIKE TE

  18. #118
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    952
    anyone answer me this ive got 8GB ram and only score 5.6 ? thnx in advance

  19. #119
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    2,121
    Quote Originally Posted by dan7777 View Post
    anyone answer me this ive got 8GB ram and only score 5.6 ? thnx in advance
    Where you doing anything else when you did the experience thing?
    ~ Little Slice of Heaven ~
    Lian Li PC-A05NB w/ Gentle Typhoons
    Core i7 860 @ 3gHz w/ Thor's Hammer
    eVGA P55 SLI
    8GB RAM
    Gigabyte 7970
    Corsair HX850
    OZC Vertex3 SSD 240GB

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

  20. #120
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sugar Land, TX
    Posts
    1,430
    Quote Originally Posted by KELL5 View Post
    think like this....

    Say I had 2GB of DDR2-800 and was marked accordingly.

    Now, say I go buy 2x 128MB dimms of custom made DDR2-1200 then I use LN2 to cool the sticks and force them to DDR2-1800 with timings of 4,4,4,1,1t in dual channel mode.

    Do you now think vista will score me 7.9 on memory simply because my memory is super duper fast?

    Ofcourse not, apperature has to play a role. Speed is not the only factor.
    Isn't the test benchmarking the speed? Why would size have anything to do with it besides in you example tons of paging because of only 256MB ram. For 4GB versus 8GB I don't see why the huge jump.

  21. #121
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by ewitte View Post
    Isn't the test benchmarking the speed? Why would size have anything to do with it besides in you example tons of paging because of only 256MB ram. For 4GB versus 8GB I don't see why the huge jump.
    Theres actually a formula.

    Operations per second, memory throughput in MB/s combined with aperture = WEI score.

    I calculate that 8GB-16GB of DDR2/3 at 8,000MB/s+ is required for a 7.9

    I'd like to see ANDREYANG's WEI memory score.....I think we can safely say he'd get a 7.9
    Last edited by KELL5; 01-29-2009 at 06:46 AM.

  22. #122
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    952
    Quote Originally Posted by HuffPCair View Post
    Where you doing anything else when you did the experience thing?
    no wasnt doing anything else. im puzzled

  23. #123
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by dan7777 View Post
    no wasnt doing anything else. im puzzled
    can you open a cmd prompt window and type....

    winsat mem

    and hit return.....after a few seconds you'll get a MB/s readout.....what does your memory achieve?

  24. #124
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    952
    Quote Originally Posted by KELL5 View Post
    can you open a cmd prompt window and type....

    winsat mem

    and hit return.....after a few seconds you'll get a MB/s readout.....what does your memory achieve?
    weird that ive got the memory overclocked to 980mhz from 800 and in cmd its only saying... mem performance 7335.67 mb/s why is this cheers kell5

  25. #125
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by dan7777 View Post
    weird that ive got the memory overclocked to 980mhz from 800 and in cmd its only saying... mem performance 7335.67 mb/s why is this cheers kell5
    i dont think this should matter with wei but u running x32 or x64? and if you go to system properties it reads the 8gb where it states your processor speeds and wei?


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

Page 5 of 13 FirstFirst ... 2345678 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •