Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 311

Thread: Windows 7 - What's your experience index?

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    335

    Windows 7 - What's your experience index?

    Just noticed the windows experience index limit has been increased from 5.9 to 7.9

    I score 5.3 (due to scabby hdd I used for test install)

    7.4 for cpu though which is nice.

    anyone else?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Hammel/Denmark
    Posts
    2,082
    I i could find a Chipset INF driver that works, i would be happy to try
    The whole world's hip and thats not cool !

    Rip Van Hippy

    Doesn't expecting the unexpected make the unexpected the expected ?

    Light travels faster than sound. This is why some people appear bright until you hear them speak


    -------------------------

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    sorry to hijack this for a minute, but this is the only thread i could find regarding windows 7

    i am using win7 beta 7000 ultimate x32, all my drivers seem to work though my hdd transfer rate has dropped (sits around 100mbps transferring drive to drive)

    i think it is a major improvement from a xp/vista user and especially considering its still beta is rather impressive.

    but the few problems i am having is the all too common xf-i drivers, there are none to support win7, it will not work in compatibility mode nor run as admin, i enabled the onboard sound on the 790i ultra and i was horrified at the quality, also i only had the two front channels instead of 5.1, i have tried fiddling with audio settings in control panel but no luck with 5.1?

    and with the gaming side of it, has anyone using the o/s experienced problems with the installs of certain games?

    if anyone has figured any of this out or can point me in the right direction that would be great!

    hope yall enjoyed new years!

    regards,
    Rick.


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    367
    Win 7 beta x64, build 7000...


    The only score that surprised me was the disk performance...it's running on a RAID0 array, but I figure they've made room for the superior access times of SSD's in the new scheme.

    @Souix: What chipset do you have?

    @rickvtv6: Drivers for my X-Fi Extreme music work fine in "Vista compatibility mode" but I only have headphones, so I can't verify surround sound performance.
    "Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch :banana::banana::banana::banana:." - Bill Watkins- CEO Seagate Technology

  5. #5
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    940
    Quote Originally Posted by clokker View Post
    Win 7 beta x64, build 7000...


    The only score that surprised me was the disk performance...it's running on a RAID0 array, but I figure they've made room for the superior access times of SSD's in the new scheme.

    @Souix: What chipset do you have?

    @rickvtv6: Drivers for my X-Fi Extreme music work fine in "Vista compatibility mode" but I only have headphones, so I can't verify surround sound performance.

    New Samsung Spinpoint 1tb

    SS in win 7 isnt great , i can't get allot of options on the creative console so its worse than in vista.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,634

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by rickvtv6 View Post
    sorry to hijack this for a minute, but this is the only thread i could find regarding windows 7

    i am using win7 beta 7000 ultimate x32, all my drivers seem to work though my hdd transfer rate has dropped (sits around 100mbps transferring drive to drive)

    i think it is a major improvement from a xp/vista user and especially considering its still beta is rather impressive.

    but the few problems i am having is the all too common xf-i drivers, there are none to support win7, it will not work in compatibility mode nor run as admin, i enabled the onboard sound on the 790i ultra and i was horrified at the quality, also i only had the two front channels instead of 5.1, i have tried fiddling with audio settings in control panel but no luck with 5.1?

    and with the gaming side of it, has anyone using the o/s experienced problems with the installs of certain games?

    if anyone has figured any of this out or can point me in the right direction that would be great!

    hope yall enjoyed new years!

    regards,
    Rick.
    I have the X-Fi Gamer edition and the driver gave me trouble as well.
    I downloaded the X-Fi Gamer edition Vista 64bit version from creative.com

    When the download was finished I right-clicked the .exe and put compatibility mode to Vista and it installed flawlessly
    The sound is perfect too, if you still have any trouble PM me, and then I can probably help you, hope this already helps
    lol... This forum requires that you wait 70 seconds between posts. Please try again in 8 seconds.
    *phone rings*
    Friend: Do you have a spare PSU lying around?
    Me: No why?
    Friend: My PSU just blew up, I think the second 8800GTX might have been too much for it to handle
    Me: what PSU was that again?
    Friend: Antec 480w
    Me:........

  7. #7
    XS News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,032
    Quote Originally Posted by SIOUX View Post
    I i could find a Chipset INF driver that works, i would be happy to try
    Dont know what chipset you have.
    You can force intel inf to install with the parameters -overall -overide on setup.exe
    Other chipset .exe you can try running in vista mode to make installer running.

    For HD performance there are some settings in device manager and choose your HD and enable the write caching(?) that is disabled by default.

    From what i heard this is the fastest OS for benching and i can belive that.
    Last edited by Ubermann; 01-09-2009 at 01:12 PM.
    Everything extra is bad!

  8. #8
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
    I have the X-Fi Gamer edition and the driver gave me trouble as well.
    I downloaded the X-Fi Gamer edition Vista 64bit version from creative.com

    When the download was finished I right-clicked the .exe and put compatibility mode to Vista and it installed flawlessly
    The sound is perfect too, if you still have any trouble PM me, and then I can probably help you, hope this already helps
    I'm using these drivers Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi series Driver 2.18.0008 and only 2 channels work in my W7 setup.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ubermann View Post
    Dont know what chipset you have.
    You can force intel inf to install with the parameters -overall -overide on setup.exe
    Other chipset .exe you can try running in vista mode to make installer running.

    For HD performance there are some settings in device manager and choose your HD and enable the write caching(?) that is disabled by default.

    From what i heard this is the fastest OS for benching and i can belive that.

    I used the intel 9.1.0.1012 drivers and I ran the install and it worked without needing compat mode.


    here's my score... the hd bench is a joke... I have my windows 7 install on the first parition of my 2TB array...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by safan80; 01-09-2009 at 01:45 PM.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  9. #9
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    if i use compatibility mode on ANYTHING i get a stupid error 0x0000005 in a dialog box, if i try i manually in device manager, update driver, it finds the driver, starts installing it, then says the driver missing?

    ok i figured it out, in the driver u d/l from crapative, i went into driver/sbxf/setup.exe it seemed to manually force the install and win7 showed the unsigned driver, clicked yes install and bam. i will try i out when i get back from work crossing fingers i will at least have 2.1 as i like my doof doof.

    has anyone got 5.1 to work yet?

    also where do u ppl finl ultimate x64 v7000 i could only find x32?

    oh and my index rating is 7.3 - 5.5 - 6.5 - 5.9 - 3.0??? my hdd is 3.0? wtf! lol damn these benches

    i just cant get over how fast it boots, no more waiting to load crap, its awesome.


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  10. #10
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Chicago, IL USA
    Posts
    581

  11. #11
    XS News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,032
    Quote Originally Posted by safan80 View Post
    I used the intel 9.1.0.1012 drivers and I ran the install and it worked without needing compat mode.

    ..
    Yes it runs but it does not install anything, and it does not need comp mode.
    Try the parameters and you will see it install alot of things, not just a sec with nothing and its done.
    Everything extra is bad!

  12. #12
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Ubermann View Post
    Yes it runs but it does not install anything, and it does not need comp mode.
    Try the parameters and you will see it install alot of things, not just a sec with nothing and its done.
    I got the drivers installed but I can't get 5.1 or 7.1 to work when I actually play music... it seems I'm not the only one
    http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.ph...c=692688&st=45


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  13. #13
    XS News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,032
    Is there nothing to set in the "sound" in control panel ?
    You can choose DTS etc and what channels to use there and lots of other things..
    Everything extra is bad!

  14. #14
    XS News
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    2,032
    Quote Originally Posted by safan80 View Post
    I got the drivers installed but I can't get 5.1 or 7.1 to work when I actually play music... it seems I'm not the only one
    http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.ph...c=692688&st=45
    I was talking about the intel inf installer..
    Everything extra is bad!

  15. #15
    I am Xtreme
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    4,744
    Quote Originally Posted by Ubermann View Post
    I was talking about the intel inf installer..
    I had no problem installing the intell chipset drivers.


    Asus Z9PE-D8 WS with 64GB of registered ECC ram.|Dell 30" LCD 3008wfp:7970 video card

    LSI series raid controller
    SSDs: Crucial C300 256GB
    Standard drives: Seagate ST32000641AS & WD 1TB black
    OSes: Linux and Windows x64

  16. #16
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    i wanna see someone with a ssd setup bench this mother! cant even imagine how fast the os would run on ssd setup, all i need is a winning lotto ticket! lmao


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    well i finally got 5.1 working, i set up the xf-i drivers and then done the settings in the volume panel to what i want it then rebooted, went into sound settings control panel, highlight the sound blaster output then select configure at the bottom, from there you can set up 5.1 bla bla bla. it works cos i got my doof doof 15" working again

    will they have dream scheme in win 7? i wish it would play personalized videos of your choice that would be potential.

    good to see they extended the file types for movies in media player, still wont play .vob files tho


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  18. #18
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    335
    Quote Originally Posted by rickvtv6 View Post

    will they have dream scheme in win 7? i wish it would play personalized videos of your choice that would be potential.
    if you use windows movie maker to encode clips (or full movies) to 1080 HD then you can use them as dreamscenes. Right click them once encoded and the option to set as desktop background will be there.


  19. #19
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by KELL5 View Post
    if you use windows movie maker to encode clips (or full movies) to 1080 HD then you can use them as dreamscenes. Right click them once encoded and the option to set as desktop background will be there.

    are you serial? thats for win 7? i guess they thought that was the easy way?


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  20. #20
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    478
    If you got the Intel inf to install, can you check your device manager and see if you have a yellow ! next to System Interrupt Controller? I did. I ran Windows 7 X64 for 1 day and got rid of it as I couldn't play even 1 minute of Call of Duty WAW, as it would lock my entire system up.
    Asus P6T6 Revolution/Core i7 965EE
    Vista Ultimate 64bit
    BFG GTX295
    6x2gig OCZ Platinum DDR3-1600
    Samsung SH-S223Q
    2 640gig WD's in raid 0
    Areca ARC-1210
    Auzentech X-FI Forte/Z-5500's
    Corsair 1000w psu

  21. #21
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by shawn1998 View Post
    If you got the Intel inf to install, can you check your device manager and see if you have a yellow ! next to System Interrupt Controller? I did. I ran Windows 7 X64 for 1 day and got rid of it as I couldn't play even 1 minute of Call of Duty WAW, as it would lock my entire system up.
    i never bothered installing any drivers apart from the xf-i driver (eventually got it to work) everything was already done once i installed all updates and rebooted. mind you im not happy with my hdd transfer dropping, when i installed my chipset driver in vista i deselected a setting in system properties and it boosted my transfer rate, now i cant do that with win7.

    as for your gaming issues
    thats weird win7 should be "optimized" for the i7 chips like vista was for the quads, did you do the updates once you installed windows?
    it should have installed some pre-release 17x.xx drivers for your gtx like it did for my 98gx2's,
    or maybe try disabling your xf-i or better yet remove it and use onboard to see if that corrects the gaming issues?

    it is still beta so i wouldnt expect too much with gaming but im hoping it will work as thats my main use apart from movies and music.

    i haven't tried gaming on it yet as im rebuilding a work comp but hopefully try it tonight with crysis and bioshock.
    mind you it doesnt help when you go over your bandwidth and your d/l is 7kbps trying to update xp.


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  22. #22
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Kansas City, Missouri
    Posts
    2,121
    mines crappy because of the hard drive i put it on all my good hard drives have something on it and i dont want to go buy one just for this so it is way down cause of that but all my other stuff is in the six area
    ~ Little Slice of Heaven ~
    Lian Li PC-A05NB w/ Gentle Typhoons
    Core i7 860 @ 3gHz w/ Thor's Hammer
    eVGA P55 SLI
    8GB RAM
    Gigabyte 7970
    Corsair HX850
    OZC Vertex3 SSD 240GB

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~

  23. #23
    Xtreme Gamer
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    879
    I am curious to see what setup would get a perfect 7.9 across the board.


  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    122
    Quote Originally Posted by yaddam205 View Post
    I am curious to see what setup would get a perfect 7.9 across the board.
    i think a descent ssd setup or RAM drive, 4870x2/gtx295 sli or the upcoming gtx350 Nvidia GeForce GTX 350 (Q4 2008) GT300-GPU 55nm PCI-E2.0 2GB GDDR5 512-bit
    http://austin.net.au/ProductList/Pro...G/Default.aspx , 6gb 1800mhz ddr3 o.ced, i7 965 o.ced with a good mobo Asus Rampage II Extreme

    if that dont break it then what will?

    oh btw did you have to do much to get your q9550 to 4ghz? i can only seem to get around 3.8 without lockups


    zalman cnps9700-led cooler|quad sli leadtek 9800gx2 fan100%|asus xonar d2x|seagate 40ns 1tb 32mb|zalman zm-mfc2 fan+watt monitor|zalman zm850-hp psu|cooler master centurion 590|logitech dinovo edge,mx revolution,mx air,g25,b/tooth n/pad|chimei 1680x1050 22" W/SCREEN 2MS DVI
    42" panasonic plasma HDMI|windows 7 ultimate beta 7000 x64
    ||3dmark06:20,187 e8400@4.22 vista x64 1876fsb||
    ||3dmark06:20,561 q9550@4.01 win7x32b7000 1883fsb||

  25. #25
    Life's Replay
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Switzerland | Zürich
    Posts
    1,535
    It would be nice if you guys without your specs in your signatures would list your components so that we others could compare results.
    Self-proclaimed and convincing.

    Intel i5 760 | Prolimatech Genesis CPU Cooler | EVGA GTX 480 | Arctic Cooling Accelero Extreme Plus II GPU Cooler | Corsair Vengeance 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600 | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | 5 TB+ of storage | Corsair Obsidian 550d | Corsair HX850

    13" Macbook Pro

    Nikon D90 | Nikon 55-200mm f/4-5.6 VR | Nikon 35mm f/1.8G | Sigma 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5 Macro HSM | Nikon SB-900 | Braun 5000

    Twitter | Life's Replay


Page 1 of 13 123411 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •